Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Search results for bendigo retirement village

show filter

Melbourne, East: ... of Wheelers Hill, Melbourne. The village is conveniently located next to ... right next door. The modern village design concept, and friendly, kind ...

Elaina1723 Sep 07, 2015
1  2  3  4 5

Very poor standard of meals provided. Not a large range of lifestyle activities.

Frederique8503 Mar 16, 2016
1  2  3  4  5

The facility seems to have a high level of caring staff where my parents needs are always met and the carers treat my parents just like they were caring for their own relatives. It gives our family piece of mind. Just recently a lifestyle coordinator stayed back to chat to me about dad's life so she could talk to him about past events to help him remember not only events but to help him to be happier in his environment. Both my parents suffer from Alzheimer's, my father being a lot worse and it is a very hard time for us as a family but knowing they have good care is fantastic.

stephanie Mar 19, 2016
1  2 3 4 5

There are not enough staff, even though they are lovely individuals. Access has been an ongoing issue that has become overwhelmingly hard to solve though chats with the manufacturer say it is an easy fix. This has not been the solution my 90 grandma wanted. All of the promises made on signing up and taking our money have not come to fruition.

Ryman Healthcare

Dear Stephanie, Thank you for taking the time to review our village. Our staffing levels are high, they vary depending on the area of the village, as our high care and Dementia residents have increased staffing. Our lifestyle program is very robust, running between 9am and 8pm, 7 days per week and encompasses all aspects of living designed around resident's choices and interests. Security is paramount and coded assess is in place in all relevant areas of the village. We are happy to discuss any concerns or suggestions from residents and their families. Please feel free to contact me directly at: [email protected] Once again, thank you for your feedback. Kind regards, Eileen Kielty, Regional Operations Manager, Ryman Healthcare
Mar 24, 2016

Casimir8939 Aug 22, 2016
1  2  3  4  5

A safe environment for Mum. She's made the effort to join in, mix with new people and has embraced all the changes the move required.

Lucy L Aug 06, 2017
1  2  3  4  5 

Very friendly staff and resort style village

Northern Victoria, North Western: The Village Cohuna, is a 45 bed aging in place facility, run by a local Board of Management. The Facility has been operating in Cohuna for over 40 years providing high quality care to its local residents.

Melbourne, Bayside: ... to Residents living within the Village Baxter Retirement Village. I live as a ... ILUnits..... Could not recommend The Village Baxter highly enough.....recommend that people ...

Heather May 17, 2015
1  2  3  4  5 

I live as a resident in an Independant Living Unit at The Village Baxter and have friends that are in Residential Care.....the facilities are almost brand new and have been created with an idea for detail that make life comfortable for the residents. The staff? What can I say.....they are the most thoughtful and caring group of people and no request is beyond them to facilitate...no complaints at all. Food is always subject to the taste of individuals and food is prepared by a central kitchen...it is nutritional and varied ....... Lifestyle needs are well met with variety in activities ......... My friends are happy with their current circumstances given that care is a necessity and it is because of the tiered system of care that I originally decided to enter the Village - I do not fear becoming Residential in Care in the future should it be necessary and already experience excellent attention from the Nurses and Staff that are attached with ILUnits..... Could not recommend The Village Baxter highly enough.....recommend that people should attend one of the open days.

K turner May 19, 2015
1  2  3  4  5 

It's even sadwhen they are waiting on the relations that don't come.It is only some good staff that make the difference for the residents. This place makes life worst living

Northern Victoria, Bendigo: ... lucky to be in BUPA Bendigo. In her words she was ... care loves Bethlehem aged care Bendigo I have recommended Bethlehem to ...

jansherriff May 29, 2015
1  2  3  4  5 

My mum was lucky to be in BUPA Bendigo. In her words she was treated like a queen. No higher praise than that. The staff were fantastic and even through we dont have her now I could not have wished for a better place

Stefanie2444 Mar 14, 2016
1  2  3  4 5

Language barrier/heavy accents are a real problem especially for our elderly. Clothing dissappeared (I paid for name labels before admission) and other peoples worn out unsuitable clothes put in the wardrobe. Brand new jacket dissappeared. Dietary requirements not followed no matter how many times I asked. Locked Medication drawer in my Father I Law's room left unlocked. He got into it and tried to suicide. 3 nights before he died he was "double dosed" on his medications. Due to language barrier I didn't understand I was being told on the phone that he'd died. Due to language barrier the explanation of the double dose of medications was very unclear. I was told it was 1 medication when it was 4 or 5. Because we queried the overdose the morning after he died the Manager refused to communicate with us. So, we asked for an Autopsy. Thankfully it showed he died due to cardiac arythmia. The day before he was in bed very very ill with the TV SCREAMING home shopping ads at him. I couldn't hear what the nurse was saying. My Father In Law hated TV.

Magdalena3245 Mar 15, 2016
1  2  3  4  5 

My Mum spent the last year of her life in aged care,she passed away just before her 95th birthday. We were all very happy with the care she received.

Northern Victoria, Bendigo: ... quiet residential area, Estia Health Bendigo is a modern, family-friendly residence ...

Loyce862 May 17, 2015
1  2  3  4 5

My mother was admitted and well cared for, staff were friendly and courteous to myself and family. We knew she would not be there for long. Payment of her stay was being pushed, we had to pay for small items which I never saw,ie. name tags for clothes ($70) Upon mothers decease, pushed to pick up her belongings, which were handed to me in black plastic bag. Hair conditioner was thrown in and leaked.

shebaa Jun 15, 2015
1  2  3 4 5

you are of full mind and body is not working ,you are left to your own amusement and hopefully you get a visitor. you tell staff you are in pain or cramps and get told suck it up you cant cut your food up if your luckly there may be a nice staff person who will do it otherwise you don't eat and no one checks you've not eaten, if its a caring staff member you will get your jug of water replenished but 7 out 10 wont that's my observation from just one visit to a friend may I never have to use a facility as they are totally under staffed its just a money making venture to owners I could rant for longer, I wish I could change the system and divide the population of each homes to one for young folk , one for those of full mind and buggered bodies, and those poor souls who's mind is gone, bless them they are un aware of how poor there care is .

Northern Victoria, Bendigo: ... an aged care facility in Bendigo. Sunrise Supported Accommodation where once ...

kthaxter May 26, 2015
1  2 3 4 5

I would like to comment on an aged care facility in Bendigo. Sunrise Supported Accommodation where once you could rent, but they've pushed the renters out and now you have to buy under the usual astronomical terms. When my sister was renting there a few years ago, the renters ate in one kitchen, the owners in another - the food in the renters kitchen was atrocious and residents had blocked bowels etc - fresh fruit almost caused a riot it was so rare and I don't believe the cooks were even qualified. She came to my place one night and when she returned, the gate was locked (she'd never been told they would be locked and couldn't get in to get her medications) - ended up coming back and spending the night at my place. This happened to her a second time and she climbed the back gate after calling the after hours number but no response - blody awful standard of care and support.

Janick597 Mar 10, 2016
1  2  3  4  5 

Has taken all stress off us living so far away knowing he is so well cared for respected, and loved. Piece of mind knowing he will enjoy his final years surrounded with no worries. His age is 101.

abeales Jun 09, 2014
1  2  3  4  5 

My 92 grandmother is very well taken care of, very pretty grounds, friendly atmosphere, spacious, she loves it and we as her family have peace of mind

kayjay Oct 06, 2014
1  2  3  4  5

I have found my mums experience in her care facility to have been pretty good, its not perfect, but what is,?,,in the four years she has been there it has become a second home to me as well, i have formed a lot of close friendships with staff and residents and my mum has even found a partner !!!,,i would have to say the biggest let down all along has been the food, its pretty disgusting, mums lost a bit of weight since shes been there but i take her in a lot of things i cook at home and we go out for lunch once a week,,ive eaten there myself and it was cold and tasteless so despite all the money she pays we still shop for her every week and she spends at least 60 dollars on food items. but overall its been a good place for her and shes pretty happy, and like most places you have your excellent staff and some who shouldnt be in aged care, but there are more good than bad, i know some of the residents there arent very happy but i think a lot of that is the fact that some familys leave their elderly there and then dont bother to stay involved in their lives,,,sad,,but true,,my mums 88 and my best friend, i couldnt imagine not seeing her, her facility is now her home so therefor its my other home too,,,just as when she had the family home, ive had sleepovers and hang out there just the same,,i also think if a person has an attitude like my mum then they will always find some good in something and be grateful, so overall i would say langford has been pretty good for our family ,,thanks..

Homestyle Aged Care Services

Dear kayjay, thank you for providing your review - it is clear that you are sincere in wanting to providing real feedback to our team. First off, let me say that I am glad to hear that you and your family have enjoyed interacting out our passionate and dedicated team at Langford Grange. Secondly, I am disappointed to hear about your family's experience with the quality and variety of food. I know that our facility staff, including our Facility Manager, try hard to engage with residents and families in relation to the preparation of the food menu. Each resident's nutritional requirements are our first concern in preparing the menu, but I ensure your feedback is received and acted upon. Beyond that, it's great to see how involved you are with your mum and with the facility - we love it when our resident's families play a big part in the facility - I know our lifestyle staff place a great emphasis on involving families when structuring our events program. Your review also focuses on a really important aspect of what we think makes Homestyle different - providing a quality environment where residents feel as safe and secure as they would in their own home. Creating an atmosphere that is as much like 'home' is a responsibility we take seriously. Again - thank you for taking the time to provide us with this in depth feedback. Regards. Tim Humphries, CEO.
Nov 20, 2014

Belgin Feb 11, 2015
1  2  3  4  5 

This is the third residential aged care facility that my dad who has advanced Alzheimer's disease has been to. The experiences has not always been positive. Langford Grange is by far the best. All staff members are approachable, welcoming, attentive and make you 'feel at home'. Dad's hygiene is well cared for and the staff take the time to ensure he is well fed and taken care of. Staff display a solid knowledge base of dementia and are extremely empathetic towards my dad and our family. I feel like I can now breathe easily as I now know that dad is being well cared for. Thank you to everyone at Langford Grange.

Dulce6762 Mar 03, 2015
1  2  3  4  5 

My mother has been a resident of Langford Grange for 2 years now and all I can say is Langford Grange is the best kept secret in aged care I know She is so happy and the entire staff are so caring From a daughter who has a background in aged care Langford Grange is the best keep up the great work

JClarke Mar 09, 2015
1  2  3  4  5 

As the daughter of a resident of Langford Grange I wish to express my gratitude to all staff and management of my mums home. The building (mums home) is emaculate. But its the staff and the respect love and support shown to my mum and us that seperates Langford from everyone else. You have put my mind and heart at ease. Thank you

Otisernst Jun 25, 2015
1  2  3  4  5 

My Mum had six weeks respite at Langford Grange whilst waiting for a place in the country to be near the rest of her family. I cannot speak highly enough of every aspect of care at Langford. Mum is very precise in her likes

Homestyle Aged Care Services

Thank you for the feedback. It seems like we will see you again at Langford Grange which is the highest praise we can receive. Thank you also for your feedback regarding the food you received, all meals are prepared in the kitchen on site each day. it is challenging to meet the expectations of many and varied tastes, we do ensure we vary the menu and accommodate preferences and dietary requirements. Thank you again for the feedback. Tim Humphries Chief Executive Officer - Homestyle Aged Care
Jun 25, 2015

happygirl Jun 25, 2015
1  2  3  4  5 

The staff are lovely and friendly. Langford Grange is bright and spacious. Mum is being well cared for. I'm happy she's safe, eating and having her pills on time. Just knowing she's not getting ripped off by people anymore is such a relief.

Homestyle Aged Care Services

Dear happygirl, thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We are proud of the staff we have at Langford Grange, and put particular effort into professional development and ensuring the physical environment of our facilities meet our promise of being homely in nature. Good care in a safe environment is what we pride ourselves on. Tim Humphries. Chief Executive Officer - Homestyle Aged Care
Jun 29, 2015

John Tucker Jul 02, 2015
1  2  3  4  5 

I am forever grateful that Mum was able to secure a position at Langford Grange more than 7 years ago, when, at the age of 91, she had fallen and broken her shoulder and was no longer able to live independently in her retirement village apartment. She spent 3 years in the low care facility and then with the onset of dementia was moved to high care some 4 years ago. I cannot speak highly enough of the facilities and care shown to her at Langford Grange. The staff are all very kind and caring and show a true interest in her well-being. More than one of them have said that when they grow old and grey they just want to be like "Alice", which is a lovely compliment. As Mum approaches her 99th birthday in November, if is very comforting to know that she is receiving the very best possible care in every aspect of her life. Thank you to Carol, Shirley and all of the wonderful team at Langford. I would highly recommend you to anyone looking for quality care for their ageing loved one.

Homestyle Aged Care Services

Thank you John for your kind words. The team at Langford Grange provide wonderful care, as well as caring for the residents. Thank you for allowing us to look after your Mum it is indeed an honour for us to care for those people in our community who have lived such long and amazing lives. Thank you again for your kind words. Tim Humphries Chief Executive Officer - Homestyle Aged Care
Jul 02, 2015

South Western Victoria, Grampians: Information not yet provided by facility

Melbourne, East: ... spent some years in this retirement village very happy. Could not fault ... dine. I fully recommend this village. We like that the facility ...

jennifer_p21660 Apr 15, 2015
1  2  3  4  5

Very well established has Low care, High care and induvidual units with 24 hour care. The staff here go the extra mile as residents need time and compansionship and some dont have family. They talk to the residents and listen as well as caring for there health, communication is a must and it is given. They share there families with the residents and they get enjoyment and a feeling of being needed and part of something.

Garrison4611 May 03, 2015
1  2  3  4  5 

My Dad moved to Salford Aged Care, and my family and I were very impressed with the staff dedication and commitment to the care and well being of our Dad and many of the other residents. There was always a friendly smile and a chat with the staff and the friends Dad came to know. Nothing you asked of the staff was an inconvenience. Over time Dad grew to love his new home, and through regular visits friendships grew between the family and the residents. There were many and varied activities for anyone to participate in. Dad loved the old time singing (he had a lovely voice)! But mostly Dad just loved to talk especially about his boyhood and growing up and working on the farm, sport and politics! After talking to staff members we were impressed that many of them had worked there for many years. I believe this was one of the reasons why there was such a warm, welcoming and friendly atmosphere at the home. Sadly Dad passed away after a brief illness, just five days short of his 92nd birthday. A lovely service was organised by the staff, and it was very touching to hear the tributes given by staff and residents alike. As a family knowing that Dad spent his last few remaining months surrounded by such caring and devoted people deeply touched us. We miss him very much, but there are many, many happy memories, and they will live long in our hearts.

Leanne O May 04, 2015
1  2  3  4  5 

Thoughtful attentive and caring staff. Dad was kept comfortable and well looked after while in care.

AlisonP Jun 23, 2015
1  2  3  4  5 

My mother spent some years in this retirement village very happy. Could not fault it. Staff were caring and always something in lifestyle to do.

Alycia3613 Nov 24, 2015
1  2  3  4  5

We like that the facility has lovely gardens and on one level. Staff are friendly and helpful.

Patience1451 Jul 31, 2017
1  2  3  4  5

Very close to excellent service. Just food need improvement.

Alison Sep 07, 2014
1  2  3  4  5 

Making the decision to place my mother in care was a hard decision to make. Clarendon grange was a respite place but we liked it so much, my mother stayed. An excellent facility. Staff are like family and genuinely care about the residents from the manager, nursing staff, kitchen staff, reception, support staff. They all smile and treat residents with care, compassion and dignity.

Homestyle Aged Care Services

Hi Alison, thanks for taking the time to place a review on Clarendon Grange. For many of our residents their first experience with a facility is as a respite resident. It's a good way to get a feel for a home, for the staff, and how a home operates. I'm glad that you made the choice to select Clarendon Grange as a permanent residential aged care home for your mother. We try very hard to select and retain the best staff, and our Facility Managers put a lot of time and effort into training, teamwork and setting a culture that makes a resident feel as 'at home' as possible. We're always looking for feedback, and we will definitely share your comments with our staff across the home. Regards, Tim Humphries, CEO
Sep 29, 2014

Jourdiana Sep 15, 2014
1  2  3  4  5 

Clarendon Grange provide an outstanding quality of care for my mother. The entire staff create an atmosphere of care and friendliness and have made it a 'home' rather than an aged care facility. Trying to find your way through the complex aged care system to the right facility for your relative is very challenging, we were so lucky to find Clarendon Grange.

Homestyle Aged Care Services

Hi Jourdiana, thanks for your review. You are right to point out that the aged care system can be complex and daunting. For most families, their first experience with aged care occurs at a time of high stress and emotion. We try our best to make the process of entering one of our homes as easy and uncomplicated as possible. Our Facility Managers do a great job leading teams of dedicated and passionate staff, and we're so glad that your mother has been able to see the benefit of that. Regards, Tim Humphries, CEO
Sep 29, 2014

Carleton1802 Sep 17, 2014
1  2  3  4  5 

My mother has been in Clarendon Grange for over a year now , neither my mum or i can fault this wonderful "Home away from Home' ... i see the staffs loving care

Homestyle Aged Care Services

Hi Eduardo, thanks for your review. At Homestyle we go out of our way to create an environment that is as comfortable and inviting as possible. We take great pride in the work of our staff, and its great that your family has seen the benefit of that. Regards, Tim Humphries, CEO
Sep 29, 2014

Art2844 Sep 21, 2014
1  2  3  4  5 

Very happy with care provided to my mother. Very welcoming and caring staff Lots of activities and outings

macforme Oct 13, 2014
1  2  3  4  5 

Very, very happy with the way the staff at Clarendon have welcomed Mum in to her new home. Mum is very happy there. Thanks from all her family

LeanneJ Apr 22, 2015
1  2  3  4  5

My mother moved to Clarendon Grange at Bayswater almost 12 months ago and absolutely loves it. When I first visited the facility to enquire I thought it was a little bit dated but the overall feel of homeliness hit me the minute I walked in the door. Even on the phone, I didn't need to make an appointment. The clue here was come in any time. The Director of Nursing introduced me to everyone from Kitchen Staff to Nurses on Duty. I was even asked what her favourite foods were. Since she moved in over a year ago she has improved in her overall health and the stress that it has removed from me getting the phonecalls in the middle of the night and trips to the hospital has made everyone's life better. Nothing is a bother and special occasions are always celebrated. When she first moved in the staff said to her that if she woke up at night and couldn't sleep, just push her buzzer and someone would come and make her a cup of tea. Mum went into respite for a week before she moved to Clarendon and the facility was absolutely beautiful but we both still talk about the difference in the two and she said that even though the other one looked more glamourous, where she is now is better than she could possibly have imagined.

Osvaldo2524 Dec 15, 2015
1  2  3  4  5 

I am the daughter of a resident who moved into Clarendon Grange, Bayswater last year. I just wanted to let potential residents and their families know what an outstanding job the team does there. My mother was adamant for many years she was not leaving her home. However due to increasing frailty this was becoming a problem. We were fortunate enough to finally convince her to go into respite at Clarendon Grange. When the respite period ended she went home for only a few days before missing everyone and the care she received and wanting to go back. Within a few days she was comfortably set up in her own room and has been the happiest she has been in a long time. I have to say it was a very emotional time trying to encourage mum to consider leaving the home she had built with her own hands and which was filled with loving memories of her husband and children. When we were first advised a respite position was available at Clarendon Grange it was with trepidation I visited the facility. I was met by a staff member who kindly showed me around the facility. I experienced outstanding customer service, understanding and compassion. This has continued to be consistently displayed since day one not only to family members and friends but more importantly to my mother. The Director at the time was instrumental in enabling my mother's transition into the facility and went above and beyond the call of duty to make my mother feel like she had a 'new home'. The previous Director worked tirelessly, yet was always so positive and approachable. Nothing was ever too much. The new Director is also wonderful. Director of Finance has been a wealth of information, kind and patient in helping navigate the financial requirements and implications of moving into Aged Care which is quite complex. It would be remiss of us to exclude passing on how wonderful the broader team at Clarendon Grange is as well. They all contribute every day to making our mother's days more enjoyable, happy and safe. We are eternally grateful and cannot recommend Clarendon Grange highly enough.

Shell13 Dec 23, 2015
1  2  3  4  5

Beautiful facility. Staff are lovely and are all encouraging. Family members are always welcome to come and visit. They celebrate everything and encourage residents to go out and participate in in house activities. Nan recently moved in and the transition was smooth.

Chandler45 Jan 05, 2016
1  2  3  4 5

I feel the overall care has gone downhill in the recent past. They appear to be understaffed, which reflects residents needs are not always met. I also think air conditioners should be installed, not just heating. When my mother went into care two and a half year ago, I could not fault anything. For example, a free weeks ago, I washed mum's water glass and when I tipped out the water to wash it, the inside of the glass was slimy. Using a tissue I noticed that the bottom of the glass was yellow. Disgusting! I don't know if her water jug is ever changed with a clean jug or fresh water daily. The glass is certainly not.

Get more information
One last thing...
Aged Care – You’re Not Alone
Aged Care Directory
My Account