Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Vasey RSL Care

6 businesses total

Vasey RSL Care

(4.4)
  • 172 Burwood Rd Hawthorn VIC 3122
  • Phone - (03) 9810 5500
  • 61 reviews
4.4 (61 Reviews) Average Operator Rating

Susie6609

May 2, 2017

Lifestyle could be improved - it seems to have dropped off recently. Food in high care is not good enough. Attendance by doctors, and communication with the family needs to be improved. However these are the only problems. I am very happy with the facility overall.

Was this review helpful?  

Isabel9283

May 1, 2017

Change of management seven months ago has resulted in a downgrading of service, communication and support. However, compared with others I would still recommend it.

Was this review helpful?  

Tanya1081

May 1, 2017

An excellent facility.

Was this review helpful?  

Greyson5719

Nov 8, 2016

Great place staff are very caring and compassionate to each individual resident

Was this review helpful?  

Alysson5559

Oct 8, 2016

my father inlaw bob was there in the low care.The care and staff there were the best I'm glad we where able to have his last living years there. we will never forget how well they treated and cared for him . we all remember how happy he was when he was there

Was this review helpful?  

Gabriella7789

Aug 23, 2016

My mother died in this facility after her 3rd fall out of bed. Staff and management did nothing to prevent her from falling out of bed after the first and second fall. It was only after the third fall that they actually did something. All too little too late. They refused to put fall out mattresses on the floor to help protect her because they were "a trip hazard for staff". RN in charge told me that until she could ascertain WHY my mother was falling, there was nothing she could do. An absolute disgrace and I believe I would still have my mum with me today had something been done to protect her from falling.

Was this review helpful?  1

Forrest5204

Mar 4, 2016

Rooms are very comfortable and home is set in beautiful garden surrounds. Common areas are bright, pleasantly decorated and overall ANZAC has a homely feel. Always clean and well maintained. Staff are generally excellent, interested in resident's wellbeing and communicate well with family reps. Weekday activities are good and there is a program involving students from a local school however there are no activities at weekends and this is an area which could be looked at - particularly for residents who have few visitors or family unable to visit due to shiftwork etc. Food is prepared on site and there is menu variety but scope for increased use of fresh fruit

Was this review helpful?  

Pauline2657

Dec 22, 2015

Took a long time to find a good place. Very happy now.

Was this review helpful?  1

Emmie7538

Dec 17, 2015

My mother was in a high care facility with vascular dementia and alzheimers for 5 yrs. They cared for her in a way we were unable to however during a routine manual transfer there was an incident which left mum with a fractured skull fractured hip deep cut to her head. The staff involved were unable to state what happened blaming the overhead lifting device. The facility had the device examined and it was not faulty. My mother died from complications 12 days later and the matter is with the coroner. Staff need more training and supervision there are too many non english speaking workers. I am very concerned about the level of care given to this frail community and would like a forum to discuss how incidents like this can be avoided.

Was this review helpful?  1

Bev Robinson

Nov 24, 2015

The facility and care provide to my mother was exceptional. The management and staff were fantastic to deal with. All request were met with openness and a willingness to assist. The care and kindness shown to my mother in the palliative stages of her care was exceptional. They looked after the family too at this difficult time. Providing refreshments for the family while we were spending many hours at the facility with our dying mother. The dedication of the staff and making my mother as comfortable as was humanly possible. Our family is forever indebted to the staff at this facility.

Was this review helpful?  2

Dennis3651

Sep 25, 2015

My mum was in Sir William Hall Hostel in Heidelberg for 2 years 3 months before she passed away. The staff were just beautiful caring people, they treated the residents with love and dignity. I can not fault the care my mum was given. The meals were good. The facility clean. Only once was there reason to make a complaint and it was dealt with the same day.

Was this review helpful?  2

ceejaycee

Sep 24, 2015

My Mother had a stroke and was admitted to the low care facility. As years passed she got steadily worse and finally ended up in the high care facility. The care and respect the staff had for their patients was amazing. Even when Mum was no longer aware of anything she was still well looked after until she passed away.

Was this review helpful?  1

Maryjane6617

Sep 2, 2015

Staff are friendly and supportive of residents and I have found them responsive to requests. There is a wide variety of activities scheduled each weekday and activities staff encourage resident participation although there could me more things for residents to do after dinner and on weekends

Was this review helpful?  1

Elissa711

Jul 9, 2015

My mother has been in this facility for about 4 years. quality of care goes up and down. reasonably happy, but not many activities for the blind.

Was this review helpful?  

febeflea

Jun 12, 2015

Both my Mum and Dad have lived hear for some years. My Dad passed away last December but my Mum is still there. I cannot fault anything about the care they are given. It is great peace of mind to know that they are so well looked after. Brand new facility when they moved in. Spotlessly clean, wonderful caring staff. Great food also! Congratulations!

Was this review helpful?  

Michaela6775

Apr 17, 2015

no activites just sit and stare out the window if we did not chase up things they would not get done

Was this review helpful?  

Wendy Paton

Apr 9, 2015

Both my parents resided at Vasey Brighton East and I consider it to be a well run organisation. If at any time I raised concerns over the care of my parents, the staff were always respectful and listened to me. The Manager of the facility can be seen and regularily speaks with the residents and their families and I think this helps to set the tone which is warm and welcoming. No facility is perfect but if your concerns are listened to (which mine were) and you feel respected and your family members are cared for it goes a long way to put your mind at rest. Vasey Brighton East, I would recommend to anyone who is looking for a facility for their parents with a nice ambiance, lovely staff and who make an effort to get it right.

Was this review helpful?  

valbletch

Apr 2, 2015

Very up front and explain things fully

Was this review helpful?  

valbletch

Apr 2, 2015

I tried a few with my poor Mum as she had dementia and could sometimes be a bit aggressive. You have to really make full enquiries and recommendations before making a final decision. We made the mistake of placing her first of all with a retirement village in the main house which was great but although we had been told the kept high care (dementia) when Mum actually got to that stage they transferred her to hospital and then would not acccept her back. They took their 17 1/2% from the cost of the unit. Mum was still assessed as Low Care but aggressive so it took months to find the right place. When Mum passed away we had to pay the 17 1/2% fees again from the bond. Make sure you get the right advice. Vasey RSL were caring and honest. I can highly recommend them.

Was this review helpful?  

kayfen2009

Aug 6, 2014

would like to see more activities that the blind can do.

Was this review helpful?