Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Scalabrini Austral

4.21 52 Reviews | Write a Review

Operator

Operator Average Quality
(211 Reviews)

Room Vacancies:

Residential Accommodation Deposit:

Resident or Service User Review

Tour Review

  • Quality of information provided
  • Helpfulness of staff
  • Quality of ambiance & general environment
  • Overall quality
  • Quality of building
  • Quality of staff & care
  • Quality of food
  • Quality of lifestyle & wellbeing
  • Overall quality
One last thing...
The Power of Knowing
Send this listing to a friend
Get more information
Get more information
Enquiry
Like to book a tour?
Tour Booking
Review Scalabrini Austral

Welcome to Scalabrini Austral

Offering a peaceful rural environment on the outskirts of Sydney, Scalabrini Austral is a place of quiet courtyards and green parklands. The village is a complete aged care complex.

The leadership team has brought quality management systems, while the village has been refurbished to create a large welcoming foyer area and public space for our residents, their families and friends.

Services

Mass and church services
Regular outings
Hair salon
Physiotherapy
Occupational Therapy
Dietician
Podiatry
A broad range of activities and therapies including cooking, art, musical and doll therapy

52 reviews sorted by Date Rating Type
Amelia7783 Oct 04, 2018

Mum is always well cared for and all my questions are answered promptly

Was this review helpful?  

Rosella4717 Sep 25, 2018

Staff were always attentive, compassionate and friendly to both residents and family

Was this review helpful?  1

Jacklyn1646 Sep 25, 2018

The actual Residential Care Building is old and although renovations were made, it is difficult for staff to manage the residents in the rooms, due to the small size and no overhead ceiling lifts installed. The bathrooms are very difficult to access and manoeuvre around as well.

Was this review helpful?  

Ollie9690 Sep 25, 2018

The facility where my mother in law resides is excellent and our family are very happy with all aspects of her care.

Was this review helpful?  

Lesley5588 Aug 01, 2017

Building requires more maintenance and more regular, professional cleaning. Food is only average. More Italian style food would be more appropriate for the majority of Italian residence.

Was this review helpful?  

Jairo4837 Jul 31, 2017

Overall very happy that our loved one is in good care

Was this review helpful?  

Green2846 Jul 31, 2017

I have always found my mother in very good care .and excellent communication.. I strongly recommend scalabrini austral ..

Was this review helpful?  

Raul165 Jul 31, 2017

Due to the age of the building and design of rooms, this aged care facility does suit both the residents or the staff working there. they have had recent upgrades, etc, however the rooms and bathrooms are always remain the same shape and design. The staff all try their best, but at times, they are understaffed and over whelmed by the demands of the job and care required for the residents within the high care area, the medical treatment and services unfortunately are not up to a standard that should be in place for a facility such as this, re: basic medical care, dentist, physio, rehab services. I give the staff 10 out of 10 for their efforts at work, but they can only do so much for the residents that unfortunately are the ones that suffer and miss out.

Was this review helpful?  

Franz6792 Jul 31, 2017

I have no complaints with the care of my father. The staff are kind and respectfull and all his medical and personal needs are taken care of.

Was this review helpful?  

RoxB May 09, 2017

Residents need to be accommodated in smaller groups with other at their same level. Eg: not bad dementia residents with those without dementia or mild dementia.

Was this review helpful?  

Coco Apr 03, 2017

The facility is old but in general maintained and cared for by staff. The rooms are very small, crammed and not very well appointed due to age of building. The staff in general are quite nice, but at times, especially weekends it seems short staffed. The main problem would have to be lack of activities/interaction for residents. Mostly left in front of TB and I feel the limited activities are not varied and interesting for the majority of people who need to be engaged/included. Feel although you are listened to when discussing your relatives wellbeing/health there is often a lack of follow-up or concern where you feel satisfied. Some of the staff are very dedicated and really show true empathy which is very much appreciated. Feel the facility needs a facelift to have easier outdoor access.

Was this review helpful?  

Oskar8 Jan 13, 2017

Very impressed with the ambience & cleanliness compared to many aged care facilities we have visited. Very much improved to when I last visited the facility over 10 years ago. Well done Scalabrini Village!

Was this review helpful?  

Garrick8377 Nov 10, 2016

Our relative seems quite happy and well looked after. They advise us of any problem immediately.

Was this review helpful?  

Kelly Oct 17, 2016

Very happy with helpful and caring staff.

Was this review helpful?  

sundance Oct 11, 2016

The best place to have our mother cared for anywhere in Sydney.

Was this review helpful?  1

Luigia9371 Sep 22, 2016

We have the occasional hiccups with this facility but overall are satisfied. I feel the village manager has lifted the standards of the facility in comparison to predecessors. He and his care managers respond and take remedial action on formal complaints.

Was this review helpful?  

barryo8237 Sep 22, 2016

Mum receives excellent care - The staff are attentive and they have made her feel at home.

Was this review helpful?  

Daniel5025 Sep 20, 2016

This facility has improved 100% in the past 2 years. Very happy I have my mum in there.

Was this review helpful?  

Flipippa2000 Sep 20, 2016

As the NOK for my mother I am always notified of any changes associated with my mothers care. Staff are readily available to discuss any concerns or question I have relating to my mothers care.

Was this review helpful?  

Pepi2012 Sep 15, 2016

Staff are always happy and welcoming to family and visitors. My mother(resident) displays behaviours conducive to feeling cared for well. She appears to have good relationships with all staff. Staff always listen and act upon any concerns. Mum's room and the general areas are always clean and fresh. Temperatures are always comfortable and residents appear relaxed. I feel confident that mum is in a good hands and comfortable.

Was this review helpful?  

Gismo15 Sep 13, 2016

The cooperation, care and food are excellent. The reason I marked down the building is that we were folded out so the water proofing of the building witerd my wife Anne is needs attention. Myself and my family are always made welcome and greeted with thoughtfulness and care, we would recommend Scalabrini to anyone as we already do.

Was this review helpful?  

TARTESE Sep 13, 2016

My mum is happy and well looked after. The staff let her feel like its their home.

Was this review helpful?  1

Bubbles23 Sep 08, 2016

I have found the staff and carers at Scalabrini Austral are sufficient. The carers especially are helpful,productive and very caring with the patients/residents. Their attitude to the elderly residents is wonderful to see and I thank them. The section I visit at Scalabrini is well thought out. Individual bedrooms are roomy, cosy and light. The living areas are well lit. Separate lounge with TV's, long corridors for residents to walk and outside areas for residents to visit to sit.

Was this review helpful?  1

cooper Sep 08, 2016

Both my parents are in this facility and are happy with the care they receive. Their only complaint is the food. I wonder if there is some way of giving the residents a choice of two or three for their lunch and dinner. They also serve party pies and sausage rolls too many times a week for dinner. I don't think that is very nutritious. Overall my parents are very happy there.

Was this review helpful?  

Victor33 Sep 08, 2016

Residents and family members are treated with respect and dignity and nursing staff is understanding and accommodating. Office staff do everything in their power to please you and overall the residents are happy and extremely comfortable. Every single employed and volunteer is always pleasant and smiles. So glad to found this place for my mother. 10/10

Was this review helpful?  1

Xander Zac Aug 30, 2016

Great facilities, great staff, clean and respectful.

Was this review helpful?  

Toby7 Aug 30, 2016

For the past 7 years my mother has been cared for by the Scalabrini Village Austral.My mother has been very happy and grateful for the excellent care she is getting that when we ask her to come out for the day she would rather stay at the nursing home because she does not wan't to lose her room.

Was this review helpful?  

Particia Corso Aug 29, 2016

The staff are excellent to my mother at this facility they provide a care that I am unable to give to her, they show respect to her and always treat her with dignity. I am kept up to date with any changes and when I do have concerns we deal with the promptly as a team my only negative thing I could fault would be more outings would be nice. Thank you and any further information do not hesitate to call.

Was this review helpful?  

Dorina Aug 29, 2016

This facility for the care of my mother is generally excellent. But there is always room for improvement. Being an Italian nursing home, I chose this one for my mother with dementia. But a lot of the staff now, is not Italian. But still very caring and efficient.

Was this review helpful?  

Ruby23 Aug 23, 2016

Overall we have been very pleased with the care and support given t our mum. Mum suffered a massive stroke last year and the support they have given her during her recovery has been amazing. Our mum has been a resident at Scalabrini, Austral since 2006.

Was this review helpful?  

zappia8 Aug 23, 2016

My father has been a resident for the last 9 years. Overall the staff have been fantastic and if I have had any concerns then are ready to help or find someone who can. The village is clean and free of clutter. Has a welcome feel to is. I have recommended friends to this retirement village. My father is chair-bound with severe dementia but he is always clean, well dressed and comfortable. If the staff have any concerns they will approach me as I am there every Sunday. Thank you for caring after my father so well and for the many years. I am grateful.

Was this review helpful?  1

Domenico2401 Mar 12, 2016

I think the food could be improved on, not so overcooked. Croissants for dinner is not a healthy meal option to me and they are usually dried up and the cheese on them is as hard as a rock. More fresh fruit instead of canned produce. Dinner arriving hot would be nice and the ice cream not melted. Overall most meals are ok. The majority of the staff are very conscientious and very caring, but some it's just a job ,no compassion and quite lazy.

Was this review helpful?  3

Scalabrini

Dear Wilhelm2437, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Your rating and review comments are important to us, as we aim to continuously improve the service we offer. I have passed your comments onto the Austral Village Manager for further review. Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd
Mar 22, 2016

Rosetta#7 Feb 18, 2016

My mum has been a resident of Austral Scalabrini Village for 6 years suffering from dementia. The facility and level of care are very good, I go to feed mum 2 times a day and been in there half of the day. I can see how caring the staff are and very friendly and I'm recommending the place to anyone in need of this kind of care.

Was this review helpful?  5

Scalabrini

Dear Rosetta#7,Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. It is great to receive your positive feedback. We will be sure to share your feedback with the Austral Team. We hope that Scalabrini Village Austral can continue to meet and exceed your expectations.Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd
Mar 03, 2016

antonia Feb 12, 2016

My mum is there for almost 1 year, she's very happy with staff. My mum always complains about the food as most of the residents are Italians, the food is not. I think someone should think about that. Also, she sees insects coming up the drain inside shower/toilet and after almost 1 year it's still happening. I pay close to 1,700 a month plus medication and I can't see why things can't be fixed. Regards, Antonia.

Was this review helpful?  9

Scalabrini

Dear Antonia, Thank you for your comments. We pride ourselves on the quality of our food and I am very disappointed that it does not meet your mother’s expectations. We will continue to review our menu and our food quality. Your are right that things should be fix when they need to be and we will do our best to be more responsive in the future. Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd
Mar 07, 2016

Maddison5259 Feb 10, 2016

I am not aware of what the ratio of staff to residents are, but my dad tells me it is difficult for attending personnel to come to him when needed. Also food for ITALIAN residents is sometimes not up to standard. Plus change of nappies has resulted in an infection.

Was this review helpful?  5

Scalabrini

Dear Maddison5259, My apologies if our care of your father has not been satisfactory. We will certainly continue to try and improve all aspects of our care. Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd.
Mar 07, 2016

Sasha Feb 10, 2016

Staff friendly and good with everyone. Food good and varied. Activities and outings all offered.

Was this review helpful?  4

Scalabrini

Dear Sasha, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. I am please to hear Austral Village is meeting your expectations. Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd.
Feb 11, 2016

MJDM09 Feb 09, 2016

My mum passed away in 2008 and since then my dad's health deteriorated rapidly. He was and still is suffering from "pulmonary fibrosis" and needed to be placed in a nursing home. In 2009, I went on a pilgrimage to Italy and went to the tomb of Padre Pio. I asked him for a special grace, that he took care of my dad. 12 months later, a miracle happened in my life, my dad's health and living areas were assessed and within days was offered a room at Scalabrini Village, Austral, NSW. It is now February 2016 and with the best care and helpful staff my dad's health and mental state has improved. His disease is now at a stable stage. My dad is very well looked after and couldn't be happier. Thank you God for what you've done. Thank you Scalabrini Village for saving my dad's life.

Was this review helpful?  4

Scalabrini

Dear MJDM09, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for sharing your father's beautiful journey. It is great to receive your positive feedback. We will be sure to share your feedback with the Austral Team. We hope that Scalabrini Village Austral can continue to meet and exceed your expectations.Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd
Feb 09, 2016

Alda2296 Feb 09, 2016

My mother is 92 and is extremely happy with how the staff care for her. She often tells me that they look after her very well and would recommend Scalabrini to her friends.

Was this review helpful?  6

Scalabrini

Dear Alda2296, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. It is great to receive your positive feedback. We will be sure to share your feedback with the Austral Team. We hope that Scalabrini Village Austral can continue to meet and exceed your expectations.Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd
Feb 09, 2016

Caruso Feb 02, 2016

An impressive foyer but that's where it ends. Food is very poor and the village is a very poor state of cleanliness. Carpet hallways were a big mistake - stains and retains smell. Have told management that the cleaner uses the same mop water to mop room after room. Water is black. No change. Outside building and windows are full of cobwebs and dust. Residents are mainly Italian - Why aren't they cooking good wholesome Italian food - everyone I talk to complains about the food quality. Management have complains about the food quality management have been told - no change. The village doctor is only available Tuesday morning - bad luck for my ill mother last Tuesday - no doctor for Australia day. The place urgently needs a going over with a "fine tooth comb".

Was this review helpful?  3

Scalabrini

Dear Caruso, You have raised a number of significant issues and I would very much appreciate it if you could make to the time to meet with me in person. I have drawn your comments to the attention of the Village Manager. Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd
Mar 07, 2016

Casper Feb 01, 2016

Scalabrini Village (Austral) is an excellent aged care facility. It has spacious accommodation with very uside corridors which make it easy for residents to move around the facility. An abundance of gardens surround the village providing a very amenable environment.

Was this review helpful?  2

Scalabrini

Dear Casper, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. It is great to receive your positive feedback. We will be sure to share your feedback with the Austral Team. We hope that Scalabrini Village Austral can continue to meet and exceed your expectations.Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd
Feb 09, 2016

Mark2526 Feb 01, 2016

Everytime I go visit my mother she is well looked after, in a nice environment, staff call her by her name, laugh and talk with her, they call me regularly when she has had a fall. I found her several times in the office, under the staff's watch so she doesn't fall. I think this is very caring and beyond their call. The renovations are very beautiful, the singing etc provided for them is very nice. Overall, the staff are excellent - I am very pleased with all aspects of her care. I highly recommend the Scalabrini at Austral, they also take her to church! I couldn't be happier with there service. Resident is Rosa Musso.

Was this review helpful?  1

Scalabrini

Dear Mark2526, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. I am please to hear Austral Village is meeting your expectations. Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd.
Feb 09, 2016

Mallie5783 Jan 29, 2016

More staff are required throughout day and weekend

Was this review helpful?  1

Scalabrini

Dear Ari2591, Thank you for your feedback. We continue to assess staffing levels on weekends to ensure our residents are receiving the best care possible. Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd
Mar 07, 2016

Jazlyn3993 Jan 28, 2016

Overall the facility is good. Careing Staff. Medical - great. Hygiene of High Care Unit could be improved. Laundry -Folding and hanging residents clothes could be done with more care.

Was this review helpful?  2

Scalabrini

Dear Jazlyn3993, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Your rating and review comments are important to us, as we aim to continuously improve the service we offer. Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd.
Feb 09, 2016

Brook5270 Jan 27, 2016

The only real issue i have is with the food. Not much choice, if any and a lot of requests are ignored. Food presentation is below average and looks totally unappetising most of the time. For example, Hot Tuna (from a can) slopped on a plate with a slop of mashed potatoes (which is not a food eaten by resident) or a chicken drumstick which looks like it has been cooked five times. Id say that three quarters of the food is sent back to the kitchen which is a waste of time and money. Even after meetings regarding the food nothing really changes. On a brighter note, the facility is spotless and the nursing staff are excellent and very attentive and friendly towards the residents and visitors. Well done.

Was this review helpful?  

Scalabrini

Dear Christy3815, Thank you for this feedback about the quality of food and presentation. The Village Manager has been investigating the issues you have raised and will implement changes. I hope you will see improvements in the very near future. Thank you for your compliments about our great nursing staff. Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd.
Jan 28, 2016

Bert1081 Jan 26, 2016

Without actually living there it's hard to give an accurate judgement. The person being cared for looks well a little overweight, when we take her out for a few hoers she does not want to go back, but once she is in she seems to be fine. With dementia when I ask why she feels that way she can't tell me.

Was this review helpful?  

Scalabrini

Dear Rosa7224, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Your rating and review comments are important to us, as we aim to continuously improve the service we offer. I encourage you to please arrange a time to meet with our Austral Village Manager to discuss your concerns. Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd.
Jan 28, 2016

CareforMum Jan 26, 2016

The overall service is great. The staff are very helpful, friendly and caring, however there seems to be a short supply of staff especially in the evenings.

Was this review helpful?  1

Scalabrini

Dear CareforMum, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Your rating and review comments are important to us, as we aim to continuously improve the service we offer. Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd.
Jan 28, 2016

Kory9049 Jan 26, 2016

I appreciate the changes that have been made at the Nursing home, re: building upgrades, etc, however, the shortage of staff at key times and the experience of staff is clearly lacking. I understand the difficulty in trying to operate an Nursing Home and the staff that work there deserve a lot, for in which they need to do, it is a thankless task and an incredibale difficult task. The Nursing Home itself, seems to be more modern and the food is of a high standard. But staffing levels and the availability of medical care and dental care is unfortunately lacking.

Was this review helpful?  1

Scalabrini

Dear Hubert2673, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Your rating and review comments are important to us, as we aim to continuously improve the service we offer. I encourage you to please arrange a time to meet with our Austral Village Manager to discuss your concerns regarding staff levels, avaiability of medical staff and dental care. Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd.
Jan 28, 2016

rosmoio Jan 25, 2016

Overall services at Scalabrini are very good, staff are always willing to help and never to much trouble considering the amount of work involved in caring for aged people we are blessed that we have caring people employed there with patience to assist them.

Was this review helpful?  

Scalabrini

Dear Rosmoio, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Your rating and review comments are important to us, as we aim to continuously improve the service we offer. Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd.
Jan 28, 2016

nicholls Jan 25, 2016

we have experienced a few different facilities over the years and have found Scalabrini at Austral to be the best we have dealt with.

Was this review helpful?  

Scalabrini

Dear Nicholls, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. I am please to hear Austral Village is meeting your expectations. Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd.
Jan 28, 2016

Shany3618 Oct 22, 2015

great place on large land, decent size rooms.

Was this review helpful?  15

Scalabrini

Dear Shany3618,Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Your rating and review comments are important to us, as we aim to continuously improve the service we offer. Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd.
Oct 22, 2015

Fidel4887 Oct 19, 2015

Met with Stella Timpano and was extremely happy with tour of aged care factility. Very warm friendly welcome. Information given on the process of placement was informative and very helpful.

Was this review helpful?  13

Claudia262 Sep 13, 2015

The management and team work hard to provide a friendly and good quality aged care facility.

Was this review helpful?  15

Scalabrini

Dear Claudia262, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Your rating and review comments are important to us, as we aim to continuously improve the service we offer. We hope that Scalabrini Village Austral can continue to meet, and exceed, your expectations. Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd.
Sep 14, 2015

Facility information, including facility name, operator and location provided courtesy of the Department of Social Service's My Aged Care. All reviews are the personal opinion of the reviewer, and do not necessarily reflect the views of Aged Care Reviews Pty Ltd, and are monitored according to the site's Content Guidelines.

About Scalabrini Austral

Scalabrini Village Austral offers a peaceful rural environment on the outskirts of Sydney. A place of quiet courtyards and green parklands, the Village is a complete aged care complex. A new leadership team has brought a refreshed focus on quality as well as a renewed emphasis on our Italian heritage.We are proud of our Italian cuisine which is prepared daily on-site from fresh ingredients. Residents are offered a healthy choice of both hot and cold selections. The village's extensive outdoor areas are available for family gatherings and offer shady park benches, covered areas and lots of places for leisurely walks. A private area with soft fall flooring and shade sails is also available for families who wish to enjoy an alfresco meal or special celebration.The staff are led by an experienced Village Manager who is committed to providing residents with an excellent service supported by genuine caring in the Italian tradition.

Available Rooms

Room Name

Baggio Galliani

Type

Shared room + shared bathroom

Occupancy

2

No of rooms

25

Room size (sqm)

22

Room Description

Refurbished in early 2014 these rooms are lovely light filled spaces for residents living within our higher care area.

Common Areas Description

To be provided

Room Name

Galliani 2

Type

Single room + no bathroom or ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

9

Room size (sqm)

11

Room Description

Refurbished in early 2014 these rooms are lovely light filled spaces for residents living within our higher care area.

Common Areas Description

To be provided

Room Name

Galliani 1

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

8

Room size (sqm)

8.5

Room Description

Refurbished in early 2014 these rooms are lovely light filled spaces for residents living within our higher care area.

Common Areas Description

To be provided

Room Name

Canossa

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

94

Room size (sqm)

14.5

Room Description

Refurbished in early 2014 these rooms are lovely light filled spaces for residents living within our lower care area.

Common Areas Description

Outside areas are available for family gatherings in the villages extensive grounds. A private area which includes soft fall flooring and shade sails is also available to families who wish to take an alfresco meal with their family member.

The on site Chapel provides regular Catholic services and is available to residents for private reflection or services.

Each of our four houses features their own resident dining room.

Village Dinning - 136m
Village Chapel - 389m2

The Village also offers two private dining rooms for the use of families and residents for private functions.

Room Name

Baggio

Type

Single room + no bathroom or ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

7

Room size (sqm)

18

Room Description

Refurbished in early 2014 these rooms are lovely light filled spaces for residents living within our higher care area.

Common Areas Description

To be provided

Aged Care Directory
My Account