Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Bupa Care Services Pty Ltd

74 businesses total

Bupa Care Services Pty Ltd

(3.6)
  • 255 George St Sydney NSW 2000
  • Phone - 1300 302 350
  • 257 reviews
3.6 (257 Reviews) Average Operator Rating

Viviane7742

May 1, 2019

Facility: Bupa South Hobart

Both my mother and mother in law were at Bupa for eight years. They had rooms facing the rivulet which were sunny and spacious. The on-site doctor provides outstanding support. Over this time we saw a serious deterioration in quality of staffing and service. There were many promises, and apologies over wound care, food quality, nursing care, staffing ratios and entertainment. My mother in law requested no male caters, at 96,for her personal hygiene care. This was rarely supported. Her palliative care reflected poor communication when shifts information around family and personal care could never be accomodated.Ratio at evening was one RN and two or three carers for 80 residents. Carers has poor nursing knowledge and training Food was poor and quite often unable to supply simple requests like ice cream or jelly. We were not surprised when they lost their accreditation and this has now been extended to October. This place is to be avoided until there is major cultural changes.

Was this review helpful?  

Antwan9354

May 1, 2019

Facility: Bupa Banora Point

My mother resided at Bupa Care Banora Point and the food and care was execllent.The staff were very caring and friendly.My mother Estelle had a lovely room withh bush views.The room and facility had exacting standards for cleanliness and infection control including good hygienic standards for food storage and preparation.My mother is a vegetarian and the chef ensured Mum had a nutritious diet.Estelle my mother was taken out into the garden several times weekly in her wheel chair and Mum really enjoyed the courtyard garden with the beautiful potted plants.There was often music and social events and at holidays and Christmas and birthdays a really wonderful party atmosphere!The only reason I reluctantly relocated Mum was because my husband and I bought a house on the Sunshine coast.I needed Mum, closer to me to enjoy her latter years.The care manager and Bupa Staff were so helpful and hardworking with the difficult process of transporting Mum as it was difficult arranging the process over borders .Excellent work and service Bupa Care staff !In contrast to other past aged care facilities Bupa Care staff and the facility meant I could trust the staff to provide excellent care for Mum when I was a long distance away(200 klms).I am extremely grateful to all of you.Best Regards Suzanne Brown

Was this review helpful?  

Anonymous7521

Apr 15, 2019

Facility: Bupa Donvale

The issue is around understanding rather than staff commitment

Was this review helpful?  

Christop1208

Apr 13, 2019

Facility: Bupa Bateau Bay

Formal complaint to ACCC regarding three serious failures, all failures require evidence based To-date facility accountable 2 failures 3rd failure staff now responding with "know nothing" Revolving door of management, clinical care management and care staff Relocation of family member required as not being resolved, this was not undertaken lightly as aware not best practise to have to start over for family member

Was this review helpful?  

Eryn6355

Apr 12, 2019

Facility: Bupa Merrimac

Thank you to all the dedicated staff , from the wonderful kind Administrator , to the dedicated doctors, nurses , allied health staff and environmental staff and cooks and kitchen staff .My Dad was so apprehensive.. however his feedback has been only positive.. He specially mentions the cook and how helpful kind and supportive the staff are. He was a little worried that he wouldn't be allowed out for his walks..but after following the safety procedures ,he has gained the staffs confidence.

Was this review helpful?  

Zelda1538

Apr 12, 2019

Facility: Bupa Calwell

This facility has been under sanctions since Oct 2018 and I feel that although they have now passed their review little has changed. The culture of the staff is still the same. They may have picked up on their training but the care quality is that it is just a job. I do not want to move my Dad though as I may move hime somewhere that is worse. My father and his neighbour had medication mix up just recently. The staff who placed the medication in the room placed it in the wrong locked box and then the carer the next morning administered the wrong medicine to both. This ended up with with my father spending a day in hospital being monitored for low blood pressure. Obviously the training wasn't sufficient. There has been little improvement of the food. I email my concerns, as I really don't find the meetings they hold are of any use. The same issues come up and there doesn't seem to be outcomes from meetings.

Was this review helpful?  

Heather601

Apr 11, 2019

Facility: Bupa Bankstown

Staff are always very obliging and helpful. Quality of food seems quite good. My dad is very contented there. It's bright and airy and doesn't smell bad.

Was this review helpful?  

Roslyn9055

Apr 11, 2019

Facility: Bupa Runaway Bay

Bupa Runaway Bay staff are caring and friendly. Always willing to help. My mum has been a resident for several months and has settled in extremely well. I would completely recommend to anyone looking for somewhere.

Was this review helpful?  

Kelvin5497

Apr 11, 2019

Facility: Bupa Bankstown

Despite all the negative views of Aged Care, we have had a positive outcome from this facility, on the basis of the caring staff, and knowledge that my father is loved by the people he comes in contact with.

Was this review helpful?  

Lina3097

Apr 11, 2019

Facility: Bupa Bateau Bay

The TV room is a thoroughfare, if a resident moves their arms when watching TV, the exit door opens. The food is overcooked and unappetising. There are trip hazards and management find excuses rather than fix. Even though demonstrated that there is a problem. The doctor gave residents immunisation without checking with staff or patients records. This resulted in double immunisation. Bupa responded by saying the doctor was naughty. They did not want to take it further in case it resulted in the loss of the doctor! Wonderful, caring staff. Problems with broken or missing lifting machines result in residents staying in bed until lunch time. Management keeps changing and when concerns are raised, you are treated in a patronising way!

Was this review helpful?  

[email protected]

Apr 11, 2019

Facility: Bupa Edithvale

The facility is clean tidy and has good sized rooms. Rooms are twin share with a bathroom room. There are also single rooms with ensuites. What I liked is some of the staff have been there for over 15yrs... This indicated to me that if the staff are happy then their care will be good. They are wonderful to my mother. The meals and snacks are amazing the chef's own grandmother is in the facility! Its all geared around trying to make the best experience for all their clients. The memory support wing is well staffed.

Was this review helpful?  

Kari4768

Apr 11, 2019

Facility: Bupa Bonbeach

food is good but often cool needs to be heated staff are fantastic especially Bernie the cleaner

Was this review helpful?  

Selina5262

Apr 11, 2019

My mother and I thought the facility was lovely, but after a few weeks there she was forced to eat at a table with a woman who stole her food, put it in her mouth, then put it back on her plate. There was nobody to converse with over meals. She asked to be moved to another table and they said 'someone has to sit here'. She took her cup of tea back to her room and they abused her and told her she had to eat at the table. When she soiled herself accidentally, they left her for over an hour before attending to her. When I complained, they told me the staff was 'very busy' and 'there are other patients with needs'. There was a request on file (for very good reason) that a certain relative not be permitted to be alone with her. We feared emotional abuse. Well, they ignored the request and there was emotional abuse. And when complained they said they were 'too busy' to supervise every visitor. The biggest upset for me was when she was dying. They lied about her condition and would not allow me to be with her. Her biggest fear was dying alone but they said it was 'policy' not to allow anyone in the room with dying patients. On admission, they lied about the costs. After she was admitted and settled in a room, they demanded more payment and when I objected they moved her to another room right above the laundry. The noise drove her mad. She repeatedly asked to be moved but they refused. Overall, despite a very attractive building, excellent quality food, and some excellent staff, the standard of care was very poor indeed.

Was this review helpful?  

Donnie6679

Mar 27, 2019

Facility: Bupa New Farm

Help you was excellent, extremely helpful.

Was this review helpful?  

ilovemymum

Feb 25, 2019

Facility: Bupa Bonbeach

all aged care facilities could be better, some more than others but the one that I placed my mother in was the best we could find. the staff are fabulous and really seem to care and they seem to all be happy. I personally visited about 15 - 20 premises and believe me, some I would not put my dog in let alone my mother.

Was this review helpful?  1

Emely1245

Feb 25, 2019

Facility: Bupa New Farm

Great friendly staff, food is delicious, room is comfortable.

Was this review helpful?  

Dana5787

Feb 17, 2019

Facility: Bupa Mosman

First time respite for my husband . Was pleased with his care . He felt comfortable

Was this review helpful?  

Maximillian1733

Feb 11, 2019

Facility: Bupa Dural

It would be helpful if residents care plan is in room

Was this review helpful?  

Anonymous5557

Feb 6, 2019

Facility: Bupa Templestowe

The staff are good but they are so short staffed they cannot adequately help everyone. There must be mandated safer staff to patient ratios in aged care. There is no point saying they are passionate about caring as overworked staff cannot be passionate and both staff and patients suffer the consequences of inadequate care such as fall alarms unanswered, inadequate help with feeding, brushing teeth at night, adequate toileting or nappy changes, staff burnout.

Was this review helpful?  1

Flossie6469

Dec 18, 2018

Facility: Bupa Caulfield

While my mother was a resident on Ascot ward level 2, she was deemed to have dementia and segragated away from the main dining room into the adjoining TV room with 16 other frail residents. Priority was given to serve hot meals to the main dining room residents first.The meals for the 16 frail residents were left on a trolley for up to 1/2 an hour and were served every day cold from the freed up main dining room staff. This was a common problem in the evenings and when I would visit and complain I was told they're short of staff and "use the nearby microwave oven to reheat your mother's meal". Cold meals were also served to the bedridden residents who came third in the pecking order. The textured meals looked like glug and unappealing.BUPA Caulfield refused to hire agency staff if a carer worker rang in sick, and pressure was put by management on present carers to work double shifts - often afternoons into evenings and evenings into overnight i.e. 16 hour combined shifts. Only one registered nurse employed overnight to service the 120 roomed residents 3 storey complex To handle resident's falls delerium etc

Was this review helpful?