Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Opal Aged Care

63 businesses total

Opal Aged Care

(3.5)
  • Level 27/135 King Street Sydney NSW 2000
  • Phone - 02 8241 1600
  • 183 reviews
3.5 (183 Reviews) Average Operator Rating

viviane

Jan 13, 2016

Facility: Opal Narrogin

My husband was in age care facility in the small town were i live. He had Parkinson and Dementia. It was the worst decision i ever made putting him there. The place was horrendous. For the rest of my life i will regret it. Complaints after complaints from several carers made no difference at all. Unless you have money unfortunately, you have little choice of venue. I am still grieving and will suffer till i join him in a better place. If it come to a decision for myself i will take drastic action.

Was this review helpful?  

Alison620

Jan 7, 2016

Facility: Opal Armadale

It was hard to put my mother in nursing home. I looked after her at home for 11 and a half years. She has been doing well, but just recently she's been a bit down and grumpy. I want to move my disabled sister over to be with mum but it's been made very difficult. My sisters been in a home since she was 9 and she's now55.

Was this review helpful?  

Alek1489

Jan 7, 2016

Facility: Opal Narrogin

Our experience was really sad. Our father did not get the care he required. There was little physio, very little social interaction, very few staff spoke English. Due to low staffing or lack of interest, my father was not toileted and was only allocated 3 pads s day. His mouth hygiene/care, we did when we visited, which luckily was regularly....... it was terrible for Dad and especially terrible for mum who already bad not being able to care for him at home..

Was this review helpful?  

Clarabelle1173

Jan 6, 2016

Facility: Opal Narrogin

Facility is in need of refurbishment. More beds needed and more of a "home" atmosphere would be nice. More staff would benefit residents. Overall more love, laughter and friendliness needs to be shown to residents and families.

Was this review helpful?  

Arianna1729

Jan 5, 2016

Facility: Opal Armadale

My father was placed in aged care when he became too much for my mum to cope with. He had Altzheimers and required secure placement. My parents were not in a position to choose an expensive institution, so were advised to not choose a home on it's aesthetics but to chat with the staff, chat with the other residents and get a general feel of the place that way. I went with my mum and dad to look at Opal Aged Care in Armadale, the home it's self is very old but very clean and well maintained. We met with the director who was very warm and welcoming, after talking with us and in particular my dad she gave us a tour of the facility. We met and spoke with carers, nurses, cleaners, tea ladies, admin staff and other residents. We left the home feeling like we had known these people for quite some time. Everyone gave us time, with a smile despite there busy schedules, the other residents looked happy and well cared for. We were also told that we could come at any time, no need for appointments. To my mind that means they have nothing to hide. My dad was in Opal for 6 months before he passed, during this time my family built a good relationship with staff and residents alike. The home also began renovations, the rooms were looking really nice. My mum and myself never felt anxious about dad being there, which was a great comfort to a difficult situation. We would most certainly recommend Opal Armadale, the facilities are not luxurious but it is the staff that make this place a great place to be.

Was this review helpful?  1

Kasey5789

Jan 4, 2016

Facility: Opal Endeavour

always short staffed, they cut your shift without telling you, some nurses not caring enough, poor residents that understand not happy

Was this review helpful?  

Dock401

Dec 29, 2015

Right from the beginning The family felt like a weight had been lifted of our shoulders- they were caring, had procedures which lead to things being well organised from the Managers to the Nurses. My mother in law was well cared for. Thank you😀

Was this review helpful?  2

Nicola9417

Dec 29, 2015

For everyday care not too bad but for acute illness staff were slow to act, nurses appeared run off their feet on some shifts other times they were watching tv or on their fones. I noticed the residents often had food around their mouths and on their clothes after meals even though they wore big bibs(dementia ward)

Was this review helpful?  

Kevon959

Dec 29, 2015

Facility: Opal Lakeview

The staff are warm and caring....she has excellent care here

Was this review helpful?  

[email protected]

Dec 15, 2015

Facility: Opal Lakeview

Staff gave 150% pity administration didn't back them. depending on who was in the kitchen, some of the meals were lovely and hot others I sent back.I stayed in the facility due to need of respite which took over 4 weeks. I would return, to volunteer

Was this review helpful?  

Gerhard1429

Dec 9, 2015

Facility: Opal Hobsons Bay

Great first time experience lot to learn but staff are willing to help in everyway. Feels like one big happy family.

Was this review helpful?  1

Daisha8671

Dec 9, 2015

Facility: Opal Murwillumbah

Just love the staff there, every time I go there mum is always happy and dressed lovely. Mum had a fall 3weeks ago RN laid on the floor with mum till the ambulance arrived.

Was this review helpful?  1

Oliver144

Dec 3, 2015

Facility: Opal Narrogin

This was before it was Opal.

Was this review helpful?  

Shayne8884

Dec 1, 2015

The staff that care are amazing...just need more staff especially with less mobile residents..

Was this review helpful?  

Alycia3613

Nov 24, 2015

Facility: Opal Salford Park

We like that the facility has lovely gardens and on one level. Staff are friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful?  

Finn9908

Oct 27, 2015

Facility: Opal Varsity Rise

Staff aren't on top of the care of their residents. Quality of care by registered nursing staff is disappointing. Lack of genuine care all round.

Was this review helpful?  3

Clotilde2145

Oct 11, 2015

Facility: Opal Endeavour

Double and triple rooms are cramped. Limited furniture. Very hospital like. Toilets down the hall. Day room rather drab. Gardens are nice. Most staff are caring and nice. Shoes and other items have gone missing. Clothing not well cared for, not folded, just jammed into drawers.

Was this review helpful?  

Haven1641

Oct 10, 2015

Facility: Opal Bairnsdale

My father was here for only 2 months before having a heart attack. He liked the garden and his room and the couple of bus outings he went on.Nursing care was pathetic.. He waited 3 hours one night for a panadol. The night he had his heart attack he had classic symptoms but was given paracetamol and waited 4 hours before he insisted on going to hospital. He subsequently passed away. The food was horrible, he mostly ate his own food in his room. Seems as if this is primarily a money making venture with little care or follow up. I am still waiting (2weeks later) to be informed by the facility that he was taken to hospital. A friend had to tell me!

Was this review helpful?  2

Dagmar3472

Oct 9, 2015

Facility: Opal Glenmere

Glenmear at Kanwel is very good to my husband. I have no worries with them. very clean,nice rooms,in a bush land setting.They have 2 cats and budgies which is great.

Was this review helpful?  

Seamus2664

Oct 7, 2015

Facility: Opal South Valley

At opal the care and understanding the staff showed in the very sad loss of our 62 yr old friend and his 90 yr old mum was out standing and extremely supportive . Our friend had terminal cancer and the staff kept him comfortable and happy as long as they could. Since his death the staff have been very supportive and helpful to his mum .

Was this review helpful?