Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Opal Aged Care

68 businesses total

Opal Aged Care

(3.5)
  • Level 27/135 King Street Sydney NSW 2000
  • Phone - 02 8241 1600
  • 211 reviews
3.5 (211 Reviews) Average Operator Rating

Dante9492

May 26, 2016

Facility: Opal Hobsons Bay

In my opinion and this is only of my own opinion.This was the worst experience in an aged care facility my family member ever had!! .The staff were rude to us ,the lack of training of staff and poor behaviour of managers along with lack of respect towards my family made this a terrible experience.. We removed our loved one. ..Not good enough..I wouldn't recommend to anyone..

Was this review helpful?  3

perslh

May 24, 2016

Facility: Opal Abbey Gardens

Fantastic service.

Was this review helpful?  

DenisevAgnew

Apr 20, 2016

Facility: Opal Leamington

Good care with respect for the residents.

Was this review helpful?  

Estella2054

Apr 20, 2016

Facility: Opal Leamington

I've never seen a aged care facility and it's staff be to neglectful. New incontinent residents being left for periods longer than 24 hours, poor bathing/hygiene practices resulting in health complications, non-existand toileting schedule, emotions and well being of residents ignored, students left to assist with all adls unsupervised, the list goes on in detail of the improper procedures this facility practices.

Was this review helpful?  1

Gladyce5381

Apr 20, 2016

Facility: Opal Gracedale

Beautiful building, some of the staf good but not enough care for my mum left alone day after day in her room. Lucky I live close by so a visit nearly every day and feed her. It took 3 months to have her toe nails cut .

Was this review helpful?  1

Alphonso7000

Apr 20, 2016

Facility: Opal Varsity Rise

My grandmother was not only that, she was my best friend. I had looked after her at home for 18 years whilst working fulltime but unfortunately it became too dangerous for her to be on her own through the day whilst I was at work, so after a lot of searching I found the wonderful facility at Robina and although it was an hour away to visit her care was always my main concern. The facility is beautiful as were the staff. It was the hardest decision I have ever had to make but the lovely staff at Domain made me feel at ease and when I visited her every week I found that she had been well cared for. I would certainly recommend this facility to anyone looking for placement for a loved one. Vicki Phair

Was this review helpful?  1

Lyla3338

Apr 15, 2016

My mother has been in care for 3 years but still independent and this is supported by the facility which is great. Staff have genuine compassion and care and they are always friendly. Facility is being upgraded extensively but it seems to be taking a while to complete. A great place all round

Was this review helpful?  2

Karolann1514

Mar 17, 2016

The facility is old and really needs updating. The communal bathroom facilities are separate to the bedrooms. Most are shared rooms, though there are a few singles. The food is of a low standard. The staff are nice and give the place a family feel. Overall if you're ok with an older facility without mod cons, you'd find the place acceptable.

Was this review helpful?  2

Murphy1049

Mar 17, 2016

Facility: Opal Raffin Place

Agree with 5 star facility and no star care factor! Management only geared for profit, you can only enter this facility if you go into extra services costing an extra $30 per day, with the assurance to be transferred out of extra services at the next available vacancy. This is all words with no substance, you are fobbed off and forgotten with zero communication, I can't even get the Manager to respond to an email confirming her verbal assurances given in a face to face meeting, once they have you paying for the extra services that is where you will stay until your funds run out! Don't believe a word they say, just lip service and false promises to get your money!

Was this review helpful?  10

Karlie2459

Mar 17, 2016

Facility: Opal Seahaven

my experience with the aged care system is that it has become to orientated towards financial gain for the company and a lot less care towards clients. The aged and their wellbeing has been forgotten in the sceme of things and with cutbacks to staffing and no ruling on staff ratios to clients the facility can operate on skeleton staff, which results in overworked staff and burnout. The meals are horrible with the serving of tough cuts of meat and meals that half the clients havent even heard of, l have concern for the nutitional value of these meals as half the time they cant eat their meat so they survive on maybe chips and beans. They suffer from a lack of stimulation in their day to day activities as they sit around going stir crazy, and suffer from depression. The facility tends to lean towards their outward appearance to the public than whats behind closed doors. l know for a fact that staff are very much overworked. Most of the staff that work in these facilities are dedicated to the wellbeing of their clients but are under the control of the beauracracy, staff feel discouraged and so many leave the industry because it becomes such a negative environment. Management do not act on client or workers concerns in a timely manner and things go on for far too long they are not taken seriously enough, too many times concerns are brushed off rather that deal with them.

Was this review helpful?  2

Wiley9541

Mar 16, 2016

Facility: Opal Gracedale

My 95 year old mother is here and seems to be well cared for and as happy as can be expected as she has dementia. Her own doctor visits every 2 weeks and now she has settled our family take her out for a few hours each week but she doesn't remember even an hour later. The staff seem to look after her and she thinks she is running the place. As long as she is happy and being cared for with meals etc. that is the best we can do. The staff are all very kind.

Was this review helpful?  

Xavier3561

Mar 15, 2016

Facility: Opal Armadale

Made a positive improvement to my mother in law happiness and well being she took an active part in the entertainment that was offered

Was this review helpful?  

Westley1436

Mar 15, 2016

Facility: Opal Kirra Beach

Friendly and very caring staff

Was this review helpful?  1

Ocie608

Mar 15, 2016

Frustrating that my relative has been here for 16months and still stuck in high care which she clearly is not. This is becoming detremental to her well being. There is some really good staff but unfortunately these are being let go. The food does not even rate 1 star. A classic example of looks can be deceiving. The faciliy looks lovely BUT and there are lots of them.

Was this review helpful?  1

Brice1445

Mar 15, 2016

Facility: Opal Glenmere

Food is poor!

Was this review helpful?  1

Rubie5464

Mar 15, 2016

This Age care home is 8yrs old and mum has been there for 7 and a half years. It does have its ups and downs but it does have all the modern facilities you could ask for. Mum is 87 yrs old and one of her wishes is to go on a cruise .

Was this review helpful?  

Athena4010

Mar 15, 2016

Facility: Opal Glenmere

Clean and friendly and caring but still depressing

Was this review helpful?  

Margarete9905

Mar 14, 2016

Facility: Opal Coffs Harbour

Our mother is in an aged care facility. All good except the food. So much food is wasted because the majority of residents won't eat it. We buy food for mum

Was this review helpful?  2

Kurt8540

Mar 14, 2016

Facility: Opal Lakeview

Mum's nursing home was taken over by Opal, since then it is just a business not a care facility. Mum's health has suffered and good staff have left so there is no consistency in care. Trained nursing staff are stretched to the max. Even the gardener only gets one day a week work to try and maintain quite extensive grounds. All I want to see is that All residents are cared for regardless of their income.

Was this review helpful?  6

Arlie4608

Mar 11, 2016

Poor staff over worked...chasing their tails constantly trying to answer those never-ending buzzers which all patients have to endure 24/7...so very annoying to all...noise pollution extreme. Medication EXTREMELY IMPORTANT for PARKINSON'S PATIENTS is rarely administered on TIME!!! Patients being left on toilet waiting for assistance for far too long!!! You only have to visit the facility and ask patients or their loving relatives and visitors about their grievances if you really cared...however any complaints usually fall on deaf ears!!! 😡 When Centres who send staff out to THIS particular OPAL for work experience refuse to do so then there is something very wrong!!! Let's see what input you have.😟

Was this review helpful?  3