Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

11 search results for: retirement communities with caring staff

show filter

Hunter Valley, Lower Hunter Valley: ... available • Respite accommodation available • Palliative care program Ever since my Mum ... happy with all aspects of care and wellbeing from management and staff. . My ...

merivale May 29, 2015
1  2  3  4  5 

Ever since my Mum entered Residential Aged Care she is a different person. Her confidence has returned and she loves the staff and company. She feels safe and secure. I haven't seen her this happy for years!

Calvary Retirement Communities

Thank you for your feedback. One of our main priorities is to create a warm, familiar and home-like atmosphere, so our residents will feel comfortable and supported. We are pleased to hear that your mother is feeling cared for and safe here at Calvary Mt Carmel Retirement Community. Thank you for publicly recognising our dedication and efforts. Our staff at Calvary Mt Carmel Retirement Community are exceptional. We have a dedicated team of long serving staff who are caring and supportive of all residents, led by Manager Maree Gibbs who has been at this facility for 13 years. Once again thank you for taking the time to review our facility.
Jan 05, 2016

brenda Jun 07, 2015
1  2  3  4  5

the only thing I didn't like is the residents being woken up at 6.30 am for their medication . I thought it un necessary. leave it till 7 or 7.30 or 8 what is the rush. besides everything had to run to a schedule. set by the num

Calvary Retirement Communities

Thank you taking the time to write a review for us. Here at Calvary Mt Carmel Retirement Community we value all forms of feedback. Calvary Mt Carmel Retirement Community the Manager at Mt Carmel has started building a resident directed, household model of care with residents and staff since mid-2015. This model of care creates a more home-like feeling, our residents are empowered to choose activities day to day whether it be gardening, singing in the Mt Carmel choir, joining community visits, or simply reading and enjoying the scenic rural outlook. This means that our residents are able to choose how they will be cared for, they make choices about what support and care they require and they live as part of one of our four unique household groups. For example our residents may choose to get up early and eat breakfast, and they may have breakfast with other residents. There are residents who enjoy preparing breakfast and others who prefer to have a quiet breakfast at home in their room. Our residents live in a choice driven environment, which fits in with each residents preferences and also provides comfort, support and companionship. Once again thank you for taking the time to review our facility.
Jan 05, 2016

Patch46 Feb 02, 2016
1  2  3  4  5

The staff are always very welcoming and happy to assist in any way. If I have any concerns/suggestions about my mother-in-laws care I am always listened to and treated respectfully. I can't thank this facility enough for the care of my mum.

Calvary Retirement Communities

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback. We are delighted to hear that you are satisfied with the services we provide to our residents. We cater to both the physical and emotional needs of our residents and their families and our management team is always there for you to discuss any concerns or suggestions you may have. Every day our staff strive to offer great care and attention for each of our residents therefore, we are pleased to read your positive feedback. Kind regards, Maree Gibbs Manager
Feb 28, 2016

Vallie536 Feb 11, 2016
1  2  3  4  5

Building is both attractive and well maintained. Residents have independent and private facilities. Staff are friendly are cheerful. Activities are provided. One aversion: some staff may not be aware of particular needs of residents eg. check whether air conditioning is on in resident's room on hot days.

Calvary Retirement Communities

Thank you for providing us with your valuable feedback. One of our main priorities is to create a warm, friendly and familiar atmosphere, so our residents will feel at home every day. The Manager at Mt Carmel has started building a resident directed, household model of care with residents and staff since mid-2015.We encourage resident choice and decision making. Some of our residents chose to have their air conditioning off on hot days, which we are respectful of. Please feel free to contact me directly by e-mail at [email protected] to discuss how we can better meet the needs of your family member. Kind regards, Maree Gibbs Manager
Feb 28, 2016

Harriet Feb 17, 2016
1  2  3  4  5 

Mum has been at Mt Carmel for 5 and a half years. Her care needs have increased with her dementia. My sister and I are both overwhelmingly pleased with the care of mum and the sensitivity, respect and compassion staff consistently have shown to her.

Calvary Retirement Communities

Thank you for your review. The staff at Calvary Mt Carmel endeavour to provide high quality aged care services for our valued residents. At Calvary Mt Carmel Retirement Community we create comprehensive personal care plans for each resident. This plan takes into account the residents history, changing medical issues, lifestyle, likes and dislikes. We are so pleased to hear that our efforts are noticed and praised. Thank you again for your compliments. Kind regards, Maree Gibbs Manager
Feb 28, 2016

Eila Feb 18, 2016
1  2  3  4  5

The staff are very caring, they go to lots of effort on special occasion with decoration and includes all hostel members as it is their special day. Most of the staff have sense of humour and get dressed up for fun. They also dance with people they care about and respect. I have no problem in saying Mt Carmel is one of the best facilities in our area.

Calvary Retirement Communities

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. We are very pleased to read your feedback, as one of our main goals is to organise interesting and diverse activities tailored to the needs of each of our residents. Our staff dedicate their entire time to bring care, happiness and comfort for our residents, hence they will be very pleased to read that their efforts are noticed and valued. Once again, thank you for choosing Calvary Mt Carmel. Kind regards, Maree Gibbs Manager
Feb 28, 2016

Jaydon6862 Feb 24, 2016
1  2  3  4  5 

My mother-in-law has only been in this facility for over 2 years and the staff have been so helpful and she have beautiful views of the country when she is out on her little balcony.

Calvary Retirement Communities

Thank you for your great feedback. As part of our household model of care we strive to provide quality service for our residents and their families in a home-like environment. We are glad to hear your mother-in-law enjoys our beautiful farmland views. Kind regards, Maree Gibbs Manager
Feb 28, 2016

Patch Mar 03, 2016
1  2  3  4  5 

Very happy with all aspects of care and wellbeing from management and staff.

SIL Mar 15, 2016
1  2  3  4  5

My mother-in-law has lived at Mt Carmel for the passed five years. We have been extremely happy with the care she is being given. When we need care we will be looking forward to being at Mt Carmel.

South Coast, Wollongong & Illawarra: ... community also includes St Mary's Retirement Village which is a bubbly village ... home-like atmosphere and dedicated caring staff. It currently offers care and accommodation for ...

Vicki Handcock May 28, 2015
1  2  3  4  5 

Building is 30years old but inside very new , All staff are A1 and genially care for each resident , Food is good how do you please everyone 3x a day and kitchen staff are great . Mums been there 18months and she is happy and calls it home what more could we ask at 87 years of age and in an age care facility.

Sydney, Northern Beaches: ... 34 single rooms with ensuite bathrooms to people with aged care needs. Each ... living at our Forestville Retirement Village which is co-located with our aged care service.

Sydney, Parramatta: ... levels of permanent and respite care with a Dementia Specific Unit. Brentwood ... a friendly, family atmosphere with dedicated and caring staff, some of whom have ...

Catalina5977 Jun 04, 2015
1  2  3  4 5

This facility needs more staff and someone on the front desk at all times.

Central Coast: ... , specialising in dementia and respite care, with provision for married couples.Operating since ... of this the majority of staff treated my mother with care and respect.

Flavie5517 Dec 03, 2015
1  2  3  4 5

My mother who recently passed away was in a dementia specific aged care facility. I found although 99.9% of the staff were wonderful they were very understaffed which meant the quality of care wasn't as it should be. Especially on weekends where there was minimum staff and no RN onsite. My mother went through stages where she wouldn't eat or drink. Some staff members made a genuine effort to encourage her but unfortunately because of staff numbers this was not always possible. She lost weight rapidly and was often dehydrated. We made an effort to be there at meal time so she would at least eat something with help. Also there was little to keep the residents occupied. Many times I observed people nodding off in front of a tv which was way too small . This was not the fault of the activities officer but a funding and staffing problem. My mother was a very sociable person and although she had dementia I am sure she would have been much happier had she been kept busier. Something other then bingo which was run by volunteers almost daily. I also feel more could have been done to manage my mother's pain. Although on a pain patch it obviously wasn't strong enough. We were not happy with the GP so called in a geriatrician but unfortunately we only saw him once. In hindsight we should have asked to be informed when he would be there . I feel he wasn't given a true picture of her physical health. There is only one RN there and to my mind is overworked and is responsible for making very important decisions regarding the residents health. The manager is also an RN BUT I don't think she is very proactive at nursing although to be fare maybe the RN consults with her. My mother was taken to hospital after a fall. Nurses described her physical condition as poor and she was dehydrated. I understand that with dementia they may forget how to manage a knife and fork or to drink but I think if that's the case they need to be helped. If staffing is a problem then they need to be calling for volunteers to help those unable to feed themselves at meal time. Much food was wasted because residents couldn't manage on their own. In saying all of this the majority of staff treated my mother with care and respect.

Canberra: ... bedrooms and common areas, along with interior designer co-ordinated furnishings and ... group activity programs• Qualified pastoral care staff • Chaplain conducts a weekly ecumenical ...

Yasmeen7304 May 21, 2015
1  2  3  4  5

Overall the facility is good. Because of the structure of the industry staff are under paid for the type of work they do. caring is not only physically demanding but emotionally and mentally taxing - especially with the number of dementia residents and now more and more mental health clients. Also find some staff lack compassion and empathy - be it because they are too young or from another culture.

Calvary Retirement Communities

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback. Here at Calvary Haydon Retirement Community we value all forms of feedback. You will be pleased to know that our management team has heard your suggestions, and we will be taking action based on your review. In the near future our staff will be undergoing further training in relation to compassion and empathy.
Dec 10, 2015

kauzzie Jun 01, 2015
1  2  3  4 5

After a lifetime of working hard and paying taxes you would expect that at the very least our elderly citizens have earned the right to live out their final years receiving not just nourishing but tasty, attractive home style food including fresh fruit and tea and biscuits available throughout the day. People that do not have the palate for a particular meal should have an option other than a sandwich or nothing. These same elderly people should not have continence pads rationed so the facility can save a few bucks. Leaving a resident in a soaked pad because tot is not yet time for a new one is disrespectful, I humane and a disgrace. Having insufficient staff to ensure the physical AND emotional wellbeing is what I would call neglect. Having staff so inadequately trained that they miss dispensing medication is dangerous. All this and more was experienced by my parents and when I attempted to right these wrongs I was ostracised and ridiculed to such an extent that eventually, I just gave up. I know of others that have experienced the same problems in more than one facility. It breaks my heart.

Calvary Retirement Communities

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. Ensuring an adequate number of staff to attend to the needs of our residents is one of the most crucial aspects when delivering high quality care. We are sorry to hear that you are not satisfied with some aspects of our care. We closely monitor our staff rostering to ensure all residents are receiving the required attention and care. Our staff receive regular and ongoing training to ensure they are able to cope in all the variety of situations that present themselves in a busy aged care facility. We strive to serve our residents a range of quality, healthy and diverse meals. We are regularly evaluating our menu and we are open to any suggestions made by our residents and their family members. We would be very keen to understand more about these matters, and thus I would encourage you to contact me directly at [email protected] Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. Kind regards, Fiona Marketing
Dec 10, 2015

Hunter Valley, Lower Hunter Valley: ... and local community. We have staff with mums and aunts here, residents ... Cessnock please. . The care. Overall happy with the care they provided for my ...

girlbond May 31, 2015
1  2  3  4  5 

The staff at the Calvary are wonderful human people.They care about the resdient and do there best. In our expereince with the staff from the family point they were all very kind and try to question our questions the best they could.We found Calvary to be a kind a good place

Calvary Retirement Communities

Thank you for your review. The staff at Calvary Cessnock Retirement Community endeavour to provide high quality aged care services for our residents. We are so pleased to hear that our efforts are noticed and praised. Thank you again for your compliments.
Jan 05, 2016

Alana6643 Jun 04, 2015
1  2  3 4 5

lack of adequate staff means care is not as good as it should be

Calvary Retirement Communities

Thank you taking the time to complete a review. Ensuring an adequate number of staff to attend to the needs of our residents is one of the most crucial aspects when delivering high quality care. We are sorry to hear that you are not satisfied with this aspect. We closely monitor our staff rostering to ensure all residents are receiving the required attention and care.
Jan 05, 2016

Ishkabelle Jun 13, 2015
1  2  3  4  5 

The care

Ross9709 Nov 22, 2015
1  2  3  4  5 

Overall happy with the care they provided for my father in his last days. Well done greta lodge I couldn't be more happier with how things went. Staff are down to earth and very compassionate. Although the building and its equipment need to be updated but the nurses work very well with what they have!

Calvary Retirement Communities

Thank you for your review. The staff at Calvary Cessnock Retirement Community endeavour to provide high quality aged care services for our residents. We are so pleased to hear that our efforts are noticed and praised. Thank you again for your compliments.
Jan 05, 2016

Emmy7244 Mar 14, 2016
1  2  3  4  5

The buildings,carers and hygiene very good, but like most medical and care facilities not enough staff. Residents and families treated well. Main complaint was with other residents who hadittle consideration for fellow residents and thought they were more important than others hence could be demanding. Overall good care

Gudrun2875 Mar 14, 2016
1  2  3  4  5 

My father is being well looked after.

Hunter Valley, West Lake Macquarie: ... intergenerational program that connects students with residents focussing on art, craft ... a handful of experienced friendly staff, lack of suitable RN's (lots ...

Jblake066 May 21, 2015
1  2  3  4  5 

I sing regularly at an aged care facility to entertain the residents. They recently had a Mothers Day event outside on the lawn where the sun was shining, tables were set beautifully, luscious cakes, even champagne! Families came to sit in the beautiful surroundings and chat with their Mums and Grandmums and listen to our music. What a wonderful event.

Cleve4179 Jun 06, 2015
1  2  3  4  5 

the residents always seem happy and well cared for

Jerry8110 Mar 11, 2016
1  2  3 4 5

Poor facilities , very old building, no air conditioning in rooms, tiny room, poor quality of staff only a handful of experienced friendly staff, lack of suitable RN's (lots of agency who don't speak clear English).

South Coast: ... are changed seasonally and developed with residents tastes and preferences in ... very caring staff. Lovely facility good care nice food. Lovely homely facility. Caring staff and ...

Sydney, Upper North Shore: ... an ensuite. Quality care is more about the staff than about buildings. ... to have such caring staff in my mother's aged care facility. My mother ...

GeraldinesGirl May 06, 2015
1  2  3  4  5 

Quality care is more about the staff than about buildings. Fabulous facilities are nothing without wonderful staff - from the DoN down. Person-centred care - they know where she grew up, what makes her happy and what she needs. She is shown respect. My siblings and I are involved in any changes that are needed in her care as her dementia progresses. I am fortunate to have such caring staff in my mother's aged care facility.

RichardM Jun 17, 2015
1  2  3  4 5

My mother was a resident here

Jameson9852 Sep 10, 2015
1  2  3  4 5

food great, nurses aids lazy, manager bossy

Get more information
One last thing...
Aged Care – You’re Not Alone
Aged Care Directory
My Account