Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Bupa Care Services Pty Ltd

68 businesses total

Bupa Care Services Pty Ltd

(3.7)
  • 255 George St Sydney NSW 2000
  • Phone - 1300 302 350
  • 188 reviews
3.7 (188 Reviews) Average Operator Rating

Kim Wong

May 17, 2015

Facility: Bupa Bateau Bay

My mother had a stroke 2 years ago which left her visually impaired, unsteady on her feet and she is also in the early stages of dementia. She entered an aged care facility, after a long an arduous search to find the right one. The one we chose appeared to have all that we could ask for, its glossy brochures and the staff we spoke to answered all our questions with the answers we wanted to hear. Unfortunately, after placing my mother there it appears they are under staffed, and the patients are left pretty much to their own devices. While they make a great pretence of asking the patients to choose their menu, it appears they eat nothing more than sandwiches, party pies and salad. Although, my mother is one of the lucky ones as I take her out three times a week and I know she has a decent meal, I have also purchased a frig for her room, so she has fresh fruit, yoghurt and up and go milk shakes to substitute to her lack of a balanced diet. It is the other patients that don't have family support whom I feel very sorry for. I went began to monitor basic needs that weren't being met, such as changing bed linen and cleaning of her room. It is now something I do myself once a week as I am tired of complaining, but once again, my mum is one of the lucky ones, as for the other patients, I am not so sure. There appears to be minimum interaction between the patients, and I blame the staff for this, they feel that by herding them all up and placing them in front of a tv their job is done. I know there are many patients who can't converse, but for the ones that can, I am sure if they were all in a group and a member of staff initiated a conversation about their past they would share stories and laugh together. Over all while I know these facilities are probably doing the best they can do, and they are obviously a necessary need, as we are all living longer, I personally hope I die, before I have to live in one, as I don't want my children to have to do for me, what I am doing for my mum.

Was this review helpful?  7

Alex Eastgate

May 16, 2015

Facility: Bupa Caulfield

My review is for Bupa, South Caulfield. My Mother was here for two years. She passed away 2013. I found Bupa to be very professional, easy to contact and have a lot of feed back. Outings were arranged by their own Bus. The rooms and the interior was always very clean and smelt very fresh. They would contact me straight away if something was not right. The out door ares were well maintained and plenty of choose where to sit. Under cover parking.

Was this review helpful?  3

MumAgedCare

May 15, 2015

Facility: Bupa Narwee

my mother is in the secure dementia section. the activities I see being available seem inappropriate and unstimulating. for example, I would like to see activities such as childrens wooden puzzles, childrens stacking toys etc. activities to suit a 2-5 year old which would stimulate the patients limited capacity. At present all I have seen is plain paper and colour pencils. larger crayons would be more appropriate and colouring in books rather than blank paper would also be more stimulating.

Was this review helpful?  1

Just me

May 14, 2015

Facility: Bupa Aranda

My dad was in an aged care facility in ACT in 2009. Although he was only there for two weeks before he passed away, the staff were very caring and compassionate.

Was this review helpful?  5

AE0909

May 13, 2015

Facility: Bupa Toowoomba

My father-in-law spent his last 9 months as a resident in this Aged Care Facility. From my observations, the staff were considerate, caring, thoughtful and treated residents with understanding, respect and dignity. I have dealt with many Aged Care facilities through the course of my work as an Allied Health Professional and admire the dedication and commitment most of the staff

Was this review helpful?  1

Worrieddaughter

May 11, 2015

My mother, 89, moved in three months ago. It looked good and promised much. I blamed government policy for the high costs, but later discovered that wasn't quite fair. I feel seriously misled over costs and wronged over accommodation allocation that has placed my mother in a most unsatisfactory room. I'm furious that requests to move her have been ignored despite availability, while others who made later requests have been indulged. Meals are great. Activities are poor and she is bored stiff and lonely. Overall care is quite good, but she has been denied sleeping pills despite them being prescribed and purchased for her and her health is failing fast as a result of lack of sleep. Herbal comforts have been confiscated without consultation. Disturbing signs of injury or skin sores are untreated, with staff claiming ''she was asleep when the doctor visited''. Security is poor and she's had valuables stolen and been physically attacked by another patient. I see a lot of room for improvement in the system generally, and I'm pleased to see innovation resulting in facilities like Fairways, Tweed Heads, where people can retain more independence and control over their lives. Old people are not necessarily incompetent, and shouldn't be treated as such. If they can self-medicate and the doctor agrees they are capable, they should be allowed to. And aged care facilities should provide locked rooms and keys for residents, and ensure that service pipes, machinery, etc. do not create excessive noise or vibration that upsets residents who pay hefty fees for what can prove to be grossly inferior accommodation.

Was this review helpful?  

Patsy1908

May 4, 2015

Facility: Bupa Greensborough

I visit a friend on a weekly basis and I have found that over the past 6 months the whole facility has improved. Especially the gardens, general up keep of the facility and with the pictures on the wall makes it feel like 'home'. Staff and care is good too.

Was this review helpful?  

Deborah Marcinkus

May 4, 2015

Facility: Bupa Edithvale

My mother suffers Alzheimers and is very well looked after in the dementia ward. Great feedback and communication. Kind staff and great facilities.

Was this review helpful?  

anneos

May 4, 2015

Facility: Bupa Greensborough

My mum has been at Bupa Greensborough for just over 2 years now, with advanced dementia. She's only 69. The care staff have gone out of their way to make her stay there comfortable and respectful. We are in there most days to feed her lunch and they are always so welcoming and friendly. The nurse in charge of her section, Liz, is constantly advocating for mum, for her dignity and choices that she might have made. I cannot thank them enough for the care that they are taking of my mum.

Was this review helpful?  1

Hugo86

May 2, 2015

Facility: Bupa Sutherland

I can't be more appraising than giving these stars as my rating. My Mum is super happy there and well looked after

Was this review helpful?  1

Sylv13

May 2, 2015

Facility: Bupa Coburg

My father was only there for a short while before he passed away but the care given to him was exceptional. His passions were gardening and playing cards. One of the workers actually learned how to play an Italian card game so that she could play with him. The facility was also going to organise a garden bed for him to plod around and plant his vegetables.

Was this review helpful?  3

Rafaela2906

Apr 10, 2015

Facility: Bupa Templestowe

Fantastic Aged Care home. The staff are great and everything is new. All rooms are big with private bathrooms. The food is made on site and fresh every day. An amazing place, feel very happy to have my Mother in law living there.

Was this review helpful?  1

Sydnee1607

Apr 1, 2015

Facility: Bupa Caulfield

My nieces father-in-law suffering dementia and grief after the loss of his wife was admitted into an Aged Care Facility to be cared for in a Dementia Secure Unit. He was well looked after by thoroughly professional and caring staff at all levels. The environment allowed him to "be himself" within a controlled yet "homelike" atmosphere. The family could not fault any experiences of his stay and I, as a retired Executive Professional who had worked the last 15 years within the Aged Care Sector myself, can also offer praise to the Organization that he was part of for over 15 months. When ever I visited him the whole atmosphere of the facility was always welcoming, well maintained with obvious caring staff who afforded their residents with expertise clinically but more importantly dignity at all times.

Was this review helpful?  

MyMothersSon

Feb 27, 2015

This place is truly dreadful. Yes it is pretty, but that is the only positive. The staff are extremely disinterested and do have trouble communicating with the residents. Care and attention is variable, but mostly very, very poor. The food is awful and servings minimal. The residents have to compete for food like bananas and yoghourt. Meanwhile, the fruit bowl is overflowing with hard inedible apples. The staff do not seem to understand what elderly people are able to eat. Trips away are not announced, cancelled at the last moment and are very limited as the bus holds 8 people. Recently the trips have been no more than a drive around for an hour or two, no stops, no destination. We did try talking to management, but were simply handed a whole lot of corporate babble. It has become clear to us that this establishment is actively and cleverly marketed to relatives while operating primarily for corporate revenue generatiion. Care is the minimum required to ensure the income stream for BUPA continues. Do not even consider this place for any of your relatives. We are actively searching for an alternative for my mother.

Was this review helpful?  1

crthomson

Feb 10, 2015

Facility: Bupa Roseville

Need to work harder

Was this review helpful?  

Distressed Daughter

Nov 19, 2014

Although a lovely looking facility with all mod cons, the care of residents is sub-standard. Staff who do not understand their residents needs. Inexperienced nursing staff lacking knowledge of basic medical requirements of the elderly. Management that say they are listening and will make changes but never do. Repeatedly have to complain with no outcome. Problems with staff answering call button/help button and don't answer them for long periods of time. Activities calandar that is not adhered to which seems to be generated only to satisfy family who then think all these activities are going on for their loved ones. Needs much improvements and more stringent protocols, policies and procedures. Very disappointing.

Was this review helpful?  

Emerald3208

Nov 3, 2014

Facility: Bupa Edithvale

Even though this facility had an incident with difficult relatives occurring at the time we toured, my impression, not theres, the staff were polite and patient with my fragile friend

Was this review helpful?  

Wellington8549

Oct 26, 2014

Residents hate the place. Staff disinterested and bored. Food dreadful.

Was this review helpful?  

Larry6531

Oct 24, 2014

Facility: Bupa Croydon

Very special care

Was this review helpful?  

Trudi2628

Aug 19, 2014

Facility: Bupa Croydon

My grandmother is in an aged care facility. The staff are so caring and friendly the facility is homely snd they go out of their way to make each day enjoyable for the residents.

Was this review helpful?