Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Marina

2.1 10 Reviews | Write a Review

Operator Average Quality
(55 Reviews)

Room Vacancies:

Residential Accommodation Deposit:

Resident or Service User Review

Tour Review

  • Quality of information provided
  • Helpfulness of staff
  • Quality of ambiance & general environment
  • Overall quality
  • Quality of building
  • Quality of staff & care
  • Quality of food
  • Quality of lifestyle & wellbeing
  • Overall quality
One last thing...
The Power of Knowing
Send this listing to a friend
Get more information
Get more information
Enquiry
Like to book a tour?
Tour Booking
Review Marina
10 reviews sorted by Date Rating Type
Jackson1257 Jan 18, 2020

My Dad got burned on the side of his chest near the arm , we noticed as he was getting changed Dad didn’t say anything and when we asked no one reported or knew anything , I m very disgusted and hurth for what has happen. And the head nurse with red hair had a bad approach she definitely not made to look after old people . Some staff very good some not at all

Was this review helpful?  

Barry2738 Sep 26, 2018

Not a lot of dignity given. Taken to lounge room and sat in couch with no buzzer or way of asking for help. In the years my mother was there never taken outside unless family took her out. In the end was a 2 person lift with machine, so if l came in and found mum in lounge in an uncomfortable condition could take up to 15 mins to get 2 staff in the room to shift her or put her in wheelchair so l could take her out

Was this review helpful?  1

Donavon7284 Sep 11, 2018

I would not recommend Marina to anyone. The last few months of my mother's live was miserable. The fairies would turn down her oxygen. She was left in a chair in the corner of the room all day. I observed staff taking away the walkers of residents. Staff were "too busy" to take my mother to the bathroom resulting in accidents. She was riddled with arthritis and could not use her arms yet staff attempted to lift her in a lifting machine because they did not have the time to allow her to move on her own. The sheets on the bed were not changed regularly. I could go on an on. She received no palliative care until the night she passed away and this only occurred because the hospital intervened. Please, please, please think carefully before placing your loved ones here. We now have a relative in a lovely Centre in Manor Lakes. There is no comparison.

Was this review helpful?  

Ron4235 Aug 08, 2018

My father was at TLC for 3 months only before we realized the sheer incompetency of the ENTIRE STAFF. They may coax you in with their smiles and "false" set of principles, but PLEASE do not be fooled. During my visits to my father on a daily basis, we witnessed elderly abuse i.e (staff yelling at the residents, and referring to the dementia residents as "DIFFICULT" . Please, do not let your loved ones spend their last precious years in such a closed minded, cold hearted, judgmental prison of a place .

Was this review helpful?  4

Taryn6223 Mar 15, 2016

I don't think my mother has been taken outside in the fresh air by staff in the time she has been there. No consistency of care especially on weekends.

Was this review helpful?  6

Elva2362 Dec 09, 2015

Extremely poor food and under staffed

Was this review helpful?  1

Kenny1552 Oct 07, 2015

my dad got excellent care. couldn't be happier with the facility and especially the staff.

Was this review helpful?  1

twincam Jun 28, 2015

Residents pay a lot of money to be there, the staff are wonderful but the food needs improvement. Food budget needs to be increased to provide quality food not cheap food. ie.Giving marinated chicken wings to 80 year olds to eat with a knife and fork. No resident in there is overweight, I buy fruit each week because they rarely supply it. meals are mostly pasta based.

Was this review helpful?  

loving carer Jun 03, 2015

there are some beautiful staff but there are some staff who are just there because they need a job. I am caring person and use to work at Marina but I was appalled by management and the way the GM treats their staff. If I was in a financial position I would open my own care facility - too many different nationalities who can't even speak English.

Was this review helpful?  

[email protected] Jun 02, 2015

Have workedin Residential care but had to place my husband in one a few yrs back staff were very uncaring leaving 15tablets in a cup by his bed and not observe him swallowing these especially when he had strokes and difficulty in swallowing it was horrifying to think he could have choked and nobdy was there

Was this review helpful?  

Facility information, including facility name, operator and location provided courtesy of the Department of Social Service's My Aged Care. All reviews are the personal opinion of the reviewer, and do not necessarily reflect the views of Aged Care Reviews Pty Ltd, and are monitored according to the site's Content Guidelines.

About Marina

Located in the western Melbourne suburb of Altona North, Marina is the ideal home for residents wanting comfort and convenience. Marina has recently undergone a major redevelopment and now offers:- Permanent and respite care in private rooms with ensuites- An on-site bulk billing medical centre open from 9:00am to 5:00pm Monday to Friday to treat both our residents and the wider community- A gymnasium and hydrotherapy pool offering tailored programs under the supervision of our in-house physiotherapy team- A fully-equipped cafe where residents can relax and entertain their guests at no additional cost- The opportunity to experience virtual reality in our state-of-the-art cinema- The option to purchase Foxtel's Standard Aged Care Package (free to extra services residents) or Premium Aged Care Package- An exciting series of social activities tailored to our resident’s wellbeing- A convenient location close to shops, amenities and public transport

Available Rooms

Room Name

Standard room

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

190

Room size (sqm)

14 - 16 square metres

Room Description

Located in the western Melbourne suburb of Altona North Marina has been providing aged care to our residents since 1999. Marina offers quality accommodation dining relaxation and healthcare to our residents and peace of mind for their families. Our standard rooms offer accommodation on a single bed basis. All rooms include interior designed furnishings carpets and window dressings plus the option for residents to incorporate their own furniture into the decor. Each room offers a ceiling fan and heating combined livingbedroom area flooded by natural light and modern lighting. Residents of our standard rooms enjoy a built-in wardrobe spacious modern bathrooms including a built-in vanity unit easy access shower and toilet plus access to a choice of shared outdoor living areas. We also have a limited number of interconnecting rooms available.

Common Areas Description

Residents of Marina have access to a choice of lounge areas equipped with the latest in audio-visual equipment large flat-screen televisions and luxury interior designed furnishings. Residents can also relax in a choice of sunny outdoor areas featuring modern outdoor furniture landscaped gardens and BBQ facilities. Our dining areas are decorated to the highest standards and use quality china glassware linen and cutlery. Residents preferences for meals are sought and options are available for residents on restricted diets. The private dining room is also available to cater for up to 10 guests in a formal dining atmosphere. The courtyards adjacent to the private dining rooms are also available for private occasions such as pre-dinner drinks or cocktail functions.

Aged Care Directory
My Account