Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Doutta Galla Aged Services Limited

8 businesses total

Doutta Galla Aged Services Limited

(3.0)
  • 75 Moreland St Footscray VIC 3011
  • Phone - 03) 9689 0644
  • 29 reviews
3.0 (29 Reviews) Average Operator Rating

Haskell2594

May 3, 2015

Well set out facility but felt it was a little too large for those with advanced health problems such as dementia as I felt they could easily be forgotten.

Was this review helpful?  

Deshell

Apr 28, 2015

Initially when my nana had to be placed due to worstening dementia, we thought we had found the best facility to suit her needs. How wrong we were! Over a year later, each week seems to bring new issues as well as old issues which are never addressed! Basic needs are not met. There is no flexibility or initiative from staff. Concerns are not passed on to other staff members, the same conversations frustratingly occur over and over again. The supervision is next to non existent. I often visit after work ( approx 4pm) to find my nana still in bed, wearing a dirty nighty and wearing a wet pad. I wonder if she has eaten all day, if anyone has bothered to convince her to get up, help her shower or eat. It's too easy for the carers to say she refused and move on. Those with dementia need encouragement and persuasion, not to be left to there own devises. The staff quite obviously have a poor understanding of dementia and the behavioural issues associated with it. Complaining sometimes results in mild improvements, with my nana up and in the dining area at the next visit. However sitting with those who do not speak English, eating European food she had never chosen to eat in 80 years and sitting without her hearing aids, as they have been lost yet again, causes frustration and anxiety. The hard choice to place a loved one in a facility is made easier knowing they will be cared for. Since being at Doutta Gala, my nana has fallen over numerous times and had more injuries then she ever had at home. Family now visit more, worried about who is actually caring for my nana. My mothers life is impacted more than ever as she is constantly concerned and worried that my nana is being cared for to an adequate standard. The issues are ongoing, and overal this facility is poor!

Was this review helpful?  1

shanef

Apr 24, 2015

Facility is managed poorly with no focus on handover or follow up with staff. The same issues occur over and over again and are not resolved. There is little point in complaining as the management become very defensive and often do not respond to phone calls or emails sent. The staff are not trained to deal with dementia patients and appear to have little or no knowledge of typical alzheimers behaviours. I have to shower my mother at least twice a week to ensure she is clean. Whilst she is scheduled to be showered 3 times per week only, she often refuses and there is little effort made to encourage her to shower. When I mention this, I am constantly told that if she refuses that is it. I think it is quite a convenient way to avoid work to say " she said no". I am disgusted by this lack of cleanliness and so would my mother be, if she was able to think rationally. The evening meal is of poor quality compared to the lunch time food and menu options are geared towards European tastes. There is huge quantities of pasta and little variety. There is little effort made to ensure that my mother eats and drinks. She often forgets to eat or drink, and without my constant intervention, she would barely touch her evening meal. Her food is left on the tray for her to eat if she wants. My mother has little interaction with other residents because if I do leave her in community areas to interact, she is left there till 9pm as she cannot remember where her room is. When I have mentioned to staff to have her interact for just a few hours and then take her back to her room, they blame her for not being able to find her own room. One staff member complained to me that they have told her numerous times her room number but she does not remember. The reason she does not remember is because she has alzheimers, which is why she is in a nursing home in the first place!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful?  

Anthony3179

Apr 17, 2015

Can't believe how quickly my mother deteriorated once she moved into this facility. The lack of communication and understanding from the staff has really disappointed us. We go to visit and walk away in tears. Certainly not the way she would of wanted to be remembered.

Was this review helpful?  

Hertha5176

Apr 9, 2015

Evening meal food is of lesser quality than lunchtime food. A large focus on pasta dishes with little other options. Handover of staff information relating to residents is poor. Minimal encouragement to residents regarding showering/washing. If a resident denies showering, little or no enticement follows from staff, to encourage resident to change their mind. The typical response is that the resident has said no. Showering is scheduled 3 times per week only, which is not sufficient to encourage self worth, hygiene and self confidence. Minimal understanding from staff of dementia and typical associated behaviours.

Was this review helpful?  

Willy10

Aug 5, 2014

On initial impression the facility seemed ok but spending more time there I see some lack of attentiveness and drop in standard of care and food quality. Food is more catered for the Europeans rather than traditional Australian dishes my grandmother is used to.

Was this review helpful?  

Siobhan

Aug 5, 2014

Staff are always kind and work hard atmosphere is calm despite the difficult nature of the job.

Was this review helpful?  1

Daniela3217

Jul 7, 2014

Very pleased with the overall inspection and the quality of staff

Was this review helpful?  

Deshell

May 6, 2014

After looking through various homes in the area, Doutta Gala was one of the best.The building was modern and clean, with plans to renovate and alter to meet residents needs( i.e.new garden to be built for dementia patients, existing work shop for men interested in wood work). The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Compared to the other homes, Doutta Gala seemed very flexible with their rules and regulations; a necessity when accommodating to individuals needs.The common areas were clean and all the residents appeared happy and well looked after.

Was this review helpful?