Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Opal Aged Care

68 businesses total

Opal Aged Care

(3.5)
  • Level 27/135 King Street Sydney NSW 2000
  • Phone - 02 8241 1600
  • 205 reviews
3.5 (205 Reviews) Average Operator Rating

Jaime8527

May 20, 2015

Facility: Opal Gracedale

lovely comfortable friendly place

Was this review helpful?  

[email protected]

May 19, 2015

Facility: Opal South Valley

Opal has been wonderful to Mum. She is confident and well and always has people around her now. The best thing she ever could have done. The staff know each and every resident and their caring attitude is fabulous.

Was this review helpful?  

Brad62

May 16, 2015

Facility: Opal South Valley

Car parking is a major issue..

Was this review helpful?  

seahorseblue

May 15, 2015

Since coming to the home there has been a marked decrease in my parents mobility he has also lost weight and muscle tone. While the home has activities which are enjoyed more OT or physio needs to be a part of the daily activities. A study was recently done in the hunter with patients with dementia attended 3 days per week. They improved their core muscle strength and there was a reduction in falls. This should be a priority, keeping clients mobile and independent for as long as possible. During the recent storms it took the home three days to organise a generator. During the three days the clients were confined to their rooms. Meals were cold as were showers. My parent has dementia and this was a confusing and upsetting time due to his not understanding what was happening. There is now an outbreak of gastroenteritis and again the clients are confined to their room and wing. There are no activities and nothing for to do but sit. I know that it is difficult but this impacts on the clients physically as well as mentally. My parent needs to be doing exercises and activities to maintain core strength. The staff are wonderful but I notice that there has been a reduction. While making a profit is important to the organisation surely this should not be at the risk to clients. Also the activities officer has resigned and there is a loss of activities while waiting to fill this role. The home has only one registered nurse on per shrift and there are 80 residents. I feel that this is inadequate. Having said that I have never had an issue with the staff and find them extremely approachable and helpful. The facility is always clean and tidy and the staff seem to genuinely care about their clients. The food could be of a better standard. Overall I am very happy with the care my parent is receiving which is a big weight off my mind as it was a difficult decision.

Was this review helpful?  

Aidan8418

May 15, 2015

Facility: Opal Hillside

Drastically understaffed - no one was living in dignity - bordering on neglectful abuse - this was high care ward - and from conversations with many others in the same situation the conditions are similar all round. Regardless of how attentive and caring the staff may be - Our elderly are sitting in urine and feaces for hours on end burning there fragile skin - having meals placed in front of them and full plates taken away later due to not being able to feed themselves, laying in excruciating pain crying waiting for assessments and medication - Left in beds for days, left in rooms for hours on end - left at dinner tables hours after meals taken away. This is just basic human care needs and its a national disgrace! We searched for years for better facilities and found not one!

Was this review helpful?  4

Gwen900

May 14, 2015

Facility: Opal Hillside

The building is a little dated but the quality of care is good and the food is good. Staff are attentive and caring.

Was this review helpful?  

Michael Green

May 14, 2015

My elderly father, not an easy man to be with, (resident of Florence Towers Tweed Heads) had ongoing issues with staff over 10 months. He said a young nurse from India and one from China were the only two who reliably did their jobs. His medication was incorrect at least 3 out of 7 days a week. I witnessed this myself. I don't know why, as his G.P. came and clearly wrote the drug schedule and he was the only resident with his name in the facility. Other aspects were great I thought.

Was this review helpful?  

Madonna2981

May 12, 2015

Facility: Opal Tweed Heads

My Husband is in Aged Care

Was this review helpful?  2

Susan Youlten

May 7, 2015

Facility: Opal Roxburgh

The care given to my mother in law is outstanding. Couldnt speak highly enough of the staff and surroundings.

Was this review helpful?  

Leanne O

May 4, 2015

Facility: Opal Salford Park

Thoughtful attentive and caring staff. Dad was kept comfortable and well looked after while in care.

Was this review helpful?  

Garrison4611

May 3, 2015

Facility: Opal Salford Park

My Dad moved to Salford Aged Care, and my family and I were very impressed with the staff dedication and commitment to the care and well being of our Dad and many of the other residents. There was always a friendly smile and a chat with the staff and the friends Dad came to know. Nothing you asked of the staff was an inconvenience. Over time Dad grew to love his new home, and through regular visits friendships grew between the family and the residents. There were many and varied activities for anyone to participate in. Dad loved the old time singing (he had a lovely voice)! But mostly Dad just loved to talk especially about his boyhood and growing up and working on the farm, sport and politics! After talking to staff members we were impressed that many of them had worked there for many years. I believe this was one of the reasons why there was such a warm, welcoming and friendly atmosphere at the home. Sadly Dad passed away after a brief illness, just five days short of his 92nd birthday. A lovely service was organised by the staff, and it was very touching to hear the tributes given by staff and residents alike. As a family knowing that Dad spent his last few remaining months surrounded by such caring and devoted people deeply touched us. We miss him very much, but there are many, many happy memories, and they will live long in our hearts.

Was this review helpful?  

shane.clayton

Apr 22, 2015

Facility: Opal Roxburgh

Absolutely fantastic facility my mum has been there now for a couple of years now and as has been said you don't have to pay massive amounts to find a great facility, and this is a great facility, the staff are wonderful and treat everyone with the dignity and respect they deserve. I cannot praise this place highly enough

Was this review helpful?  1

Marlee6047

Apr 20, 2015

Facility: Opal Bairnsdale

Recently moved our mother from Bathurst to Bairnsdale Opal aged care. The transition was really easy as a result of the aged care . I can not speak highly enough of Opal Bairnsdale. The support and care provided has been well beyond our expectations.

Was this review helpful?  1

Mocha6920

Apr 18, 2015

Facility: Opal South Valley

The safe are amazing and always put the residence first. Each time I would visit my mum I witnessed their genuine care and treated everyone as if that individual was one of their family. As a visitor to my mum I was always made to feel welcome and felt like I had an extra family to my life. Due to the beautiful care they gave my mum and everyone else it was such a pleasure to visit and interact with everyone, they would always take the time to talk chat and include me in what was going on that day. I tried to make it to most celebrations and was allowed to assist other residence as they were part of my mum and my extended family. If only I could my name down now for that time that I may need Aged Care facilities.

Was this review helpful?  

jennifer_p21660

Apr 15, 2015

Facility: Opal Salford Park

Very well established has Low care, High care and induvidual units with 24 hour care. The staff here go the extra mile as residents need time and compansionship and some dont have family. They talk to the residents and listen as well as caring for there health, communication is a must and it is given. They share there families with the residents and they get enjoyment and a feeling of being needed and part of something.

Was this review helpful?  

kell1000

Apr 15, 2015

Facility: Opal Meadowglen

My grandfather was placed in this home (when it was under a previous name) after he had a stroke and needed more care. We were very apprehensive about it, but the staff were absolutely wonderful. They were so understanding and they treated my grandfather so respectfully. He passed away there, and I was overcome at the amount of love and compassion the staff showed to us. I couldn't fault this home, and I would recommend it to anyone who needed it.

Was this review helpful?  3

Kara8640

Apr 4, 2015

Facility: Opal By The Bay

My parents were in here for 8 years and they loved it. When my Mum passed away 7 months ago, the staff were amazing with my Dad and I was so glad he was in there. They were so caring, it eased my mind knowing he was being looked after so well. He loved the food, staff and the place and was very happy there. Sadly he passed away 2 weeks ago.

Was this review helpful?  2

Harriet

Jan 29, 2015

Facility: Opal South Valley

I have a father in care and have been disappointed by poor knowledge of basic, common sense care provided by many staff members. While I am sure they do their best, they are not people I see as being suited to the profession. The lack of parking is an issue as well as the time it takes for the buzzer to be answered. This tells me there is a lack of staff.

Was this review helpful?  

Sharicat

Oct 31, 2014

Facility: Opal By The Bay

Very nice facility, and very friendly staff

Was this review helpful?  

Sammy E

Oct 10, 2014

Facility: Opal South Valley

I have concerns about the level of care provided in some aspects. Unfortunately the cost of giving excellent care is a concern at some levels and the care I would expect is not always provided.

Was this review helpful?