Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

100 search results for: aged care homes

show filter

Regional NSW, Central Tablelands: ... a nursing home at Bathurst New South Wales there was nothing to be ...

Kariane4826 Jul 21, 2015
1  2 3 4 5

My mother was in a nursing home at Bathurst New South Wales there was nothing to be impressed about so this is why my review looks like this mum was a cancer patient she passed away in 2003*(

Doug4051 Mar 01, 2016
1  2  3  4  5

Overworked and squashy at dining time.

Sydney, Blue Mountains: ... are awesome. Kurrajong nursing home new south wales australia, is THE BEST nursing ...

tracy m May 20, 2015
1  2  3  4  5 

the nursing home my dad spent just over the last two years of his life, is THE BEST nursing home EVER, i would like to see everyone to work in aged care to be trained at Kurrajong Nursing Home. they are so lovely and patient and helpfull, my hat goes off tp these workers, they are awesome.

tracy m Jun 02, 2015
1  2  3  4  5 

Kurrajong nursing home new south wales australia, is THE BEST nursing home in the world, they cook all the meals at the residence, except friday lunch they order out, fish and chips is brought it in. The care is 110%, the workers are caring, understanding, patient, It is where i would be happy spending my last days, months, years, beautiful place. in the tranquil hills of kurrajong village, hills surround with birds singing including Bell birds, so beautiful.

Elwin6114 Jun 12, 2015
1  2  3  4 5

This organisation let my Grandmother down badly, she had dementia and was left to her own devices where she let herself out of a door that wasn't alarmed and fell down three flights of stairs!!!! She passed away not long after this incident...

Landen3431 Mar 15, 2016
1  2  3  4 5

Nursing homes are a very sad place I had my father in one as he could no longer walk due to kidney failure as he was the youngest there he kept to himself as seeing older patients depressed him he just wanted to go home nd we would bring him home on weekends but I hated having to send him back but there was no one to look after him during the week the staff were fantastic but the facility was old and depressing

Kerrie Hicks May 29, 2015
1  2  3  4  5 

My beautiful mum had to go into care and it all happened very quickly and so was not planned in any way. As a Registered Nurse it was one of the most stressful and emotional periods of my life. I felt so much guilt and felt I had so let her down as she had always said she would never go into one if those homes and you will take me out of here in a box. So you can imagine how I felt the day I was told that she could never return home to live by herself. At the time we lived in a 2 story house I still had to work and we had a 16 year old so there was no way I could care for her at home. Anyway the nursing home I selected became her home and the staff her extended family and that is truly how I felt so what started as a very stressful start it was for us a happy ending.

Maroba

Dear Kerrie, Thank you for sharing your heartfelt story with us and others that read these reviews. The transition into care is a difficult time of adjustment and social change. Maroba attempts to ease this as much as possible and to make new residents feel welcomed, secured and loved as part of our family. Maroba appreciates your feedback and recommendation. Best regards, Angela Carey
Oct 19, 2015

[email protected] May 31, 2015
1  2  3  4  5

I think that most aged car facilities get the food wrong. They should provide meals that old people are used to. Meat and 3 veg not loaded with garlic and too many spices. Meat pie chips and gravy and peas is another winner. My aunt spent her last days in an aged care facility and we struggled to get her to eat because she just didn't like the food. Some people have adventurous appetites while others just struggle with the concept. Overall the quality of care was of a high standard and the facility was new and well appointed. Although my aunt was unable to participate in activities many were available for those so inclined. The staff were kind and caring particularly when it came to the end of her life. I would recommend this facility to those contemplating moving to an aged care facility.

Maroba

Dear [email protected] Thank you for the review. Its always hard to please so many residents with food however we do try our best and have passed on your comments to our catering team. I am sure the staff will be pleased to know how helpful they were at the end of your aunts life. Maroba appreciates your recommendation. Best regards, Angela Carey
Oct 19, 2015

Lisamck Jun 01, 2015
1  2  3  4  5

Maroba always does it's best to be as relevant as possible for it's clients

Maroba

Dear Lisamck Thankyou very much. Best regards, Angela Carey
Oct 19, 2015

Patchett Jun 03, 2015
1  2  3  4  5

I was very relieved when my parents secured places with MAROBA, it was their facility of choice after visiting a few. After only just existing in their own home, they enjoyed a few years together before my mother passed away. Dad is now bedridden and mostly receives exceptional care, with most of the nursing staff not yet 'jaded', here's hoping this continues at this wonderful facility.

Maroba

Dear Patchett many thanks for posting this review for us. Maroba is pleased to be able to offer wonderful services and the staff are very dedicated and to aged care. Best regards, Angela Carey
Oct 19, 2015

ConcernedRelative Jun 22, 2015
1  2  3 4 5

Immaculate from the outside, however poor staff communication especially with handover, high reliance on agency staff, limited social activities and no encouragement to join in, inadequate personal hygiene maintained on residents.

Maroba

Dear Concerned Relative Maroba appreciates all feedback and we aim to use this for the process of continuous improvement in all that we do. Since you posted this review in June many systems and processes have changed. Staff do have formal handovers at each shift and we have introduced a team briefing with the RN mid shift. Agency staff use is limited now we have a fuller compliment of staff on board. The Leisure and Lifestyle staff publish a monthly calendar of events based on residents requests and choice of activities. We offer a daily range of activities for residents to participate in. I would like to invite you in to meet with me personally so we may address your concerns and work more closely with you. Do not hesitate to call me on 49350300 or email me on [email protected] to make an appointment. Thankyou again, best regards, Angela Carey
Oct 19, 2015

Lenore2997 Sep 14, 2015
1  2  3  4  5

Maroba provides a caring environment and I am very pleased with the care that my mother is receiving. The facilities are well maintained and a high standard of cleanliness is also maintained. The moving in process was made easy by the all staff members I encountered on the day Mum moved in. Like many others my Mother lived an independent life, with a little assistance, and suddenly became ill and was no longer able to look after herself. It was left to me as Mum was not able to go out of the hospital to inspect facilities. I inspected a number of facilities and Maroba was one of my first preferences. My Mother has few complaints about her new home. Food is always an issue because everyone has different tastes and the catering team are trying to satisfy everyone, my opinion is that they should concentrate more on plainer old fashion type meals but I sure that others would not agree. I have found all the staff to be caring and helpful but as with everything these day costs are a ruling factor and I have noticed staff are in short supply at times. The main improvement I would suggest is more news and information for families as not everyone is able to visit their loved one every couple of days. As most people have email these days a copy the monthly activities sheet and any relevant news could be emailed at minimum cost or even posting this information on the web page would be good.

Maroba

Dear Lenore2997 Thank you for your positive feedback of you Maroba experience to date. In relation to the last few points you have raised I would like to provide you with some feedback; • Residents are consulted regarding the menu selection and as you suggested we do try to cater to many various tastes. • We are in the process of implementing additional hours in the Lodge due to the increasing care needs of our hostel residents. You should see improved staffing levels here in the next few months. We never work short staffed but occasionally do resort to agency staff to assist. We have a focus on recruitment at the moment and are trying to ensure we recruit the best possible staff for Maroba. • In relation to news and information – we have recently discussed re commencing a resident
Sep 16, 2015

Grahame Sep 15, 2015
1  2  3  4  5 

My mother is very happy, has made friends and the staff are wonderful

Maroba

Dear Grahame Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to hear she has made new friends. Thank you for rating our staff so highly. King Regards, Angela Carey, Director of Clinical Excellence
Mar 22, 2016

Kameron4643 Oct 17, 2015
1  2  3  4  5

The facility always smells clean and fresh. The residents are always clean and well presented. The staff are always approachable and friendly. The food is delicious and varied. There are numerous activities available. The hairdresser and podiatrist services are readily available also.

Maroba

Dear Kameron4643 Thankyou for you review. Maroba endeavours to provide high quality aged care services. We are very pleased you are happy with the care and services. Thank you again for choosing Maroba. Best regards, Angela Carey
Oct 19, 2015

Grayson6307 Oct 07, 2015
1  2  3  4  5

As far as age care facilties go, Scalabrini Village at Bexley is pretty good. Rooms are pretty small though making it difficult to move in especially with a wheelchair or walker. Also if rooms were more generous in size you would be able to personalize them a little also being able to have a comfy recliner in there would be nice and a comfy chair for visitors or relatives if you wanted to just have a quiet moment.

Scalabrini Village Ltd

Dear Trace4038, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Your rating and review comments are important to us, as we aim to continuously improve the environment in which our residents live. Unfortunately we are sometimes restricted with the constraints of the existing building and therefore are limited in how we can improve on room size. We are however undergoing an extensive building renovation program at our Bexley Village and will be increasing the size of all social areas. I am happy to discuss more specifically the needs you have. Please feel free to contact me directly at Head Office, 02 8876 6800 Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd.
Oct 11, 2015

tyson1959 Oct 22, 2015
1  2  3  4  5 

very clean facility ... well staffed in all areas staff always provide fast and regular feedback to us staff caring and interactive with residents food provides variety good variety of activities for residents to participate in regular bus trips for outigs staff provide the family with updates as they occur medical or personal issues high care is well set out more like a home than a facility

Scalabrini Village Ltd

Dear Tyson1959, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. It is great to receive your positive feedback. We will be sure to share your feedback with the Bexley Team. We hope that Scalabrini Village Bexley can continue to meet and exceed your expectations.Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd.
Oct 22, 2015

Derick2594 Oct 24, 2015
1  2  3  4  5 

Staff in dementia specific care have a genuine commitment to ensuring that the residents are well looked after and comfortable in their surroundings.

Scalabrini Village Ltd

Dear Jaquelin5515, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. It is great to receive your positive feedback. We will be sure to share your feedback with the Bexley Team. We hope that Scalabrini Village Bexley can continue to meet and exceed your expectations.Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd.
Oct 26, 2015

Else756 Oct 25, 2015
1  2  3  4  5

The home is pleasant and clean. It could do with more fresh air circulating through it. Also more staff on the weekend would be good. The staff are on the whole very friendly and helpful.

Scalabrini Village Ltd

Dear Else756, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on our Bexley Village. We are constantly exploring ways to improve our service, and your feedback will be useful as we do that. Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd.
Nov 09, 2015

SanMichel Oct 26, 2015
1  2  3  4  5

Overall scalabrini village bexley is a well set up, clean and caring aged care facility. Residents and family are all treated with care and respect and they have a great programme to keep the residents active and entertained. The food in both quality and quantity is very good.

Scalabrini Village Ltd

Dear SanMichel, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Your rating and review comments are important to us, as we aim to continuously improve the service we offer. We hope that Scalabrini Village Bexley can continue to meet and exceed your expectations.Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd.
Oct 26, 2015

Susie7117 Oct 26, 2015
1  2  3  4 5

The overall environment is the thing that dictates the motivation and the eventual success of an individual to cope with this type of a lifestyle. . There is a problem for people without dementia and huge physical problems to be given a good quality of lifestyle and wellbeing .. Everything seems to be engineered towards the worst off people. If you are not in that category you have to fend for yourself even to suitable exercises being given. .Lucky I am outgoing and I ask for what I need. .

Scalabrini Village Ltd

Dear Jane545, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Your rating and review comments are important to us, as we aim to continuously improve the service we offer. Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd.
Nov 09, 2015

Imogene7603 Oct 28, 2015
1  2  3  4  5 

My Father has been living in this Aged Care Facility for a year and a half. During this time, his health and happiness has improved due to the care he is given and that he no longer feels anxious about the future or in looking after himself. He enjoys the companionship from both residents and staff and the arranged activities.

Scalabrini Village Ltd

Dear Imogene7603, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. It is great to receive your positive feedback. We will be sure to share your feedback with the Bexley Team. We hope that Scalabrini Village Bexley can continue to meet and exceed your expectations.Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd
Nov 09, 2015

Sydney, Northern Beaches: This facility started off great with great staff and a friendly, communicative manager. Staff always smiling and even sometimes singing on the job- just delightful. After the manager changed so did the attitudes and ...

Sunshine May 26, 2015
1  2  3 4 5

This facility started off great with great staff and a friendly, communicative manager. Staff always smiling and even sometimes singing on the job- just delightful. After the manager changed so did the attitudes and the staffing. Sadly downhill. The facility then changed ownership, After watching 5 managers change through the place,the new manager tried hard to create a better system however the new staff were problematic. I sadly could not remove my father from the facility towards the end of his life as he was too fragile. Make sure if the facility recommends a doctor to you, the doctor believes in palliative care as the doctor we received did not. This complicated an already difficult situation. Would not recommend unless the place has improved. If you see smiling happy staff you see smiling happy residents.

Ferne3714 Jun 13, 2015
1  2 3 4 5

My Father was admitted to Aged Care Facility on 17/4/2014 on advice from a Hospital. When our family went to look at this facility the Woman in charge was pleasant and assured us because of my Father's condition (he suffered dementia/parkinsons could not talk had to be fed and could not walk at the time as he had been in Hospital for 3 weeks and had not walked in that time. One of the reasons we chose this facility was that Dad's GP was directly across the road. On arriving at the aged care by Ambulance he was expected to walk to his room (which he could not do), this was not a good start. As he could only eat pureed food and had to be fed we found that a couple of the staff were good but the rest just tried to throw the food down his throat on which he could have choked or they just gave up after a couple on attempts. Our family would go in at meal times and feed him after seeing this. My Dad died on 26/5/2014 after being found in his bed dead by my Blind 92 year old Mother and my Sisters. None of the staff knew, we could not believe this after being assured he would be checked on regularly as he could not call out for help or he was not able to ring the bell. We never in the five weeks Dad was there ever saw the Woman in Charge of the facility and she did not come and see the family after being informed Dad had died. (Not even a thank you to Mum after the event thanking her for donating the new TV she had bought for Dad). We were very disappointed in most of the care given (except for a couple of very nice staff). My Mother who had cared and done everything for Dad for the previous 3 years is only sorry the Hospital wouldn't allow him to go home, as being her age and blind she would have done a better job.

Denise Gray Jun 30, 2015
1  2  3  4  5 

Both parents spent their last days at Manly Vale

Marielle1481 Oct 12, 2015
1  2 3 4 5

Clearly needs Registered Nurses!

Jordyn3303 Mar 11, 2016
1  2  3 4 5

My Father who suffered Bells Palsy Dementia was placed in a Nursing Home after the family being told he could not return home after being in Hospital for 3 weeks. We looked around and finally decided on a particular one close to home for Mum and my 3 sisters. Unfortunately what was promised to us at our inspection and interview at the home did not eventuate. My Dad could not talk get out of bed or feed himself (my blind Mother had been caring for him feeding, showering etc. for the previous 2 years). However at the home they were very impatient when feeding him and showed little care. After being promised by the Head of the home he would be checked on regularly because he couldn't speak or even ring a bell for help, and sometimes threw his legs around and could have had a fall out of bed, this did not happen. The day he passed away my Mother

Kaia5133 Jun 03, 2016
1  2  3 4 5

My father stayed at this facility as a respite resident for 3 weeks and was well looked after. The rooms are small but there are good activities, the staff are caring and the food is made on the premises and of reasonable good quality. My main issue with this facility is the accounts department. If they make an error it is virtually impossible to resolve as no one replies to emails and any phone call or visit gets a reply of " leave it with me" - then nothing happens. After five months of trying to resolve the issue my next step is to lodge a formal complaint with the Health Care Complaints commission.

Daisy9480 Oct 26, 2015
1  2  3  4  5

Catering could be improved

Karli4454 Oct 30, 2015
1  2  3  4  5 

My nonna is very happy and settled here, the staff and nuns are fantastic with her showing affection and great care we are happy with the high level of care given to her every day

Scalabrini Village Ltd

Dear Maybell9614, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. It is great to receive your positive feedback. We will be sure to share your feedback with the Chipping Norton Team. We hope that Scalabrini Village Chipping Norton can continue to meet and exceed your expectations.Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd
Nov 09, 2015

Volpstar Nov 01, 2015
1  2  3  4  5 

Its been nearly three years since we had to move our mother into the facilities at Scalabrini, excellent service, Mum feels safe and among friends. Being amongst other aged Italian residence makes the whole transition a lot easier. A new building is under construction to expand and give even higher and more personal care to the residence. We could not be happier, we know Mum is in good hands. Thank you Fiona and your team

Scalabrini Village Ltd

Dear Carli1130, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Your rating and review comments are important to us, as we aim to continuously improve the service we offer. We hope that Scalabrini Village Chipping can continue to meet and exceed, your expectations. I will pass on your feedback to Fiona Kendal and the team at Chipping Norton. Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd.
Nov 09, 2015

Loredana Duro Feb 04, 2016
1  2  3  4  5

I find the staff at the Scalabrini Village in Chipping Norton very friendly and helpful. I was concerned for my mum as she only speaks Italian but it didn't take her long to settle in and make friends. At the moment they are renovating so there's a bit of mess but it's looking great. They keep me up to date on her health and the place is very clean. I would recommend it to anyone.

Scalabrini Village Ltd

Dear Loredana, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. It is great to receive your positive feedback. I am so happy to hear your mum has settled in. We will be sure to share your feedback with the Chipping Norton Team. We hope that Scalabrini Village Chipping Norton can continue to meet and exceed your expectations.Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd
Feb 11, 2016

Lewis8 Mar 15, 2016
1  2  3  4  5 

The new facilities have recently opened and are excellent. All rooms have individual air conditioning, own bathroom, new bedding, larger rooms with great views overlooking a river and a great lounge room area for visiting friends. The staff are wonderful and considerate of patients needs.

Scalabrini Village Ltd

Dear Lewis, It is great to receive such positive feedback on the newly built wing at our Chipping Norton Village. We will be sure to share your feedback with the Chipping Norton Team and the Projects Team. We hope that Scalabrini Village Chipping Norton can continue to meet and exceed your expectations.Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd
Mar 22, 2016

mari4158 Mar 15, 2016
1  2  3  4  5 

At Scalabrini I always feel very welcomed, whenever i'm visiting my mother in law, the staff is always cheerful and helpful, no matter if they are busy they always make your concerns a priority. If mum has a problem it is dealt with ASAP and I also get a phone call back within the next day regarding what has been done. The new building is just gorgeous and makes the residents feel like its their own home, not just a place where they get looked after.

Scalabrini Village Ltd

Dear mari4158, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We will be sure to share your feedback with Fiona Kendal, the Chipping Norton Team and the Project Team as I am thrilled you are happy with the newly built wing. We hope that Scalabrini Village Chipping can continue to meet and exceed, your expectations. Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd.
Mar 22, 2016

Regional NSW, Snowy Mountains: My father was in residential care for 18 months until 2014. We faced so many obstacles trying to ensure my father had quality care and despite many complaints this did not occur. I was in the process of submitting a ...

Ellsworth8013 Jul 10, 2015
1  2 3 4 5

My father was in residential care for 18 months until 2014. We faced so many obstacles trying to ensure my father had quality care and despite many complaints this did not occur. I was in the process of submitting a formal complaint when my father passed away. My siblings and I were so concerned about his care that we ensured that one of us was at the Nursing Home every day.

Marielle9675 Mar 14, 2016
1  2  3 4 5

This facility is ok if you can speak up for yourself

Hellen7913 Jul 21, 2016
1  2  3  4  5

a wonderful warm and friendly group of staff, food is amazing and the cooks are willing to make what I really want. The animals are great with the staff coming in on their days off to help the residents feed the baby cows, budgies, fish, doves and puppies- its really exciting. Registered nurses are on every shift and everyone is really helpful when we need help. Families are welcome and their new bus makes outings more interesting and easier to be involved with. I would recommend them for those wanting a bit more than just plain care, its a real family

Amos5050 Sep 14, 2016
1  2  3  4  5

The home is undergoing a lot of change with staff wanting to make my dads stay really happy. The cook made us feel welcome as part of the family and it was nice to be able to sit and eat with dad and my kids. I loved visiting when the school children came to play for the day. The place came alive when they were here. Even though dad couldn't do things for himself he still had a choice which was nice.

Rocky4615 Oct 07, 2016
1  2  3  4  5

My mother was a long term, high level care resident at SWHMC. It was the best place for Mum to be at that time and the staff were more than excellent. The new building extension really lifted the ambience and increased daily living options available to all residents. The choice of room options is great eg single, double, triple etc and our time there was overall a good care experience.

Irma2734 Aug 23, 2017
1  2  3 4 5

The actual nurses seem caring and professional. Some of the older nurses aides seem intent on bossing the younger aides and are rude and sarcastic. Any complaints about patient care is met with a hostile look. Have heard place had an overhaul...thats good. There is an atomosphere of tension in the air. Feel management are not very good in their interview process regarding choosing people with some level of empathy. If people only work there because there are not enough jobs in the area...which I have heard is true then there surely must be people who would love to work there and have suitable attributes associated with aged care.

Sydney, Hills: This building is about to be completely upgraded and a new facility built so it is not the most deluxe accommodation. However, most of the staff go above and beyond to provide personal, loving and friendly service, to ...

Agustin8869 Aug 31, 2017
1  2  3  4  5 

This building is about to be completely upgraded and a new facility built so it is not the most deluxe accommodation. However, most of the staff go above and beyond to provide personal, loving and friendly service, to the residents as well as to visitors. My mother stayed there almost every day when my stepfather was a resident and the staff cared not only for him, but for her as well and made her welcome and like part of the family. Even after my stepfather passed in February this year, the staff are still regularly in touch with my mother and check on her pretty much every week and invite her along to trivia and other functions. So, all in all, the facility is ordinary, but the staff make this a fabulous place we would happily recommend to anyone. Once the facility is brand new, this is going to be THE place to go.

Bella1 Dec 08, 2016
1  2  3  4  5

Staff at Woodberry Village are wonderful and caring not only to residents, but visitors and family members. Also - My family of 3 can't thank them enough, for all their help.

Marge8889 Feb 02, 2017
1  2  3  4  5 

My mother is extremely happy living at Woodberry Village. All staff extremely helpful.

Mia Feb 02, 2017
1  2  3  4  5

I have had to place my father into an aged care home. My first visit to Woodberry in Winston Hill - the staff were friendly and very helpful. We visited other homes but we came back to Woodberry because of the staff. When we now visit my father is dressed well and he is putting on weight which his doctor needed him to do. He has his ups and downs as it is all still new, but he is happy he has people to talk to . The staff at Woodberry are very special. Thank you for taking my father in.

Deion1841 Jul 31, 2017
1  2  3  4 5

Staffing levels extremely low!Also most are foreign

Get more information
One last thing...
Aged Care – You’re Not Alone
Aged Care Directory
My Account