Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Opal Greenfern Place

3.78 9 Reviews | Write a Review

Operator

Operator Average Quality
(209 Reviews)

Room Vacancies:

Residential Accommodation Deposit:

Resident or Service User Review

Tour Review

  • Quality of information provided
  • Helpfulness of staff
  • Quality of ambiance & general environment
  • Overall quality
  • Quality of building
  • Quality of staff & care
  • Quality of food
  • Quality of lifestyle & wellbeing
  • Overall quality
One last thing...
The Power of Knowing
Send this listing to a friend
Get more information
Get more information
Enquiry
Like to book a tour?
Tour Booking
Review Opal Greenfern Place
9 reviews sorted by Date Rating Type
Shane9782 Nov 01, 2018

Can not speak highly enough of green fern place my mother inlaw was in Boston section and it was a pleasure to visit as the staff were amazing welcoming you each time when mum was in the last stages of her life the amount of staff that kept coming in to not only to check on her but to try and chat to er kept asking if she was in pain when she past away they were all so upset and could not do enough in comforting us thank you green fern place. I even told my daughter I will go there when I have to.

Was this review helpful?  

Glennie Sep 28, 2018

My father has just past away in a nursing home at Browns Plains on the 4/7/2018. My father was able bodied when he went in and was very in dependant . After he had a fall

Was this review helpful?  1

lynettealexander Sep 26, 2018

My Mum has Alzeimers and when I had to go to hospital for surgery, I had to quickly find a temporary facility for her. As it turned out the people at the facility felt I should make it permament. I couldn't be happier for her because she is happier there than she has been for quite a while!! Opal Greenfern is amazing!!

Was this review helpful?  

Joany7370 Sep 25, 2018

Lazy Nurses and Carers. And Service Manager of the Aged Care Facility was never available to speak to family members about problems with their loved ones. The nurse in charge always tried to blame my mother. She said my Mum was making up stories about a Carer who was bullying her. When the Carer found out that my Mum had put a complaint in to the Service Manager about her. This Carer told Mum she would not come when Mum pressed the buzzer near her bed. My 84 year old Mum was bed ridden, and incontinent. She couldn't walk after a major Melaonoma Cancer Operation on her head 2 years ago. She was in a wheel chair. This Carer wouldn't serve my mother her food in the dining room. So another Carer would have to serve my Mum. All the staff new about this. Mum was in this Aged Care Facility for 1 year. I was bribed to accept this Aged Care room for Mum. By the Qld State Manager of one of the Big Four Aged Care Facilities. It was the same Facilty in Brisbane. But in another suburb. After they had treated my mother with no proper health/care. The doctor there, was subsribing new medication, without my knowledge, to my Mum. Trying to intimidate me in a meeting that I asked for. The Doctor and I were discussing my Mum's medical issues. While the head nurse and another nurse were both taking notes, at either end of the table. And the disgusting treatment, and other issues just continued to go on, with my Mum. And the list of my complaints could go on and on. I eventually moved her to another Aged Care Facility. Where the staff treated my Mother with the love and respect that she deserved as our loved one. Our whole family was treated very respectfully. And we felt for the first time that our Mum had found her last home. She was very happy and content living there for 8 months. Where she passed away peacefully in Palliative Care 10 weeks ago at the QE11 from the Melaonoma Cancer.

Was this review helpful?  2

Rubie5464 Mar 15, 2016

This Age care home is 8yrs old and mum has been there for 7 and a half years. It does have its ups and downs but it does have all the modern facilities you could ask for. Mum is 87 yrs old and one of her wishes is to go on a cruise .

Was this review helpful?  

Percival4444 Jul 13, 2015

it was a very big dission , placing my Husband of 58 years ,into a Nursing Home , but, on my Doctors advice , i placed him in one , not far from my home , he did not wan't to go into it , and still ,after 8 weeks , want's to come back home

Was this review helpful?  2

Corry Dobson Jun 23, 2015

This aged care facility is very clean, staff great with their patients, keep family informed and albeit I wish my Mum wasn't living there, could not have found a more suitable address than where she now resides.

Was this review helpful?  2

sananmic Jun 15, 2015

My mother-in- law has been in her residential care home for 6 years now. She has usually been really well looked after and on the odd occasion that things have not been quite satisfactory she has spoken to the manager and the issues have been addressed to her satisfaction. My Mother -in -law entered the residence as low care , she was totally independent then but unsteady in her legs at times and had peripheral neuropathy. She had become depressed, due she said to being too much at home on her own , despite living in a Granny Flat that we built for her and had expected to find company of her own age , unfortunately most of the other residents in her 'pod' have entered the home because of senility or dementia or altziemers disease so she has not found the company too congenial. However becasue of this she was allowed to have a little dog for company and this has been beneficial in keeping her mobile until a few weeks ago when she had a fall. The dog is now with us but this has freed Mum up enough to be able to go on excursion in a wheel chair. What more could she have asked for? I would recommend the facility to anyone but if the resident is not able to speak up for themselves then the family needs to be vigilant. My husband often jokes that he is putting his name down now so he is sure of a place there when the time comes ...his mum is 90 next year....he could end up in the next room if her current quality of care is maintained.

Was this review helpful?  

Cali7172 Jun 13, 2015

Mum isn't keen on the food the longer she has been there but my sister had the dinner there the other day and was quite impressed.

Was this review helpful?  

Facility information, including facility name, operator and location provided courtesy of the Department of Social Service's My Aged Care. All reviews are the personal opinion of the reviewer, and do not necessarily reflect the views of Aged Care Reviews Pty Ltd, and are monitored according to the site's Content Guidelines.

About Opal Greenfern Place

Please contact us

Available Rooms

Room Name

Standard (Extra Services)

Type

Shared room + shared bathroom

Occupancy

2

No of rooms

2

Room size (sqm)

26

Room Description

Companion rooms are private spacious light-filled and furnished at a superior level.

Common Areas Description

Rooms have easy access to dining and lounge rooms activities room caf theatrette private dining hairdressing salon external courtyards and gardens.

Room Name

Superior (Extra Services)

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

30

Room size (sqm)

17

Room Description

Rooms are private spacious and furnished at a superior level with built-in wardrobes and own ensuite.

Common Areas Description

Rooms have easy access to dining and lounge rooms activities room caf theatrette private dining hairdressing salon external courtyards and gardens.

Room Name

Superior

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

90

Room size (sqm)

17

Room Description

Rooms are private spacious and furnished at a superior level with built-in wardrobes and own ensuite.

Common Areas Description

Rooms have easy access to dining and lounge rooms activities room caf theatrette private dining hairdressing salon external courtyards and gardens.

Room Name

Standard

Type

Shared room + shared bathroom

Occupancy

2

No of rooms

6

Room size (sqm)

26

Room Description

Companion rooms are private spacious light-filled and furnished at a superior level.

Common Areas Description

Rooms have easy access to dining and lounge rooms activities room caf theatrette private dining hairdressing salon external courtyards and gardens.

Aged Care Directory
My Account