Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Opal Aged Care

68 businesses total

Opal Aged Care

(3.5)
  • Level 27/135 King Street Sydney NSW 2000
  • Phone - 02 8241 1600
  • 206 reviews
3.5 (206 Reviews) Average Operator Rating

Bullu678

Jan 23, 2020

Facility: Opal Abbey Gardens

My sisters and I cared for our mother for the last few days of her life at Opal Abbey Gardens as per her wishes, it was a stressful time for all, but very special to us. So to find out the next day after her passing that a staff member at Opal had taken upon herself to decide who should know about her passing and had rung a friend and told him who then rang the rest of mum's family, which put a lot of drama and stress into a lives which we didn't need at the time. She abused her position and violated our rights. She didn't know our family or the dramas we have had with these family members. At a time where we wanted to be there for our mother, instead it was spent being abused by family members, all due to Opal Abbey Gardens staff member. So much for these new Aged Care Standards as when I complained to the manager all he did was gave her a final warning.

Was this review helpful?  

Heather4517

Dec 3, 2019

Facility: Opal Ashmore

Ticks all the boxes and I have peace of mind knowing that my father is being well cared for.

Was this review helpful?  

Eunice9514

Dec 3, 2019

Facility: Opal Salford Park

Looked after Mum well considering she was a difficult patient. Outings and activities were available to take advantage of. An open and friendly environment.

Was this review helpful?  

Lonie7132

Nov 30, 2019

Couldn’t be happier with our choice of OPAL Raynbird Place Carseldine for our Mum. The care is over and above.

Was this review helpful?  

Donna7668

Oct 23, 2019

Facility: Opal Seahaven

I often visit my 98 year old Mother and ring her daily, on each visit I'm astounded at the lack of activities involving the residents, there are no trivia afternoons to keep residents minds alert, the only game I have witnessed is a ridiculous game where a balloon is thrown toward the residents, many of which fail to acknowledge as coming at them, or in my Mother's case she can't see it (she's blind). If you enjoy cold porridge each morning and cold unseasoned scrambled egg 3-4 times a week, then Seahaven is the one for you. Many of the nursing staff, carers are wonderful, but as they each have 12-13 residents under their care, it is impossible for adequate interaction with their charges. I have personally witnessed my Mum (I can't speak for the others) being lifted by hoist onto the toilet of a morning, her nightgown removed (in preparation for a shower) and left, freezing cold for more than 40 minutes before staff returned to shower and dress her. The eye drops she needs (prescribed by her ophthalmologist) done only once daily in many cases yet the prescription insisting them being done twice daily, failure to provide an adequate chair to accommodate Mum's chronic back pain. Failure to change Mum's pad resulting in her getting thrush (1st time in her life) and now they're unable to say why Mum experiences pain when urinating. I have decided when/if I ever need to go into residential care, I will take an overdose of pills rather than be treated in the demeaning/demoralising manner my Mum and the other residents are treated.

Was this review helpful?  

Alford9839

Oct 23, 2019

This place has gone down hill over the last couple of years. Everything needs looking into, even the residence getting the correct medication.

Was this review helpful?  

Beryl Batt

Sep 5, 2019

Facility: Opal Murray River

My Dad has just be made permanent at Opal Murray River in Mandurah. We were welcomed by a very lovely lady Eleanor who made our visit great from the start. She has made us feel very happy and has helped us with our many questions. Staff are very friendly and cheerful. Food is great. Garden is lovely. Building inside is very well maintained. Mum is so impressed with the place she wants to go and live there with Dad. We are one very happy family. Thank you.

Was this review helpful?  

Lacy3415

Aug 20, 2019

Facility: Opal Meadowglen

My loved one did not receive quality care at Opal Meadowglen. A horrific unexplained injury and premature death were the result of placing my loved one at this facility. A recent review accreditation gained them a poor 28/44. I would NOT place a loved one in this facility.

Was this review helpful?  

Electa9364

Apr 21, 2019

Facility: Opal Abbey Gardens

Dad's facility suits his needs very well. The staff are dedicated and very welcoming and obliging. They genuinely care about their residents. Dad's room is spacious and always very clean.

Was this review helpful?  

Tyra7863

Apr 16, 2019

Facility: Opal Bairnsdale

My mother has been in a facility for a couple of years and has had two serious falls, first she fractured her skull and second time broke her neck. I believe both could have been avoided knowing she is a high falls risk. There is not enough staff to monitor high risk patients. After her last fall, she is now in a permanent neck brace at 92, and wheelchair bound. It is a great strain seeing her this way. We try to do what we can as I'm sure the staff also do, but it needs to be a priority with the staffing issue. Thankyou, Sandra

Was this review helpful?  2

Gray56

Apr 13, 2019

Facility: Opal Tweed Heads

Generally thay are good and provide adequate care, however the quality of life does not seem as important to them as to me. My father is not encouraged to leave his room and often spends a lot of time there sleeping - boredome being the enemy of dementia patients. My dad is easily encouraged to do things and nejoys activities when he participates. I know staff don't have the time to spend with that level of interaction but that is what older people need when family can't be there to help. My father aslo needs encouragement ot eat

Was this review helpful?  

Kc3005

Apr 11, 2019

I hope Euthanasia is legalised before I need aged care. I have horrible memories of what my mum went through just over 2 years ago

Was this review helpful?  

Hector6345

Apr 11, 2019

Facility: Opal Hillside

The staff at my Father’s aged care facility are wonderful, the problem is patient to staff ratios. Staff ratios need to be improved for all carers, aides as well as RNs.

Was this review helpful?  

Kyler3482

Apr 11, 2019

Facility: Opal Varsity Rise

Very happy with the facility

Was this review helpful?  

Zoila8241

Apr 11, 2019

Facility: Opal Meadowglen

Overall quite satisfied for most part that my dear father was in a home due to having demantia. Food was for most time good although was very dry at times. Staff were wonderful but found it hard to cope at times, in a high care area they were very understaffed which in some cases lead to mall accidents / fighting between residents.Some of the furniture was also very old and rickety which was a safety issue for some time. Overall though, location was great for us and we loved the commited and friendly staff.

Was this review helpful?  

Oliver5592

Apr 11, 2019

My Mother lived in Opal Berkeley Village for two years. The care that she received from everyone, without exception, was outstanding. The atmosphere is always happy and friendly, the variety of activities is good and the food quality and quantity is excellent. I highly recommend this aged care facility.

Was this review helpful?  

Alison pressler

Apr 11, 2019

Facility: Opal North Lakes

Absolutely brilliant care staff and friendly Would not put my loved ones anyway else but opal gardens Northlakes

Was this review helpful?  

Christop829

Mar 21, 2019

Facility: Opal Seahaven

the staff and surrounds at opal seahaven are excelllent, my very old mother is there and couldn,t get better care any where else

Was this review helpful?  

Rosiec

Mar 12, 2019

Facility: Opal Varsity Rise

More personal care for residents is needed

Was this review helpful?  

m edwards

Jan 17, 2019

Facility: Opal Varsity Rise

My family did not receive good respite care there

Was this review helpful?