Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Opal Aged Care

68 businesses total

Opal Aged Care

(3.5)
  • Level 27/135 King Street Sydney NSW 2000
  • Phone - 02 8241 1600
  • 206 reviews
3.5 (206 Reviews) Average Operator Rating

Corry Dobson

Jun 23, 2015

This aged care facility is very clean, staff great with their patients, keep family informed and albeit I wish my Mum wasn't living there, could not have found a more suitable address than where she now resides.

Was this review helpful?  2

AlisonP

Jun 23, 2015

Facility: Opal Salford Park

My mother spent some years in this retirement village very happy. Could not fault it. Staff were caring and always something in lifestyle to do.

Was this review helpful?  

Ennia 61

Jun 21, 2015

Facility: Opal Kirra Beach

My Dad is doing fantastic in his Residential Aged Care Centre. He has wonderful nurses and staff that treat him with respect and understanding. I can't speak more highly of Opal Kerri Beach Queensland.

Was this review helpful?  3

kimlorraine

Jun 20, 2015

Facility: Opal Maitland

there were too many residents per room to be considered private (4) the lack of space horrific , there was no room to have any personal items. The overall feeling was of a "cramped pensioner package." there were far too many people sharing the one bathroom (8). overall the staff were friendly, caring and did what they could in what was trying circumstances.

Was this review helpful?  

Christ1530

Jun 19, 2015

Facility: Opal Tweed Heads

Staff are great, my Husband is well looked after He has special needs

Was this review helpful?  

Chris Harrison

Jun 16, 2015

My mother has been at Macquarie Place for over 4 years and is the longest resident. My sisters and myself are there at least once a week each and if we have ever had any issues the staff quickly resolve it for us. I don't think Mum would still be with us except for the excellent care she has received. Importantly Mum is treated as an individual and the staff do so much for her, that I feel is above and beyond of what is required of them.

Was this review helpful?  1

kathy antoun

Jun 16, 2015

Facility: Opal Canterbury

the nursing home is fantastic. No one can complain about the service or care my father is given. I have no hesitation recommending this facility.

Was this review helpful?  

Lee161

Jun 15, 2015

Facility: Opal Coffs Harbour

build is modern but the food lets them down. The care staff are fantastic

Was this review helpful?  1

sananmic

Jun 15, 2015

My mother-in- law has been in her residential care home for 6 years now. She has usually been really well looked after and on the odd occasion that things have not been quite satisfactory she has spoken to the manager and the issues have been addressed to her satisfaction. My Mother -in -law entered the residence as low care , she was totally independent then but unsteady in her legs at times and had peripheral neuropathy. She had become depressed, due she said to being too much at home on her own , despite living in a Granny Flat that we built for her and had expected to find company of her own age , unfortunately most of the other residents in her 'pod' have entered the home because of senility or dementia or altziemers disease so she has not found the company too congenial. However becasue of this she was allowed to have a little dog for company and this has been beneficial in keeping her mobile until a few weeks ago when she had a fall. The dog is now with us but this has freed Mum up enough to be able to go on excursion in a wheel chair. What more could she have asked for? I would recommend the facility to anyone but if the resident is not able to speak up for themselves then the family needs to be vigilant. My husband often jokes that he is putting his name down now so he is sure of a place there when the time comes ...his mum is 90 next year....he could end up in the next room if her current quality of care is maintained.

Was this review helpful?  

Lyn Crawford

Jun 14, 2015

Facility: Opal Shoalhaven

My Dad is in Opal Shoalhaven at Bomaderry and i so love this place the staff are great no problems with any thing there..

Was this review helpful?  

Kerry Pedder

Jun 14, 2015

Facility: Opal Roxburgh

They really seem to care for the residents,My mum has Alzheimers and they are all extremely well versed in how to cope and handle all the different mood changes that she has and also the fact that they encourage the family to be involved in their care.

Was this review helpful?  1

Cali7172

Jun 13, 2015

Mum isn't keen on the food the longer she has been there but my sister had the dinner there the other day and was quite impressed.

Was this review helpful?  

Mary-anne

Jun 3, 2015

Facility: Opal Raffin Place

The time my father was there it was an absolute disgrace, they should have been jailed for the care that was being given. They were dangerously understaffed and not long after my father died from severe lack of care causing serious illness they were sanctioned by the government, and not a moment to soon. 5 star building with -1 star care.

Was this review helpful?  3

Communitydevelopment

Jun 3, 2015

Facility: Opal Glenmere

The staff and management of this organisation go above and beyond to meet needs and provide a home like environment as much as is possible in an institution. They are however understaffed and the quality of care I have noticed has declined. The quality of food is also not good. But the staff and care makes up for some of the negatives.

Was this review helpful?  1

Dianne Randle

May 30, 2015

Opal Aged Care Berkeley Vale NSW. My mum has been a resident for 4 years. The staff are excellent, so caring. A few months back mum had pneumonia and was not expected to last. The staff allowed us (3 daughters) to stay with mum day

Was this review helpful?  4

roslynweston

May 28, 2015

my mother in law has been in full time care for about 6 months and the facility is very well run. Nice people her room is large with its own shower

Was this review helpful?  

Siobhan Hull

May 27, 2015

It's hard to review from a perspective based on a high care resident. My grandmother has been in a home for a few years and has advanced from low to high level care. The staff have been phenomenal throughout Her time, however to comment on someone who has such a low quality of life is difficult. The staff who work within this field do an incredible job and should be recognized for all their hard work.

Was this review helpful?  

Belinda

May 27, 2015

my father in law was placed in to an aged care facility about 2 mths ago.My husband and his mum looked at so many of them but there was never any beds available they found one about 5 minutes away from our place and when i went to look at it i was amazed.I had seen a few places and they didnt look to good but opal at cameron park was perfect.The facility is done up like a holiday place,they have their own rooms,bathrooms.There is a formal dining area that we think is possibly used for special occasions,they have a hair dressers.They have game days,bingo etc.There seems to be everything they need.My father in law unfortunatly cannot enjoy the full benefit of this facility as he is in high care so all he does is eat and sleep,but i couldnt ask for a better more homely place for him to be.We know he is well looked after and the staff are wonderful.They are cheerful and love to have a laugh and a joke with the elderly,we often see them smiling or laughing,they all just seem so happy.The place is so beautiful i even said that i would live there.I would like to say thankyou for the staff of Opal for their fantastic job,we couldnt be happier.

Was this review helpful?  4

Jalen1052

May 27, 2015

Facility: Opal Raffin Place

The care has been replaced by profits for the share holders here's hoping they need recipient care one day.

Was this review helpful?  1

jendelee1

May 27, 2015

Facility: Opal Gracedale

I had the unfortunate experience of placing my mother in an aged care facility. She had 4 falls in 7 weeks even though her notes stated she was not to be left mobilizing alone. she broke her pelvis and as a result of being sedentary developed a pressure sore on her right heel which I had to point out to the staff. She had two TIAs (Trans Ischemic attacks) and no one noticed. She lost 8 kgs over 6 weeks which wasn't addressed either. Her foot became gangrenous and the smell abhorrent - she was on 90mg of morphine a day and she eventually died in excruciating pain nearly 5 years ago. Her local gp even kissed her on the mouth on one occasion which I witnessed and was told by the AMA that this is ok... I went down the legal path only to be advised that to proceed would cost thousands of dollars. I never want anyone else to experience this trauma

Was this review helpful?