Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Arcare Caulfield

3 9 Reviews | Write a Review

Operator

Operator Average Quality
(115 Reviews)

Room Vacancies:

Residential Accommodation Deposit:

Resident or Service User Review

Tour Review

  • Quality of information provided
  • Helpfulness of staff
  • Quality of ambiance & general environment
  • Overall quality
  • Quality of building
  • Quality of staff & care
  • Quality of food
  • Quality of lifestyle & wellbeing
  • Overall quality
One last thing...
The Power of Knowing
Send this listing to a friend
Get more information
Get more information
Enquiry
Like to book a tour?
Tour Booking
Review Arcare Caulfield
9 reviews sorted by Date Rating Type
Cecilia9112 Sep 26, 2018

I removed my parents from this so called 5 star facility after 18 months of experiencing trauama and frustration, owing to an apparent culture of deceit and meaness. Despite paying more than $5000 month per person, my parents were excluded from activities. I remember a certain barbeque where we were actually told to sit outside in the cold of the evening, while everyone else was indoors, rather than simply finding some chairs. There was little encouragment or help to attend activities that my parents could have enjoyed. It was often diffcult to find staff when they were needed. I suspect that there was a policy of having as few staff as possible in order to maximise profits. The quality of the food seemed poor and the morning tea usually just consisted of a dry biscuits. I recall that they both lost cinsiderable of weight. My father was given sedatives without my knowledge. When I complained that as I was Medical Power of Attorny, I should have been informed, I was told that there was no obligation to tell me, as if it was none of my business. Their possisions were not safe, a blue tooth device to provide music was stolen. I was never told whether the culprit had been identified. Dad's hearing aide was frequently not put in or missing. When I rang after hours, the telephone was frequently not answered. My parents did not receive services that were included in the extra services fee and that they had paid for. I was made to feel that I was the "problem" when I complained. The final straw was when the physiotherapy for both of them was suddenly curtailed and I was lied to by the staff about this. When I finally found about a month later, I complained to the manager who asked me to leave the building and actually called the police, when I contintued with my visit to my parents,. I complained to the overarching management, but they accepted the fabrication of the manager, that I had "sworn" at her. My letter of denial was ignored.The trauma of the experience of having my parents in this facility still haunts me. Fortunately my parents are now in a more caring facility. Despite the managment, which I felt was appalling, there were some wonderful and talented staff who were dedicated to the care of he residents. There seemed to be high staff turn-over.( I think there was four changes in the nursing manager position for my parents.) I wonder if a number of the staff were also frustated and concerned?

Was this review helpful?  2

Jaydon6063 Sep 25, 2018

Having placed my Mother in Aged Care, I was particular concerned that the facility felt like 'home' but certainly not a nursing home. Care and consideration of the individual was paramount. I have found our facility to be excellent on all levels (apart from the food which of a generally high quality is not always fit for this age group) Otherwise very satisfied.

Was this review helpful?  

Bryana3905 Aug 02, 2017

Arcare Caulfield provides a warm, welcoming, community environment for its residents and their families. The care is outstanding, particularly as my Mother has some quite complex medical needs. The staff are wonderful - nothing is too much to ask and they are caring and friendly. Infection control is excellent when required. Communication with family is very good too. The food is average, but staff are endeavouring to improve this. They are even going to use some of the residents' own recipes!! The rooms are bigger than most other Aged Care facilities, so residents can bring some of their own pieces of furniture and make the room more "homely". The Central Courtyard is lovely and sunny and very pleasant to sit in in the warmer weather. Different religions and cultures are accommodated, respected and celebrated. I can rest at night knowing that my Mother is well looked after, has an active social life and is happy. I would not hesitate to recommend this facility.

Was this review helpful?  1

Eloy179 Jul 31, 2017

Nice decor does not compensate for not including residents with dementia or depression in activities! Especially considering the enormous fees these residents pay!!!

Was this review helpful?  1

Michale3505 Aug 17, 2016

Primary focus to maximise profit and promote image, little concern for well being of residents, especially thiose with any mental disability

Was this review helpful?  3

Aisha6515 Dec 23, 2015

Staff took a long time to attend to friend's calls after a fall

Was this review helpful?  

Duane4656 Dec 16, 2015

Staff were slow to act and to come after falls.

Was this review helpful?  2

ozziejoe Apr 27, 2015

Arcare Caulfield offers very sensitive, practical and pro-active care for my elderly mother. While the facilities, amenities and quality of the centre is akin to a 5 star hotel, we have found the staff who come from many and varied backgrounds to be very supportive Meals are served in small and intimate dinning rooms rather than cafeteria style as we have seen in other centres, and while the meals are a 'bit hit and miss', the variety offers enough choice. If independence is the price of ageing then at least its good to know these centres are creating the minimum aspirational standard.

Was this review helpful?  1

Shayne May 11, 2014

Only let down is the meals. My relative has told me that the meals are way too spicy with too many herbs, and that they aren’t right for residents of that age. We think the problem is probably because of the cultural background of the chef’s.

Was this review helpful?  

Facility information, including facility name, operator and location provided courtesy of the Department of Social Service's My Aged Care. All reviews are the personal opinion of the reviewer, and do not necessarily reflect the views of Aged Care Reviews Pty Ltd, and are monitored according to the site's Content Guidelines.

About Arcare Caulfield

- Built January 2014- 110 luxurious single suites, each with a private ensuite- 5-star hotel amenities, including a café and hair salon- Permanent and respite care- 24 hour nursing and palliative care

Available Rooms

Room Name

Deluxe Plus

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

8

Room size (sqm)

20 sqm

Room Description

- Large private suites with
- Ensuite with shower
- Flat screen television
- Personal telephone
- Foxtel available
- Balcony courtyard access

Common Areas Description

- Built in January 2014
- Boutique caf
- Hairdressing salon
- Gift shop
- Movie theatre worship room
- Intimate dining lounge rooms
- Piano lounge
- Manicured courtyards gardens
- Delicious meals prepared fresh on site
- Private dining room
- Visit

Room Name

Grande Plus

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

5

Room size (sqm)

22 sqm

Room Description

- Large private suites with
- Ensuite with shower
- Flat screen television
- Personal telephone
- Foxtel available
- Balcony courtyard access

Common Areas Description

- Built in January 2014
- Boutique caf
- Hairdressing salon
- Gift shop
- Movie theatre worship room
- Intimate dining lounge rooms
- Piano lounge
- Manicured courtyards gardens
- Delicious meals prepared fresh on site
- Private dining room
- Visit

Room Name

Grande (Extra Service)

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

2

Room size (sqm)

20.5 sqm

Room Description

- Large private suites with
- Ensuite with shower
- Flat screen television
- Personal telephone
- Foxtel available
- Balcony courtyard access

Common Areas Description

- Built in January 2014
- Boutique caf
- Hairdressing salon
- Gift shop
- Movie theatre worship room
- Intimate dining lounge rooms
- Piano lounge
- Manicured courtyards gardens
- Delicious meals prepared fresh on site
- Private dining room
- Visit

Room Name

Premiere

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

31

Room size (sqm)

23 to 24 sqm

Room Description

- Large private suites with
- Ensuite with shower
- Flat screen television
- Personal telephone
- Foxtel available
- Balcony courtyard access

Common Areas Description

- Built in January 2014
- Boutique caf
- Hairdressing salon
- Gift shop
- Movie theatre worship room
- Intimate dining lounge rooms
- Piano lounge
- Manicured courtyards gardens
- Delicious meals prepared fresh on site
- Private dining room
- Visit

Room Name

Premiere Plus (Extra Service)

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

1

Room size (sqm)

28 sqm

Room Description

- Large private suites with
- Ensuite with shower
- Flat screen television
- Personal telephone
- Foxtel available
- Balcony courtyard access

Common Areas Description

- Built in January 2014
- Boutique caf
- Hairdressing salon
- Gift shop
- Movie theatre worship room
- Intimate dining lounge rooms
- Piano lounge
- Manicured courtyards gardens
- Delicious meals prepared fresh on site
- Private dining room
- Visit

Room Name

Deluxe (Extra Service)

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

7

Room size (sqm)

20 sqm

Room Description

- Large private suites with
- Ensuite with shower
- Flat screen television
- Personal telephone
- Foxtel available
- Balcony courtyard access

Common Areas Description

- Built in January 2014
- Boutique caf
- Hairdressing salon
- Gift shop
- Movie theatre worship room
- Intimate dining lounge rooms
- Piano lounge
- Manicured courtyards gardens
- Delicious meals prepared fresh on site
- Private dining room
- Visit

Room Name

Grande

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

16

Room size (sqm)

21 to 24 sqm

Room Description

- Large private suites with
- Ensuite with shower
- Flat screen television
- Personal telephone
- Foxtel available
- Balcony courtyard access

Common Areas Description

- Built in January 2014
- Boutique caf
- Hairdressing salon
- Gift shop
- Movie theatre worship room
- Intimate dining lounge rooms
- Piano lounge
- Manicured courtyards gardens
- Delicious meals prepared fresh on site
- Private dining room
- Visit

Room Name

Deluxe

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

7

Room size (sqm)

20 sqm

Room Description

- Large private suites with
- Ensuite with shower
- Flat screen television
- Personal telephone
- Foxtel available
- Balcony courtyard access

Common Areas Description

- Built in January 2014
- Boutique caf
- Hairdressing salon
- Gift shop
- Movie theatre worship room
- Intimate dining lounge rooms
- Piano lounge
- Manicured courtyards gardens
- Delicious meals prepared fresh on site
- Private dining room
- Visit

Room Name

Grande Plus (Extra Service)

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

7

Room size (sqm)

20 sqm

Room Description

- Large private suites with
- Ensuite with shower
- Flat screen television
- Personal telephone
- Foxtel available
- Balcony courtyard access

Common Areas Description

- Built in January 2014
- Boutique caf
- Hairdressing salon
- Gift shop
- Movie theatre worship room
- Intimate dining lounge rooms
- Piano lounge
- Manicured courtyards gardens
- Delicious meals prepared fresh on site
- Private dining room
- Visit

Room Name

Premiere (Extra Service)

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

19

Room size (sqm)

24 to 25 sqm

Room Description

- Large private suites with
- Ensuite with shower
- Flat screen television
- Personal telephone
- Foxtel available
- Balcony courtyard access

Common Areas Description

- Built in January 2014
- Boutique caf
- Hairdressing salon
- Gift shop
- Movie theatre worship room
- Intimate dining lounge rooms
- Piano lounge
- Manicured courtyards gardens
- Delicious meals prepared fresh on site
- Private dining room
- Visit

Room Name

Classic

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

7

Room size (sqm)

22 sqm

Room Description

- Large private suites with
- Ensuite with shower
- Flat screen television
- Personal telephone
- Foxtel available
- Balcony courtyard access

Common Areas Description

NAME

Aged Care Directory
My Account