Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Opal Aged Care

63 businesses total

Opal Aged Care

(3.5)
  • Level 27/135 King Street Sydney NSW 2000
  • Phone - 02 8241 1600
  • 183 reviews
3.5 (183 Reviews) Average Operator Rating

Armando1616

May 10, 2017

My great-uncle has been here for sometime at Opal Florence Tower. Most staff are caring, however, I've been double checking on the meals and found that a lot of meals are being delivered to his room cold. Quality of meals is digusting to be honest. Twice in one week, he was given 1 party pie, 1 party sausage roll with a dallop of mashed potato. Sometimes he doesn't see a staff member from one meal to another. If he fell, no one would know for hours. Now staff are starting to fight in front of him over whether he has a shower or wash every day. I'm seriously considering of moving him to another facility.

Was this review helpful?  

CBourne

May 8, 2017

Facility: Opal Hillside

The care, compassion and dedication of Opal Hillside staff is outstanding. The reason I could not recommend Opal Aged Care is the lack of empathy and the money-oriented focus of the main office in Sydney. My 88 year old father is being charged $20 every day for beauty products, to have Egyptian cotton sheets on his bed, and to be offered the High Tea and canapés. That's $140 a week ( on top of other charges) for things he would NEVER want or USE!!! My 85 year old mother has repeatedly tried to get out of this extra daily charge but this has been very 'smugly' rejected by Opal's ivory tower in Sydney.

Was this review helpful?  5

Adaline6602

May 1, 2017

My grandparent is currently living here. Staff are overworked, with some only willing or wanting to do minimum care duties. Residents are left far too long in the bathroom - a lot of the times someone can be waiting for up to 20minutes. Over time, I have personally noticed a few cranky carers - my family and I have not been impressed.

Was this review helpful?  

KarenC

Nov 24, 2016

Mum has been in this home for over 7 years. Since Opal has taken over it has gone down hill.i do feel for the staff , as they need more staff, but the Management is the problem. My sister

Was this review helpful?  2

Altopiano

Nov 23, 2016

Facility: Opal Coffs Harbour

Hands on floor staff are excellent but way, way under the pump. No doubt budget driven.Yes, high turnover of staff, which is quite disappointing and very unnerving to the longer term residents. Activities co-ordination is second to none and the excellent staff which oversee that area are resourceful, empathetic and just complete angels and receive kudos from myself and family. Front of desk needs lessons in customer service, empathy and overall general friendliness and to lose the surly attitude. Food is less than average. My family often bring in food to supplement or replace what is on offer. Co-ordination with services outside the facility i.e. dental, physio etc just non -existant.

Was this review helpful?  2

Derek1950

Nov 22, 2016

Facility: Opal Seahaven

Lovely facility staff are great and very caring to residents. Would rather have mum at home but understand this is not possible or practical. This is the next best thing and I am confident mum is being well card for

Was this review helpful?  1

Unique7947

Nov 15, 2016

Facility: Opal Seahaven

Opal Aged Care Seahaven Inverloch well where do l start l was employed by them for five years and 18 months ago had my mother come into the facility and as a conflict of interest was never discussed this never entered my head. But 10 months ago we had two new managers come into the facility and on two occasions when raising concerns about my mothers care l was told to find another job or move my mother, the problem was they don't like transparency, l saw and knew too much. why else would it be a problem as l did not have anything to do with my mums care during my workday.So now l have been bullied out of my job and still bullied from management when l go to see her as they have put restrictions on my seeing her. l have to ring ahead and be escorted to her room by an RN and sit in there with the door closed and ring the bell when l am wanting to leave and they have told me l am not to speak with anyone when visiting my mother. ln the past when l would visit mum l would encourage her to go for a walk and get out of her room, we would go and look for some reading matter for her but now l am not allowed to do this anymore. They have told me that if l do not agree to do this they can call the police and stop my visits altogether. So tell me do they have a problem with transparency definitely. l don't have a problem with the care staff in this facility but management have made it nearly impossible for them to do their job to the best of their ability

Was this review helpful?  8

Olin9820

Nov 10, 2016

The staff were excellent with my mum during her stay. The staff gave her love and patience and as she went down hill they gave her dignity when she was passing away and compassion to us. Our whole experience with this nursing home has been amazing.

Was this review helpful?  

Mike Broadfoot

Nov 10, 2016

Facility: Opal Coffs Harbour

My father, who passed away in September aged 100, lived in this facility for 4 years. He often complained about the quality of the food to management but no improvement was noticed. It seemed to be run as an institution to make money rather than a caring place one would expect in later years. Nursing staff, on the whole, were excellent, particularly towards the end. However, there seemed to be a large turnover of staff, with the less experienced ones not being a pathetic towards residents

Was this review helpful?  2

Laverna5630

Nov 9, 2016

Facility: Opal South Valley

My mother in law is very happy and well cared for ...she says ' it's not home but it's okay!'😊 Because she is gapped are also happy !

Was this review helpful?  

Dell2858

Nov 9, 2016

Lovely building looks like a 5 star hotel but that's all that is good about this place. The care and meals need much improvement. I can't believe that have taken juice away as a choice of drink they now can only have water or cordial. More staff is needed to give these lovely residence the care they deserve.

Was this review helpful?  

Anonymous7906

Sep 28, 2016

Facility: Opal Sale

My father has been in Opal Aged Care for since May 2008.My family are very pleased with the care he receives

Was this review helpful?  1

Leatha8266

Sep 28, 2016

Gentle and caring staff, good food and equipment. Ratio of staff to patients need to increase. Only complaint was no option to decline premium services. I understand this may be under review.

Was this review helpful?  

Isabella6087

Aug 14, 2016

Terrible 3 residents in a room . Management very very poor .Awful very disappointed

Was this review helpful?  5

HelenR

Aug 3, 2016

Facility: Opal Seahaven

Used to be such a good place then change in manager and change in the staff hours and now the place is falling apart. The staff looked tired and rush from place to place and I feel guilty watching them and I wonder what Dad feels being rushed and forgotten about. I spoke with the manager and I get routine lines. Total dissapointment and uncaring attitude. Opal is all about smoke and mirrors I think.

Was this review helpful?  5

Dante9492

May 26, 2016

Facility: Opal Hobsons Bay

In my opinion and this is only of my own opinion.This was the worst experience in an aged care facility my family member ever had!! .The staff were rude to us ,the lack of training of staff and poor behaviour of managers along with lack of respect towards my family made this a terrible experience.. We removed our loved one. ..Not good enough..I wouldn't recommend to anyone..

Was this review helpful?  2

perslh

May 24, 2016

Facility: Opal Abbey Gardens

Fantastic service.

Was this review helpful?  

Gladyce5381

Apr 20, 2016

Facility: Opal Gracedale

Beautiful building, some of the staf good but not enough care for my mum left alone day after day in her room. Lucky I live close by so a visit nearly every day and feed her. It took 3 months to have her toe nails cut .

Was this review helpful?  1

Alphonso7000

Apr 20, 2016

Facility: Opal Varsity Rise

My grandmother was not only that, she was my best friend. I had looked after her at home for 18 years whilst working fulltime but unfortunately it became too dangerous for her to be on her own through the day whilst I was at work, so after a lot of searching I found the wonderful facility at Robina and although it was an hour away to visit her care was always my main concern. The facility is beautiful as were the staff. It was the hardest decision I have ever had to make but the lovely staff at Domain made me feel at ease and when I visited her every week I found that she had been well cared for. I would certainly recommend this facility to anyone looking for placement for a loved one. Vicki Phair

Was this review helpful?  1

Lyla3338

Apr 15, 2016

My mother has been in care for 3 years but still independent and this is supported by the facility which is great. Staff have genuine compassion and care and they are always friendly. Facility is being upgraded extensively but it seems to be taking a while to complete. A great place all round

Was this review helpful?  2