Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Opal Aged Care

63 businesses total

Opal Aged Care

(3.5)
  • Level 27/135 King Street Sydney NSW 2000
  • Phone - 02 8241 1600
  • 137 reviews
3.5 (137 Reviews) Average Operator Rating

Lyn Crawford

Jun 14, 2015

Facility: Opal Shoalhaven

My Dad is in Opal Shoalhaven at Bomaderry and i so love this place the staff are great no problems with any thing there..

Was this review helpful?  

Kerry Pedder

Jun 14, 2015

Facility: Opal Roxburgh

They really seem to care for the residents,My mum has Alzheimers and they are all extremely well versed in how to cope and handle all the different mood changes that she has and also the fact that they encourage the family to be involved in their care.

Was this review helpful?  1

Cali7172

Jun 13, 2015

Mum isn't keen on the food the longer she has been there but my sister had the dinner there the other day and was quite impressed.

Was this review helpful?  

Mary-anne

Jun 3, 2015

Facility: Opal Raffin Place

The time my father was there it was an absolute disgrace, they should have been jailed for the care that was being given. They were dangerously understaffed and not long after my father died from severe lack of care causing serious illness they were sanctioned by the government, and not a moment to soon. 5 star building with -1 star care.

Was this review helpful?  3

Communitydevelopment

Jun 3, 2015

Facility: Opal Glenmere

The staff and management of this organisation go above and beyond to meet needs and provide a home like environment as much as is possible in an institution. They are however understaffed and the quality of care I have noticed has declined. The quality of food is also not good. But the staff and care makes up for some of the negatives.

Was this review helpful?  1

Dianne Randle

May 30, 2015

Opal Aged Care Berkeley Vale NSW. My mum has been a resident for 4 years. The staff are excellent, so caring. A few months back mum had pneumonia and was not expected to last. The staff allowed us (3 daughters) to stay with mum day

Was this review helpful?  4

roslynweston

May 28, 2015

my mother in law has been in full time care for about 6 months and the facility is very well run. Nice people her room is large with its own shower

Was this review helpful?  

Siobhan Hull

May 27, 2015

It's hard to review from a perspective based on a high care resident. My grandmother has been in a home for a few years and has advanced from low to high level care. The staff have been phenomenal throughout Her time, however to comment on someone who has such a low quality of life is difficult. The staff who work within this field do an incredible job and should be recognized for all their hard work.

Was this review helpful?  

Belinda

May 27, 2015

my father in law was placed in to an aged care facility about 2 mths ago.My husband and his mum looked at so many of them but there was never any beds available they found one about 5 minutes away from our place and when i went to look at it i was amazed.I had seen a few places and they didnt look to good but opal at cameron park was perfect.The facility is done up like a holiday place,they have their own rooms,bathrooms.There is a formal dining area that we think is possibly used for special occasions,they have a hair dressers.They have game days,bingo etc.There seems to be everything they need.My father in law unfortunatly cannot enjoy the full benefit of this facility as he is in high care so all he does is eat and sleep,but i couldnt ask for a better more homely place for him to be.We know he is well looked after and the staff are wonderful.They are cheerful and love to have a laugh and a joke with the elderly,we often see them smiling or laughing,they all just seem so happy.The place is so beautiful i even said that i would live there.I would like to say thankyou for the staff of Opal for their fantastic job,we couldnt be happier.

Was this review helpful?  3

Jalen1052

May 27, 2015

Facility: Opal Raffin Place

The care has been replaced by profits for the share holders here's hoping they need recipient care one day.

Was this review helpful?  1

jendelee1

May 27, 2015

Facility: Opal Gracedale

I had the unfortunate experience of placing my mother in an aged care facility. She had 4 falls in 7 weeks even though her notes stated she was not to be left mobilizing alone. she broke her pelvis and as a result of being sedentary developed a pressure sore on her right heel which I had to point out to the staff. She had two TIAs (Trans Ischemic attacks) and no one noticed. She lost 8 kgs over 6 weeks which wasn't addressed either. Her foot became gangrenous and the smell abhorrent - she was on 90mg of morphine a day and she eventually died in excruciating pain nearly 5 years ago. Her local gp even kissed her on the mouth on one occasion which I witnessed and was told by the AMA that this is ok... I went down the legal path only to be advised that to proceed would cost thousands of dollars. I never want anyone else to experience this trauma

Was this review helpful?  

Grandaughter

May 20, 2015

Facility: Opal Gracedale

I am confident that my sometimes difficult Grandmother is comfortably and safely looked after well in lovely surrounds with caring staff at Gracedale.

Was this review helpful?  

Jaime8527

May 20, 2015

Facility: Opal Gracedale

lovely comfortable friendly place

Was this review helpful?  

[email protected]

May 19, 2015

Facility: Opal South Valley

Opal has been wonderful to Mum. She is confident and well and always has people around her now. The best thing she ever could have done. The staff know each and every resident and their caring attitude is fabulous.

Was this review helpful?  

Brad62

May 16, 2015

Facility: Opal South Valley

Car parking is a major issue..

Was this review helpful?  

seahorseblue

May 15, 2015

Since coming to the home there has been a marked decrease in my parents mobility he has also lost weight and muscle tone. While the home has activities which are enjoyed more OT or physio needs to be a part of the daily activities. A study was recently done in the hunter with patients with dementia attended 3 days per week. They improved their core muscle strength and there was a reduction in falls. This should be a priority, keeping clients mobile and independent for as long as possible. During the recent storms it took the home three days to organise a generator. During the three days the clients were confined to their rooms. Meals were cold as were showers. My parent has dementia and this was a confusing and upsetting time due to his not understanding what was happening. There is now an outbreak of gastroenteritis and again the clients are confined to their room and wing. There are no activities and nothing for to do but sit. I know that it is difficult but this impacts on the clients physically as well as mentally. My parent needs to be doing exercises and activities to maintain core strength. The staff are wonderful but I notice that there has been a reduction. While making a profit is important to the organisation surely this should not be at the risk to clients. Also the activities officer has resigned and there is a loss of activities while waiting to fill this role. The home has only one registered nurse on per shrift and there are 80 residents. I feel that this is inadequate. Having said that I have never had an issue with the staff and find them extremely approachable and helpful. The facility is always clean and tidy and the staff seem to genuinely care about their clients. The food could be of a better standard. Overall I am very happy with the care my parent is receiving which is a big weight off my mind as it was a difficult decision.

Was this review helpful?  

Aidan8418

May 15, 2015

Facility: Opal Hillside

Drastically understaffed - no one was living in dignity - bordering on neglectful abuse - this was high care ward - and from conversations with many others in the same situation the conditions are similar all round. Regardless of how attentive and caring the staff may be - Our elderly are sitting in urine and feaces for hours on end burning there fragile skin - having meals placed in front of them and full plates taken away later due to not being able to feed themselves, laying in excruciating pain crying waiting for assessments and medication - Left in beds for days, left in rooms for hours on end - left at dinner tables hours after meals taken away. This is just basic human care needs and its a national disgrace! We searched for years for better facilities and found not one!

Was this review helpful?  4

Gwen900

May 14, 2015

Facility: Opal Hillside

The building is a little dated but the quality of care is good and the food is good. Staff are attentive and caring.

Was this review helpful?  

Michael Green

May 14, 2015

My elderly father, not an easy man to be with, (resident of Florence Towers Tweed Heads) had ongoing issues with staff over 10 months. He said a young nurse from India and one from China were the only two who reliably did their jobs. His medication was incorrect at least 3 out of 7 days a week. I witnessed this myself. I don't know why, as his G.P. came and clearly wrote the drug schedule and he was the only resident with his name in the facility. Other aspects were great I thought.

Was this review helpful?  

Madonna2981

May 12, 2015

Facility: Opal Tweed Heads

My Husband is in Aged Care

Was this review helpful?  1