Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Operator

Operator Average Quality
(352 Reviews)

Room Vacancies:

Residential Accommodation Deposit:

Resident or Service User Review

Tour Review

  • Quality of information provided
  • Helpfulness of staff
  • Quality of ambiance & general environment
  • Overall quality
  • Quality of building
  • Quality of staff & care
  • Quality of food
  • Quality of lifestyle & wellbeing
  • Overall quality
One last thing...
The Power of Knowing
Send this listing to a friend
Get more information
Get more information
Enquiry
Like to book a tour?
Tour Booking
Review Menarock Life Emmavale
About Us

Menarock Life Emmavale Gardens is a modern, purpose-built aged care facility consisting of 50 bedrooms each with fully appointed en-suite, built in robes, hydronic heating, ceiling fans, telephone and television outlets and emergency call system. Emmavale Gardens is a low care facility offering ageing-in-place and respite care.
31 reviews sorted by Date Rating Type
Pablo7311 Sep 26, 2018

The activities officer adds an important dimension to the care and wellbeing of the residents.

Was this review helpful?  

Menarock Life

Dear Pablo7311, Thank you for your recent review. Our Lifestyle staff support and encourage our residents to maintain their interests and try new activities that enhance individual health and wellbeing.
Oct 15, 2018

Lurline2277 Dec 17, 2017

Overall happy with care of our relative, although feedback only forthcoming if we ask.

Was this review helpful?  

Menarock Life

Hi Lurline2277 Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback to Menarock Emmavale, we appreciate the opportunity to review and improve our services using feedback. Emmavale are currently going through the Annual Case Conferences regarding ongoing care with relatives who wish to discuss care and individual needs, it is a formal process whereby a letter is sent out inviting families to make an appointment with the Director of Nursing and Clinical Care Coordinator. It would be a great place to discuss ongoing information and feedback required regarding relative care. Kind Regards Brendan Coulton Chief Group Operations Manager Menarock Life
Jan 09, 2018

Geoffrey3185 Dec 05, 2017

More frequent attention to continence requirements. Sandwiches offered on the weekly menu printout should be readily offered at the mealtime.

Was this review helpful?  

Menarock Life

Hi Geoffrey3185 Thank you for taking time to provide feedback. Your suggestion of sandwiches being readily available and offered at team has been discussed with the Chef and will be implemented. With respect to continence requirements current practice is for continence rounds to becarried out strictly 6 times a day by staff and in between as necessary. The Director of Nursing will continue to monitor staff and educate them in the importance of Continence Management. Your feedback has resulted in a change and improvement. Thank you. Kind Regards Brendan Coulton Chief Group Operations Manager Menarock Life
Jan 09, 2018

Sierra5037 Dec 01, 2017

Since Denise has taken over as the DON there have been a lot of necessary improvements made. I am very happy with the friendly caring staff.

Was this review helpful?  

Menarock Life

Hi Sierra5037 Thank you for your kind words, its great to get positive feedback and share with staff. I have passed your compliment onto Denise and staff. Kind Regards Brendan Coulton Chief Group Operations Manager Menarock Life
Jan 09, 2018

Evert6128 Nov 30, 2017

I am very happy with the overall care that my mother receives. The staff even include me with a cup of coffee if I visit at morning tea time. I am grateful and feel secure in knowing that my mother's needs and wants will be catered for. Thankyou

Was this review helpful?  

Menarock Life

Hi Evert6128 Thank you for the positive feedback and taking the time to write the review on Aged Care Reviews, this is appreciated. The feedback has been shared with staff. I must try a coffee on my next visit to the site. Kind Regards Brendan Coulton Chief Group Operations Manager Menarock Life
Jan 09, 2018

Jennifer7808 Nov 27, 2017

overall, very nice place but food should be better

Was this review helpful?  

Lowell7983 Jul 31, 2017

A very caring environment. Friendly nurses. Clean and attractive environment.

Was this review helpful?  

Je1000 May 09, 2017

Wonderful stay of aproximately 6 weeks. Only improvement would be to make it mandatory for all staff to always wear a name badge for: 1. politeness in referring to staff by name; 2. to easily identify who is helping residents. Thank for your help. Judy.

Was this review helpful?  

Joanny3331 Oct 26, 2016

staff are very caring and helpful to family and visitors, I would recommend anyone

Was this review helpful?  

TRAVEL Oct 17, 2016

Residents need more stimulation i.e. Bingo, reading, light exercise. Definitely new menu (especially main meals) Staff - Lovely Venue - Clean/Comfortable

Was this review helpful?  

Violette7064 Oct 11, 2016

The care is great, the carers are lovely.

Was this review helpful?  

Adelbert6508 Jul 21, 2016

A 95 year old relative has been living at Emmervale Gardens for four months after thirty years living independently. She has recently been very unwell which has tested staff. She has adjusted to supported living surprisingly well due largely to the attitude and concern of the staff. We made a very good choice.

Was this review helpful?  

Jonas8119 Jul 05, 2016

I often sit in the main lounge room with my husband Bill and I see so many acts of kindness to residents by most staff members. The staff are really special people who carry out what must be at times, a very difficult job.

Was this review helpful?  

Opal4042 Jun 30, 2016

could not have selected a better place for my mother Emmavale Gardens Templestowe look after her wonderfully.

Was this review helpful?  

Stewart4758 Jun 29, 2016

There needs to be more activities of interest to those younger and who still have the ability to participate. Singing war time songs, however pleasant for the very elderly, does not always appeal to 60 year olds.

Was this review helpful?  

Menarock Life

Dear Stewart4758, Thank you for feedback regarding the activities at Emmavale Gardens. I agree with you that our lifestyle program needs to cater for all interests and provide different options to which each individual resident may choose to participate in. I would welcome you to come and discuss the lifestyle program with the team at Emmavale Gardens. Please contact the Director of Nursing Diana Hinson to arrange a meeting. Once again thank you for your feedback, this plays an important role in our continuous improvement program. Kind Regards Fiona van den Berg CEO
Jun 30, 2016

KevinD Jun 28, 2016

Many of the staff have been there a long time (I think this says a lot), and are always friendly and helpful. We have peace of mind that our mum has been well looked after and cared for.

Was this review helpful?  

normanhurst Feb 22, 2016

Overall, the facility meet my father's needs: he has a good level of care and I am 'generally' contacted with regards to any issues relevant to him.

Was this review helpful?  

JohnE Feb 09, 2016

The fact we have had 7 managers in the last two years has certainly lowered the morale of the place. I have been here 6 years and have noticed the difference. We have a new manager so we hope things will improve. The manager seems to be on the right track.

Was this review helpful?  

Menarock Life

Dear JohnE, Thank you for taking the time to providing us with your feedback regarding Emmavale Gardens. At all times the care and support of the residents and staff are important to us. As you have mentioned Diana, the Director of Nursing is ensuring a positive culture and providing a homely environment for all the residents. We would be keen to come and discuss any concerns you have so please feel free to come and discuss them with Diana, she has an open door policy so you may visit her at any time or by email on: [email protected] Once again, thank you for your feedback. Fiona van den Berg (CEO) Menarock Aged Care Services
Feb 09, 2016

milli270 Feb 09, 2016

Happy with services provided. Staff are friendly and help when requested. Mum and dad don't appear to attend lifestyle activities often - but believe this is choice. Having only been here 5 months still finding our way a little.

Was this review helpful?  

Nambour Feb 01, 2016

The ratio of staff to residents is good. Also, the attitude of staff is always kind and caring to both residents and family members. The building is lovely and traditional and 'home like', with lovely garden areas dotted around.It has only 50 rooms which makes it more attractive than other aged care facilities with 100-200 rooms - very impersonal and institutional like. Long straight corridors are so daunting and institutional looking. The corridors look so much better with nooks along the way with some seating or something to break up the length. Emmavale Gardens has avoided that type of architecture. They have plenty of activities available to occupy the residents also. I am very happy with my decision to place my husband there.

Was this review helpful?  2

Nine Jan 29, 2016

I have been a resident (able bodied) for nearly 3 years. Could hardly walk when I first arrived and was left standing at the reception for about 15 minutes with no one to assist me - so not a very good welcome. Since that time we have had 7 new DONs, many changes in PCs, several changes of cooks and one change of the Maintenance Man. I'm pretty much self-caring now (have been healing from chronic fatigue/ adrenal fatigue) and I am planning to live independently again this year so I don't require help from the staff. I have become like a spokes person for the residents many of whom don't like to "complain" or voice their grievances. So I do. I have instigated a few changes of improvement. With such a turnover in staff there has been no continuity and it has been difficult for many to learn new names and get used to the new staff, then they leave. It would do good a really good spring clean everywhere. Overall its a friendly place, I would say homely, but the latest DON is working on that. The main problem seems to be financial. Insufficient funds for enough staff, better quality food, longer hours for the Maintenance Man (currently works 3 days/week), the Gardener only 2! Everyone treats me with respect, but I don't think I would like to be infirm here.

Was this review helpful?  1

Menarock Life

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay at Emmavale Gardens. Since your arrival 3 years ago we have changed our orientation program and have a Group Admissions & Compliance Manager to ensure all our admissions are welcoming. Our 2 main cooks have been with us for 6 and 8 years respectively, and our core personal care assistants (PCA) and Enrolled Nurses have been with us for many years. We do encourage our staff to attend education and some of our PCAs leave our facilities when they have a higher qualification moving onto graduate programs in the main hospitals. We appreciate your comments that the facility feels homely, friendly and the staff are treating you with respect. We are so pleased to hear that the home has supported you sufficiently over the past 3 years that you feel that you may return to live independently within the community. At Emmavale Gardens we are always strive to provide great care and services to all our residents and this is constantly reviewed through our quality programs. These programs continually encourage feedback whether it be positive, mixed or negative. Our Director of Nursing, Diana is a great asset to our team and I encourage you to continue to see her if you have any future concerns either in person or by email [email protected]
Jan 29, 2016

Rowdy123 Jan 27, 2016

Emmavale Gardens was recommended to us as one if our friend's mother was a resident there. Very pleased with the presentation and staff. On this basis, my mother has been a resident for one and a half years now and is very happy. Could not be more happy with the amenities and staff at Emmavale Gardens. Would recommend this aged care centre to anyone interested.

Was this review helpful?  

Magpie11 Jan 25, 2016

My father has been a resident since November 2014 and I have been happy with the level of care he is receiving: I have found the staff very friendly and approachable. The treat the residents with dignity and respect. There are many activities and social things offered, but my dad is not really interested. That's OK, he likes to sit in his room. It's great that he has a choice. I have told my friends about this facility and I would recommend it.

Was this review helpful?  

Johann2303 Dec 02, 2015

Quite adequate without anything exceptional in service delivery

Was this review helpful?  

xxxxxx Jun 16, 2015

emmavale is always clean and smells fresh ALL staff are exceptional they go out of their way to help all residents .If there is a question or problem they will help whether it is a large or small request. Staff are always there to greet you with a smile

Was this review helpful?  

Happy chapie Jun 15, 2015

My mother has been living at Emmavale Gardens for many many years, she has always been very happy there, this in turn has been a huge comfort to myself and my family. I cannot speak highly enough of the staff and the care my mother receives. Keep up the good work everyone.

Was this review helpful?  

aljudi3 Jun 15, 2015

My mother has been at Emmavale Gardens for the last 3 years. In this time I have always found the staff to be very conscientious, caring

Was this review helpful?  2

Eleanore4425 Jun 12, 2015

I have found everything about this facility to be the highest quality. Couldn't be happier!

Was this review helpful?  

Jailyn3533 May 25, 2015

I feel extremely fortunate that my mum is in such a caring facility, she has been in care for approx. 4years the staff have become like an extended family for her, although its like 50 first dates for her...everyday is a new experience, all of the residents that reside there all seem as happy as you would expect, the food is lovely with lots variety, I would highly recommend Emmavale Gardens if you are looking for the best care for your family.

Was this review helpful?  1

DianeF May 20, 2015

My parents are very happy here. They have lots of activities to entertain and help them keep their minds active, helpful, friendly staff, outings and a lovely outdoor area with lots of plants and seating and room to wander in the sunshine.

Was this review helpful?  1

Alphonso3665 May 14, 2015

Bathrooms need to be warmer and nonslip floors. Otherwise the premises are very clean. Most of the staff are fantastic and caring. I think more sharing should be done, especially when one has finished their allocated area and another area is struggling. Most aged care have the choice of 2 different menus at lunch and dinner and the quality of food especially at dinner should be improved. A pastoral carer would be of great help to some residents. Activities and entertainments need to be more exciting eg.baby farm animals could visit.

Was this review helpful?  

Facility information, including facility name, operator and location provided courtesy of the Department of Social Service's My Aged Care. All reviews are the personal opinion of the reviewer, and do not necessarily reflect the views of Aged Care Reviews Pty Ltd, and are monitored according to the site's Content Guidelines.

About Menarock Life Emmavale

Emmavale Gardens is a modern, purpose-built aged care facility consisting of 50 bedrooms each with fully appointed en-suite, built in robes, hydronic heating, ceiling fans, telephone and television outlets and emergency call system. Emmavale is a low care facility offering ageing-in-place and respite care.

Available Rooms

Room Name

Deluxe

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

0

Room size (sqm)

12 to 18

Room Description

Quality curtains and light fittings ceiling fans hydronic heating and built in wardrobes make each room attractive and comfortable. Rooms are wired for free to air and cable television private telephone and emergency call bell. The private ensuites are equipped with anti-scalding thermo-valve taps grab rails and non-slip floors. Residents have the option to furbish their own bedroom if they desire.

Common Areas Description

Residents may relax in the spacious comfort of the lounge room with its open fireplace watch communal television listen to requested musical or other programs of interest or enjoy reading from a selection of books from visiting librarians. In addition there is a sunroom smaller TV room hairdressing room and a large multi-purpose room which caters for a variety of activities ranging from construction and modelling to bingo cards and other interests.

Hydronic heating throughout the building and air conditioning in communal areas as well as individually controlled ceiling fans in all bed-rooms and communal areas ensures a comfortable temperature is maintained in all seasons.

Outside the landscaped court-yards with pergolas offer an idyllic area to enjoy the outdoors the paths surrounding the building allowing plenty of space for a stroll. A vegetable garden in the rear yard is available for resident gardening and a barbecue is available for special occasions.

Room Name

Deluxe Plus

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

Room size (sqm)

12 to 18

Room Description

Quality curtains and light fittings ceiling fans hydronic heating and built in wardrobes make each room attractive and comfortable. Rooms are wired for free to air and cable television private telephone and emergency call bell. The private ensuites are equipped with anti-scalding thermo-valve taps grab rails and non-slip floors. Residents have the option to furbish
their own bedroom if they desire.

Common Areas Description

Residents may relax in the spacious comfort of the lounge room with its open fireplace watch communal television listen to requested musical or other programs of interest or enjoy reading from a selection of books from visiting librarians. In addition there is a
sunroom smaller TV room hairdressing room and a large multi-purpose room which caters for a variety of activities ranging from construction and modelling to bingo cards and other interests. Hydronic heating throughout the building and air conditioning in communal areas as well as individually controlled ceiling fans in all bed-rooms and
communal areas ensures a comfortable temperature is maintained in all seasons.
Outside the landscaped court-yards with pergolas offer an idyllic area to enjoy the outdoors the paths surrounding the building allowing plenty of space for a stroll. A
vegetable garden in the rear yard is available for resident gardening and a barbecue is available for special occasions.

Aged Care Directory
My Account