Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Opal Aged Care

63 businesses total

Opal Aged Care

(3.5)
  • Level 27/135 King Street Sydney NSW 2000
  • Phone - 02 8241 1600
  • 137 reviews
3.5 (137 Reviews) Average Operator Rating

Unique7947

Nov 15, 2016

Facility: Opal Seahaven

Opal Aged Care Seahaven Inverloch well where do l start l was employed by them for five years and 18 months ago had my mother come into the facility and as a conflict of interest was never discussed this never entered my head. But 10 months ago we had two new managers come into the facility and on two occasions when raising concerns about my mothers care l was told to find another job or move my mother, the problem was they don't like transparency, l saw and knew too much. why else would it be a problem as l did not have anything to do with my mums care during my workday.So now l have been bullied out of my job and still bullied from management when l go to see her as they have put restrictions on my seeing her. l have to ring ahead and be escorted to her room by an RN and sit in there with the door closed and ring the bell when l am wanting to leave and they have told me l am not to speak with anyone when visiting my mother. ln the past when l would visit mum l would encourage her to go for a walk and get out of her room, we would go and look for some reading matter for her but now l am not allowed to do this anymore. They have told me that if l do not agree to do this they can call the police and stop my visits altogether. So tell me do they have a problem with transparency definitely. l don't have a problem with the care staff in this facility but management have made it nearly impossible for them to do their job to the best of their ability

Was this review helpful?  7

Olin9820

Nov 10, 2016

The staff were excellent with my mum during her stay. The staff gave her love and patience and as she went down hill they gave her dignity when she was passing away and compassion to us. Our whole experience with this nursing home has been amazing.

Was this review helpful?  

Mike Broadfoot

Nov 10, 2016

Facility: Opal Coffs Harbour

My father, who passed away in September aged 100, lived in this facility for 4 years. He often complained about the quality of the food to management but no improvement was noticed. It seemed to be run as an institution to make money rather than a caring place one would expect in later years. Nursing staff, on the whole, were excellent, particularly towards the end. However, there seemed to be a large turnover of staff, with the less experienced ones not being a pathetic towards residents

Was this review helpful?  2

Laverna5630

Nov 9, 2016

Facility: Opal South Valley

My mother in law is very happy and well cared for ...she says ' it's not home but it's okay!'😊 Because she is gapped are also happy !

Was this review helpful?  

Dell2858

Nov 9, 2016

Lovely building looks like a 5 star hotel but that's all that is good about this place. The care and meals need much improvement. I can't believe that have taken juice away as a choice of drink they now can only have water or cordial. More staff is needed to give these lovely residence the care they deserve.

Was this review helpful?  

Anonymous7906

Sep 28, 2016

Facility: Opal Sale

My father has been in Opal Aged Care for since May 2008.My family are very pleased with the care he receives

Was this review helpful?  1

Leatha8266

Sep 28, 2016

Gentle and caring staff, good food and equipment. Ratio of staff to patients need to increase. Only complaint was no option to decline premium services. I understand this may be under review.

Was this review helpful?  

Isabella6087

Aug 14, 2016

Terrible 3 residents in a room . Management very very poor .Awful very disappointed

Was this review helpful?  4

HelenR

Aug 3, 2016

Facility: Opal Seahaven

Used to be such a good place then change in manager and change in the staff hours and now the place is falling apart. The staff looked tired and rush from place to place and I feel guilty watching them and I wonder what Dad feels being rushed and forgotten about. I spoke with the manager and I get routine lines. Total dissapointment and uncaring attitude. Opal is all about smoke and mirrors I think.

Was this review helpful?  5

Dante9492

May 26, 2016

Facility: Opal Hobsons Bay

In my opinion and this is only of my own opinion.This was the worst experience in an aged care facility my family member ever had!! .The staff were rude to us ,the lack of training of staff and poor behaviour of managers along with lack of respect towards my family made this a terrible experience.. We removed our loved one. ..Not good enough..I wouldn't recommend to anyone..

Was this review helpful?  2

perslh

May 24, 2016

Facility: Opal Abbey Gardens

Fantastic service.

Was this review helpful?  

Gladyce5381

Apr 20, 2016

Facility: Opal Gracedale

Beautiful building, some of the staf good but not enough care for my mum left alone day after day in her room. Lucky I live close by so a visit nearly every day and feed her. It took 3 months to have her toe nails cut .

Was this review helpful?  1

Alphonso7000

Apr 20, 2016

Facility: Opal Varsity Rise

My grandmother was not only that, she was my best friend. I had looked after her at home for 18 years whilst working fulltime but unfortunately it became too dangerous for her to be on her own through the day whilst I was at work, so after a lot of searching I found the wonderful facility at Robina and although it was an hour away to visit her care was always my main concern. The facility is beautiful as were the staff. It was the hardest decision I have ever had to make but the lovely staff at Domain made me feel at ease and when I visited her every week I found that she had been well cared for. I would certainly recommend this facility to anyone looking for placement for a loved one. Vicki Phair

Was this review helpful?  1

Lyla3338

Apr 15, 2016

My mother has been in care for 3 years but still independent and this is supported by the facility which is great. Staff have genuine compassion and care and they are always friendly. Facility is being upgraded extensively but it seems to be taking a while to complete. A great place all round

Was this review helpful?  1

Karolann1514

Mar 17, 2016

The facility is old and really needs updating. The communal bathroom facilities are separate to the bedrooms. Most are shared rooms, though there are a few singles. The food is of a low standard. The staff are nice and give the place a family feel. Overall if you're ok with an older facility without mod cons, you'd find the place acceptable.

Was this review helpful?  1

Murphy1049

Mar 17, 2016

Facility: Opal Raffin Place

Agree with 5 star facility and no star care factor! Management only geared for profit, you can only enter this facility if you go into extra services costing an extra $30 per day, with the assurance to be transferred out of extra services at the next available vacancy. This is all words with no substance, you are fobbed off and forgotten with zero communication, I can't even get the Manager to respond to an email confirming her verbal assurances given in a face to face meeting, once they have you paying for the extra services that is where you will stay until your funds run out! Don't believe a word they say, just lip service and false promises to get your money!

Was this review helpful?  10

Karlie2459

Mar 17, 2016

Facility: Opal Seahaven

my experience with the aged care system is that it has become to orientated towards financial gain for the company and a lot less care towards clients. The aged and their wellbeing has been forgotten in the sceme of things and with cutbacks to staffing and no ruling on staff ratios to clients the facility can operate on skeleton staff, which results in overworked staff and burnout. The meals are horrible with the serving of tough cuts of meat and meals that half the clients havent even heard of, l have concern for the nutitional value of these meals as half the time they cant eat their meat so they survive on maybe chips and beans. They suffer from a lack of stimulation in their day to day activities as they sit around going stir crazy, and suffer from depression. The facility tends to lean towards their outward appearance to the public than whats behind closed doors. l know for a fact that staff are very much overworked. Most of the staff that work in these facilities are dedicated to the wellbeing of their clients but are under the control of the beauracracy, staff feel discouraged and so many leave the industry because it becomes such a negative environment. Management do not act on client or workers concerns in a timely manner and things go on for far too long they are not taken seriously enough, too many times concerns are brushed off rather that deal with them.

Was this review helpful?  2

Wiley9541

Mar 16, 2016

Facility: Opal Gracedale

My 95 year old mother is here and seems to be well cared for and as happy as can be expected as she has dementia. Her own doctor visits every 2 weeks and now she has settled our family take her out for a few hours each week but she doesn't remember even an hour later. The staff seem to look after her and she thinks she is running the place. As long as she is happy and being cared for with meals etc. that is the best we can do. The staff are all very kind.

Was this review helpful?  

Xavier3561

Mar 15, 2016

Facility: Opal Armadale

Made a positive improvement to my mother in law happiness and well being she took an active part in the entertainment that was offered

Was this review helpful?  

Westley1436

Mar 15, 2016

Facility: Opal Kirra Beach

Friendly and very caring staff

Was this review helpful?  1