Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Search results for tailored retirement villages newcastle

show filter

Hunter Valley, Lower Hunter Valley: Calvary Mt Carmel provides quality care for 41 residents and also offers overnight respite accommodation. All rooms are single, air-conditioned and have their own private ensuite and balcony overlooking the rural ...

merivale May 29, 2015
1  2  3  4  5 

Ever since my Mum entered Residential Aged Care she is a different person. Her confidence has returned and she loves the staff and company. She feels safe and secure. I haven't seen her this happy for years!

Calvary Retirement Communities

Thank you for your feedback. One of our main priorities is to create a warm, familiar and home-like atmosphere, so our residents will feel comfortable and supported. We are pleased to hear that your mother is feeling cared for and safe here at Calvary Mt Carmel Retirement Community. Thank you for publicly recognising our dedication and efforts. Our staff at Calvary Mt Carmel Retirement Community are exceptional. We have a dedicated team of long serving staff who are caring and supportive of all residents, led by Manager Maree Gibbs who has been at this facility for 13 years. Once again thank you for taking the time to review our facility.
Jan 05, 2016

brenda Jun 07, 2015
1  2  3  4  5

the only thing I didn't like is the residents being woken up at 6.30 am for their medication . I thought it un necessary. leave it till 7 or 7.30 or 8 what is the rush. besides everything had to run to a schedule. set by the num

Calvary Retirement Communities

Thank you taking the time to write a review for us. Here at Calvary Mt Carmel Retirement Community we value all forms of feedback. Calvary Mt Carmel Retirement Community the Manager at Mt Carmel has started building a resident directed, household model of care with residents and staff since mid-2015. This model of care creates a more home-like feeling, our residents are empowered to choose activities day to day whether it be gardening, singing in the Mt Carmel choir, joining community visits, or simply reading and enjoying the scenic rural outlook. This means that our residents are able to choose how they will be cared for, they make choices about what support and care they require and they live as part of one of our four unique household groups. For example our residents may choose to get up early and eat breakfast, and they may have breakfast with other residents. There are residents who enjoy preparing breakfast and others who prefer to have a quiet breakfast at home in their room. Our residents live in a choice driven environment, which fits in with each residents preferences and also provides comfort, support and companionship. Once again thank you for taking the time to review our facility.
Jan 05, 2016

Patch46 Feb 02, 2016
1  2  3  4  5

The staff are always very welcoming and happy to assist in any way. If I have any concerns/suggestions about my mother-in-laws care I am always listened to and treated respectfully. I can't thank this facility enough for the care of my mum.

Calvary Retirement Communities

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback. We are delighted to hear that you are satisfied with the services we provide to our residents. We cater to both the physical and emotional needs of our residents and their families and our management team is always there for you to discuss any concerns or suggestions you may have. Every day our staff strive to offer great care and attention for each of our residents therefore, we are pleased to read your positive feedback. Kind regards, Maree Gibbs Manager
Feb 28, 2016

Vallie536 Feb 11, 2016
1  2  3  4  5

Building is both attractive and well maintained. Residents have independent and private facilities. Staff are friendly are cheerful. Activities are provided. One aversion: some staff may not be aware of particular needs of residents eg. check whether air conditioning is on in resident's room on hot days.

Calvary Retirement Communities

Thank you for providing us with your valuable feedback. One of our main priorities is to create a warm, friendly and familiar atmosphere, so our residents will feel at home every day. The Manager at Mt Carmel has started building a resident directed, household model of care with residents and staff since mid-2015.We encourage resident choice and decision making. Some of our residents chose to have their air conditioning off on hot days, which we are respectful of. Please feel free to contact me directly by e-mail at [email protected] to discuss how we can better meet the needs of your family member. Kind regards, Maree Gibbs Manager
Feb 28, 2016

Harriet Feb 17, 2016
1  2  3  4  5 

Mum has been at Mt Carmel for 5 and a half years. Her care needs have increased with her dementia. My sister and I are both overwhelmingly pleased with the care of mum and the sensitivity, respect and compassion staff consistently have shown to her.

Calvary Retirement Communities

Thank you for your review. The staff at Calvary Mt Carmel endeavour to provide high quality aged care services for our valued residents. At Calvary Mt Carmel Retirement Community we create comprehensive personal care plans for each resident. This plan takes into account the residents history, changing medical issues, lifestyle, likes and dislikes. We are so pleased to hear that our efforts are noticed and praised. Thank you again for your compliments. Kind regards, Maree Gibbs Manager
Feb 28, 2016

Eila Feb 18, 2016
1  2  3  4  5

The staff are very caring, they go to lots of effort on special occasion with decoration and includes all hostel members as it is their special day. Most of the staff have sense of humour and get dressed up for fun. They also dance with people they care about and respect. I have no problem in saying Mt Carmel is one of the best facilities in our area.

Calvary Retirement Communities

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. We are very pleased to read your feedback, as one of our main goals is to organise interesting and diverse activities tailored to the needs of each of our residents. Our staff dedicate their entire time to bring care, happiness and comfort for our residents, hence they will be very pleased to read that their efforts are noticed and valued. Once again, thank you for choosing Calvary Mt Carmel. Kind regards, Maree Gibbs Manager
Feb 28, 2016

Jaydon6862 Feb 24, 2016
1  2  3  4  5 

My mother-in-law has only been in this facility for over 2 years and the staff have been so helpful and she have beautiful views of the country when she is out on her little balcony.

Calvary Retirement Communities

Thank you for your great feedback. As part of our household model of care we strive to provide quality service for our residents and their families in a home-like environment. We are glad to hear your mother-in-law enjoys our beautiful farmland views. Kind regards, Maree Gibbs Manager
Feb 28, 2016

Patch Mar 03, 2016
1  2  3  4  5 

Very happy with all aspects of care and wellbeing from management and staff.

SIL Mar 15, 2016
1  2  3  4  5

My mother-in-law has lived at Mt Carmel for the passed five years. We have been extremely happy with the care she is being given. When we need care we will be looking forward to being at Mt Carmel.

franny Jun 21, 2015
1  2  3  4  5 

After endless searching for a facility for my father in law in my local and surrounding area ( Katoomba to Westmead, to Richmond, Windsor) I was very upset with the quality of the care facilities, some were certainly a place to go to die. ARV Newmarch house was so different. From the phone call to let me know they could offer my father in law a place, to the walking into the facility, meeting the staff and his placement; five star. This is what all Residential age care facilities should model themselves on. It is a place for care, compassion and to live and enjoy with dignity. I have recommended the facility highly to everyone who asks. Please take the time to investigate the facility, you will not be disappointed. https://www.arv.org.au/residential-care/kingswood/ Mrs. Frances Robinson

South Coast, Southern Highlands: ... of Retirement Living & Residential Aged Care. Anthem Care is a Continuous Retirement Community ...

Eugene1556 Mar 10, 2016
1  2  3  4  5

Anthem is a lovely, friendly, family style aged care facility. I think the benefit of being at Anthem is once there it is not necessary to move again. Anthem has self care apartments, low care, high care and dementia care. The staff are very caring and attentive. I would highly recommend Anthem

Antwan5018 Aug 15, 2016
1  2  3  4 5

The facility is new and lovely and well maintained but there is not enough staff on weekends and not enough activities for high care patients and they are stuck in front of the TV that they cannot hear or really understand. Some of the patients sit and wait for half and hour to go to the toilet. I know they have pads on but it upsetting seeing them sitting and worrying about going to the toilet. It breaks my heart that they sit there all day, day after day. It is very confronting. Aged care is really very sad. The staff are lovely but there are not enough of them. You can see the staff are frustrated but they are kind and always smiling. The staff are leaving which is sad because the patients get used to them and miss them dearly when they are gone.

Canberra: Providing quality care and support to 100 residents. All rooms are single which are generous in size, with ensuites. Each wing has a spacious dining area and separate lounge room in which to relax. We support people who ...

Yasmeen7304 May 21, 2015
1  2  3  4  5

Overall the facility is good. Because of the structure of the industry staff are under paid for the type of work they do. caring is not only physically demanding but emotionally and mentally taxing - especially with the number of dementia residents and now more and more mental health clients. Also find some staff lack compassion and empathy - be it because they are too young or from another culture.

Calvary Retirement Communities

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback. Here at Calvary Haydon Retirement Community we value all forms of feedback. You will be pleased to know that our management team has heard your suggestions, and we will be taking action based on your review. In the near future our staff will be undergoing further training in relation to compassion and empathy.
Dec 10, 2015

kauzzie Jun 01, 2015
1  2  3  4 5

After a lifetime of working hard and paying taxes you would expect that at the very least our elderly citizens have earned the right to live out their final years receiving not just nourishing but tasty, attractive home style food including fresh fruit and tea and biscuits available throughout the day. People that do not have the palate for a particular meal should have an option other than a sandwich or nothing. These same elderly people should not have continence pads rationed so the facility can save a few bucks. Leaving a resident in a soaked pad because tot is not yet time for a new one is disrespectful, I humane and a disgrace. Having insufficient staff to ensure the physical AND emotional wellbeing is what I would call neglect. Having staff so inadequately trained that they miss dispensing medication is dangerous. All this and more was experienced by my parents and when I attempted to right these wrongs I was ostracised and ridiculed to such an extent that eventually, I just gave up. I know of others that have experienced the same problems in more than one facility. It breaks my heart.

Calvary Retirement Communities

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. Ensuring an adequate number of staff to attend to the needs of our residents is one of the most crucial aspects when delivering high quality care. We are sorry to hear that you are not satisfied with some aspects of our care. We closely monitor our staff rostering to ensure all residents are receiving the required attention and care. Our staff receive regular and ongoing training to ensure they are able to cope in all the variety of situations that present themselves in a busy aged care facility. We strive to serve our residents a range of quality, healthy and diverse meals. We are regularly evaluating our menu and we are open to any suggestions made by our residents and their family members. We would be very keen to understand more about these matters, and thus I would encourage you to contact me directly at [email protected] Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. Kind regards, Fiona Marketing
Dec 10, 2015

Hunter Valley, Lower Hunter Valley: At Calvary, we pride ourselves on providing loving care with a local touch. Locals look out for each other, and that's especially the case at Calvary. There are lots of connections here of family, friends and local ...

girlbond May 31, 2015
1  2  3  4  5 

The staff at the Calvary are wonderful human people.They care about the resdient and do there best. In our expereince with the staff from the family point they were all very kind and try to question our questions the best they could.We found Calvary to be a kind a good place

Calvary Retirement Communities

Thank you for your review. The staff at Calvary Cessnock Retirement Community endeavour to provide high quality aged care services for our residents. We are so pleased to hear that our efforts are noticed and praised. Thank you again for your compliments.
Jan 05, 2016

Alana6643 Jun 04, 2015
1  2  3 4 5

lack of adequate staff means care is not as good as it should be

Calvary Retirement Communities

Thank you taking the time to complete a review. Ensuring an adequate number of staff to attend to the needs of our residents is one of the most crucial aspects when delivering high quality care. We are sorry to hear that you are not satisfied with this aspect. We closely monitor our staff rostering to ensure all residents are receiving the required attention and care.
Jan 05, 2016

Ishkabelle Jun 13, 2015
1  2  3  4  5 

The care

Ross9709 Nov 22, 2015
1  2  3  4  5 

Overall happy with the care they provided for my father in his last days. Well done greta lodge I couldn't be more happier with how things went. Staff are down to earth and very compassionate. Although the building and its equipment need to be updated but the nurses work very well with what they have!

Calvary Retirement Communities

Thank you for your review. The staff at Calvary Cessnock Retirement Community endeavour to provide high quality aged care services for our residents. We are so pleased to hear that our efforts are noticed and praised. Thank you again for your compliments.
Jan 05, 2016

Emmy7244 Mar 14, 2016
1  2  3  4  5

The buildings,carers and hygiene very good, but like most medical and care facilities not enough staff. Residents and families treated well. Main complaint was with other residents who hadittle consideration for fellow residents and thought they were more important than others hence could be demanding. Overall good care

Gudrun2875 Mar 14, 2016
1  2  3  4  5 

My father is being well looked after.

Sydney, Northern Suburbs: ... tranquil landscaped gardens, Calvary Ryde Retirement Community is a friendly, close-knit community ...

Joanne Csabanko Jul 31, 2017
1  2  3  4  5 

My dad has just been admitted today for 3 weeks respite at Ryde Calvary - Mary Potter , St Anne's Ward, and I must say I am so impressed with everything thus far, the people are ALL so friendly and the room and ward so clean . From Sally Nash in the office to the daily nursing staff, all so helpful and they make this whole experience a very pleasant one . Kind Regards, Joanne Csabanko

Canberra: Situated within a lively retirement living village, David Harper House is ... of the development named Best Retirement Living Development 2015, at the Property ...

Kennith4158 Apr 26, 2014
1  2  3  4  5

comfortable building, great staff, very good food

Rachel2337 May 13, 2015
1  2  3  4  5 

My sister has been a resident in David Harper House since it opened. I visit at least twice a week and am always impressed by the level of care she and other residents receive. Staff treat everyone with great kindness and respect, and this is extended to the more difficult dementia and high care patients. The House is always immaculately clean and the air fresh. Actiivities and exercise classes are appropriate to the level of care needed. I have no criticisms but only praise for the quality of the staff and building.

Family of May 14, 2015
1  2  3  4 5

Poor communication from staff; inadequate knowledge from carers/nurses to be delivering medications; lack of orientation for families of residents; medications have been completely missed or given late; messages not passed along.

England May 23, 2015
1  2  3  4 5

Three 'AAA's of aged care we should be working on AGED care facilities should not be treated solely as a business and be more homely AGED care workers should be given credit for the job they do and paid accordingly for their qualifications. We then wouldn't have so much turn over in staff, leading to an unsettled environment AGED care should not be treated like the end of life, Aboriginal and Asian communities use the wisdom of their elders to benefit their communities

Keon4893 May 26, 2015
1  2 3 4 5

I am a nurse and my friend was in this facility,although the care improved it didn't improve until I threatened to go to the authorities. I often found her in a bed of her own Pooh that had dried on to her. They often would forget to bring her meals when I was there. It was a disgrace ..It says a lot about accountability when an organisation puts cloudy contact on the nurses station preventing the residents being seen and preventing relatives and residents getting help when someone has fallen out of their chair etc.... I think it looks like a nice hotel but needs reviewing as there is an obvious problem. It was improving but my concern is that they will slip back into bad ways again as it was a constant problem that had to be constantly addressed . I wouldn't put my loved one in this place,

Marcel3809 Mar 01, 2016
1  2  3  4  5

They, senior management, do not appear at all interested in looking after the mental well being of their residents. Their appears to be no support for their staff or any new initiatives. Extremely disappointed

Helmer1988 Oct 28, 2016
1  2  3 4 5

Poorly trained staff, very limited RN's in each area. This leads to poor care and little or no nursing services. What's saddest is that the staff really have no interest in the resident. Dare to ask a question or give feedback and things get worse. Really poor communication between staff so no messages get passed on. I have tried escalating issues, but that falls on deaf ears. Would not recommend.

Sydney, Sutherland: ... residential aged care centre and Retirement Living Apartments.It caters for 101 Ageing ...

Adah2401 Nov 11, 2016
1  2  3  4  5

It was brand new when my mother in law moved in and was always looked after. Couldn't complain about anything.

Sydney, Northern Beaches: ... landscaped gardens of St Davids Retirement Living village.• Constructed over three levels ...

Get more information
One last thing...
Aged Care – You’re Not Alone
Aged Care Directory
My Account