Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Estia Health Residential Services

58 businesses total

Estia Health Residential Services

(3.6)
  • 357 Camberwell Rd Camberwell VIC 3124
  • Phone - (03) 9811 9777
  • 161 reviews
3.6 (161 Reviews) Average Operator Rating

Roy347

Sep 26, 2018

Caring for the elderly has its challenges, staff and management vary enormously just as in other professions. Whilst some things have been missed with my parents, particularly my father because he had some dementia, and it was disappointing, no one can expect 100% all the time. When my father was dying some staff who had been close to him came in to say goodbye, I was astounded by their genuine empathy and fondness for my father when you consider how often someone in an aged care facility would pass away and their concern and care for our family. In an age where abuse in nursing homes is a hot topic I am pleased to be able to say to date our family has not suspected or observed anything but appropriate care for our parents.

Was this review helpful?  

Abigayle1270

Sep 26, 2018

Staff are pleasant, happy, very caring and friendly to residents, family and friends. Very professional.

Was this review helpful?  

Libbie2791

Sep 26, 2018

The staff have been excellent in their caring and understanding. The whole intake process was extremely daunting for the family and there was a constant change of staff and lack of communication which made everything more complicated than it needed to be. The actual care staff have been excellent so far.

Was this review helpful?  

Morgan6984

Sep 26, 2018

My mum was in care for 12 months following a psychotic depression breakdown, after a long hospital stay in a mental health unit. Facility staff were mostly good however not trained appropriately for mental health issues in aged care. They only had one mental health nurse visiting weekly and one RN per floor per 20 residents.

Was this review helpful?  

Zelda2062

Sep 25, 2018

I would recommend Estia health Goldengrove to any one that is needing to place someone into age care , their level of care is excellent couldn’t ask for more.

Was this review helpful?  1

Vivien5131

Sep 25, 2018

Inexperienced staff Not enough staff to number of residents Management not interested in family's concerns.

Was this review helpful?  3

Lon4828

Sep 25, 2018

My mother who is 96 has been at Estia Aged Care in Elizabeth St, Oakleigh East. She has been there now for 6 years. I have found the care to be excellent, extremely thoughtful, kind care. They always ring me every month, they act on my concerns. My Mum came in very ill and over the years she has developed mild dementia. She is enjoying the entertainments and activities and yes is bored sometimes but mostly very happy. I am so grateful for the excellent care at this place. I visit every two - three days and I am an active carer for my Mum. My partner is 72 and very ill with lung cancer and other problems and he is now there also receiving different care and different challengers. It has upset me very much to hear of the awful stories of aged care problems, yes it is not a perfect system but it is what it is.

Was this review helpful?  1

Eldora6363

Sep 25, 2018

Most disgusting facility ever. I wouldn,t send my worst enemy there. They look after your loved ones when you are watching them and ignore their existence when you leave. They treated my elderly mother like she was a nuisance , didn't clean her properly, made her sleep on the floor in case she fell, turned her monitor off at night so they couldnt hear her and if she didnt eat her breakfast due to being still asleep, took her meal away and made her wait until morning tea. This place is short staffed, very nice on the surface or if you are in respite, and once your loved one is booked in,,,,,,forget to care for them...They are too busy getting another new resident.

Was this review helpful?  7

Alvina6382

Sep 25, 2018

Very unhappy with process, service, follow up regarding my Mum and Aunt being residents in low care facility. Also unhappy with knowing where to complain or get assistance from MyAgedCare.

Was this review helpful?  1

Mrsmuzza

Sep 25, 2018

I’ve had experience of workin in a facility as well as my Dad recently spending time living in a facility. Both have been fantastic with awesome staff who want to look after the residents to the best of their ability. It is such a pity a few bad people have put all centres into the spotlight.

Was this review helpful?  

Lela2666

Sep 25, 2018

I was recently on four corners my mum was abused at estia health Epping. It was a horrible experience. I am suffering from this and will never recover.

Was this review helpful?  7

berman

Sep 25, 2018

We had a relation living at Estia Manly Vale for about 6 months and in that time we felt secure that she was being well treated (although one of our family had reservations about one staff member) but on the whole we were happy, she became a very different person, was a problem for the home and this from a very intelligent woman - we were more concerned that the home wouldn't be able to manage her so were pleased when they took extra steps to make sure she was secure but not restraint. Moire Berman Manly 25.10.'18

Was this review helpful?  2

Lilly4136

Sep 25, 2018

My mother has been in residential care now for just over 12 months. She is looking so much healthier and happy since being there. I tried to place her in care for a while as dad died 6 years ago and mum was gradually going down hill but she just wasn't going to admit she needed help.

Was this review helpful?  1

Xavier8621

Sep 25, 2018

More personal carers to shower and cut nails etc and to help with dressing and makeup would be good. That way the clients are not rushed.

Was this review helpful?  

Ignacio8806

Sep 25, 2018

My mother was in a Nursing Home for 3 years. While the staff were generally caring, the poor staff/patient ratio did not allow them to spend quality time with residents. There were 3 managers in 3 years, the most recent did her best and was very caring and professional. My mother did not have dementia and at times found she was 'talked down to' and treated as if she did. I saw evidence of that as I was a regular visitor. It is also difficult for residents to hear, understand and communicate effectively with nurses/carers whose 1st language is not English. I also found the billing process very confusing whereby I was constantly querying monthly invoices - in 100% of contact with their finance area I was found to be correct. I am pleased that this industry is being investigated as there are a lot of people making a lot of money at the expense of the elderly - and we're all going to get there one day! Our aging loved ones deserve every bit of care and respect as do our children.

Was this review helpful?  1

Sibyl6257

Sep 25, 2018

When visiting my mother in law , it felt like family staff knew her as an individual. We always felt welcome to visit. Grandad spent most of his days there and he always felt welcome

Was this review helpful?  2

Katelyn5257

Sep 25, 2018

The building and surrounds are lovely. Most staff are great, skilled and warm. The food is fair- fairly good while some meals are good. There is a strong biomedical model with emphasis on routines and processes instead of being a true person -centric model. They do try though. Also there are no heaters in the bathrooms which are very cold. All in all- good care and good staff.

Was this review helpful?  

Retta2495

Sep 25, 2018

Nice staff. Told mum would have a single room but we arrived to find she was sharing. Not exactly a good start. Nursing staff were caring. Not a great deal of outside area.

Was this review helpful?  

Xavier9359

Sep 25, 2018

After putting my father in a nursing home due to our concerns of his health he clearly didn’t want to give up his independance. After visiting him everyday for a min of 2 hours to settle him in, they done the unthinkable uped his oxygen dose without doctors orders and left him unsupervised to which it caused him to slip into a coma and was unresponsive my father died that night. Was put into a nursing home with the box ticked High Care and yet for the 12 days he was there I was helping him through out his feeding drinks walking etc he died 12 days later due to undue care shortness of staff. Im now without a father and I still have unanswered questions.

Was this review helpful?  

Jerry4

Sep 25, 2018

Mum and dad loved the staff and the meals were lovely if I had to find something to complain about it was I didn't get a lot of feedback on what Mum and Dad were up to during their stay, perhaps this was my fault for not actually asking it but they will definitely be going back to stay again

Was this review helpful?