Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Search results for chesalon nursing home

show filter
Kerrie Hicks May 29, 2015
1  2  3  4  5 

My beautiful mum had to go into care and it all happened very quickly and so was not planned in any way. As a Registered Nurse it was one of the most stressful and emotional periods of my life. I felt so much guilt and felt I had so let her down as she had always said she would never go into one if those homes and you will take me out of here in a box. So you can imagine how I felt the day I was told that she could never return home to live by herself. At the time we lived in a 2 story house I still had to work and we had a 16 year old so there was no way I could care for her at home. Anyway the nursing home I selected became her home and the staff her extended family and that is truly how I felt so what started as a very stressful start it was for us a happy ending.

Maroba

Dear Kerrie, Thank you for sharing your heartfelt story with us and others that read these reviews. The transition into care is a difficult time of adjustment and social change. Maroba attempts to ease this as much as possible and to make new residents feel welcomed, secured and loved as part of our family. Maroba appreciates your feedback and recommendation. Best regards, Angela Carey
Oct 19, 2015

[email protected] May 31, 2015
1  2  3  4  5

I think that most aged car facilities get the food wrong. They should provide meals that old people are used to. Meat and 3 veg not loaded with garlic and too many spices. Meat pie chips and gravy and peas is another winner. My aunt spent her last days in an aged care facility and we struggled to get her to eat because she just didn't like the food. Some people have adventurous appetites while others just struggle with the concept. Overall the quality of care was of a high standard and the facility was new and well appointed. Although my aunt was unable to participate in activities many were available for those so inclined. The staff were kind and caring particularly when it came to the end of her life. I would recommend this facility to those contemplating moving to an aged care facility.

Maroba

Dear [email protected] Thank you for the review. Its always hard to please so many residents with food however we do try our best and have passed on your comments to our catering team. I am sure the staff will be pleased to know how helpful they were at the end of your aunts life. Maroba appreciates your recommendation. Best regards, Angela Carey
Oct 19, 2015

Lisamck Jun 01, 2015
1  2  3  4  5

Maroba always does it's best to be as relevant as possible for it's clients

Maroba

Dear Lisamck Thankyou very much. Best regards, Angela Carey
Oct 19, 2015

Patchett Jun 03, 2015
1  2  3  4  5

I was very relieved when my parents secured places with MAROBA, it was their facility of choice after visiting a few. After only just existing in their own home, they enjoyed a few years together before my mother passed away. Dad is now bedridden and mostly receives exceptional care, with most of the nursing staff not yet 'jaded', here's hoping this continues at this wonderful facility.

Maroba

Dear Patchett many thanks for posting this review for us. Maroba is pleased to be able to offer wonderful services and the staff are very dedicated and to aged care. Best regards, Angela Carey
Oct 19, 2015

ConcernedRelative Jun 22, 2015
1  2  3 4 5

Immaculate from the outside, however poor staff communication especially with handover, high reliance on agency staff, limited social activities and no encouragement to join in, inadequate personal hygiene maintained on residents.

Maroba

Dear Concerned Relative Maroba appreciates all feedback and we aim to use this for the process of continuous improvement in all that we do. Since you posted this review in June many systems and processes have changed. Staff do have formal handovers at each shift and we have introduced a team briefing with the RN mid shift. Agency staff use is limited now we have a fuller compliment of staff on board. The Leisure and Lifestyle staff publish a monthly calendar of events based on residents requests and choice of activities. We offer a daily range of activities for residents to participate in. I would like to invite you in to meet with me personally so we may address your concerns and work more closely with you. Do not hesitate to call me on 49350300 or email me on [email protected] to make an appointment. Thankyou again, best regards, Angela Carey
Oct 19, 2015

Lenore2997 Sep 14, 2015
1  2  3  4  5

Maroba provides a caring environment and I am very pleased with the care that my mother is receiving. The facilities are well maintained and a high standard of cleanliness is also maintained. The moving in process was made easy by the all staff members I encountered on the day Mum moved in. Like many others my Mother lived an independent life, with a little assistance, and suddenly became ill and was no longer able to look after herself. It was left to me as Mum was not able to go out of the hospital to inspect facilities. I inspected a number of facilities and Maroba was one of my first preferences. My Mother has few complaints about her new home. Food is always an issue because everyone has different tastes and the catering team are trying to satisfy everyone, my opinion is that they should concentrate more on plainer old fashion type meals but I sure that others would not agree. I have found all the staff to be caring and helpful but as with everything these day costs are a ruling factor and I have noticed staff are in short supply at times. The main improvement I would suggest is more news and information for families as not everyone is able to visit their loved one every couple of days. As most people have email these days a copy the monthly activities sheet and any relevant news could be emailed at minimum cost or even posting this information on the web page would be good.

Maroba

Dear Lenore2997 Thank you for your positive feedback of you Maroba experience to date. In relation to the last few points you have raised I would like to provide you with some feedback; • Residents are consulted regarding the menu selection and as you suggested we do try to cater to many various tastes. • We are in the process of implementing additional hours in the Lodge due to the increasing care needs of our hostel residents. You should see improved staffing levels here in the next few months. We never work short staffed but occasionally do resort to agency staff to assist. We have a focus on recruitment at the moment and are trying to ensure we recruit the best possible staff for Maroba. • In relation to news and information - we have recently discussed re commencing a resident
Sep 16, 2015

Grahame Sep 15, 2015
1  2  3  4  5 

My mother is very happy, has made friends and the staff are wonderful

Maroba

Dear Grahame Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to hear she has made new friends. Thank you for rating our staff so highly. King Regards, Angela Carey, Director of Clinical Excellence
Mar 22, 2016

Kameron4643 Oct 17, 2015
1  2  3  4  5

The facility always smells clean and fresh. The residents are always clean and well presented. The staff are always approachable and friendly. The food is delicious and varied. There are numerous activities available. The hairdresser and podiatrist services are readily available also.

Maroba

Dear Kameron4643 Thankyou for you review. Maroba endeavours to provide high quality aged care services. We are very pleased you are happy with the care and services. Thank you again for choosing Maroba. Best regards, Angela Carey
Oct 19, 2015

Sydney, Hawkesbury: ... medication was late and some nurses very rough and nasty towards ... attentive staff. A great facility. Chesalon nursing home Richmond was fantastic to my ...

Buddy6049 Jun 06, 2015
1  2  3  4  5 

All care taken for residents,food great,wonderful place for all.

paulanne Jun 15, 2015
1  2  3  4  5

Nice big private room and attentive staff. A great facility.

cathy castle Jun 22, 2015
1  2  3  4  5 

Chesalon nursing home Richmond was fantastic to my father.

Regional NSW, Murray & Riverina: While providing high level nursing care, Loreto Home of Compassion aims to provide ...

adele kerr Jul 03, 2015
1  2  3  4  5

I looked after my mum for 7 yrs 12 hrs a day,every day, after her passing I became chairperson of the facility and still do the monthly meeting for the residents /familes, going into my 10yr.. I did find the facility to have a warm feeling, lovely ensuited rooms,and families made welcome under mostly sad situations.It is usually a dreaded fear for resident and families, but a smile and kind words make things more bearable.

Hunter Valley, West Lake Macquarie: ... the beautiful Lake Macquarie, Toronto Nursing Home has enjoyed a long history ... of care provided at Toronto Nursing Home is enhanced by the provision ...

Dax7481 May 10, 2015
1  2  3  4  5

A nice facility with spacious rooms and large verandahs over looking Toronto..The staff are very welcoming and helpful.

Rosemarie McPherson May 10, 2015
1  2  3  4  5

A nice facility with spacious rooms and large verandahs over looking Toronto..The staff are very welcoming and helpful.

Vicki Mac May 28, 2015
1  2  3  4 5

My mother had to go into a nursing home in January due to dangerous falls at home, she has something similar to parkinsons disease. The building was built in the 60's, has 3 shared bathrooms between 45 beds and is pretty run down although its very solid. There is a new home being built on the block next to it and should be open in november. The reason mum chose that one is because its close to family and friends but most important to her is her 14 year old dog can visit her. The younger staff are so good and willing to do anythng for the residents. I would go through the other thngs as it would take too long

Arjun6236 Jul 31, 2017
1  2  3  4  5

Mum relies on the staff for everything and they care for her

Sydney, Northern Beaches: ... Sydney's northern suburbs, Terrey Hills Nursing Home was Thompson Health Care's first ... televisions. In addition, Terrey Hills Nursing Home has a hairdressing salon, coffee ...

KatieB May 13, 2015
1  2  3  4  5

My mother spent 2 years at Terrey Hills before she passed away, she had good care, she loved the nursing staff but was alarmed at the lack of English speaking aged carers and had difficulty at times communicating. The food was good, at times especially on a weekend there was just skeleton staff so sometimes when she rang the buzzer it took a LONG time for anyone to come and see her

antonia Jun 12, 2015
1  2  3  4  5 

Caring staff who make it feel like a home.

Regional NSW, Far South West: ... Husband in a nursing home, I was told that this nursing Home was the ... experience At the Corowa Hospital Nursing Home the staff were not just ...

Pietro8234 May 18, 2015
1  2  3  4  5 

I sing to and entertain an amazing bunch of elderly people and their carer's. The very first time I wondered just how many would realize I was there and would understand what I was singing and saying. What a delightful surprise to see feet tapping, hands moving to the beat of the songs and generally smiles all around. The staff were enjoying the music just as much and some even gently dance with the ones on the walkers! They treat the residents like family and man oh man I can feel the love. All I have is high regard and praise for each and every one of the employed staff and the volunteers who work at institutions for the elderly.

anneMcC Jul 14, 2015
1  2  3  4  5 

A number of months ago I was told by Drs that I had to place my Husband in a nursing home, I was told that this nursing Home was the best for the condition that my Husband was in, he was in the later stages of cancer and needed 24 hour care which was more that I could give him if I was able to keep him at home. The day that he was admitted to the nursing home I cried my heart out as I believed I was letting him down, also I knew that he would never come home again. The care that was given to my Husband was absolutely wonderful, Each and every staff member from medical to cleaning staff were so caring and made us feel like we were a part of a large family. We had so much support from the staff, they were so caring, I could tell by the way they treated the other residents it was like they were treating their own family and the residents felt like family. I was able to sit by my Husbands bed side right up until he passed away, and best of all I now know that I did everything I could do to help him, and that the staff made sure that he was comfortable and cozy at all times. In my experience At the Corowa Hospital Nursing Home the staff were not just there for their Residence they were there for me as well, and my Husband felt totally comfortable and trusted the Staff, I am so grateful. Thank you

Jake4860 Jun 09, 2015
1  2  3  4  5

My Dad is in Camelot Nursing Home Anzac Pde Maroubra prior to him going there I had previously had Mum in law there. There has been a change for the better but I had a few issues in the beginning. 1. People need help with the time comsuming difficult paper work. 2.Admin Staff or/and Social workers need to be prersent on the day of admission. 3.Staff should be updated with the needs/procedures necessary for the individual needs. 4.Complaints if necessary should be noted so that staff on different shifts could take over where others left off and taken care of ASAP. 5.I would like to see although not practical in many nursing homes patients placed in areas according to their special needs meaning rated from most needing attention to least as you get very NOISY/disruptive patients whom upset others(no fault of their own of course). 6.Dad eventually was settled in a better room I had meetings with Staff social workers but still find some staff although most very pleasant not knowing the procedure in changing (urine bags) in Dads case. ON THE WHOLE MUM

Jerel6816 Dec 08, 2015
1  2  3  4 5

Camelot has some amazing kind and caring staff who have been with the organisation for a very long time. It is wonderful for family and residents to see friendly, familiar faces instead of agency staff.

Brennan5690 Mar 15, 2016
1  2  3  4  5

Staff always friendly and willing to help. My mum is always clean and looking as well as possible (she's) 96 with dementia.

McLeanJames Mar 15, 2016
1  2  3  4  5 

Care and kindness shown by all staff has been excellent. All staff have treated me with kindness and courtesy at all times. I could not have had better care for my wide any where. Cleanliness is also excellent. As a reason of my recommendation one friend has had family member admitted to Camelot.

nannaanna152 Apr 20, 2016
1  2  3  4 5

The facility has limited external access - there is a rooftop but the design of the building prohibits going to the backyard garden area. The facility has been home to dad (and mum who passed last year) for about 7 years. Luckily they could share a room but now dad must share with another resident which has been an adjustment for him. There should be more single rooms available. The staff are friendly and caring. The driveway is also not suitable for long vehicles such as wheelchair taxis which makes taking dad out more difficult.

Blu Apr 20, 2016
1  2  3 4 5

I feel most staff are friendly and effective, however staff numbers is not great. My biggest issue with this nursing home is the quality of life that it provides for the immobile residents. My grandma who had a large stroke currently either spends all day in her bed or chair with little interaction from staff and no activities etc organised by the home. I have feedback this information to the management with no change. I have suggested music group OT groups, massage groups, rooftop groups etc etc- to provide the residents with some environment enrichment but I have seen no change.

Sydney, Blue Mountains: ... workers, they are awesome. Kurrajong nursing home new south wales australia, is ... not long after this incident... Nursing homes are a very sad place ...

tracy m May 20, 2015
1  2  3  4  5 

the nursing home my dad spent just over the last two years of his life, is THE BEST nursing home EVER, i would like to see everyone to work in aged care to be trained at Kurrajong Nursing Home. they are so lovely and patient and helpfull, my hat goes off tp these workers, they are awesome.

tracy m Jun 02, 2015
1  2  3  4  5 

Kurrajong nursing home new south wales australia, is THE BEST nursing home in the world, they cook all the meals at the residence, except friday lunch they order out, fish and chips is brought it in. The care is 110%, the workers are caring, understanding, patient, It is where i would be happy spending my last days, months, years, beautiful place. in the tranquil hills of kurrajong village, hills surround with birds singing including Bell birds, so beautiful.

Margarette3947 Jun 12, 2015
1  2  3  4 5

This organisation let my Grandmother down badly, she had dementia and was left to her own devices where she let herself out of a door that wasn't alarmed and fell down three flights of stairs!!!! She passed away not long after this incident...

Landen3431 Mar 15, 2016
1  2  3  4 5

Nursing homes are a very sad place I had my father in one as he could no longer walk due to kidney failure as he was the youngest there he kept to himself as seeing older patients depressed him he just wanted to go home nd we would bring him home on weekends but I hated having to send him back but there was no one to look after him during the week the staff were fantastic but the facility was old and depressing

Regional NSW, Far South West: ... and shine how well a nursing home is run. Navorina is not ... struggle for my family and nursing home staff to get Mum appropriately ...

tlourigan Jun 13, 2015
1  2  3  4  5

Navorina Nursing Home at Deniliquin provided my mum, until February this year, with a home for the last 18 months of her life. The nursing home is spread out in a bush setting on the Edward River. Kookaburras, magpies and wrens watch the residents through large glass windows and sliding doors. Old feet tread weary paths as the elderly are able to walk around the enclosed yard. A couple of cats stretch on crocheted rugs and keep the residents company through the sing-a-longs, bingo and readings led by volunteers. The staff are, for the most part, cheerful and all work tirelessly. They joked with Mum, and ate her licorice in a jar placed near the door for their convenience. The food was satisfactory and improving, particularly as the kitchen staff underwent more training on both menu selection and food preparation. They tried to accommodate the many requests from the residents. Mum's was always for rice and to not drown the desserts in cream. The grounds and interior upkeep is impeccable with Jeff, the maintenance man always on hand. The rooms, dining rooms and bathrooms gleam as Navorina prides itself on its reputation for a high standard of cleanliness. My cousin has worked in hospitals for most of his working life and when he visited my mum he noted this, and stated that you can tell instantly from the smell and shine how well a nursing home is run. Navorina is not short of problems, struggling with securing management staffing and filling staff absences. However their compassion and moral support towards my sister and I as Mum slowly passed, was outstanding. The combined struggle for my family and nursing home staff to get Mum appropriately medicated so that she could pass with dignity and peace was a force to reckon with against the doctor's deaf ears. The joint effort was a force to reckon with - and we won the battle. Some staff attended the funeral; others gave us hugs and made us feel like we were part of the Navorina family. The highest compliment I can give them is that they demonstrated through words and actions that caring for my mum and the other residents is an experience that they take personally, responsibly, with compassion and professionalism. I miss seeing the staff with whom I chatted during my weekly visits. I lost my Mum in February this year, but also the friendships I had formed in Navorina, 250kms away from home.

Adan6931 Apr 13, 2017
1  2  3  4  5

My mum has recently become a resident of this aged care facility and I found the whole experience of her going into this facility comforting. The staff and accommodation is of a high standard and I feel relieved that she is in good care.

North Coast, Mid North Coast: ... should be regular visits to nursing homes by an independent person. The ... the right thing when the nursing home is expecting a visit. The ...

Savis1004 May 24, 2015
1  2  3  4 5

When visiting an aged care facility my Mother resided in, my mother wanted to use the toilet the staff connected her up to the lifter as she was not able to walk.My Mother was raised into a half sitting position and literally dragged half standing past residents and visitors in an inhumane manner to the toilet. The staff were too lazy to put her in a wheelchair and then take the lifter into the toilet and lower her onto the toilet. My Mother was returned to her chair near her bed in the same manner. I was speechless but was afraid to say anything , for fear after I left she would be mistreated. I would also like to add I spent 5 years working in a nursing home and feel there should be regular visits to nursing homes by an independent person. The checks should be done without warning to the nursing facility, as I have first hand experience of how staff are alerted to do the right thing when the nursing home is expecting a visit. The food in most of the nursing homes is unexceptable and does not meet the nutritional needs for an elderly patient. Lifestyle in these facilities is not up to the required standard, the patients are usually bored , just sitting sometimes alone waiting to die.

Get more information
One last thing...
Aged Care – You’re Not Alone
Aged Care Directory
My Account