Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Opal Glenmere

2.89 9 Reviews | Write a Review

Operator

Operator Average Quality
(195 Reviews)

Room Vacancies:

Residential Accommodation Deposit:

Resident or Service User Review

Tour Review

  • Quality of information provided
  • Helpfulness of staff
  • Quality of ambiance & general environment
  • Overall quality
  • Quality of building
  • Quality of staff & care
  • Quality of food
  • Quality of lifestyle & wellbeing
  • Overall quality
One last thing...
The Power of Knowing
Send this listing to a friend
Get more information
Get more information
Enquiry
Like to book a tour?
Tour Booking
Review Opal Glenmere
9 reviews sorted by Date Rating Type
Belle3998 Oct 03, 2018

My brother in law seems to be more settled here than he was in the first home for Dementia care that he was in and I think that’s because they understand how to care for Dementia residents better, by not pressing any of his trigger points which will send him into anger and swearing which is not normally his nature. I think he is also happier here because he has a large grassed area outside his room where he can go for a walk or feed the large carp with bread in the large fenced off lake. He also has a tree near his outside door and he can feed the kookaburras and ducks like he did at his own home before coming into care.

Was this review helpful?  

Evelyn9533 Sep 26, 2018

Terrible care, old building,drab environment

Was this review helpful?  

Manuel598 Sep 25, 2018

The staff are amazing, every one of them. They are so loving and kind to my mum and there's no end to wanting to make her happy and comfortable.

Was this review helpful?  

Timothy6943 Jun 05, 2018

My mother who suffered from dementia was at Opal Glenmere for approx 3 months. When she was admitted to hospital suffering from an infection we discovered that she was dehydrated and had old food dried stuck to the insides of her cheeks which had been there for some time! They called me prior to her being admitted to hospital to let us know that she was loosing weight and could they call a dietitian. The facts were that she had stopped eating

Was this review helpful?  1

Brice1445 Mar 15, 2016

Food is poor!

Was this review helpful?  1

Athena4010 Mar 15, 2016

Clean and friendly and caring but still depressing

Was this review helpful?  

Dagmar3472 Oct 09, 2015

Glenmear at Kanwel is very good to my husband. I have no worries with them. very clean,nice rooms,in a bush land setting.They have 2 cats and budgies which is great.

Was this review helpful?  

Werner3848 Jul 27, 2015

I would need a book and a week to tell u what I thought about aged facilities.mum was in care for 10years only because I couldn't look after her myself. Most workers in aged care are there because they love working with the residents and overlook the low wages, disgusting meals, the lack of saff/resident ratio, the attitudes of DONs...disgusting... !!!.dont get me wrong they love their job but conditions are atrocious.

Was this review helpful?  1

Communitydevelopment Jun 03, 2015

The staff and management of this organisation go above and beyond to meet needs and provide a home like environment as much as is possible in an institution. They are however understaffed and the quality of care I have noticed has declined. The quality of food is also not good. But the staff and care makes up for some of the negatives.

Was this review helpful?  1

Facility information, including facility name, operator and location provided courtesy of the Department of Social Service's My Aged Care. All reviews are the personal opinion of the reviewer, and do not necessarily reflect the views of Aged Care Reviews Pty Ltd, and are monitored according to the site's Content Guidelines.

About Opal Glenmere

Located in a tranquil bush setting with landscaped gardens and a large koi pond, at Opal Glenmere our focus is always on providing a friendly and inviting atmosphere for all our residents and families. In this spacious and light filled home where all rooms lead onto a garden area, our outstanding staff will help you maintain the highest possible quality of life.

Available Rooms

Room Name

Premium (Single)

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

11

Room size (sqm)

32

Room Description

To be provided

Common Areas Description

To be provided

Room Name

Premium Suites

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

1

Room size (sqm)

32

Room Description

Suites are spacious contemporary and include kitchenettes most with terraces

Common Areas Description

Rooms have easy access to dining and lounge rooms activities room external courtyard and gardens.

Room Name

Superior (Single)

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

28

Room size (sqm)

18

Room Description

Rooms are spacious contemporary and include kitchenettes most with terraces

Common Areas Description

Rooms have easy access to dining and lounge rooms activities room external courtyard and extensive gardens.

Room Name

Standard

Type

Shared room + shared bathroom

Occupancy

4

No of rooms

74

Room size (sqm)

18 to 37

Room Description

Companion rooms are lightfilled clean fresh and appropriately furnished.

Common Areas Description

Rooms have easy access to dining and lounge rooms activities room external courtyard and extensive gardens.

Room Name

Standard (Single)

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

6

Room size (sqm)

10

Room Description

Room is private clean fresh and appropriately furnished.

Common Areas Description

Rooms have easy access to dining and lounge rooms activities room external courtyard and extensive gardens.

Aged Care Directory
My Account