Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

IRT Links Seaside

3.94 16 Reviews | Write a Review

Operator
IRT

Operator Average Quality
(88 Reviews)

Room Vacancies:

Residential Accommodation Deposit:

Resident or Service User Review

Tour Review

  • Quality of information provided
  • Helpfulness of staff
  • Quality of ambiance & general environment
  • Overall quality
  • Quality of building
  • Quality of staff & care
  • Quality of food
  • Quality of lifestyle & wellbeing
  • Overall quality
One last thing...
The Power of Knowing
Send this listing to a friend
Get more information
Get more information
Enquiry
Like to book a tour?
Tour Booking
Review IRT Links Seaside
15 reviews sorted by Date Rating Type
Raoul9914 Jul 27, 2018

I find IRT Seaside has sharply deteriorated since my Aunt went in 3years ago. There is not enough staff and the meals are terrible. My aunt is in a wheel chair and the IRT has only 1 bus that can take a wheel chair and this bus is shared between the other IRT nursing homes I was told it could take 12 months for my aunt to be able to get a place on it. My aunt never gets out her room because the staff do not have time to even take her around the garden. I would not send anyone there !

Was this review helpful?  2

Crazyone May 09, 2017

The building is 10 years old and in need of serious upkeep to prevent repair and the general appearance of the premises from deterioration. There is currently a generational change of the staff taking place resulting experienced people being replace with younger people who lack the skills and knowledge of earlier staff.

Was this review helpful?  

Chloe2739 May 09, 2017

It's been a wonderful experience living here. However, the past two years, the quality of the gardens/landscaping has deteriorated and the maintenance of the exterior of the buildings has not been timely. The staff are excellent - friendly, helpful and caring. And the design and inclusions of the facility are really excellent.

Was this review helpful?  1

Kareem8833 Nov 09, 2016

Very well appointed facility but more importantly fantastic staff.

Was this review helpful?  

Coz-max No13 Nov 03, 2016

Always friendly - clean - ran of their feet helpful. BUT they need more activity for residents I know your in there to die BUT try and make the best for their last days they are still humans, looking for activity love comfort lifestyle until they die a hug. Its not easy but how would you feel or what you would like if it was you. More incentives a happy way out doing things and believe me. I take my hat of to care manager and staff. PS. I'd like some feed back for you.

Was this review helpful?  

JASPER Oct 11, 2016

Great Building!

Was this review helpful?  

max1155 Oct 04, 2016

Need more activity for residents, very clean, staff friendly, meals adequate - always knock before entering, beautiful area. My sister was visiting and fell. Staff ran to her aid quick to notice when something like that goes wrong. Always offered cuppa when a happy smiling tea lady comes around when you are visiting. On a whole, seeing as your in there to die - and no one else to look after you at home, the staff do a damn good job and take my hat off to them. I'd hate to do their job because lots of things must go wrong and whose there to fix 24/7, the boss lady.

Was this review helpful?  

Kangara42 Aug 29, 2016

The staff are a dedicated crew of people caring for the needs of the frail, aged. My family member is a centenarian and care for with great compassion for which I am so appreciative. I do not reside nearby and am very satisfied with the care provided and the contact maintained with me.

Was this review helpful?  

Tyler4665 Aug 26, 2016

My wife has been troubled with dementia for several years and I saw the beginning. Eventually she finished up in Hospital. Then into the Links. I was in Howard Court on my own and could feel the onset of rementia and requested that I be assessed for entry into the Links. (I've never requested that move).

Was this review helpful?  

Bella01 Aug 26, 2016

My grandmother went in at 98 years of age in poor health. She is now 102 and pretty sprightly. They look after her well.

Was this review helpful?  

Thorco7 Aug 19, 2016

Whilst I feel some of the staff are wonderful, I am very disappointed in this (my father's care). There has been times when he has been left lying in his own faeces for several hours. My sister has been there and his bed has been saturated with urine and that is with his incontinence pants on. His room is right down the end of the corridor and seems to be forgotten about. In the 1 and a half years he has been on 2 bus trips. Also there is no stimulation i.e nurses getting out of bed for activities, his clothing goes missing, hearing aids have gone missing, also glasses. It seems all they are worried about is the financial and business side of the IRT.

Was this review helpful?  

IRT

Dear Thorco7, IRT Group is committed to providing the highest quality of care to our residents and your feedback is very important. Your comment has been passed onto management and I invite you to contact me directly at [email protected] with more information about your concerns. Kind regards, Fiona Kurtz, Contact Centre Manager
Aug 22, 2016

Ross17 Aug 15, 2016

Hi, I think overall the links is good. The food isn't great, but it is OK. Mums ward is in lockdown as there is a fly going around and no one is letting them out of the room. I wish they would let the well oldies go for a quick walk up to the lounge and back just to stretch their legs.

Was this review helpful?  

IRT

Dear Ross17, apologies for the delay in responding to you. IRT Group is committed to providing the highest quality of care to our residents and your feedback is important. Your comment has been passed onto management and I invite you to contact me directly at [email protected] with more information about your concerns. Kind regards, Fiona Kurtz, Contact Centre Manager
Aug 22, 2016

Goodwin Mar 15, 2016

Good facility but needs more staff particularly trained staff. Some things get overlooked on a regular basis. Eg making sure hearing aides are in, battery checked and working. Often long waits for residents after they have pressed buzzer for staff.

Was this review helpful?  

IRT

Dear Goodwin, apologies for the delay in responding to you. IRT Group is committed to providing the highest quality of care to our residents. Your comment has been passed onto management and I invite you to contact me directly at [email protected] with more information about your concerns. Kind regards, Fiona Kurtz, Contact Centre Manager
Aug 22, 2016

Ozella9076 Oct 11, 2015

I have both parents in a care facility. While the facility itself is good I do find that if my mother was not there to observe the care of my father I think there would be some shortcomings in his day to day care. Although minor it has an overall effect on them both. The one thing that is lacking is transport and support if residents need to see specialist etc. if I am unable to take them it means taxis and no support for the actual appointment. This is very stressful.

Was this review helpful?  

IRT

Dear Ozella9076, apologies for the delay in responding to you. IRT Group is committed to providing the highest quality of care to our residents and I invite you to contact me directly at [email protected] to further discuss any concerns about your father’s care. In regards to transportation, I would be happy to put you in touch with our In-Home Care team who may be able to assist your parents with transport to and from appointments. Please contact me if you would like to explore this option. Kind regards, Fiona Kurtz, Contact Centre Manager
Dec 07, 2015

Jody7568 Sep 03, 2015

My mum came to this place a little while ago - its mostly apartmemts. Some of staff were really great. but others were just pathetic - esp after mum had a fall. Very flashy place, but dont get too fooled by that.

Was this review helpful?  

IRT

Dear Llewellyn9789, apologies for the delay in responding to you. IRT Group is committed to providing the highest quality of care to our residents and I invite you to contact me directly at [email protected] to further discuss any concerns about your mother’s care. Kind regards, Fiona Kurtz, Contact Centre Manager
Dec 14, 2015

Facility information, including facility name, operator and location provided courtesy of the Department of Social Service's My Aged Care. All reviews are the personal opinion of the reviewer, and do not necessarily reflect the views of Aged Care Reviews Pty Ltd, and are monitored according to the site's Content Guidelines.

About IRT Links Seaside

Don’t compromise on the lifestyle you love with IRT’s Care Centre in Wollongong. Founded on the premise of Integrity, Respect and Trust, our Wollongong Care Centre will provide you with the extra quality support you need, while still making it easy for you to do all the things you enjoy.After all, we understand what it takes to build a community that offers the best in high-quality senior care. We’ve been in the industry for over 45 years and know what it is necessitated to create a thriving environment that’s equally as safe as it is engaging. For more information please download our brochure above, visit our website irt.org.au or contact us today on 1800 024 915.

Available Rooms

Room Name

Premium

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

84

Room size (sqm)

19(m2)

Room Description

Medium room good views extra services private bathroom.

Common Areas Description

Nicely appointed dining areas with comfortable lounge rooms for family and friends and beautiful views of landscaped courtyard gardens from some rooms and ocean views from others. Outdoor areas are furnished to be enjoyed by residents and their visitors.

Room Name

Superior

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

23

Room size (sqm)

25(m2)

Room Description

Extra large room good views extra services private bathroom.

Common Areas Description

Nicely appointed dining areas with comfortable lounge rooms for family and friends and beautiful views of landscaped courtyard gardens from some rooms and ocean views from others. Outdoor areas are furnished to be enjoyed by residents and their visitors.

Room Name

Value

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

46

Room size (sqm)

19(m2)

Room Description

Medium room good views television and airconditioning private bathroom.

Common Areas Description

Nicely appointed dining rooms. Lovely inviting lounge areas as well as outdoor areas to enjoy meeting visitors.

Aged Care Directory
My Account