Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Opal Seahaven

2.83 6 Reviews | Write a Review

Operator

Operator Average Quality
(209 Reviews)

Room Vacancies:

Residential Accommodation Deposit:

Resident or Service User Review

Tour Review

  • Quality of information provided
  • Helpfulness of staff
  • Quality of ambiance & general environment
  • Overall quality
  • Quality of building
  • Quality of staff & care
  • Quality of food
  • Quality of lifestyle & wellbeing
  • Overall quality
One last thing...
The Power of Knowing
Send this listing to a friend
Get more information
Get more information
Enquiry
Like to book a tour?
Tour Booking
Review Opal Seahaven
6 reviews sorted by Date Rating Type
Donna7668 Oct 23, 2019

I often visit my 98 year old Mother and ring her daily, on each visit I'm astounded at the lack of activities involving the residents, there are no trivia afternoons to keep residents minds alert, the only game I have witnessed is a ridiculous game where a balloon is thrown toward the residents, many of which fail to acknowledge as coming at them, or in my Mother's case she can't see it (she's blind). If you enjoy cold porridge each morning and cold unseasoned scrambled egg 3-4 times a week, then Seahaven is the one for you. Many of the nursing staff, carers are wonderful, but as they each have 12-13 residents under their care, it is impossible for adequate interaction with their charges. I have personally witnessed my Mum (I can't speak for the others) being lifted by hoist onto the toilet of a morning, her nightgown removed (in preparation for a shower) and left, freezing cold for more than 40 minutes before staff returned to shower and dress her. The eye drops she needs (prescribed by her ophthalmologist) done only once daily in many cases yet the prescription insisting them being done twice daily, failure to provide an adequate chair to accommodate Mum's chronic back pain. Failure to change Mum's pad resulting in her getting thrush (1st time in her life) and now they're unable to say why Mum experiences pain when urinating. I have decided when/if I ever need to go into residential care, I will take an overdose of pills rather than be treated in the demeaning/demoralising manner my Mum and the other residents are treated.

Was this review helpful?  

Christop829 Mar 21, 2019

the staff and surrounds at opal seahaven are excelllent, my very old mother is there and couldn,t get better care any where else

Was this review helpful?  

Derek1950 Nov 22, 2016

Lovely facility staff are great and very caring to residents. Would rather have mum at home but understand this is not possible or practical. This is the next best thing and I am confident mum is being well card for

Was this review helpful?  1

Unique7947 Nov 15, 2016

Opal Aged Care Seahaven Inverloch well where do l start l was employed by them for five years and 18 months ago had my mother come into the facility and as a conflict of interest was never discussed this never entered my head. But 10 months ago we had two new managers come into the facility and on two occasions when raising concerns about my mothers care l was told to find another job or move my mother, the problem was they don't like transparency, l saw and knew too much. why else would it be a problem as l did not have anything to do with my mums care during my workday.So now l have been bullied out of my job and still bullied from management when l go to see her as they have put restrictions on my seeing her. l have to ring ahead and be escorted to her room by an RN and sit in there with the door closed and ring the bell when l am wanting to leave and they have told me l am not to speak with anyone when visiting my mother. ln the past when l would visit mum l would encourage her to go for a walk and get out of her room, we would go and look for some reading matter for her but now l am not allowed to do this anymore. They have told me that if l do not agree to do this they can call the police and stop my visits altogether. So tell me do they have a problem with transparency definitely. l don't have a problem with the care staff in this facility but management have made it nearly impossible for them to do their job to the best of their ability

Was this review helpful?  9

HelenR Aug 03, 2016

Used to be such a good place then change in manager and change in the staff hours and now the place is falling apart. The staff looked tired and rush from place to place and I feel guilty watching them and I wonder what Dad feels being rushed and forgotten about. I spoke with the manager and I get routine lines. Total dissapointment and uncaring attitude. Opal is all about smoke and mirrors I think.

Was this review helpful?  5

Karlie2459 Mar 17, 2016

my experience with the aged care system is that it has become to orientated towards financial gain for the company and a lot less care towards clients. The aged and their wellbeing has been forgotten in the sceme of things and with cutbacks to staffing and no ruling on staff ratios to clients the facility can operate on skeleton staff, which results in overworked staff and burnout. The meals are horrible with the serving of tough cuts of meat and meals that half the clients havent even heard of, l have concern for the nutitional value of these meals as half the time they cant eat their meat so they survive on maybe chips and beans. They suffer from a lack of stimulation in their day to day activities as they sit around going stir crazy, and suffer from depression. The facility tends to lean towards their outward appearance to the public than whats behind closed doors. l know for a fact that staff are very much overworked. Most of the staff that work in these facilities are dedicated to the wellbeing of their clients but are under the control of the beauracracy, staff feel discouraged and so many leave the industry because it becomes such a negative environment. Management do not act on client or workers concerns in a timely manner and things go on for far too long they are not taken seriously enough, too many times concerns are brushed off rather that deal with them.

Was this review helpful?  2

Facility information, including facility name, operator and location provided courtesy of the Department of Social Service's My Aged Care. All reviews are the personal opinion of the reviewer, and do not necessarily reflect the views of Aged Care Reviews Pty Ltd, and are monitored according to the site's Content Guidelines.

About Opal Seahaven

Please contact us

Available Rooms

Room Name

Standard

Type

Single room + shared bathroom

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

43

Room size (sqm)

13

Room Description

Rooms are private light-filled fresh and appropriately furnished.

Common Areas Description

Rooms have easy access to dining and lounge rooms activities room external courtyards and gardens.

Room Name

Superior

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

64

Room size (sqm)

15

Room Description

Rooms are private light-filled spacious and appropriately furnished.

Common Areas Description

Rooms have easy access to dining and lounge rooms activities room external courtyards and gardens.

Aged Care Directory
My Account