Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Scalabrini Drummoyne

4.1 20 Reviews | Write a Review

Operator

Operator Average Quality
(211 Reviews)

Room Vacancies:

Residential Accommodation Deposit:

Resident or Service User Review

Tour Review

  • Quality of information provided
  • Helpfulness of staff
  • Quality of ambiance & general environment
  • Overall quality
  • Quality of building
  • Quality of staff & care
  • Quality of food
  • Quality of lifestyle & wellbeing
  • Overall quality
One last thing...
The Power of Knowing
Send this listing to a friend
Get more information
Get more information
Enquiry
Like to book a tour?
Tour Booking
Review Scalabrini Drummoyne

Welcome to Scalabrini Drummoyne

Ideally positioned on magnificent waterfront, in the cosmopolitan Italian heartland of inner west Sydney, Scalabrini’s village at Drummoyne offers a range of aged care accommodation and independent living options.

A Mediterranean flavour and community feel enriches life within this village, where staff, volunteers and religious sisters all play a major role in delivering the vibrant, friendly, culturally rich atmosphere, which our residents love so much. The village offers numerous spaces for residents to enjoy. The ground floor piazza with its café, ice creamery and alfresco-styled seating area is extremely popular. The boathouse is a sparkling escape, while the chapel is beautiful and serene.

Our Village Manager Gloria and her team are always there for you and will go out of their way to make you feel welcome, at home and part of the Scalabrini family.

Your Scalabrini Service Fee Entitlements:

Food:
Customised meal menu
5 meal services per day
5 cafe coffees with biscotti per week
Automatic coffee machines
Choice of wine with lunch and dinner

Entertainment and Lifestyle:
Wi-Fi
Choice of daily newspaper delivered to you
Choice of 1 magazine subscription from the list
Dedicated resident computer
Postal Service
Working gardens
Membership to garden club
2 excursions per week 
Village cafe

Pastoral Care:
24 hour pastoral care
Onsite Chapel
Services/Mass/Rosary

Wellness:
Art therapy
Music therapy
Feeling better clinic 
Scheduled entertainment
Physio aide services during the week

20 reviews sorted by Date Rating Type
Bridget5906 Apr 11, 2019

Need more staff per patient .too long wait for buzer. Cant keep a good cover for number of residents

Was this review helpful?  1

Neoma9058 Sep 28, 2018

My mother has been in Sclabrini Drummoyne for 2 years, she is wheel chair bound and has dementia. My family is extremely happy with the care that my mother is receiving, especially the pastoral care and the care regarding her physical needs. She and the other residents are always dressed (and not sitting in pyjamas), the hair is washed and attended to, they all are wearing shoes. These things that we take for granted in our everyday life are so important, the residents are treated with dignity and respect. the staff know all residents by name. Physical touch such as holding the hands or shoulder when a resident is upset or confused, is lovely to see, aswell as the tone of voice used to comfort the residents. Again, small things but very respectful . The recent renovation of the facility has imrpoved the ambience. The facility is old but well maintained with regular cleaning of patient private spaces and public spaces. The updates that the residents families receive is very much appreciated, and the transparency in adressing issues is comendable.

Was this review helpful?  1

Kameron1006 Sep 26, 2018

could not be happier with the care my mother is receiving

Was this review helpful?  

Ronaldo6874 Jul 31, 2017

The staff at Scalabrini Drummoyne were extremely patient, accommodating and caring for my father, who was resident with them for about 4 years. He was not the easiest person in the world to keep happy.

Was this review helpful?  

Coco1 Jul 29, 2017

My mother had a few months stay as a respite situation following my father's death 6 months prior. Mom has dementia and was very reliant on dad. At home she was 'lost' not eating, sleeping all the time and became lonely. Initially her admission was scary for her - the staff were very welcoming and nurturing towards her and also to myself and brother and sister. Over the next few months she settled in well, the staff have been very loving and caring toward her and us. They have enabled partnering together to look after mum and her care, medical treatment and way in which they keep her safe as she has many falls. They have looked at different ways to minimise falls, listening to us (her family) as to what her needs are and now best to help her. As Italian is not her native tongue, the staff have placed mum with another resident who speaks Greek - this has been very helpful to her and us. The nuns have been instrumental as well in the care for her. The pastoral care, physical needs care, medical care has been exceptional. The premises are kept very clean, my mother is clean and has dignity about her too. Also, the variety in meals and in entertainment and outings for the residents is exceptional. She is happy and loved.

Was this review helpful?  

Jaycee5398 Nov 03, 2016

I have found that recently the facility has improved significantly in terms of the attitude of staff, the treatment of patrons and the table and food seating give a new level of dignity to those that live and visit Scalabrini Village.

Was this review helpful?  1

11 Sep 15, 2016

There is nothing like home but if you had to go to a nursing home you have to adopt their lifestyle and try to enjoy. My dad was at Scalabrini nursing home for 8 1/2 years and i think at the end he was well looked after otherwise he wouldn't have lasted all those years. At the end of the day everywhere you go you have a dedicated staff and others its only a job (but that's everywhere). Now I have my mother she has been there for 8 months, new village manager lots of changes and just hope for the best but we all want the best for our parents because we pay a lot of money.

Was this review helpful?  2

denisa5277 Aug 30, 2016

Overall satisfied my mother is safe and receiving the care she needs.

Was this review helpful?  

TERESA131 Aug 16, 2016

Scalabrini Drummoyne is a good aged care facility. I had a number of family members there including my father fora number of years. I have been very happy with the care they give them.

Was this review helpful?  

Erol Feb 22, 2016

Scalabrini staff and management have been extremely caring, patient and flexible towards my father for several years and very patient and cooperative with me regarding my frequent requests to modify the ways in which my father was being cared for. The only shortcoming, at times, was the lack of formal 'case management' system such that one staff member has oversight of everything regarding a resident.

Was this review helpful?  3

Scalabrini

Dear Erol, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on our Drummoyne Village. We are constantly exploring ways to improve our service, and your feedback will be useful as we do that. Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd.
Feb 29, 2016

Fredy3720 Feb 05, 2016

The atmosphere at this facility has recently declined to such a degree staff are stating they are leaving due to this, this is effecting the interaction between the residents and at times its like the south pole, cold! Management need to address this as a major concern

Was this review helpful?  6

Scalabrini

Dear Fedy3720 I would like to discuss this in person with you to understand your concerns. We are not experiencing any staff leaving because of discontent. In fact there has been only one unexpected resignation outside of normal turnover in the past three months. Feedback from other families highlight the warmth of our service. I would really appreciate meeting with you. Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd.
Mar 07, 2016

Aversa Feb 01, 2016

Overall, the facility and staff are very good. I have found the attention to my father's comfort is at times lacking. At my visits I have found the emergency call apparatus not functioning or not attached to the wall socket. The cleanliness of the floor is poor (this is predominantly on weekends). There are traces of urine under my father's bed and surrounding floor area "sticky" under foot. I would like to receive regular communication on my father's health - I understand there are week day information, but due to work commitments I am unable to attend. I have requested weekend meeting, but I have received no response for this.

Was this review helpful?  4

Scalabrini

Dear Aversa, Thank you for raising these issues with us. First of all your observation about the need for meetings outside business hours is very pertinent. We have begun holding some of our meetings with families on Saturdays. I hope this will be helpful. We are reviewing our rosters for cleaning and we aim to improve our week end standards. Finally on the call bell system is being completely overhauled and I hope you will see improvement. Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd
Mar 07, 2016

Jaffa Jan 27, 2016

The staff seem very happy and cooperate well with each other. They therefore have the energy willingness to work more with the residents. The place has an overall nice, positive feel.

Was this review helpful?  3

Scalabrini

Dear Jaffa,Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. It is great to receive positive feedback. Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd.
Jan 28, 2016

Marietta3138 Jan 27, 2016

Scalabrini Village is a very good nursing home. My mother has received good care.

Was this review helpful?  3

Scalabrini

Dear Marietta3138, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. I am please to hear Drummoyne Village is meeting your expectations. Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd.
Jan 28, 2016

Pat Jan 25, 2016

The address of Scalabrini Village at Drummoyne is the enviable position of the Sydney community. 1A Lyons Rd, Drummoyne. The building not very modern for today's standard, but well maintained, with a very caring staff.

Was this review helpful?  3

Scalabrini

Dear Pat, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Your rating and review comments are important to us, as we aim to continuously improve the service we offer. Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd.
Jan 28, 2016

Doug49 Jan 24, 2016

Main concern being the food even though this has improved recently. Laundry: there is nowhere to place dirty clothing i.e. wash basket. Staff are very good with the odd few (especially over the holiday period) who are quite dispassionate. More activities could be arranged - I believe this is now being addressed. Overall it is a good aged care facility and in some case people are not easily pleased no matter what you do!

Was this review helpful?  2

Scalabrini

Dear Doug49, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on our Drummoyne Village. We are constantly exploring ways to improve our service, and your feedback will be useful as we do that. Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd.
Feb 01, 2016

Nipper Jan 21, 2016

Scalabrini Village Drummoyne is in a very nice location, staff are friendly but they are too busy to care for all patients. Due to this, neglect is a major factor. We have found when we visit dad they are helpful and give their best, but when we are not there, dad is waiting for assistance and sometimes waiting more than an hour for someone to come and assist him to the toilet as he cannot walk. He also develops a lot of sores due to bumps and we only found out after an infection has formed and needs hospitalisation. The room he is in is not always cleaned daily and his bathroom is also not cleaned on a daily basis, which is very disappointing. (Family have cleaned bathroom while we are there).

Was this review helpful?  2

Scalabrini

Dear Nipper, Your observations are very concerning and  I am sorry that it appears we have not provided consistently good care to your father. I would welcome an opportunity to speak with you. In the mean time I have raised your issues with the Village Manager and we are determined that there will be an improvement in the consistency of our care. Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd.
Jan 28, 2016

Monty29 Jan 20, 2016

On many occasions I have commended the staff for their care and attention they show my father. They are very special people. Unfortunately, there are (few) who spoil it for the rest of the staff. The only comment I would make that is not positive is that there are not very many activities in weekends for the residents. On the whole, we are pleased with the care our father is receiving.

Was this review helpful?  1

Scalabrini

Dear Monty29, I am glad on the one hand that you are pleased with the level of care your father is receiving overall. On the other hand I am disappointed that although we have many wonderful staff not all are caring to the standards that your father deserves. The Village Manager is in the process of addressing the issue of activities on the week end. Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd
Jan 28, 2016

Angel1115 Jan 18, 2016

Given my mother's poor health and temperament, the staff are really good to her. The only complaint I have is they often lose some of her expensive cardigans. Food quality is pretty good, but maybe the cordial is not my favourite drink. They have lots of activities and games for the residents. The rooms are clean as is the rest of the building and family are always welcome.

Was this review helpful?  

Scalabrini

Dear Angel1115, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on our Drummoyne Village. We are constantly exploring ways to improve our service, and your feedback will be useful as we do that. Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd.
Feb 01, 2016

Aiden7200 Jun 28, 2015

All services are fulfilled in and respectable and professional manner

Was this review helpful?  10

Scalabrini

Dear Magnus2440, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on our Drummoyne Village. We are constantly exploring ways to improve our service, and your feedback will be useful as we do that. Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd.
Jul 13, 2015

Facility information, including facility name, operator and location provided courtesy of the Department of Social Service's My Aged Care. All reviews are the personal opinion of the reviewer, and do not necessarily reflect the views of Aged Care Reviews Pty Ltd, and are monitored according to the site's Content Guidelines.

About Scalabrini Drummoyne

Available Rooms

Room Name

Single Room

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

69

Room size (sqm)

20

Room Description

Classic older style aged care rooms with good sized windows and good lighting.

Common Areas Description

To be provided

Room Name

Shared Room

Type

Shared room + ensuite

Occupancy

3

No of rooms

22

Room size (sqm)

33

Room Description

Classic older style aged care rooms with private bathrooms. Seventeen rooms accommodate up to 2 residents per room. Two rooms accommodate up to 3 residents per room.

Common Areas Description

To be provided

Aged Care Directory
My Account