Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Maroba

1 business total

Maroba

(4.3)
  • 15 Myall Rd Waratah NSW 2298
  • Phone - (02) 4935 0350
  • 48 reviews
4.3 (48 Reviews) Average Operator Rating

Downie48

Sep 8, 2016

I am most impressed by the staff involved in Activities. They are very caring and upbeat and always trying to think of new ways to involve the residents. My mother has an interest in art and has always painted, but lost confidence with her increase in dementia - the remedial art Class has brought her a great deal of pleasure.

Was this review helpful?  

Stella

Sep 8, 2016

My mum is very happy and is always doing something and always has someone to talk to.

Was this review helpful?  

Stumpit

Aug 29, 2016

I have concerns about the staffing levels. The food, while average is not very appetising or varied.

Was this review helpful?  

Buddy

Aug 29, 2016

My mum has been in this facility since Dec 2015. She settled really well, has a lovely room and the staff have been wonderful to her. Has had some health issues since moving in and the staff, nurses, etc have been excellent.

Was this review helpful?  

Ryleuno1

Aug 26, 2016

Dad 94. Mum 90. They are well cared for during the day. My dad has had a few issues with night staff taking a very long time to respond. He is unable to get out of bed unassisted and needs help to bathroom or pan in night. Left on pan for 45 minutes twice in last 4 months. The food seems to taste similar as both parents are used to meat and veggies (old school) don't expect 4 star, but have found the meals the last few months "not very tasty". Overall Maroba is a very good home. Need more staff.

Was this review helpful?  

Albina4781

Aug 26, 2016

The facilities are modern and spacious and are very well maintained on a daily basis. The staff are caring and attentive to the needs of the individual. I hold the staff in highest regard. I think highly of the facility, its management and the service it provides and never hesitate to convey these thoughts to others.

Was this review helpful?  

Faint

Aug 19, 2016

Our mum is settling nicely into her room with the help of the majority of staff. She is happy with her room and likes the male staff for their very caring attitude, They are better at showering than females, more gentle. Staff aim to please with meals. There is a lot of food mum has never eaten so this has been a little sad for her, but she is adapting too. Mum has faced one lady not so nice to her and the staff have been very supportive of mum and the other lady - excellent result.

Was this review helpful?  

Gimley1

Aug 19, 2016

They make a big deal on the website about it being the residents' "home" and retaining their independence, but the staff don't like it if a resident isn't ready to be "helped" into their pyjamas. They (the majority - not sure) prefer everyone to do what the staff say when they say it. The food is often tough and hard for residents to cut. Maybe a survey of what residents enjoy each week would help. Overall, there are some absolute jewels in the crown of aged care nursing. They are wonderful and caring. They often go above and beyond their duty.

Was this review helpful?  

Jack

Aug 9, 2016

My wife Melvie has been in the home about 8 weeks and behalf of her and myself and family, I wish to say how clean it is in the meals area. According to my wife, the staff is very good and very caring to her. Would refer them to anyone.

Was this review helpful?  

Aiden826

Mar 15, 2016

The staff from the registered nurses to the domestic and cleaning staff were caring, compassionate and went that extra mile. The kitchen staff went over and beyond to make the residents feel at home.

Was this review helpful?  

Stevie6317

Feb 29, 2016

Staff are always caring and friendly and, despite being so busy, always have time to help.

Was this review helpful?  

Bensee

Feb 9, 2016

When this time in your life comes along it is difficult to chose a facility that ticks all the boxes and meets everyone's needs. But Maroba has gone a long way towards this, it was my mothers choice and it was the familys choice. Maroba staff are warm, welcoming and very accommodating. The transition is never smooth but the only area where perhaps there could be an improvement is with mental health support.

Was this review helpful?  

John Marshall

Jan 29, 2016

I have been a resident here for 18 months and have been very happy and content since day one. All my needs are addressed and I want for nothing. The care is available at the press of a button 24/7. I read, play Bridge, join in entertainment organised by the dedicated staff, or entertain myself with my computer. My date of birth is 22/07/1923.

Was this review helpful?  

Megabyte55

Jan 27, 2016

Communication is poor, emails go unanswered for weeks. Only responded to after phone call and re-email prompt. Staffing levels are sometimes inadequate (especially public holiday periods when penalty rates might apply).

Was this review helpful?  1

Keith

Jan 20, 2016

The food lacks variety and freshness - not great nutritionally. I rarely look forward to any of the meals. Otherwise the care/facilities are good.

Was this review helpful?  

Tyshawn6580

Jan 20, 2016

Most of the staff are very caring but we find it difficult to get updates/information on mum's condition. Email messages are sent but we do not get responses, which is extremely frustrating. In some instances mum has been dressed in other resident's clothing - which again is upsetting as we have name labels on all items. If family could be given regular reports or reviews, that would be a great thing and I would recommend this be implemented if at all possible. Lack of communication would be our main concern!

Was this review helpful?  

Bonnie45

Jan 8, 2016

Sometimes it's hard to judge the difference between fact and my mum's perception (as she's inclined to tell me the negatives and often 'takes on board' something someone else has said). From my own dealings with staff, I have always been impressed with the positive and caring attitude everyone has. I was doubly impressed yesterday at the prompt and caring attention mum received after a minor fall.

Was this review helpful?  

Willard7361

Jan 7, 2016

You need extra staff on weekends and weekdays. Running out of food. My mum is gluten free and they are always running out of food for her.

Was this review helpful?  

Winston9

Jan 5, 2016

The level of care provided for Mum at Maroba Manor is first class. Mum is very settled there in the Waratah Wing, and I know Mum is being cared for in the best possible way. They provide individual care for Mum that meets her emotional and physical needs. The staff are excellent, and the organisational spirituality, ethics, integrity, honesty, professional and operational excellence are driven from the very top of the organisation and, are embodied in the organisational actions. This is the big difference between Maroba and other age care providers I have dealt with. You can see staff are supported in a realistic way by management. I have never seen them flustered, and they are always ready to assist the residents, family and their peers.

Was this review helpful?  

Kameron4643

Oct 17, 2015

The facility always smells clean and fresh. The residents are always clean and well presented. The staff are always approachable and friendly. The food is delicious and varied. There are numerous activities available. The hairdresser and podiatrist services are readily available also.

Was this review helpful?