Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Arcare Helensvale St James

1.89 9 Reviews | Write a Review

Operator

Operator Average Quality
(87 Reviews)

Room Vacancies:

Residential Accommodation Deposit:

Resident or Service User Review

Tour Review

  • Quality of information provided
  • Helpfulness of staff
  • Quality of ambiance & general environment
  • Overall quality
  • Quality of building
  • Quality of staff & care
  • Quality of food
  • Quality of lifestyle & wellbeing
  • Overall quality
One last thing...
The Power of Knowing
Send this listing to a friend
Get more information
Get more information
Enquiry
Like to book a tour?
Tour Booking
Review Arcare Helensvale St James
9 reviews sorted by Date Rating Type
Colin7 Jul 24, 2018

The food they serve is absolute muck. The majority of the protein is sausage mince. Occasional you get a decent pub meal like chicken or beef curry or shepherds pie, but you wouldn't want to be eating there seven days a week. You would become deficient in Iron like my mother has become. They are more interested in making money than caring for the residents. And sadly the only authority you can complain to, the Aged Care Complaints Commissioner, will do nothing. They will first try to dismiss your complaint and in the end have no authority to enforce anything and these aged care facilities know that.

Was this review helpful?  1

Abby1524 Jan 08, 2018

Very modern complex but has serious staff issues and contact details of relatives were not kept up to date. I specifically asked them to contact me any time day or night. When it counted and my mother had a fall that she never recovered from. I found out the hospital was given a completely wrong mobile number from what I gave them and therefore when I was finally contacted by a sibling after 5 hrs it was too late to late. Make sure you have constant contact with the director.

Was this review helpful?  

Margret4859 Sep 17, 2017

They advertise 5 star food. We were given a complimentary meal prior to my mother entering the facility. The food we were served was very acceptable, although I would never have ever considered it 5 star. But now the food is absolutely shocking. Twice in the last few months watery zucchini has been served with the rest of the meal floating in water. Tinned spaghetti with chopped boiled egg was another main, apparently popular with some residents. Other main choice was a sausage roll. The facility did state that the sausage roll was a gourmet one made on site. Steak Diane might sound good, but not when the meat is sinewy enough that it has to be put through a tenderiser. The other night they served riblets, again mince shaped to look like a rib. Meat balls (more mince) has been another popular choice by management. Frozen crumbed fish is also served as 5 star. Pub food is better than this. I did suggest to Arcare's, General Counsel, the Regional Support Manager, the site Manager and the Catering Manager, that we all sit down and eat the food for a week. If they are not happy to eat the food then why are they serving it to the residents? So far one has declined because they work 30 minutes away and the others refuse to respond. The catering manager has interviewed a few residents, including my mother, to ask them what would suffice. I would suggest that there is no need for a catering manager if he need to ask the residents what is acceptable. They have cut staff, including the man who gave all the residents physio daily. He was fantastic for the residents well being and mobility, he has not been replaced. Best thing about the facility is that there is no smell, nor can you feel that wet humidity coming out of the carpets that never get a chance to dry. So they did get one thing perfect

Was this review helpful?  1

Dannie3608 Mar 10, 2016

The buildings are beautiful. The care staff were excellent/ Management staff were pathetic, No care at all.

Was this review helpful?  2

Marilou1185 Jun 25, 2015

Arcare at Helensvale leaves a lot to be desired. The buildings are brilliant and the staff try to do a very good job but have had their hours cut so much that they cant do a proper job of caring for the residents. The residents seem to be secondary to their profit. I have had a couple of meals there and the food leaves a lot to be desired. They were bad. The solution to the meal problem is that now they are charging the residents an extra $10 to $15 a day to chose from another menu. This is on top of the approx $2000 a month my mother was paying. Had lots of arguments that she wasn't getting enough to drink and was told off. Wonder why she ended up in hospital with extreme dehydration. One gentleman there is now in the same position, Both had Parkinsons and were unable to get their own drinks or feed themselves. Not enough staff to help them. Disgusting place.

Was this review helpful?  6

Sharmayne Nilsen May 19, 2015

The staff were excellent but apparently they are not a necessity at Arcare so their hours are cut so that you are lucky if you can find anyone on weekends. Priority is money. The money spent on buildings is great and looks good but pity help you if you suffer from Parkinsons. My mother suffered and I know another person who goes home and cries after bashing her head against brick walls with the hierarchy. Don't blame the staff though

Was this review helpful?  2

chalice de kock May 11, 2015

My 96 year old mother suffered a stroke and spent 2 years in a nursing home after living totally independently and alone in a 4 bedroomed house. She had never been hospitalized and was only on thyroid medication and occasional panadol. The facility was newly decorated recently and was up to standard, however, the care was abysmal. They were totally under staffed so the nurses were not able to provide the necessary care although most of them did their best. Mum was able to communicate ably as her speech was not affected and she was of sound mind other than some forgetfulness, until the last few months when her mental state started to decline and she appeared to have lost her will to carry on. Complaints were made frequently to senior management about the poor care such as (a) Buzzers were only answered after long periods. Staff would come in, switch off the buzzer (this was so their attendance was recorded on the computer ) They would then assure her they would be back and mostly this did not happen. She was told frequently to soil her continence pads when she asked to be toileted and she often had to do this when she could no longer wait. She required assistance to get to the toilet. (b) The food appeared unpalatable and unappetizing - There was insufficient supervision at meals and residents often did not eat the meals as they were unable to manage without help. (c) Most of the nurses seemed to be kind and caring but always too rushed. Mum did mention quite often that some of the nurses, especially at night, handled her roughly. Her buzzer was, at many times, deliberately left out of her reach which meant she had to shout and call out for attention. Many other residents were in the same situation. Although these matters were brought to the attention of top management of many occasions, problems usually did not seem to be resolved. It was always extremely difficult to find qualified staff to make enquiries about Mum's condition as there only ever appeared to be PCA's around. There was very limited occupational therapy and when entertainment was organized, residents were frequently not taken to participate.

Was this review helpful?  2

RCSMel May 05, 2015

My grandmother was a resident of this facility. Whilst great care and attention and money was spent on the appearance of the place, far less emphasis was placed on care. A number of the staff were very kind, caring and helpful, but many others were slapdash in their performance. For example, she was told to wet herself at night as it was too difficult for staff to get her up to use the toilet. On other occasions, she would ring her bell for assistance. A staff member would come into her room, turn the bell off, ask what the problem was, and, if she needed help to go to the toilet, leave again to get help, only returning up to an hour later when of course, it was far too late. There was a similar lax attitude towards her wound care with dressings left on for days beyond the recommended time despite her complaining of discomfort. Unless a member of her family was available to help with feeds, my grandmother was left to feed herself although she had limited use of her hands - frequently her meal was placed beyond her reach. It was obvious the generally compassionate staff were completely overwhelmed with work and that resident care was compromised as a result.

Was this review helpful?  

[email protected] May 05, 2015

My 96 year old mother passed away at a Gold Coast nursing home in November2014 after suffering a stroke at the age of 94. Until then she had lived completely independently in a large house on her own and had never been hospitalized before, keeping in exceptional good health. Unfortunately, although the nursing home building and gardens were lovely, the care was abysmal. It was completely understaffed and residents had to wait for very long periods to be attended to in spite of ringing their bells many times. Nurses would come into the room, switch off the buzzer and state they would be back soon and invariably this did not happen. Most of the nursing staff appeared to be kind and caring but Mum, who was still of sound mind at that time, would tell us of many incidents when she was treated roughly and her buzzer would be deliberately be placed out of reach. Mum was not a demanding patient and was aware of the strain the nurses were under but she was often told to wet or soil herself as she was wearing incontinence pads, instead of being taken to the toilet. The food was basically not very palatable or appetizing and residents were often left to struggle along without supervision. Entertainment was arranged but residents often missed out as they were not taken along to join in. Relatives approached the senior management staff about the problems on numerous occasions but they were mostly left unresolved. The facility was rated as a five star accommodation but, sadly, I would say it would be less than two stars.

Was this review helpful?  1

Facility information, including facility name, operator and location provided courtesy of the Department of Social Service's My Aged Care. All reviews are the personal opinion of the reviewer, and do not necessarily reflect the views of Aged Care Reviews Pty Ltd, and are monitored according to the site's Content Guidelines.

About Arcare Helensvale St James

- Major renovations in mid-2014- 70 luxurious suites, most with a private ensuite- 5-star hotel amenities, including a café and hair salon- Permanent care- 24 hour nursing and palliative care

Available Rooms

Room Name

Grande (Extra Service)

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

14

Room size (sqm)

16 sqm

Room Description

- Large private suites with
- Ensuite with shower
- Telephone connection
- Individual cooling
- Balcony courtyard access
- Foxtel available

Common Areas Description

NAME

Room Name

Deluxe (Extra Service)

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

6

Room size (sqm)

16 sqm

Room Description

- Large private suites with
- Ensuite with shower
- Telephone connection
- Individual cooling
- Balcony courtyard access
- Foxtel available

Common Areas Description

NAME

Room Name

Grande

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

35

Room size (sqm)

18 sqm

Room Description

- Large private suites with
- Ensuite with shower
- Telephone connection
- Individual cooling
- Balcony courtyard access
- Foxtel available

Common Areas Description

NAME

Room Name

Double

Type

Shared room + ensuite

Occupancy

2

No of rooms

4

Room size (sqm)

26 sqm

Room Description

- Large private suites with
- Ensuite with shower
- Telephone connection
- Individual cooling
- Balcony courtyard access
- Foxtel available

Common Areas Description

NAME

Room Name

Deluxe

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

7

Room size (sqm)

16 sqm

Room Description

- Large private suites with
- Ensuite with shower
- Telephone connection
- Individual cooling
- Balcony courtyard access
- Foxtel available

Common Areas Description

NAME

Aged Care Directory
My Account