Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Southern Cross Care Lynbrook

3.4 10 Reviews | Write a Review

Operator Average Quality
(23 Reviews)

Room Vacancies:

Residential Accommodation Deposit:

Resident or Service User Review

Tour Review

  • Quality of information provided
  • Helpfulness of staff
  • Quality of ambiance & general environment
  • Overall quality
  • Quality of building
  • Quality of staff & care
  • Quality of food
  • Quality of lifestyle & wellbeing
  • Overall quality
One last thing...
The Power of Knowing
Send this listing to a friend
Get more information
Get more information
Enquiry
Like to book a tour?
Tour Booking
Review Southern Cross Care Lynbrook
10 reviews sorted by Date Rating Type
PaulChilli Sep 28, 2018

Very Short staffed on weekends, small staff to resident ratio.

Was this review helpful?  

Jermey9178 Sep 25, 2018

The atmosphere in this home is corrupted because of one carer who has bullied the residents and colleagues whilst under the mistaken belief that she is indispensable. Her colleagues have all made complaints, as have I, but these were simply ignored. Without her presence, this facility would rate more highly. Most of the carers were attentive and caring but overworked.

Was this review helpful?  1

Amiya7227 Sep 25, 2018

The overall quality of services, the building and staff from what I have seen are very good. This is at quite a premium though as the fees are quite expensive. It seems also that he is being charged for internet access separate to his other residential fees. Considering the amount that he is being charged I feel that this should be included as it is a vital part of his and other residents' lives.

Was this review helpful?  

Brice2050 Sep 25, 2018

The facility is very welcoming and friendly. Food is quite reasonable but lack red meat. Residents on a whole are settled and happy

Was this review helpful?  

Eldest daughter Sep 18, 2018

My mum was only in for respite, however i was not very impressed with how the staff were treating the other clients when i went in for a visit. A person asleep in a layback chair was being violently smacked around the face to make them wake for morning tea. This property is now known as Mercy Place Lynbrook

Was this review helpful?  

Evalyn1166 Nov 11, 2016

On the whole the care and consideration extended to my mother was very much appreciated by my family. Food could have been more varied at times. Her clothing, bedding and room always looked neat and spotless. Visiting was always a pleasure and staff seemed to work as a happy team to make residents as comfortable and settled as possible.

Was this review helpful?  

Riley8349 Nov 26, 2015

I think this facility is as good as possible under the funding it receives from the government. The staff do as well as possible,but at times fail to give proper care when short of staff or time.There are a very few carers who should not be working in a dementia ward,as where my husband lives,for they do not have either the personality or training to do so.I am so grateful for the many talented,dedicated,hardworking and cheerful carers who persevere in care giving.

Was this review helpful?  1

Korbin5986 Oct 07, 2015

The residential care facility I am very familiar with has the potential to be the best around.Great staff and management are stalled in their efforts by the lack of staff ( funding) which leaves the residents lacking in some areas.

Was this review helpful?  

Annabell8994 Oct 04, 2015

This is a very good nursing facility .The staff is excellent and the very few inadequate carers are easy to spot.The care given to residents falls short of ideal only because there are not enough staff.Although there are a number of lifestyle carers ,some are not fully aware of the very special needs of dementia patients.In my humble opinion there really is no lifestyle ,but all residents seem to be peaceful in the very least.

Was this review helpful?  

carltonfan1967 Nov 03, 2014

The facility is quite good and new in appearance with all the residents that I saw appearing to be well looked after and comfortable however. It did seem however that for the money that they paid more of an effort could be made for the residents facilities. This could include having Wi-Fi other internet available, apart from two computers which apparently often didn't work. Also there could have been made available books, magazines and videos for residents to use in the privacy of their own rooms. Apart from this the facility was quite good and nothing like some of the horror stories that you hear about nursing homes.

Was this review helpful?  

Facility information, including facility name, operator and location provided courtesy of the Department of Social Service's My Aged Care. All reviews are the personal opinion of the reviewer, and do not necessarily reflect the views of Aged Care Reviews Pty Ltd, and are monitored according to the site's Content Guidelines.

About Southern Cross Care Lynbrook

Southern Cross Care (Vic) is a leading not-for-profit provider of aged care services founded by the Knights of the Southern Cross. Our Board and staff work within a Christian ethos. Since 1969, we have been supporting older people, their families and carers across Melbourne and regional Victoria. Supported by more than 1300 staff and hundreds of volunteers, we are committed to assisting older people to enjoy the best life possible at home or in residential care. Our wide range of services include community in-home support, residential aged care, retirement living, dementia care, respite services and veterans’ home care.

Available Rooms

Room Name

Standard room

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

96

Room size (sqm)

Room size excluding ensuites 20sqm

Room Description

Southern Cross Care Lynbrook is a modern double-storey residence with 96 single rooms each with private ensuite. All rooms have contemporary timber-look vinyl flooring built in wardrobes with hanging space a small built in shelf for personal items ceiling fans and hydronic heating wall mounted TVs as standard and Nurse Call to all rooms including ensuites

Common Areas Description

This modern residence caters for 96 residents over two levels. An extension and refurbishment of the home was completed in 2013. It features two stylish lounge areas with large screen TVs separate dining rooms a dedicated on-site kitchen where all meals are freshly prepared a beautiful chapel with stained-glass windows a spacious community room for activities and a hairdressing salon. There are a number of landscaped courtyards and a sensory garden.

Aged Care Directory
My Account