Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

IRT

27 businesses total

IRT

(3.8)
  • Level 3, 77 Market St Wollongong NSW 2500
  • Phone - 134 IRT
  • 86 reviews
3.8 (86 Reviews) Average Operator Rating

Destiney8563

Jun 5, 2019

Facility: IRT Kangara Waters

My mother endured 2 months of 30 deg C plus temperatures at the end stages of her life. No air conditioning in a relatively new building of 10 years. Staffing was insufficient and staff there were all foreign and VERY difficult to understand in conversation. Impossible for my mother. Night staff were often abrupt and rude. To buzz for a staff member for any reason, more often than not, meant a wait of 30 minutes or even hours. Mums room was not cleaned regularly. The bathroom often not cleaned for days. Communication from staff to families was extremely poor and often erratic. THE LACK OF PROFESSIONALLY TRAINED AGED CARE STAFF/NURSES IS TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE.

Was this review helpful?  

Robin1895

Apr 11, 2019

Facility: IRT Woodlands

IRT Woodlands looks great; however, the care is atrocious. In the five months that my mother was at this facility, only on one occasion did we (2 brothers and myself) see an activity and that was facilitated by nursing students on placement there. My mother was made to wear incontinence pants. When at home with us she continued to use the toilet. Her room was locked due to other residents going into her room. Minimal staff, who are hard to find due to their busy work schedule. During the five months my mother’s good clothes disappeared and only last week her earrings. The three of us visited my mother almost daily, taking her out due to the lack of stimulation. We had a meeting with a manager on the 14th of January 2019 to express our concerns. We were given lip service and told things were easy to rectify. None of our concerns were rectified in fact the situation became worse.

Was this review helpful?  4

Angela5094

Mar 25, 2019

Facility: IRT Woodlands

XXX

Was this review helpful?  

JoWoody62

Nov 1, 2018

Facility: IRT Woodlands

Whilst staff and facilities are fabulous, they are often short staffed and the food is terrible.

Was this review helpful?  

WRiordan

Sep 26, 2018

Facility: IRT Five Islands

Overall my dads and our experience was excellent. He was treated well as were his co occupants. He was still quite independant and IRT Five Islands were exceptional in accommodating him and allowing continued driving and external activities. Where things fell down was pressure on staff due to inadequate ratios which fluctuate in terms of need. Also when dad had anger issues his GP jumped to medicate and I as an RN had to intervene. The RN who worked far too hard supported me in insisting on counselling which uncovered and reasonably well resolved the immwdoate issue. I believe the staff did a great job in allowing my father to maintain who he was as a person and this added quality to his life and interactions. Psycho social care is not adeqyately managed in nursing homes overall...this was a small facility and I pushed hard to create balance for dad as he transitioned to disabilty and death. This needs to be addressed in order to reduce anxiety and increase dignity of occupants.

Was this review helpful?  1

john.eskills

Sep 26, 2018

Facility: IRT Crown Gardens

Living in a Nursing home, "filled" with Dementia patients and not having Dementia myself, is extremely frustrating. Being hit and sworn at, and having no protection against these people, makes life very uncomfortable. As you do not live in a Nursing home, your questions are ill conceived. Why don't you ask questions like; "Are you forced to buy medical supplies from a Pharmacy which charges more than a local ,pharmacy" or "How many different people in a fortnight come and shower you" or "Do you loose your dignity when each day a different person wipes your bottom after toileting" or "Why at mealtimes do Dementia patients get asked if they have done a "poo" today (these people have a short term memory of only 5 minutes). or "Why have you given me 12 pills instead of 6 (happen to one man twice!) or "Why does my medicines chart indicate I am supposed to take pill X when I am supposed to take pill Y. You have little idea what goes on in a Nursing home. The only interest seems to be in pictures of elder's purple and brown bruises. What about non-visible "abuse" scars?

Was this review helpful?  

Myrtle6225

Sep 26, 2018

My mum was in an aged care dementia facility for just over 2 yrs before she passed away. The staff were absolutely wonderful. They looked after her really well. She was very happy in the time she was there.

Was this review helpful?  

Telly1093

Sep 25, 2018

The attitude of the carers is good, the ratio of staff to residents is poor. in addition, the quality of the food leaves a lot to be desired. It needs to be healthier and have more variety. There also needs to be more for the residents to do during the day.

Was this review helpful?  

Destany2447

Sep 25, 2018

Facility: IRT Macarthur

My mother has just went into IRT nursing home in Campbelltown has a beautiful room staff Caring and friendly and she loves the place. It’s a hard job dealing with people with dementia but having caring kind staff makes a lot of difference to elderly persons . Me as an only daughter can rest in peace that my mother is looked after well. I do check on her twice a week take it out for walks she’s always happy to return .

Was this review helpful?  

Raoul9914

Jul 27, 2018

Facility: IRT Links Seaside

I find IRT Seaside has sharply deteriorated since my Aunt went in 3years ago. There is not enough staff and the meals are terrible. My aunt is in a wheel chair and the IRT has only 1 bus that can take a wheel chair and this bus is shared between the other IRT nursing homes I was told it could take 12 months for my aunt to be able to get a place on it. My aunt never gets out her room because the staff do not have time to even take her around the garden. I would not send anyone there !

Was this review helpful?  1

Idell8553

Feb 7, 2018

Staff try hard but management are very cold and only look at $$$. Very understaffed and poor communication from management. As a result resident care and safety is not the best

Was this review helpful?  2

isheppard

Jan 16, 2018

Facility: IRT Five Islands

The Illawarra Retirement Trust 5 Islands Facility at Port Kembla is excellent. My mum has been very happy here after settling in. The staff are exemplary, and the support and care is second to none. Well done IRT 5 Islands.

Was this review helpful?  

Elena5335

Oct 13, 2017

My dad Joe Heininger has been a resident of William Beach Gardens for 8 years. The staff are overwhelmingly caring and professional towards dad. Every one in the facility know dad and he knows them. DAad absolutely loves the place and truly regards it as his home. As his daughter who is regularly there visiting, it is home away from home for me. Like dad, I've become attached to the staff who work in his cottage. Dad attends all activities held in the facility, whether it is a music concert, exercise, physio and mind games. The facility keeps me well informed of dads health and well being which I appreciate. William Beach Gardens encourages family members to attend the facility and nothing seems too much trouble for them to do for dad. I have nothing but praise and appreciation and thanks for all that William Beach Gardens have done and continues to do for my dad.

Was this review helpful?  

Hutto

Sep 21, 2017

Facility: IRT Dalmeny

Wonderful.

Was this review helpful?  

Larissa5276

Sep 5, 2017

Staff lack compassion and professionalism, (locals who act like they own the place). Terrible experiences dealing with this company. Has a reputation that is not good, seen paper article in the Australian newspaper about people not being treated as required by law. Hopefully they are changing.

Was this review helpful?  3

BillyP

Aug 31, 2017

We find the overall care excellent with friendly staff who are very caring for the wellbeing of my aged mum. Plenty of activities both internal and external such as lunches out and exercise programs. Nothing is a problem and requests are readily answered. Staff members often comment how they love working here.

Was this review helpful?  

Jerry2017

Aug 31, 2017

Facility: IRT Woodlands

More fresh fruit, morning or afternoon tea.

Was this review helpful?  

Hudson5412

Jul 31, 2017

Since IRT took over the facility 2 yrs ago the quality of food has decreased. It is bland and hot food is usually served cold. Care staff are not as personable as they used to be and communication is poor.

Was this review helpful?  

Katelyn3532

Jul 31, 2017

The facilities are regularly updated so it doesn't look tired and has a feel and smell of a home. ..not hospital which is sooo important. Multiple break out areas also means guests can have their own space for visitors.

Was this review helpful?  

Angel18

Jul 29, 2017

The facility is understaffed. Often there has been 1 staff member per 14 High Care residents. Staff that are there do the best, but are often run off their feet. Food is poor quality. Prepared off site, frozen and microwave reheated. Freshly cooked eggs, for example, are rarely available. Lifestyle outings - one per month, if lucky. Medication - lack of supervision with taking medication. Delays in implementing new medication when prescribed. Insufficient Registered Nurses for the facility. Slow to implement or follow-up on clients illness. Constant prompting from relatives is needed.

Was this review helpful?  3