Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Opal Aged Care

66 businesses total

Opal Aged Care

(3.5)
  • Level 27/135 King Street Sydney NSW 2000
  • Phone - 02 8241 1600
  • 197 reviews
3.5 (197 Reviews) Average Operator Rating

Vito6501

Oct 8, 2018

Facility: Opal Tweed Heads

Whilst not being a new building it is divided into wings with fantastic landscaping around each wing.Located in a quiet area makes it a peaceful environment for residents. However it is the quality of staff and care to the individual person at Opal Aged Care Tweed Heads West which makes it so outstanding.Nothing is too much trouble and as all are alzheimer trained in the dedicated dementia wing it is with this knowledge that I leave my husband to their care

Was this review helpful?  

Belle3998

Oct 3, 2018

Facility: Opal Glenmere

My brother in law seems to be more settled here than he was in the first home for Dementia care that he was in and I think that’s because they understand how to care for Dementia residents better, by not pressing any of his trigger points which will send him into anger and swearing which is not normally his nature. I think he is also happier here because he has a large grassed area outside his room where he can go for a walk or feed the large carp with bread in the large fenced off lake. He also has a tree near his outside door and he can feed the kookaburras and ducks like he did at his own home before coming into care.

Was this review helpful?  

Kaci4006

Oct 1, 2018

Building is nice but that's the only thing good at this nursing home.

Was this review helpful?  1

Cydney3063

Sep 29, 2018

Facility: Opal Paynesville

most staff are very helpful and caring as I live 9 hours away from Paynesville and am unable to pop in whenever required

Was this review helpful?  

Glennie

Sep 28, 2018

My father has just past away in a nursing home at Browns Plains on the 4/7/2018. My father was able bodied when he went in and was very in dependant . After he had a fall

Was this review helpful?  

Emil1236

Sep 28, 2018

My dad is in an AGED CARE facility in Northern NSW. I cannot fault the facility, or the food. The staff are lovely, but I was very upset as to how my sister and I had to rush, to sell dad's home. Dad has dementia, Parkinson's and numerous other health issues. Luckily my sister found him a room, but with only 61 days respite, it was very difficult, going through dad's house, getting rid of a lot of his personal things, and having the house on the market and sold so quickly. It was heartbreaking, but necessary. The price dad paid for his room was $480,000.00. Which is way too expensive. Now the facility takes most of dad's pension cheque for his care, which is fine. But the measly 15% left of his cheque the government takes$15 a day, Which leaves dad basically nothing, so he uses his savings for clothes, medicine, occasional outings, cream etc. He has under $80,000.00 in the bank which he has to use. Why is his room classed as a bond, not a house of residence. It is his home and shouldn't be means tested. Just his savings should be means tested,then he would have some money left out of his cheque. It is a money grab by the government in my opinion, AGED CARE should never have been PRIVATISED, everyone deserves a nice facility with great care if you are elderly and cannot live at home anymore. But the price is very excessive, the stress of selling dad's home so quick, and watching someone who's done the right thing all his life, is now being ripped off by a law that shouldn't exist. AGED CARE rooms should not be means tested. It is his home.

Was this review helpful?  1

Reese7343

Sep 27, 2018

Facility: Opal By The Bay

Under staffed. Not enough training for care staff. Quality of food especially bad for residents on puréed food. Money spent more on appearance home than on quality of care and food. Excuses made when resident found bleeding several times and with black eyes. No time ever for a staff member to just sit and talk to resident

Was this review helpful?  2

Maynard4922

Sep 27, 2018

They need more staff ratio to patients. Staff are run off their feet, thus not having the time to give quality care to all our mums

Was this review helpful?  

Easter24

Sep 26, 2018

Facility: Opal Hillside

It seems generally ok but we were disappointed by the delay in attention giving when relative contracted scabies. It was allowed to get so bad before she was sent to hospital that sepsis set in.

Was this review helpful?  

Arianna4741

Sep 26, 2018

Facility: Opal Meadowglen

Very nice and well run facility my father was in for 5 ish years due to having dementia . Meals in the latter part were ok but dry for some residents. Staffing grossley understaffed due to no fault of their own but government cut backs so sometimes care was a little lagging. All staff were wonderful however. I take my hat off to them for their commitment and care.

Was this review helpful?  

lynettealexander

Sep 26, 2018

My Mum has Alzeimers and when I had to go to hospital for surgery, I had to quickly find a temporary facility for her. As it turned out the people at the facility felt I should make it permament. I couldn't be happier for her because she is happier there than she has been for quite a while!! Opal Greenfern is amazing!!

Was this review helpful?  

Ruben4165

Sep 26, 2018

Facility: Opal Bathurst

I hope I never get to the stage in my later years where I have to reside in the nursing home where my father spent his final years before his passing earlier this year. Never in a million years would I recommend this particular facility to anyone planning on going into residential aged care as my father was not happy or satisfied with his quality

Was this review helpful?  

Evelyn9533

Sep 26, 2018

Facility: Opal Glenmere

Terrible care, old building,drab environment

Was this review helpful?  

Isom8960

Sep 26, 2018

Facility: Opal Ashmore

My Mother has only just moved in to an aged care facility after living with us for 18 months, so I dont have much to say. Hopefully all goes well.

Was this review helpful?  

Emie4308

Sep 26, 2018

I flew from Sydney to Gold Coast min every week to address health and food as well as laundry issues I was constantly having to call doctors from outside the facility when it was blatantly obvious there was infection..on the day my father passed there was no medical assistance called therefore he suffered for hours and died a cruel death from emphysema..i was contacted at 9pm stating he wasn't going to make it ?? But he had already passed away..they called me back to put the phone to his ear..no labourous breathing or last breath taken according to the nurse he passed whilst on the phone Having previously been a fulltime carer in my home for my mother with the same conditions there is absolutely no excuse for ignoring what took place that day... I had had a meeting 3 mths earlier with management and expressed my concerns and it all ended as predicted as well as staff trauma as I witnessed on my arrival the following morning

Was this review helpful?  1

Bennie6007

Sep 26, 2018

Facility: Opal Rutherford

i find opal nursing home a good and loving place where the staff are friendly and caring and the rooms a lovley..... i would love to go there when its time for me

Was this review helpful?  

Joany7370

Sep 25, 2018

Lazy Nurses and Carers. And Service Manager of the Aged Care Facility was never available to speak to family members about problems with their loved ones. The nurse in charge always tried to blame my mother. She said my Mum was making up stories about a Carer who was bullying her. When the Carer found out that my Mum had put a complaint in to the Service Manager about her. This Carer told Mum she would not come when Mum pressed the buzzer near her bed. My 84 year old Mum was bed ridden, and incontinent. She couldn't walk after a major Melaonoma Cancer Operation on her head 2 years ago. She was in a wheel chair. This Carer wouldn't serve my mother her food in the dining room. So another Carer would have to serve my Mum. All the staff new about this. Mum was in this Aged Care Facility for 1 year. I was bribed to accept this Aged Care room for Mum. By the Qld State Manager of one of the Big Four Aged Care Facilities. It was the same Facilty in Brisbane. But in another suburb. After they had treated my mother with no proper health/care. The doctor there, was subsribing new medication, without my knowledge, to my Mum. Trying to intimidate me in a meeting that I asked for. The Doctor and I were discussing my Mum's medical issues. While the head nurse and another nurse were both taking notes, at either end of the table. And the disgusting treatment, and other issues just continued to go on, with my Mum. And the list of my complaints could go on and on. I eventually moved her to another Aged Care Facility. Where the staff treated my Mother with the love and respect that she deserved as our loved one. Our whole family was treated very respectfully. And we felt for the first time that our Mum had found her last home. She was very happy and content living there for 8 months. Where she passed away peacefully in Palliative Care 10 weeks ago at the QE11 from the Melaonoma Cancer.

Was this review helpful?  

Sebastian7044

Sep 25, 2018

Facility: Opal Meadowglen

A home away from home for mum. Extremely happy.

Was this review helpful?  

Camden4465

Sep 25, 2018

Facility: Opal Lakeview

I was in respite care having deitrie special needs while one chef was on i had reasonable food when she left getting beatable food. When I reported it no avail. Then I placed it on their site it was removed. At present I volunteer at another age care and see really healthy food and nothing is to much trouble. I believe there has been some improvement.

Was this review helpful?  

Joel.A

Sep 25, 2018

Facility: Opal Meadowglen

A very pleasant environment, staff were very caring. Good facilities and engagement with residents

Was this review helpful?