Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Opal Aged Care

63 businesses total

Opal Aged Care

(3.5)
  • Level 27/135 King Street Sydney NSW 2000
  • Phone - 02 8241 1600
  • 183 reviews
3.5 (183 Reviews) Average Operator Rating

Emie4308

Sep 26, 2018

I flew from Sydney to Gold Coast min every week to address health and food as well as laundry issues I was constantly having to call doctors from outside the facility when it was blatantly obvious there was infection..on the day my father passed there was no medical assistance called therefore he suffered for hours and died a cruel death from emphysema..i was contacted at 9pm stating he wasn't going to make it ?? But he had already passed away..they called me back to put the phone to his ear..no labourous breathing or last breath taken according to the nurse he passed whilst on the phone Having previously been a fulltime carer in my home for my mother with the same conditions there is absolutely no excuse for ignoring what took place that day... I had had a meeting 3 mths earlier with management and expressed my concerns and it all ended as predicted as well as staff trauma as I witnessed on my arrival the following morning

Was this review helpful?  1

Bennie6007

Sep 26, 2018

Facility: Opal Rutherford

i find opal nursing home a good and loving place where the staff are friendly and caring and the rooms a lovley..... i would love to go there when its time for me

Was this review helpful?  

Joany7370

Sep 25, 2018

Lazy Nurses and Carers. And Service Manager of the Aged Care Facility was never available to speak to family members about problems with their loved ones. The nurse in charge always tried to blame my mother. She said my Mum was making up stories about a Carer who was bullying her. When the Carer found out that my Mum had put a complaint in to the Service Manager about her. This Carer told Mum she would not come when Mum pressed the buzzer near her bed. My 84 year old Mum was bed ridden, and incontinent. She couldn't walk after a major Melaonoma Cancer Operation on her head 2 years ago. She was in a wheel chair. This Carer wouldn't serve my mother her food in the dining room. So another Carer would have to serve my Mum. All the staff new about this. Mum was in this Aged Care Facility for 1 year. I was bribed to accept this Aged Care room for Mum. By the Qld State Manager of one of the Big Four Aged Care Facilities. It was the same Facilty in Brisbane. But in another suburb. After they had treated my mother with no proper health/care. The doctor there, was subsribing new medication, without my knowledge, to my Mum. Trying to intimidate me in a meeting that I asked for. The Doctor and I were discussing my Mum's medical issues. While the head nurse and another nurse were both taking notes, at either end of the table. And the disgusting treatment, and other issues just continued to go on, with my Mum. And the list of my complaints could go on and on. I eventually moved her to another Aged Care Facility. Where the staff treated my Mother with the love and respect that she deserved as our loved one. Our whole family was treated very respectfully. And we felt for the first time that our Mum had found her last home. She was very happy and content living there for 8 months. Where she passed away peacefully in Palliative Care 10 weeks ago at the QE11 from the Melaonoma Cancer.

Was this review helpful?  

Sebastian7044

Sep 25, 2018

Facility: Opal Meadowglen

A home away from home for mum. Extremely happy.

Was this review helpful?  

Camden4465

Sep 25, 2018

Facility: Opal Lakeview

I was in respite care having deitrie special needs while one chef was on i had reasonable food when she left getting beatable food. When I reported it no avail. Then I placed it on their site it was removed. At present I volunteer at another age care and see really healthy food and nothing is to much trouble. I believe there has been some improvement.

Was this review helpful?  

Joel.A

Sep 25, 2018

Facility: Opal Meadowglen

A very pleasant environment, staff were very caring. Good facilities and engagement with residents

Was this review helpful?  

ShaneC

Sep 25, 2018

Facility: Opal Roxburgh

fantastic facility im so glad we found it the staff there are all so passionate about their job and treat the residents with the utmost respect

Was this review helpful?  

Margarita3928

Sep 25, 2018

Facility: Opal Endeavour

Very little thought given to preserving the dignity of the aged. Clothing in disarray and often inappropriately dressed. High turnover of staff shows staffing problems. Staff rushed and don’t have time to spend to really look after residents. Needs a higher staff to resident ratio.

Was this review helpful?  1

Alan and Julie Lawrance

Sep 25, 2018

My 91 year old Mother has been a resident in Opal Berkeley Village for the past two years and we cannot speak highly enough of this facility. Mum has dementia and can sometimes be difficult (aggressive). I have always found the nursing staff at Opal Berkelry Vale to be patient and totally understanding of her condition. I have only praise for their effort and commitment to her care. Z

Was this review helpful?  

Jordon7349

Sep 25, 2018

Facility: Opal Rutherford

whilst being happy with the overall experience, there is always a need to improve in the care sector. Higher pay rates should apply to attract more quality workers.

Was this review helpful?  

DalKim

Sep 25, 2018

My husband spent the last two weeks of his life at Opal Gardens, Bunbury. We had the best experience. The Manager, Administration, Carers, Ot’s, kitchen staff everybody went out of their way to make his stay as comfortable as possible. Never did he ‘smell’ he was kept immaculately clean and well groomed. I would recommend anyone to visit and consider Opal Gardens.

Was this review helpful?  

Alejandra174

Sep 25, 2018

Facility: Opal Ashmore

I found the care for my mother very good in the dementia ward-staff to resident ratio good compared to a previous home

Was this review helpful?  

Dolly5933

Sep 25, 2018

Facility: Opal Bairnsdale

Our mother has had two major falls since being in aged care, both of which my family believe could have been prevented with more staffing. The first she ended up with fractured skull and bleeds on the brain, the second she broke her neck in two places. Fortunately, she recovered from both.

Was this review helpful?  

Manuel598

Sep 25, 2018

Facility: Opal Glenmere

The staff are amazing, every one of them. They are so loving and kind to my mum and there's no end to wanting to make her happy and comfortable.

Was this review helpful?  

Kamren4765

Sep 25, 2018

The staff and care at the Facilty are excellent. Management are very approachable and accomodating. My Mum was very happy here and I highly recommend the site to anyone wanting to place a family member here

Was this review helpful?  

Sep 25, 2018

Facility: Opal Kirra Beach

1 member of dining room staff short tempered. Medication mixed up. His beer not doled out to him so information not recorded or referred to. Came home with dried faeces on back of shirt and dressing gown. He didnt like food (mushy and slopped on plate) His words not mine so....( in there for respite and has mid stage alzheimers)

Was this review helpful?  

Lessie8351

Sep 25, 2018

Facility: Opal Ashmore

I have a friend here on respite...her third time...have found the staff to be lovely. She is well cared for, groomed and encouraged to eat. The only one thing that I would like is a bit more social interaction but as there are different levels of dementia within the care facility, it is not always possible to give the more active people more attention when the nurses are needed elsewhere. I would encourage a volunteer program at this facility.

Was this review helpful?  

Carl Rumph

Sep 25, 2018

My father (with dementia) has been in permanent residence for 3 months and has been treated very well.He pays an extra services fee which is worth it.The activities within the home give him the opportunity to be active.

Was this review helpful?  

Michael3693

Sep 25, 2018

Facility: Opal Nambour

As a respite patient recovering from a fall, I, personally was abused by some members of staff and observed one other patient, in a ward for 4 with 5 beds in it, suffering from malnutrition as no one took the time to feed her. One toilet was shared by ten people and also showering facilities for same and shower space occupied by garbage bins. I left after 10 days.

Was this review helpful?  

Maximillian72

Sep 25, 2018

Facility: Opal Kawana Waters

My father has been in care for just over a month and went to many homes to find one suitable for his needs and what the service offered him. So far very suitable, staff a welcoming and kind towards my Father and guests and family visiting. Any questions are answered and looked after me when dealing with the transaction into this change of having my Dad in aged care. All in all I feel safe knowing he is looked after and cared for in a dignified and respectful way

Was this review helpful?