Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Anglicare Brian King Gardens

3.17 6 Reviews | Write a Review

Operator

Operator Average Quality
(75 Reviews)

Room Vacancies:

Residential Accommodation Deposit:

Resident or Service User Review

Tour Review

  • Quality of information provided
  • Helpfulness of staff
  • Quality of ambiance & general environment
  • Overall quality
  • Quality of building
  • Quality of staff & care
  • Quality of food
  • Quality of lifestyle & wellbeing
  • Overall quality
One last thing...
The Power of Knowing
Send this listing to a friend
Get more information
Get more information
Enquiry
Like to book a tour?
Tour Booking
Review Anglicare Brian King Gardens

Overview:

Anglicare Castle Hill is situated in the leafy suburb of Castle Hill.  The 120 acres of landscaped ground offers a full range of facilities including cafes, social clubs, recreational and health and wellness centres. All our residents are supported to be as independent as possible.

Opened in 2009, Brian King Gardens is home to 238 residents.  Accommodation is grouped into fourteen wings each housing seventeen people. Residents in each wing enjoy their own dedicated care team. 

Facilities:

BBQ areas
Cafe
Community room
Library
Lounge area
Physiotherapy
Hydrotherapy pool
Gym

6 reviews sorted by Date Rating Type
Pasquale9037 Sep 25, 2018

My 93 year old mum went for 3 weeks into respite at Brian King gardens in Anglicare in castle hill while I had holiday with my daughter and family as she turned 40. When mum returned home I noticed her both heels were black, I was not informed about this, I rang her doctor who immediately put her into hospital, she was also badly dehydrated and spent 48 hours on drip, her blood pressure was low and she was put on antibiotics for chronic pressure sores on her heels. A friend of mine visited her every few days and was not informed of this and found her in bed st all times of the day, she also found caked on faeces on her nighties and woollen mattress cover which was hers and took it all home to wash. I have been looking after her for 10 years and she had never been like this and I'm not professionally trained, she has now been in hospital for 2 weeks and her body has been stressed, I want to be able to still look after her at home but as her legs have weakened I will now need help which may be problem but I refuse to put her into nursing home as I believe she would die, this is disgusting that you can't go away for few weeks and have your loved one come home like this, I have spokened to them but come up with every excuse under the sun but as doctors say at hospital there is no excuse for dehydration and black heels, this was in high care too and I informed them mum needed help with her food if my friend hadn't gone to help I really believe she would have died there. I am waiting now for hospital to arrange help for us so I can bring my dear mum home . Thankyou for reading this I am very angry still and very sad. Suzanne kennedy

Was this review helpful?  

Anglicare Sydney

Thank you for your feedback which we value and take seriously. A member of our Quality and Compliance Team will be in contact with you as soon as possible.
Oct 11, 2018

Knofaith May 03, 2018

Don’t let the lovely building fool you. My mother’s basic needs were not met. As long as you still have some independence, it is a wonderful facility. But once you can’t do for yourself anymore, they don’t care.

Was this review helpful?  

Anglicare Sydney

Thank you for taking the time to give feedback. We always strive to offer the best care and services. We take all comments seriously and would welcome you contacting us on 1300 111 278 to discuss this matter
May 09, 2018

Cecil1822 Sep 21, 2016

First night my mother was in your facility she had money stolen out of her purse which was in the drawer next to her bed. Disgusting

Was this review helpful?  1

Amaya3090 Mar 10, 2016

I'm so impressed with the whole facility, the staff are wonderful and very abiliging nothing is too much trouble.Our relatives have settled in extremely well land very happy.

Was this review helpful?  

Leann8674 Dec 14, 2015

Excellent I every way.

Was this review helpful?  

koakes May 15, 2015

We were lucky enough to have our mother in Philip Lodge at Kilvinton Castle Hill NSW (ARV). Philip Lodge was old so they built a new complex, still in the ARV called Brian King Gardens. This was a well-thought out facility. Private rooms for residents and also lovely communal areas. The staff was always friendly and took great care of our mother for a few years until her passing. There is now a lovely park where the old Philip Lodge used to be.

Was this review helpful?  

Facility information, including facility name, operator and location provided courtesy of the Department of Social Service's My Aged Care. All reviews are the personal opinion of the reviewer, and do not necessarily reflect the views of Aged Care Reviews Pty Ltd, and are monitored according to the site's Content Guidelines.

About Anglicare Brian King Gardens

• Opened in February 2009 and home to 238 residents.• The building has been designed to provide person-centred care in a home-like environment.• Accommodation is grouped into fourteen wings each housing seventeen people. • 2 secure dementia specific wings located on the ground floor, with access to secure outdoor areas.• 4 four wings on the first, second and third floors. • Ongoing care is managed by providing specific care on each floor.• First floor dementia specific rooms for residents not requiring secure accommodation. • The building also features a chapel for quiet reflection with church services held on site for residents who would like to participate.• Palliative care and respite care is also available.• Nursing staff are available 24 hours a day.• A dedicated lifestyle team facilitates daily and regular activities for residents with clubs, groups and outings.• Palliative care and respite care is available.

Available Rooms

Room Name

B - Standard dementia rooms

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

34

Room size (sqm)

24.2 (inc ensuite)

Room Description

The facility was opened in February 2009 and provides high quality accommodation with attractive furnishings and fittings. Each room contains -Electric Bed with remote control -Bed coverings linen pillows blankets towels -Built-in cabinetry -Wardrobe cupboard -Display shelves with room and power point for a bar fridge if desired -Windows with sheer curtains and curtains. Good quality insect screens - Floor coverings wood look vinyl or carpet. -Individually controlled air conditioning -Emergency call buttons next to bed and on a lead next to toilet and a floor length cord from showers. Pendants and wrist bands available for residents who need them -Lights at entry main room bedside bathroom -Television computer connections -Phone connections and power points next to bed and near TV connectionPrivate ensuite wheel chair accessible with vinyl floors and tiled walls grip rails vanity shower curtain two emergency call buttonsPrior to a resident moving in the room undergoes a refurbishment. The scope of work will depend on the condition of the room and may include repainting of walls doors architraves cleaning or replacement of floor coverings and repairs or replacement of any damaged fixtures or fittings.

Common Areas Description

Lounge rooms - Each wing has a large lounge area 48 sq mtrs which contains couches chairs 42 plasma television feature wall carpet curtains and sheer window coverings.
Kitchen dining areas - Each wing has its own kitchen dining area 78 sq mtrs which includes tables and chairs for the 17 residents and has teacoffee making facilities chilled water and a microwave.
Secondary Lounges - Each wing has a secondary lounge area 21 sq mtrs which includes couches chairs television feature wall curtains and sheer window coverings and bookshelves with books and magazines for residents to use. There is access to a garden terrace through large sliding glass doors.
Sitting rooms - At the end of each corridor in every wing there is a small sitting room 8 sq mtrs. It features large windows to allow natural light views and contains chairs and a bookshelf stocked with books for residents use
Terrace area - accessible from the dining room is a partially covered terrace 158 sq mtrs which features outdoor furniture and landscaped flower beds.
Activities room Chapel - The activities chapel room 233 sq mtrs is located on the ground floor and contains seating for church and large group events and a big screen television for movie nights
Lobby waiting area - Located in the foyer are two waiting areas 241 sq mtrs with leather lounge suites and coffee tables. There is also a cafe with direct access to a terrace and two spacious lifts.
Physiotherapy room - Located on the ground floor is a physiotherapy room 41 Sq mtrs
Consulting rooms - Located on the ground floor are two consulting rooms 51 sq mtrs
Hairdressing salon - Located on the ground floor is a purpose built salon 33 sq mtrs salon

Room Name

C - Larger rooms (Lv 1, 2 & 3)

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

12

Room size (sqm)

26.9 (incl ensuite)

Room Description

The facility was opened in February 2009 and provides high quality accommodation with attractive furnishings and fittings. Each room contains
-Electric Bed with remote control
-Bed coverings linen pillows blankets towels
-Built-in cabinetry
-Wardrobe cupboard
-Display shelves with room and power point for a bar fridge if desired
-Windows with sheer curtains and curtains. Good quality insect screens
-Floor coverings wood look vinyl or carpet.
-Individually controlled air conditioning
-Emergency call buttons next to bed and on a lead next to toilet and a floor length cord from showers. Pendants and wrist bands available for residents who need them
-Lights at entry main room bedside bathroom
-Television computer connections
-Phone connections and power points next to bed and near TV connection

Private ensuite wheel chair accessible with vinyl floors and tiled walls grip rails vanity shower curtain two emergency call buttons

Prior to a resident moving in the room undergoes a refurbishment. The scope of work will depend on the condition of the room and may include repainting of walls doors architraves cleaning or replacement of floor coverings and repairs or replacement of any damaged fixtures or fittings.

Common Areas Description

Lounge rooms - Each wing has a large lounge area 48 sq mtrs which contains couches chairs 42 plasma television feature wall carpet curtains and sheer window coverings. There is access to a courtyard or garden space through large sliding glass doors from each common living area.
Kitchen dining areas - Each wing has its own kitchen dining area 78 sq mtrs which includes tables and chairs for the 17 residents and has teacoffee making facilities chilled water and a microwave.
Secondary Lounges - Each wing has a secondary lounge area 21 sq mtrs which includes couches chairs television feature wall carpet curtains and sheer window coverings and bookshelves with books and magazines for residents to use. There is access to a courtyard or garden space through large sliding glass doors from each common living area.
Sitting rooms - At the end of each corridor in every wing there is a small sitting room 8 sq mtrs. It features large windows to allow natural light views and contains chairs and a bookshelf stocked with books for residents use
Activities room Chapel - The activities chapel room 233 sq mtrs is located on the ground floor and contains seating for church and large group events and a big screen television for movie nights
Terrace areas - Off each lounge area on Levels 1 2 and 3 are balconies ranging in size from 27 sq mtrs to 103 sq mtrs with outdoor furniture and landscaped flower beds.
Lobby waiting area - Located in the foyer are two waiting areas 241 sq mtrs with leather lounge suites and coffee tables. There is also a cafe with direct access to a terrace and two spacious lifts.
Physiotherapy room - Located on the ground floor is a physiotherapy room 41 Sq mtrs
Consulting rooms - Located on the ground floor are two consulting rooms 51 sq mtrs
Hairdressing salon - Located on the ground floor is a purpose built salon 33 sq mtrs salon

Room Name

A - Standard rooms (Lvl 1,2,3)

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

192

Room size (sqm)

24.2 (inc ensuite)

Room Description

The facility was opened in February 2009 and provides high quality accommodation with attractive furnishings and fittings. Each room contains
- Electric Bed with remote control
-Bed coverings linen pillows blankets towels
-Built-in cabinetry
-Wardrobe cupboard
-Display shelves with room and power point for a bar fridge if desired
-Windows with sheer curtains and curtains. Good quality insect screens
-Floor coverings wood look vinyl or carpet.
-Individually controlled air conditioning
-Emergency call buttons next to bed and on a lead next to toilet and a floor length cord from showers. Pendants and wrist bands available for residents who need them
-Lights at entry main room bedside bathroom
- Television computer connections
-Phone connections and power points next to bed and near TV connection

Private ensuite wheel chair accessible with vinyl floors and tiled walls grip rails vanity shower curtain two emergency call buttons

Prior to a resident moving in the room undergoes a refurbishment. The scope of work will depend on the condition of the room and may include repainting of walls doors architraves cleaning or replacement of floor coverings and repairs or replacement of any damaged fixtures or fittings.

Common Areas Description

Lounge rooms - Each wing has a large lounge area 48 sq mtrs which contains couches chairs 42 plasma television feature wall carpet curtains and sheer window coverings. There is access to a courtyard or garden space through large sliding glass doors from each common living area.
Kitchen dining areas - Each wing has its own kitchen dining area 78 sq mtrs which includes tables and chairs for the 17 residents and has teacoffee making facilities chilled water and a microwave.
Secondary Lounges - Each wing has a secondary lounge area 21 sq mtrs which includes couches chairs television feature wall carpet curtains and sheer window coverings and bookshelves with books and magazines for residents to use. There is access to a courtyard or garden space through large sliding glass doors from each common living area.
Sitting rooms - At the end of each corridor in every wing there is a small sitting room 8 sq mtrs. It features large windows to allow natural light views and contains chairs and a bookshelf stocked with books for residents use
Activities room Chapel - The activities chapel room 233 sq mtrs is located on the ground floor and contains seating for church and large group events and a big screen television for movie nights
Terrace areas - Off each lounge area on Levels 1 2 and 3 are balconies ranging in size from 27 sq mtrs to 103 sq mtrs with outdoor furniture and landscaped flower beds.
Lobby waiting area - Located in the foyer are two waiting areas 241 sq mtrs with leather lounge suites and coffee tables. There is also a cafe with direct access to a terrace and two spacious lifts.
Physiotherapy room - Located on the ground floor is a physiotherapy room 41 Sq mtrs
Consulting rooms - Located on the ground floor are two consulting rooms 51 sq mtrs
Hairdressing salon - Located on the ground floor is a purpose built salon 33 sq mtrs salon

Aged Care Directory
My Account