Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

43 search results for: moran nursing home

show filter
Kerrie Hicks May 29, 2015
1  2  3  4  5 

My beautiful mum had to go into care and it all happened very quickly and so was not planned in any way. As a Registered Nurse it was one of the most stressful and emotional periods of my life. I felt so much guilt and felt I had so let her down as she had always said she would never go into one if those homes and you will take me out of here in a box. So you can imagine how I felt the day I was told that she could never return home to live by herself. At the time we lived in a 2 story house I still had to work and we had a 16 year old so there was no way I could care for her at home. Anyway the nursing home I selected became her home and the staff her extended family and that is truly how I felt so what started as a very stressful start it was for us a happy ending.

Maroba

Dear Kerrie, Thank you for sharing your heartfelt story with us and others that read these reviews. The transition into care is a difficult time of adjustment and social change. Maroba attempts to ease this as much as possible and to make new residents feel welcomed, secured and loved as part of our family. Maroba appreciates your feedback and recommendation. Best regards, Angela Carey
Oct 19, 2015

[email protected] May 31, 2015
1  2  3  4  5

I think that most aged car facilities get the food wrong. They should provide meals that old people are used to. Meat and 3 veg not loaded with garlic and too many spices. Meat pie chips and gravy and peas is another winner. My aunt spent her last days in an aged care facility and we struggled to get her to eat because she just didn't like the food. Some people have adventurous appetites while others just struggle with the concept. Overall the quality of care was of a high standard and the facility was new and well appointed. Although my aunt was unable to participate in activities many were available for those so inclined. The staff were kind and caring particularly when it came to the end of her life. I would recommend this facility to those contemplating moving to an aged care facility.

Maroba

Dear [email protected] Thank you for the review. Its always hard to please so many residents with food however we do try our best and have passed on your comments to our catering team. I am sure the staff will be pleased to know how helpful they were at the end of your aunts life. Maroba appreciates your recommendation. Best regards, Angela Carey
Oct 19, 2015

Lisamck Jun 01, 2015
1  2  3  4  5

Maroba always does it's best to be as relevant as possible for it's clients

Maroba

Dear Lisamck Thankyou very much. Best regards, Angela Carey
Oct 19, 2015

Patchett Jun 03, 2015
1  2  3  4  5

I was very relieved when my parents secured places with MAROBA, it was their facility of choice after visiting a few. After only just existing in their own home, they enjoyed a few years together before my mother passed away. Dad is now bedridden and mostly receives exceptional care, with most of the nursing staff not yet 'jaded', here's hoping this continues at this wonderful facility.

Maroba

Dear Patchett many thanks for posting this review for us. Maroba is pleased to be able to offer wonderful services and the staff are very dedicated and to aged care. Best regards, Angela Carey
Oct 19, 2015

ConcernedRelative Jun 22, 2015
1  2  3 4 5

Immaculate from the outside, however poor staff communication especially with handover, high reliance on agency staff, limited social activities and no encouragement to join in, inadequate personal hygiene maintained on residents.

Maroba

Dear Concerned Relative Maroba appreciates all feedback and we aim to use this for the process of continuous improvement in all that we do. Since you posted this review in June many systems and processes have changed. Staff do have formal handovers at each shift and we have introduced a team briefing with the RN mid shift. Agency staff use is limited now we have a fuller compliment of staff on board. The Leisure and Lifestyle staff publish a monthly calendar of events based on residents requests and choice of activities. We offer a daily range of activities for residents to participate in. I would like to invite you in to meet with me personally so we may address your concerns and work more closely with you. Do not hesitate to call me on 49350300 or email me on [email protected] to make an appointment. Thankyou again, best regards, Angela Carey
Oct 19, 2015

Lenore2997 Sep 14, 2015
1  2  3  4  5

Maroba provides a caring environment and I am very pleased with the care that my mother is receiving. The facilities are well maintained and a high standard of cleanliness is also maintained. The moving in process was made easy by the all staff members I encountered on the day Mum moved in. Like many others my Mother lived an independent life, with a little assistance, and suddenly became ill and was no longer able to look after herself. It was left to me as Mum was not able to go out of the hospital to inspect facilities. I inspected a number of facilities and Maroba was one of my first preferences. My Mother has few complaints about her new home. Food is always an issue because everyone has different tastes and the catering team are trying to satisfy everyone, my opinion is that they should concentrate more on plainer old fashion type meals but I sure that others would not agree. I have found all the staff to be caring and helpful but as with everything these day costs are a ruling factor and I have noticed staff are in short supply at times. The main improvement I would suggest is more news and information for families as not everyone is able to visit their loved one every couple of days. As most people have email these days a copy the monthly activities sheet and any relevant news could be emailed at minimum cost or even posting this information on the web page would be good.

Maroba

Dear Lenore2997 Thank you for your positive feedback of you Maroba experience to date. In relation to the last few points you have raised I would like to provide you with some feedback; • Residents are consulted regarding the menu selection and as you suggested we do try to cater to many various tastes. • We are in the process of implementing additional hours in the Lodge due to the increasing care needs of our hostel residents. You should see improved staffing levels here in the next few months. We never work short staffed but occasionally do resort to agency staff to assist. We have a focus on recruitment at the moment and are trying to ensure we recruit the best possible staff for Maroba. • In relation to news and information - we have recently discussed re commencing a resident
Sep 16, 2015

Grahame Sep 15, 2015
1  2  3  4  5 

My mother is very happy, has made friends and the staff are wonderful

Maroba

Dear Grahame Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to hear she has made new friends. Thank you for rating our staff so highly. King Regards, Angela Carey, Director of Clinical Excellence
Mar 22, 2016

Kameron4643 Oct 17, 2015
1  2  3  4  5

The facility always smells clean and fresh. The residents are always clean and well presented. The staff are always approachable and friendly. The food is delicious and varied. There are numerous activities available. The hairdresser and podiatrist services are readily available also.

Maroba

Dear Kameron4643 Thankyou for you review. Maroba endeavours to provide high quality aged care services. We are very pleased you are happy with the care and services. Thank you again for choosing Maroba. Best regards, Angela Carey
Oct 19, 2015

Regional NSW, Murray & Riverina: While providing high level nursing care, Loreto Home of Compassion aims to provide ... and kind words make things more bearable.

adele kerr Jul 03, 2015
1  2  3  4  5

I looked after my mum for 7 yrs 12 hrs a day,every day, after her passing I became chairperson of the facility and still do the monthly meeting for the residents /familes, going into my 10yr.. I did find the facility to have a warm feeling, lovely ensuited rooms,and families made welcome under mostly sad situations.It is usually a dreaded fear for resident and families, but a smile and kind words make things more bearable.

Shawna4082 Oct 07, 2015
1  2  3  4  5

As far as age care facilties go, Scalabrini Village at Bexley is pretty good. Rooms are pretty small though making it difficult to move in especially with a wheelchair or walker. Also if rooms were more generous in size you would be able to personalize them a little also being able to have a comfy recliner in there would be nice and a comfy chair for visitors or relatives if you wanted to just have a quiet moment.

Scalabrini Village Ltd

Dear Trace4038, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Your rating and review comments are important to us, as we aim to continuously improve the environment in which our residents live. Unfortunately we are sometimes restricted with the constraints of the existing building and therefore are limited in how we can improve on room size. We are however undergoing an extensive building renovation program at our Bexley Village and will be increasing the size of all social areas. I am happy to discuss more specifically the needs you have. Please feel free to contact me directly at Head Office, 02 8876 6800 Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd.
Oct 11, 2015

tyson1959 Oct 22, 2015
1  2  3  4  5 

very clean facility ... well staffed in all areas staff always provide fast and regular feedback to us staff caring and interactive with residents food provides variety good variety of activities for residents to participate in regular bus trips for outigs staff provide the family with updates as they occur medical or personal issues high care is well set out more like a home than a facility

Scalabrini Village Ltd

Dear Tyson1959, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. It is great to receive your positive feedback. We will be sure to share your feedback with the Bexley Team. We hope that Scalabrini Village Bexley can continue to meet and exceed your expectations.Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd.
Oct 22, 2015

Kody6283 Oct 24, 2015
1  2  3  4  5 

Staff in dementia specific care have a genuine commitment to ensuring that the residents are well looked after and comfortable in their surroundings.

Scalabrini Village Ltd

Dear Jaquelin5515, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. It is great to receive your positive feedback. We will be sure to share your feedback with the Bexley Team. We hope that Scalabrini Village Bexley can continue to meet and exceed your expectations.Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd.
Oct 26, 2015

Else756 Oct 25, 2015
1  2  3  4  5

The home is pleasant and clean. It could do with more fresh air circulating through it. Also more staff on the weekend would be good. The staff are on the whole very friendly and helpful.

Scalabrini Village Ltd

Dear Else756, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on our Bexley Village. We are constantly exploring ways to improve our service, and your feedback will be useful as we do that. Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd.
Nov 09, 2015

SanMichel Oct 26, 2015
1  2  3  4  5

Overall scalabrini village bexley is a well set up, clean and caring aged care facility. Residents and family are all treated with care and respect and they have a great programme to keep the residents active and entertained. The food in both quality and quantity is very good.

Scalabrini Village Ltd

Dear SanMichel, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Your rating and review comments are important to us, as we aim to continuously improve the service we offer. We hope that Scalabrini Village Bexley can continue to meet and exceed your expectations.Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd.
Oct 26, 2015

Neha7285 Oct 26, 2015
1  2  3  4 5

The overall environment is the thing that dictates the motivation and the eventual success of an individual to cope with this type of a lifestyle. . There is a problem for people without dementia and huge physical problems to be given a good quality of lifestyle and wellbeing .. Everything seems to be engineered towards the worst off people. If you are not in that category you have to fend for yourself even to suitable exercises being given. .Lucky I am outgoing and I ask for what I need. .

Scalabrini Village Ltd

Dear Jane545, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Your rating and review comments are important to us, as we aim to continuously improve the service we offer. Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd.
Nov 09, 2015

Imogene7603 Oct 28, 2015
1  2  3  4  5 

My Father has been living in this Aged Care Facility for a year and a half. During this time, his health and happiness has improved due to the care he is given and that he no longer feels anxious about the future or in looking after himself. He enjoys the companionship from both residents and staff and the arranged activities.

Scalabrini Village Ltd

Dear Imogene7603, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. It is great to receive your positive feedback. We will be sure to share your feedback with the Bexley Team. We hope that Scalabrini Village Bexley can continue to meet and exceed your expectations.Regards, Chris Rigby, CEO, Scalabrini Village Ltd
Nov 09, 2015

South Coast, Wollongong & Illawarra: ... more nursing staff. Hello,my name s Vicki,and am a regstered nurse ... Elenora Shellharbour. Its dads home away from home and he is now ...

Tyler252 May 24, 2015
1  2  3  4  5

Needs more nursing staff

Sidney1634 Mar 10, 2016
1  2  3  4 5

Wasn't happy with the care given to my mum,had them checked out by the ombudsman,they did a good job investigating,I hope it has improved for existing patients

Kimberly584 Mar 15, 2016
1  2  3  4  5 

My dad is a resident in Elenora Shellharbour. Its dads home away from home and he is now in a happy state of mind. After loosing my mum 6 yrs ago Dad grieved for a long time. The staff and carers at Elenora go above and beyond giving dad little jobs to keep him active and feeling worthy. I now relax knowing he is in such a wonderful environment. If i had to score them it would be a big 12/10 Thankyou is such a little word as I am grateful beyond words. .

Gonzalo8095 Nov 10, 2016
1  2  3  4  5

Midern buikding. Friendly staff. Residents appeared gappy and cared for.

Sydney, Sutherland: ... garden to walk through. The nursing staff and activities girls were ... , but if there were more staff thus more encouragement and hands on ...

Tianna4910 May 08, 2015
1  2 3 4 5

No rehabiltation and physio with patients that were independent. If they got sick, they were pretty much just left in their beds, no wonder they got pneumonia!

Matt6713 May 11, 2015
1  2  3 4 5

There is a serious lack of initiative and understanding of our elderly who are trying to be independent. The mobility was not offered to those who were limited but just needed 1 assist. Staff wouldn't take the time to let these people mobilise e.g. to the dining room because they were slow so sat them on their 4 wheel frames and pushed them. As a Certified Rehabilitation Nurse, I was horrified.

Elenor9809 May 15, 2015
1  2  3  4  5

My Mum had a successful 3 week respite stay but a very "business focussed" provider. Felt very sterile. Have heard it described as 5 star prison. Felt like 5 star hospital to me.

Efrain7368 May 20, 2015
1  2  3  4  5 

Mum lived in care for three years. Although she had dementia, she had a lovely room and a garden to walk through. The nursing staff and activities girls were sincere and caring. She loved music and particularly towards the end of her life, they encouraged her to play the piano. She was in a choir there and loved singing along to sing-songs or Andre Rieu tapes. I will always remember Samantha who sang so beautifully to her, would sometimes walk towards her saying, with a big smile, 'Jeannie' and Mum would smile happily. Samantha was there right to the end of Mum's life.

Alessia5316 Jun 02, 2015
1  2 3 4 5

My mother was mainly independent, just needing minor assist. When she was in pain from a fall in the facility, they just gave her pain relief, she was so spaced out, she was left to lie in bed all day. She ended up dying of pneumonia due to her lack of mobility which wasn't encouraged, no physiotherapy was offered. The last time I visited she was asleep in bed with some of her lunch still in her mouth. Obviously no mouth care was provided. She never deserved to be treated like that in her final years. I am still horrified.

missyv Jun 22, 2015
1  2  3  4  5

i think the facility that mum is in is top quality, but if there were more staff thus more encouragement and hands on bringing the resident to the different things they have going on. My mum needs someone to take her by the hand and get her involved!

Sydney, Sutherland: Moran Engadine takes pride of place ... found in five-star accommodations.Our luxurious home accommodates 142 residents all in ...

Jake4860 Jun 09, 2015
1  2  3  4  5

My Dad is in Camelot Nursing Home Anzac Pde Maroubra prior to him going there I had previously had Mum in law there. There has been a change for the better but I had a few issues in the beginning. 1. People need help with the time comsuming difficult paper work. 2.Admin Staff or/and Social workers need to be prersent on the day of admission. 3.Staff should be updated with the needs/procedures necessary for the individual needs. 4.Complaints if necessary should be noted so that staff on different shifts could take over where others left off and taken care of ASAP. 5.I would like to see although not practical in many nursing homes patients placed in areas according to their special needs meaning rated from most needing attention to least as you get very NOISY/disruptive patients whom upset others(no fault of their own of course). 6.Dad eventually was settled in a better room I had meetings with Staff social workers but still find some staff although most very pleasant not knowing the procedure in changing (urine bags) in Dads case. ON THE WHOLE MUM

Jerel6816 Dec 08, 2015
1  2  3  4 5

Camelot has some amazing kind and caring staff who have been with the organisation for a very long time. It is wonderful for family and residents to see friendly, familiar faces instead of agency staff.

Brennan5690 Mar 15, 2016
1  2  3  4  5

Staff always friendly and willing to help. My mum is always clean and looking as well as possible (she's) 96 with dementia.

McLeanJames Mar 15, 2016
1  2  3  4  5 

Care and kindness shown by all staff has been excellent. All staff have treated me with kindness and courtesy at all times. I could not have had better care for my wide any where. Cleanliness is also excellent. As a reason of my recommendation one friend has had family member admitted to Camelot.

nannaanna152 Apr 20, 2016
1  2  3  4 5

The facility has limited external access - there is a rooftop but the design of the building prohibits going to the backyard garden area. The facility has been home to dad (and mum who passed last year) for about 7 years. Luckily they could share a room but now dad must share with another resident which has been an adjustment for him. There should be more single rooms available. The staff are friendly and caring. The driveway is also not suitable for long vehicles such as wheelchair taxis which makes taking dad out more difficult.

Blu Apr 20, 2016
1  2  3 4 5

I feel most staff are friendly and effective, however staff numbers is not great. My biggest issue with this nursing home is the quality of life that it provides for the immobile residents. My grandma who had a large stroke currently either spends all day in her bed or chair with little interaction from staff and no activities etc organised by the home. I have feedback this information to the management with no change. I have suggested music group OT groups, massage groups, rooftop groups etc etc- to provide the residents with some environment enrichment but I have seen no change.

Regional NSW, Far South West: ... Husband in a nursing home, I was told that this nursing Home was the ... 24 hour care which was more that I could give him ...

Pietro8234 May 18, 2015
1  2  3  4  5 

I sing to and entertain an amazing bunch of elderly people and their carer's. The very first time I wondered just how many would realize I was there and would understand what I was singing and saying. What a delightful surprise to see feet tapping, hands moving to the beat of the songs and generally smiles all around. The staff were enjoying the music just as much and some even gently dance with the ones on the walkers! They treat the residents like family and man oh man I can feel the love. All I have is high regard and praise for each and every one of the employed staff and the volunteers who work at institutions for the elderly.

anneMcC Jul 14, 2015
1  2  3  4  5 

A number of months ago I was told by Drs that I had to place my Husband in a nursing home, I was told that this nursing Home was the best for the condition that my Husband was in, he was in the later stages of cancer and needed 24 hour care which was more that I could give him if I was able to keep him at home. The day that he was admitted to the nursing home I cried my heart out as I believed I was letting him down, also I knew that he would never come home again. The care that was given to my Husband was absolutely wonderful, Each and every staff member from medical to cleaning staff were so caring and made us feel like we were a part of a large family. We had so much support from the staff, they were so caring, I could tell by the way they treated the other residents it was like they were treating their own family and the residents felt like family. I was able to sit by my Husbands bed side right up until he passed away, and best of all I now know that I did everything I could do to help him, and that the staff made sure that he was comfortable and cozy at all times. In my experience At the Corowa Hospital Nursing Home the staff were not just there for their Residence they were there for me as well, and my Husband felt totally comfortable and trusted the Staff, I am so grateful. Thank you

Sydney, Western Sydney: ... only have water or cordial. More staff is needed to give ... Our whole experience with this nursing home has been amazing. My mum ...

Ocie608 Mar 15, 2016
1  2  3 4 5

Frustrating that my relative has been here for 16months and still stuck in high care which she clearly is not. This is becoming detremental to her well being. There is some really good staff but unfortunately these are being let go. The food does not even rate 1 star. A classic example of looks can be deceiving. The faciliy looks lovely BUT and there are lots of them.

Dell2858 Nov 09, 2016
1  2  3 4 5

Lovely building looks like a 5 star hotel but that's all that is good about this place. The care and meals need much improvement. I can't believe that have taken juice away as a choice of drink they now can only have water or cordial. More staff is needed to give these lovely residence the care they deserve.

Olin9820 Nov 10, 2016
1  2  3  4  5 

The staff were excellent with my mum during her stay. The staff gave her love and patience and as she went down hill they gave her dignity when she was passing away and compassion to us. Our whole experience with this nursing home has been amazing.

Kamren8441 Jul 31, 2017
1  2  3 4 5

My mum had to put my nan in a nursing home as she could no longer look after her due to her own health issues but my mum still has to go to th nursing home to look after nan as so so many times nan has not been given her dinner and sometimes even her medication has been missed.

Get more information
One last thing...
Aged Care – You’re Not Alone
Aged Care Directory
My Account