Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Vasey RSL Care

6 businesses total

Vasey RSL Care

(4.4)
  • 172 Burwood Rd Hawthorn VIC 3122
  • Phone - (03) 9810 5500
  • 61 reviews
4.4 (61 Reviews) Average Operator Rating

Gunner

May 29, 2017

Only entered facility six weeks ago, but my early impressions are all favourable. Staff are attentive, polite, helpful.

Was this review helpful?  

Deondre7291

May 29, 2017

The staff are very caring and respectful of mum. We are kept informed of anything that happens to mum. The facilities are always maintained and very clean. Beautiful gardens. A great cross section of activities for all residents. And the food is quite good.

Was this review helpful?  

jenweb55

May 29, 2017

As the daughter of a 96 year old resident, the staff have been fully supportive to me, as well as my Mother. It must be difficult to feed a number of people with different tasted and diverse backgrounds. I find the food a bit bland, but I accept spicy food may not agree with all residents. In my mother's section, Park Lodge, all the rooms have a lovely courtyard view. Other relatives who have visited are very impressed with staff, cleanliness and surroundings.

Was this review helpful?  

Sunderland48

May 29, 2017

Vasey Brighton East is an outstanding facility - excellent staff, caring, go out of their way to assist, compassionate. Always smiling. Good equipment, good care. The facility is easy to move about with lovely court and gardens. Clean, light, and private low care rooms. Coffee shop is a small hub, not always open - only during weekday afternoon. Occasionally staff 'barista' will oblige with coffee situated at reception - always passing traffic. Thank you.

Was this review helpful?  

Happy

May 25, 2017

Our mother was in Vasey RSL care in Bundoora for 7 years and we were very happy with the care and support she was provided throughout that time as she moved from low to high care. Naturally we looked to Vasey Brighton East when our aunt, who we had moved down from Sydney, was assessed as no longer capable of independent living. The facility manager, Maria, was wonderful in assisting us to secure a permanent place for her at Vasey Brighton East, which she commenced at the end of July 2016. Since then we have also been very happy with the ongoing care, support and understanding provided by the staff, especially as our aunt took some time to adjust to her changed circumstances. In particular, nursing staff/carers have been empathetic when addressing and discussing a couple of our aunt's idiosyncrasies - eg. not wanting to be showered or having her hair washed. Overall; staff keep us informed and involve us in decisions related to her care. Recently, following a fall and hospitalisation for a partial hip replacement, our aunt was assessed as needing to be moved from to high care. This was facilitated with a minimum of fuss. During this time, we were most impressed by the interest in, and concern for, our aunt by managers, nursing staff, carers and a number of residents. The additional level of staffing and support provided in high care is also very comforting. Our family would have no hesitation in recommending Vasey RSL Care to others looking for care for their elderly loved ones.

Was this review helpful?  

Painbow

May 25, 2017

It was a struggle to convince my dad to go into care. He has settled better than I could have thought. Dad constantly is telling me how wonderful everyone is and the care is just excellent. Thank you RSL Park for your care and everything you do for Dad. I couldn't ask for a better place for his least years in his life.

Was this review helpful?  

Watson818

May 25, 2017

I am very satisfied with my husbands aged care placement at Vasey Lodge. He is so well cared for in every respect and I would have no hesitation in recommending this venue to anyone.

Was this review helpful?  

Scout

May 25, 2017

The buildings and grounds are excellent. The staff are wonderful - helpful, kind and patient. The staff are permanent - very rarely agency - so residents are seeing the same people on a daily basis. The GPs are excellent. They see the residents regularly and confer with the family monthly. As a family, we believe that the aged care GP must have an important part in the decision making process when the resident ends up in hospital. Also, no matter the age of the person, they should have access to allied health services - eg: physio, rehabilitation, etc when needed.

Was this review helpful?  

Flavio3619

May 25, 2017

Great Care and attention from outset and throughout residency. Can't complain about anything

Was this review helpful?  

Nikita2526

May 25, 2017

As a young student at "Star of the Sea" College, I would come across and read to the last of the 1st World War diggers. So I have always felt an affinity with Anzac Hostel, Brighton. Now, in my eighties, and a Brighton resident, for the last four years I have been a "respite" resident several times. Stepping into Anzac immediately one feels the warmth, happiness from constancy of staff, tasteful rooms and furnishings, views of the magnificent gardens. There is a limit of 40 residents, so care and intimate knowledge of each, makes it feel like the home one has just left.

Was this review helpful?  

Antonia2884

May 25, 2017

Mum has been in care for 2 and a half years and we have found this care facility to be clean and nurturing. Any problems have been communicated quickly and steps have been taken to remedy any situations. The activity schedule is especially vibrant.

Was this review helpful?  

Monty7

May 24, 2017

It's cealn, well maintained, good food, friendly staff, very good activities schedule.

Was this review helpful?  

Shirley1

May 23, 2017

The care at Vasey House is very good. Staff fantastic and caring. Food tasty. Plenty of activities offered.

Was this review helpful?  

Alexanne9759

May 23, 2017

Being a war widow, I was able to have 6 weeks respite care and got to know the caring staff and residents. I do believe that attitude of mind is important and, at 93 and a half years, I am lucky to be here.

Was this review helpful?  

Mazpati23

May 23, 2017

The family as been pleased with the care that Vasey Brighton East has provided to our mother over the past 3 years. Staff are very responsive to her various needs, whether they be medical or personal, and the premises are always kept clean and tidy. Mum appears to be happy for the majority of the time.

Was this review helpful?  

Marj

May 23, 2017

Have no complaints. Made many friends. All staff is excellent.

Was this review helpful?  

Ona9528

May 23, 2017

I have been living at the above for over 4 years and have nothing but kindness and concern shown to me. I would recommend this lifestyle to anyone having to have their own home and needing a little extra care.

Was this review helpful?  

Mandy Palmer

May 15, 2017

My mother has dementia but she is treated with kindness and dignity every day. She is clean, well groomed, warm, safe and well fed. The staff know me and welcome me warmly every time I visit mum. I can rest easily knowing she is well cared for.

Was this review helpful?  

Lawrie Cox

May 5, 2017

Both my parents have been at Vasey House and my Mother is still there. I have seen a few facilities with differing levels and confidently say that Vasey House is an outstanding facility. The staff have been fantastic to the residents and go the distance in trying to keep them active with events and activities throughout the year. Like all facilities they struggle to keep numbers up but the management like to ensure that any concerns are addressed ASAP. My comment on the food is purely due to a change in chef which is being worked on by the team. The nursing staff are great and always in touch notifying any issue even though my Mother thinks most is unnecessary i have every confidence that her welfare is first and foremost. My parents both chose to go into Vasey which made it easy for the family. Albeit that Dad was reluctant to give up his 'independence' he acknowledged that his care was fantastic and when he passed the staff were extremely caring toward our family. It is a difficult decision to make but i know of a number of families who are very thankful once the family member has settled in at Vasey.

Was this review helpful?  

Jay9190

May 4, 2017

The staff show a high degree of compassion and care tailoring their care to meet the personalised needs my mum has. Mum is treated with a high level of dignity and while not mobile I am comforted in the support and care she has surrounding her. Mum transitioned from interstate and what could have been a highly traumatic experience was handled professionally and thoughtfully, I wouldn't hesitate recommending to all

Was this review helpful?