Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Vasey RSL Care

6 businesses total

Vasey RSL Care

(4.4)
  • 172 Burwood Rd Hawthorn VIC 3122
  • Phone - (03) 9810 5500
  • 72 reviews
4.4 (72 Reviews) Average Operator Rating

Nikita2526

May 25, 2017

As a young student at "Star of the Sea" College, I would come across and read to the last of the 1st World War diggers. So I have always felt an affinity with Anzac Hostel, Brighton. Now, in my eighties, and a Brighton resident, for the last four years I have been a "respite" resident several times. Stepping into Anzac immediately one feels the warmth, happiness from constancy of staff, tasteful rooms and furnishings, views of the magnificent gardens. There is a limit of 40 residents, so care and intimate knowledge of each, makes it feel like the home one has just left.

Was this review helpful?  

Antonia2884

May 25, 2017

Mum has been in care for 2 and a half years and we have found this care facility to be clean and nurturing. Any problems have been communicated quickly and steps have been taken to remedy any situations. The activity schedule is especially vibrant.

Was this review helpful?  

Monty7

May 24, 2017

It's cealn, well maintained, good food, friendly staff, very good activities schedule.

Was this review helpful?  

Shirley1

May 23, 2017

The care at Vasey House is very good. Staff fantastic and caring. Food tasty. Plenty of activities offered.

Was this review helpful?  

Alexanne9759

May 23, 2017

Being a war widow, I was able to have 6 weeks respite care and got to know the caring staff and residents. I do believe that attitude of mind is important and, at 93 and a half years, I am lucky to be here.

Was this review helpful?  

Mazpati23

May 23, 2017

The family as been pleased with the care that Vasey Brighton East has provided to our mother over the past 3 years. Staff are very responsive to her various needs, whether they be medical or personal, and the premises are always kept clean and tidy. Mum appears to be happy for the majority of the time.

Was this review helpful?  

Marj

May 23, 2017

Have no complaints. Made many friends. All staff is excellent.

Was this review helpful?  

Ona9528

May 23, 2017

I have been living at the above for over 4 years and have nothing but kindness and concern shown to me. I would recommend this lifestyle to anyone having to have their own home and needing a little extra care.

Was this review helpful?  

Mandy Palmer

May 15, 2017

My mother has dementia but she is treated with kindness and dignity every day. She is clean, well groomed, warm, safe and well fed. The staff know me and welcome me warmly every time I visit mum. I can rest easily knowing she is well cared for.

Was this review helpful?  

Lawrie Cox

May 5, 2017

Both my parents have been at Vasey House and my Mother is still there. I have seen a few facilities with differing levels and confidently say that Vasey House is an outstanding facility. The staff have been fantastic to the residents and go the distance in trying to keep them active with events and activities throughout the year. Like all facilities they struggle to keep numbers up but the management like to ensure that any concerns are addressed ASAP. My comment on the food is purely due to a change in chef which is being worked on by the team. The nursing staff are great and always in touch notifying any issue even though my Mother thinks most is unnecessary i have every confidence that her welfare is first and foremost. My parents both chose to go into Vasey which made it easy for the family. Albeit that Dad was reluctant to give up his 'independence' he acknowledged that his care was fantastic and when he passed the staff were extremely caring toward our family. It is a difficult decision to make but i know of a number of families who are very thankful once the family member has settled in at Vasey.

Was this review helpful?  

Jay9190

May 4, 2017

The staff show a high degree of compassion and care tailoring their care to meet the personalised needs my mum has. Mum is treated with a high level of dignity and while not mobile I am comforted in the support and care she has surrounding her. Mum transitioned from interstate and what could have been a highly traumatic experience was handled professionally and thoughtfully, I wouldn't hesitate recommending to all

Was this review helpful?  

Susie6609

May 2, 2017

Lifestyle could be improved - it seems to have dropped off recently. Food in high care is not good enough. Attendance by doctors, and communication with the family needs to be improved. However these are the only problems. I am very happy with the facility overall.

Was this review helpful?  

Isabel9283

May 1, 2017

Change of management seven months ago has resulted in a downgrading of service, communication and support. However, compared with others I would still recommend it.

Was this review helpful?  

Tanya1081

May 1, 2017

An excellent facility.

Was this review helpful?  

Greyson5719

Nov 8, 2016

Great place staff are very caring and compassionate to each individual resident

Was this review helpful?  

Alysson5559

Oct 8, 2016

my father inlaw bob was there in the low care.The care and staff there were the best I'm glad we where able to have his last living years there. we will never forget how well they treated and cared for him . we all remember how happy he was when he was there

Was this review helpful?  

Gabriella7789

Aug 23, 2016

My mother died in this facility after her 3rd fall out of bed. Staff and management did nothing to prevent her from falling out of bed after the first and second fall. It was only after the third fall that they actually did something. All too little too late. They refused to put fall out mattresses on the floor to help protect her because they were "a trip hazard for staff". RN in charge told me that until she could ascertain WHY my mother was falling, there was nothing she could do. An absolute disgrace and I believe I would still have my mum with me today had something been done to protect her from falling.

Was this review helpful?  1

Forrest5204

Mar 4, 2016

Rooms are very comfortable and home is set in beautiful garden surrounds. Common areas are bright, pleasantly decorated and overall ANZAC has a homely feel. Always clean and well maintained. Staff are generally excellent, interested in resident's wellbeing and communicate well with family reps. Weekday activities are good and there is a program involving students from a local school however there are no activities at weekends and this is an area which could be looked at - particularly for residents who have few visitors or family unable to visit due to shiftwork etc. Food is prepared on site and there is menu variety but scope for increased use of fresh fruit

Was this review helpful?  

Pauline2657

Dec 22, 2015

Took a long time to find a good place. Very happy now.

Was this review helpful?  1

Emmie7538

Dec 17, 2015

My mother was in a high care facility with vascular dementia and alzheimers for 5 yrs. They cared for her in a way we were unable to however during a routine manual transfer there was an incident which left mum with a fractured skull fractured hip deep cut to her head. The staff involved were unable to state what happened blaming the overhead lifting device. The facility had the device examined and it was not faulty. My mother died from complications 12 days later and the matter is with the coroner. Staff need more training and supervision there are too many non english speaking workers. I am very concerned about the level of care given to this frail community and would like a forum to discuss how incidents like this can be avoided.

Was this review helpful?  2