Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Opal Aged Care

63 businesses total

Opal Aged Care

(3.5)
  • Level 27/135 King Street Sydney NSW 2000
  • Phone - 02 8241 1600
  • 137 reviews
3.5 (137 Reviews) Average Operator Rating

Ocie608

Mar 15, 2016

Frustrating that my relative has been here for 16months and still stuck in high care which she clearly is not. This is becoming detremental to her well being. There is some really good staff but unfortunately these are being let go. The food does not even rate 1 star. A classic example of looks can be deceiving. The faciliy looks lovely BUT and there are lots of them.

Was this review helpful?  1

Brice1445

Mar 15, 2016

Facility: Opal Glenmere

Food is poor!

Was this review helpful?  1

Rubie5464

Mar 15, 2016

This Age care home is 8yrs old and mum has been there for 7 and a half years. It does have its ups and downs but it does have all the modern facilities you could ask for. Mum is 87 yrs old and one of her wishes is to go on a cruise .

Was this review helpful?  

Athena4010

Mar 15, 2016

Facility: Opal Glenmere

Clean and friendly and caring but still depressing

Was this review helpful?  

Margarete9905

Mar 14, 2016

Facility: Opal Coffs Harbour

Our mother is in an aged care facility. All good except the food. So much food is wasted because the majority of residents won't eat it. We buy food for mum

Was this review helpful?  2

Kurt8540

Mar 14, 2016

Facility: Opal Lakeview

Mum's nursing home was taken over by Opal, since then it is just a business not a care facility. Mum's health has suffered and good staff have left so there is no consistency in care. Trained nursing staff are stretched to the max. Even the gardener only gets one day a week work to try and maintain quite extensive grounds. All I want to see is that All residents are cared for regardless of their income.

Was this review helpful?  6

Arlie4608

Mar 11, 2016

Poor staff over worked...chasing their tails constantly trying to answer those never-ending buzzers which all patients have to endure 24/7...so very annoying to all...noise pollution extreme. Medication EXTREMELY IMPORTANT for PARKINSON'S PATIENTS is rarely administered on TIME!!! Patients being left on toilet waiting for assistance for far too long!!! You only have to visit the facility and ask patients or their loving relatives and visitors about their grievances if you really cared...however any complaints usually fall on deaf ears!!! 😡 When Centres who send staff out to THIS particular OPAL for work experience refuse to do so then there is something very wrong!!! Let's see what input you have.😟

Was this review helpful?  3

Missouri283

Mar 11, 2016

Facility: Opal Edgewood Park

Staff did their best, but not enough of them to care for the number of residents, left a lot to be desired at times.

Was this review helpful?  1

Eva5652

Mar 10, 2016

Facility: Opal Endeavour

My comments on my mums nursing home are excellent she is very well cared for there and the staff are very helpful

Was this review helpful?  4

Ellie2285

Mar 3, 2016

The staff mostly seem quite dedicated, however the staff:patient ratio is much too low. Not all required care can be attended.

Was this review helpful?  

Doug4051

Mar 1, 2016

Facility: Opal Bathurst

Overworked and squashy at dining time.

Was this review helpful?  1

Vito5572

Feb 24, 2016

Facility: Opal Hillside

My grandmother has been a resident here for some time. She started with her own apartment and is now in a ward of 4. The apartments are very nice and contain a good size bathroom, balcony and kitchenette. Coffee and tea facilities are provided daily. The social activities appear regular and there are regular outings. Previous reviews on this site were correct in that the place was neglected. This has since improved considerably. Particularly the food and care in the high dependency area. There are some issues that are not so easily fixed however. There is one bathroom between several wards. It goes without saying that old people do nothing fast. My grandmother feels pressured when using the toilet as others are waiting. The staff are genuinely caring however there is a feeling of institutionalisation. The visitor facilities when you come for a visit need attention. All this aside, Opal Hillside delivers a good level of care for a very affordable price.

Was this review helpful?  

Mabelle9811

Feb 23, 2016

Facility: Opal Lourdes

Opal Lourdes runs the nursing home and another accommodation within a larger retirement village which is run by another company. This review is about the Opal side of the operation. The buildings and grounds are good. Many of the staff are helpful and kind, however I have given the staff and care only 2 stars because of the abysmal state of the management. There is no continuity of care, inadequate training, and a management supervisor who has made the life of patients and the long term staff very difficult. The facility received a high rating a year ago. However it was after that Review that Opal took over. They removed supervisors and changed shifts, staff left, and the continuity of care was gone. New staff are inexperienced and untrained and clients give up on repeating to the stream of carers their most basic needs that the facility should know. They have pressed families to have all medications provided through a pharmacy with a relationship with Opal, which means that all medications are charged at the highest possible rate. This has also broken the continuity of relationship by familiies with their local pharmacists who have known their relatives and dealt with their medicatoins for often decades. A simple example is that dinner starts much earlier, because this suits the staff, but not the clients. The strain and anguish on people within the facilities and their families has led to this now being a place of very low wellbeing and overall quality. Family and clients are afraid to speak out, as are the good caring staff for fear of the management. I would recommend if possible that you avoid a "for profit" facility run by this company given our family's experience.

Was this review helpful?  2

Wilbert3987

Feb 1, 2016

Facility: Opal Varsity Rise

Absolute disgrace. Do not go anywhere near them. Incompetent and lack any form of compassion. Money hungry.

Was this review helpful?  4

viviane

Jan 13, 2016

Facility: Opal Narrogin

My husband was in age care facility in the small town were i live. He had Parkinson and Dementia. It was the worst decision i ever made putting him there. The place was horrendous. For the rest of my life i will regret it. Complaints after complaints from several carers made no difference at all. Unless you have money unfortunately, you have little choice of venue. I am still grieving and will suffer till i join him in a better place. If it come to a decision for myself i will take drastic action.

Was this review helpful?  

Alison620

Jan 7, 2016

Facility: Opal Armadale

It was hard to put my mother in nursing home. I looked after her at home for 11 and a half years. She has been doing well, but just recently she's been a bit down and grumpy. I want to move my disabled sister over to be with mum but it's been made very difficult. My sisters been in a home since she was 9 and she's now55.

Was this review helpful?  

Alek1489

Jan 7, 2016

Facility: Opal Narrogin

Our experience was really sad. Our father did not get the care he required. There was little physio, very little social interaction, very few staff spoke English. Due to low staffing or lack of interest, my father was not toileted and was only allocated 3 pads s day. His mouth hygiene/care, we did when we visited, which luckily was regularly....... it was terrible for Dad and especially terrible for mum who already bad not being able to care for him at home..

Was this review helpful?  

Clarabelle1173

Jan 6, 2016

Facility: Opal Narrogin

Facility is in need of refurbishment. More beds needed and more of a "home" atmosphere would be nice. More staff would benefit residents. Overall more love, laughter and friendliness needs to be shown to residents and families.

Was this review helpful?  

Arianna1729

Jan 5, 2016

Facility: Opal Armadale

My father was placed in aged care when he became too much for my mum to cope with. He had Altzheimers and required secure placement. My parents were not in a position to choose an expensive institution, so were advised to not choose a home on it's aesthetics but to chat with the staff, chat with the other residents and get a general feel of the place that way. I went with my mum and dad to look at Opal Aged Care in Armadale, the home it's self is very old but very clean and well maintained. We met with the director who was very warm and welcoming, after talking with us and in particular my dad she gave us a tour of the facility. We met and spoke with carers, nurses, cleaners, tea ladies, admin staff and other residents. We left the home feeling like we had known these people for quite some time. Everyone gave us time, with a smile despite there busy schedules, the other residents looked happy and well cared for. We were also told that we could come at any time, no need for appointments. To my mind that means they have nothing to hide. My dad was in Opal for 6 months before he passed, during this time my family built a good relationship with staff and residents alike. The home also began renovations, the rooms were looking really nice. My mum and myself never felt anxious about dad being there, which was a great comfort to a difficult situation. We would most certainly recommend Opal Armadale, the facilities are not luxurious but it is the staff that make this place a great place to be.

Was this review helpful?  

Kasey5789

Jan 4, 2016

Facility: Opal Endeavour

always short staffed, they cut your shift without telling you, some nurses not caring enough, poor residents that understand not happy

Was this review helpful?