Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Opal Aged Care

68 businesses total

Opal Aged Care

(3.5)
  • Level 27/135 King Street Sydney NSW 2000
  • Phone - 02 8241 1600
  • 207 reviews
3.5 (207 Reviews) Average Operator Rating

Haven1641

Oct 10, 2015

Facility: Opal Bairnsdale

My father was here for only 2 months before having a heart attack. He liked the garden and his room and the couple of bus outings he went on.Nursing care was pathetic.. He waited 3 hours one night for a panadol. The night he had his heart attack he had classic symptoms but was given paracetamol and waited 4 hours before he insisted on going to hospital. He subsequently passed away. The food was horrible, he mostly ate his own food in his room. Seems as if this is primarily a money making venture with little care or follow up. I am still waiting (2weeks later) to be informed by the facility that he was taken to hospital. A friend had to tell me!

Was this review helpful?  2

Dagmar3472

Oct 9, 2015

Facility: Opal Glenmere

Glenmear at Kanwel is very good to my husband. I have no worries with them. very clean,nice rooms,in a bush land setting.They have 2 cats and budgies which is great.

Was this review helpful?  

Seamus2664

Oct 7, 2015

Facility: Opal South Valley

At opal the care and understanding the staff showed in the very sad loss of our 62 yr old friend and his 90 yr old mum was out standing and extremely supportive . Our friend had terminal cancer and the staff kept him comfortable and happy as long as they could. Since his death the staff have been very supportive and helpful to his mum .

Was this review helpful?  

Joshua2850

Oct 7, 2015

Facility: Opal By The Bay

Was happy with aged care facility, but a few things happened that made you realise how hard it is for staff

Was this review helpful?  1

Justyn5979

Oct 5, 2015

Facility: Opal South Valley

Mother in law, excellent care especially in her last days of life.

Was this review helpful?  

ecjl63

Oct 1, 2015

Facility: Opal Gracedale

Great range of activities for residents. Outstanding staff.

Was this review helpful?  

Werner3848

Jul 27, 2015

Facility: Opal Glenmere

I would need a book and a week to tell u what I thought about aged facilities.mum was in care for 10years only because I couldn't look after her myself. Most workers in aged care are there because they love working with the residents and overlook the low wages, disgusting meals, the lack of saff/resident ratio, the attitudes of DONs...disgusting... !!!.dont get me wrong they love their job but conditions are atrocious.

Was this review helpful?  1

Jerome160

Jul 21, 2015

Facility: Opal Bathurst

My mother was in a nursing home at Bathurst New South Wales there was nothing to be impressed about so this is why my review looks like this mum was a cancer patient she passed away in 2003*(

Was this review helpful?  

Percival4444

Jul 13, 2015

it was a very big dission , placing my Husband of 58 years ,into a Nursing Home , but, on my Doctors advice , i placed him in one , not far from my home , he did not wan't to go into it , and still ,after 8 weeks , want's to come back home

Was this review helpful?  2

Andreanne5612

Jul 12, 2015

Facility: Opal Applecross

My father was in this aged care facility, the staff was so fantastic. I was thankful he had so much love and care in his last few months.

Was this review helpful?  2

Eleanore7362

Jul 11, 2015

Facility: Opal Narrogin

i found there was not enough staff to attend to the elderly residents care, therefor they were always soiling there clothes as staff were not able to attend to them in time to take them to the toilet, then they would have double the work load having to shower them and clean up the mess. and also not enough staff to help feed the people that could not feed them selves properly.

Was this review helpful?  

Lorraine Slawinski

Jul 11, 2015

Facility: Opal Narrogin

i found there was not enough staff to attend to the elderly residents care, therefor they were always soiling there clothes as staff were not able to attend to them in time to take them to the toilet, then they would have double the work load having to shower them and clean up the mess. and also not enough staff to help feed the people that could not feed them selves properly.

Was this review helpful?  

Ward4813

Jul 10, 2015

Facility: Opal Norah Head

The care of my dad was not there, my dad had a fall out of bed and he was not even sent to Hospital to be looked at or to have a scan or x-rays, they just put him back to bed hours after being on the floor.l

Was this review helpful?  4

Stone366

Jul 7, 2015

The staff members particulary the receptionist and nursing staff treated my Mum very well, but the fees were expensive.

Was this review helpful?  

Althea1130

Jul 4, 2015

not happy with management staff good

Was this review helpful?  

Francisca1306

Jul 4, 2015

Facility: Opal Murwillumbah

Have seen family/ relatives through this home a grate service to all

Was this review helpful?  

Oma9268

Jul 2, 2015

Facility: Opal Varsity Rise

Not enough staff and management not really interested in what you say I took my dad out of there

Was this review helpful?  2

Mose5242

Jul 2, 2015

Facility: Opal Annandale

The aged care home is undergoing a much needed re-furbishment but the quality of care is faultless from administration staff down to laundry girls. They are always so happy and friendly towards the residents under, at times, very difficult circumstances.

Was this review helpful?  1

Ada9304

Jun 30, 2015

Facility: Opal Leamington

The building was older but the quality of care was excellent. Dad was well cared for and entertained whilst there.Meals were nutritious and well balanced and presented Family involvement was a priority and we were always well informed of Dads needs and condition. As Dad deteriorated the staff were compassionate and understanding with him and the family's needs and they insured we spent as much time with him as we needed when he passed.

Was this review helpful?  

Deborah bailey

Jun 29, 2015

Facility: Opal Abbey Gardens

My Mothert is currently in the Opal Abbey Gardens nursing home on Caboolture river rod at Morayfield. I am totally disgursted with the behaviour and negligence of staff allowing other residents to walk in and out of others room, having my mother teeth be stolen and creating bruising on her that they cannot explain. This home is currently under ivestigation and I would certainly advise anyone to stay right away from the home if you care about a family member. Yes,m they are all smiles but are seriously harming residents. My Mother is straving and due to complaints I have now been banned from the home. APPALLING!!! PLEASE SIGN AND SHARE MY PETITION BELOW TO FREE MY MOTHER FROM THIS DISGRACEFUL HOME AND STAFF: https://www.change.org/p/premier-of-qld-free-my-mother-from-abuse-of-current-epa-law-in-qld?recruiter=36739621

Was this review helpful?  10