Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Japara Healthcare

53 businesses total

Japara Healthcare

(3.5)
  • Q1 Building, Level 4, 1 Southbank Blvd Southbank VIC 3006
  • Phone - (03) 9649 2100
  • 142 reviews
3.5 (142 Reviews) Average Operator Rating

Johnnie7268

Sep 26, 2018

Some staff were lovely others did not show compassion especially after 9pm. I believe there weren’t enough staff after this time and therefore they did not have the time or patience to deal with people then.

Was this review helpful?  2

Cole3437

Sep 26, 2018

Facility: St Judes

Not enough Staff to cover all Section, especially in the afternoon and at night, I have seen resident begging for help,Nobody at their station to assist.Also to assist with feeding and showering, Entertainment in the facility is also very poor,Repeating over and over,Same goes for the Menus which is very blend and poor quality.I have asked for a Weekly menus to be displayed or put in the rooms several times.It will also be nice to clean and disinfect the room on a regular Basis,So many times I have cleaned My parents dirty bathroom and changed smelly Bedsheets nicely covered.On the positive side,The facility is very new and some of the staffs there are very helpful.If only St Judes had more to cover all Areas.

Was this review helpful?  

Cade9501

Sep 26, 2018

This particular aged care facility is very good. Accommodation excellent, room and ensuite spacious, food tasty and varied and a board variety of activities for residents to be involved with if desired. My reservation is that there are never enough trained (RN) staff available 24/7. This care facility, for my mother in law is far superior to that Mt mother was exposed to.

Was this review helpful?  

Rene1096

Sep 25, 2018

Whilst the home itself was comfortable, and the staff (although not anywhere near enough of them) were mostly friendly and helpful, the care of my mother was not what was promised. As soon as her dementia worsened, they continually put her in hospital or expected a family member to stay at all times after promising they could 'deal with any circumstance'. They demanded that her drugs be changed so she would sleep all night and had her admitted to hospital to facilitate this, where she immediately became like a zombie and died a few weeks later. I definitely would not recommend this place for dementia patients. The level of staffing does not allow for adequate care of dementia patients.

Was this review helpful?  

Francisco8597

Sep 25, 2018

Food not good. Baked beans or 3 cocktail frankfurts ...no bread.. is not a meal

Was this review helpful?  

Marian7938

Sep 25, 2018

Facility: Viewhills Manor

My 90 year old mum broke her ankle living on her own. After a week in hospital we put mum in respite at an aged care facility in Endeavour Hills, initially for 6 weeks but this extended to 9 weeks with in house rehab. The staff and physios have been outstanding in their care and management of mums injury and ongoing exercise program to get her up and walking again. Mum realizes she can not live on her own anymore and is going to stay permanently in care. Although this is a difficult decision for mum and us (her family) we know this is best for mums future care. Mum enjoys socializing with other residents and joins in with activities like mind games and looks forward to the entertainers /singers that come in regularly. As hard as this process has been emotionally to have a much loved mum put into residential care we know mum is eating more, with a greater variety of food than she was eating at home. Mum is being cared for by understanding, patient staff. The home is very clean with a pleasant decor. Mums room is not huge but she has her own ensuite and a large window overlooking a beautiful garden courtyard.

Was this review helpful?  

Zander5086

Sep 25, 2018

Facility: Millward

While the nursing and care staff are terrific, the facility is very short staffed. I know most of them do the best they can but we pay very good money to have our family cared for and they are not meeting the needs of the residents. I have also found after a couple of incidents involving the safety and wellbeing of my father, management were more concerned about being right and did not listen to our concerns. On one particular occasssion recently, the facility manager was only concerned with her statistics and that our concerns could not be valid because they didn't match what her stats were saying and one of the care coordinators accused me of being a liar and also scoffed not think about extra staff, because that was never going to happen. Even going so far as to suggest that my father should change his behaviour to reduce the risk rather than fixing the issue which was a non-operating call alarm system - a basic life saving function required in all rooms. After I spent a week arguing with the care coordinator and the facility manager to get the issue rectified, it eventuated that our concerns were based in fact but no-one offered an apology for the emotional stress and anxiety they inflicted on us while we had to argue to get action and spent a week with my father having no way of calling for help if he were to have a fall. The food is terrible, my father has lost 10kg because the food is never appetising, only eating so he doesn't die. He has nearly died twice because his visiting GP kept saying he couldn't do anymore for his lung disease - we have since replaced this GP and his health has improved greatly. And on and on it goes...

Was this review helpful?  

Adaline9701

Sep 25, 2018

My father died due to his call bell not being responded to prompty. He fell in the bathroom, has a heart attack, fractured his his hip and had bleeding on the brain which resulted in his death

Was this review helpful?  

Meagan356

Sep 25, 2018

Facility: Kingston Gardens

Newly built facility , but understaffed .

Was this review helpful?  

Maria7744

Sep 25, 2018

I visit at many different times and have never heard or seen any of the staff show or talk disrespectfully to anyone the residents at the facility. There have been many occasions when mum is being showered or toiletted and staff do not know I am in Mum's room. Staff have always ensured mums dignity is maintained. Staff are very approachable and listen and act on concerns whenever possible. There is no delay in accessing medical assistance when required.

Was this review helpful?  1

Felicity2517

Sep 25, 2018

Facility: Balmoral Grove

We have had a good experience so far

Was this review helpful?  

Benny7389

Sep 25, 2018

Facility: Viewhills Manor

My 90 year old mum went into Viewhills Manor for respite after breaking her ankle. After 9 weeks mum has realised she cannot go home to live on her own. The staff and physios have been so patient and accommodating in mums progress. Mum has made friends and enjoys the social interaction with others. From the mind games to the entertainers that visit to perform for the residents, all helps to make a difficult decision easier knowing it is best for my mums well being and ongoing care. Mum says the staff are very kind and mum is eating more with more variety than if she was home.

Was this review helpful?  1

Lauretta4444

Sep 25, 2018

Mum seems to like living there,staff look like they care.

Was this review helpful?  

Ray2373

Sep 25, 2018

Facility: Hallam

My sister is 57 down syndrome now high needs...incontinent and unable to walk..The staff had been there for yrs I asked tht question on tour. The consistency of staff is important they know the residents requirements. Most important is no of staff being able to find staff. Also like the fact the rooms open. Feel I can approach manager. Also staff appear happy. They also have cared for down syndrome before.they know the condition and health needs. Care and no of staff should be priority not posh rooms. Non many agency either permanent excellent so good to her

Was this review helpful?  

Citlalli3235

Sep 25, 2018

Facility: Elouera

My mother was a resident at Elouera Aged care Facility in Torquay for three years until her death in March 2017. Like many of the residents, it was a difficult transition away from the family home, made more difficult by my mother's lack of mobility which eventually resulted in her being bedridden. Along the way, we had various issues related to the overall care and comfort but they were always addressed quickly and professionally. In general, the carers and nurses genuinely cared about our mother and made a special effort to do everything they could to make her as comfortable. She was really attached to some of the staff and when mum became very ill the care was exceptional and in Mum's last few days this high level of care was around the clock. My sisters and I were with Mum in her final days and the morning she passed was so very sad for us as it was for mum's special nurses and staff who were by her side and shed tears as she passed. We felt the love for our Mother so very strongly at this time and were so grateful for the love and support showed to Mum by the wonderful staff at Elouera

Was this review helpful?  

Laverna9057

Sep 25, 2018

Facility: St Judes

Facility excellant, staff ranged from very average to excellant. Lifestyle and food very good. Doct okrs available to residents were very average

Was this review helpful?  

Randal3623

Sep 25, 2018

Facility: Narracan Gardens

My husband aged 7o has lived there since June 2005. He is confined to bed after a stroke in June 2004 and last year I had a complaint against the management through the usual channels and wasn't successful. As he has no core strength, they refuse to lift him with the standing lifter and insist he is moved in the hoist, he finds it too demeaning and dangerous to be lifted that way so is bed nursed. Is going downhill that is apparent and is regarded as a "difficult"resident.

Was this review helpful?  

Ebba3832

Sep 25, 2018

Staff have always been respectful and have treated mum with dignity at all times. I have never heard any lack of respect to other residents when carers are talking together.

Was this review helpful?  

Timothy1111

Sep 25, 2018

Facility: Elanora

the staff do there best but they are short staffed. the food is a lot of pastas

Was this review helpful?  

Maude7745

Sep 25, 2018

Facility: Narracan Gardens

The carers and nursing staff are wonderful, and really care about the residents. My 87-year-old father has been living at Narracan Gardens high-care nursing home in regional Victoria for 6.5 years, and they virtually nursed him back from a bad illness to a happy and relatively healthy lifestyle. I live in Sydney, so their care gives me great peace of mind - when I visit Dad every 5-6 weeks for a weekend, I see continual evidence that they are looking after him wonderfully well. The only area in which improvements could be made is the quality and choice of meals. Whilst breakfasts are fine, lunches and particularly dinners, are below par. My father has taken to avoiding the evening meal, saying it's extremely unappetising to look at, let alone eat - meals consist of party pies/sausage rolls, and powdered egg with commercially-prepared potato nuggets (a vision of 'beige'). He complains that the meals, overall, have little taste.

Was this review helpful?