Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Aurrum Erina

3.3 10 Reviews | Write a Review

Operator

Operator Average Quality
(26 Reviews)

Room Vacancies:

Residential Accommodation Deposit:

Resident or Service User Review

Tour Review

  • Quality of information provided
  • Helpfulness of staff
  • Quality of ambiance & general environment
  • Overall quality
  • Quality of building
  • Quality of staff & care
  • Quality of food
  • Quality of lifestyle & wellbeing
  • Overall quality
One last thing...
The Power of Knowing
Send this listing to a friend
Get more information
Get more information
Enquiry
Like to book a tour?
Tour Booking
Review Aurrum Erina

Conveniently located between the city of Gosford and the Pacific Ocean at Terrigal, Aurrum Erina provides clinical care excellence and luxury accommodation in scenic surrounds. The welcoming residence is elegantly furnished with contemporary interiors, large bedroom suites, comfortable communal areas and attractive gardens. 

10 reviews sorted by Date Rating Type
Spencer6953 Apr 11, 2019

As a relative i have come to believe that most age care facilities are all about making money. The nursing staff are extremely dedicated to the job and give excellent care to the residents. However most shifts are short staffed . Sometimes working a ratio of 1 staff to 20 residents. RNs 1 to 80 residents. The meals are great and very high nutritional value. But more staff are needed for better care.

Was this review helpful?  4

Maddison9899 Nov 28, 2018

My father was in Aurrum Erina yes he had motor neurone disease. But ! one to get bed rails put on his bed so that he could pull himself from side to side or up a little. boy was that a job. they bring in a physio therapist in he comes up with these hand grips that all they did was end up on the floor. a speech therapist that they say was at the request of the family. IT WAS NOT . Then he was put on to baby food which looked like to same thing EVERY MEAL. And i mean every one. another time the fire alarm went off while i was there. And no one came around to check on any of the residents. Or to tell us what had happened. So why do we even sign in the visitors book. And my dad wanted his finger nails cut so not knowing i went to the reception desk to book him in for that. asking my dad that afternoon how it went he said do i like. And they had not even been done. i found out later that the nursing staff do it. then his hair cut . that didn't Even happen the nursing staff that dad had that day could not even be bothered to lift my father up into a different chair so he could have it done. And could any one give him the time of day to tell him that. NO.The staff at the reception desk don't even talk to the residents as if they are there. She would keep talking to me what would my father like. i then told her my father is right there. And then at the end to wait so long for an RN to come and give my father a needle to make his breathing easier. Because he was sitting at his desk or changing some one bandage. Not letting my fathers last hours be easier. Just to let you know. my father was sick but he was mentally alert to what was going on around him. But i feel with what was happening at aurrum he lost the will i wish i NEVER put him in there. And this all happened very quickly. it was just SIX WEEKS. I thought i would have longer. I am sorry dad. Maureen Pratt daughter to Leslie Crandell.

Was this review helpful?  3

Deborah Crandell Nov 22, 2018

My father was admitted to Arrum Aged Care - Erina as he developed an aggressive form of Motor Neurone Disease. Most of the AM nursing staff, who looked after my dad were fantastic, for the short few weeks he was there, they engaged/interacted with the whole family. However, on my fathers last day, the doctor visited our dad as he was distress and agitated, having trouble breathing, the muscles around his heart and lungs had deteriorated, for dad it was like trying to breathe through a straw, the doctor prescribed my father to have some morphine, to try and relax him, to help his breathing, this was around 2.15-2.30pm, the doctor advised us, that dad would most likely not see the night through, he went to organise the injection with the RN straight away. At 3pm, I watch as the change of shift happened. At 3.30 I asked the nurse at the nurses station about the injection, (the RN was on the phone) at 3.45-4.00pm the nurse came around the let us know the RN was attending to a dressing. So we waited, as my father laid there, struggling and fighting for every breathe, by 4.30pm I went back to the nurses station, asked again about the injection, explained dad was very agitated and needed the injection, I was told they wont be long. 5.15pm came and so did the meal trolley, I had to explain the staff member my father was palliative and would not be eating, the RN finally arrived around 5.30pm to tell my father, who was, at this stage, drifting in and out of consciousness, they were going to give him an injection to help relax him, it took another 15mins before he came back to administer it. I've been an age care nurse for 19 years, and was disgusted with the way my father was treated. No one, not even an animal should be treated in such a manner. My father passed away at 8.46pm that night. My self and my family have been left traumatised, after having to sit by and watch as my father slowly suffocated, and for so long, without been given anything, to ease his suffering.

Was this review helpful?  4

Avery6126 Sep 25, 2018

A very good age care facility.A lot of excellent caring staff. A great variety of excellent food

Was this review helpful?  1

Kenna4987 Sep 25, 2018

An excellent facility. Food is 5 star. Staff and care excellent

Was this review helpful?  2

Avery1295 Mar 04, 2018

NOTICE: A change in ownership / management of this facility has occured since this review was submitted. Accordingly, this review has been archived, and does not necessarily reflect current feedback for, or experience of, this facility.

Archived

I find the staff are very friendly and helpful, the garden's are lovely. Also the patients seem very happy, and are friendly as well.

Was this review helpful?  

Vanessa2484 Feb 03, 2018

NOTICE: A change in ownership / management of this facility has occured since this review was submitted. Accordingly, this review has been archived, and does not necessarily reflect current feedback for, or experience of, this facility.

Archived

The staff have been very helpful, also all the staff and patients are all friendly and happy. It puts a great feeling in the place.They have beautiful gardens with local bird life. I would definitely recommend them.

Was this review helpful?  

Gustave309 Jul 17, 2015

NOTICE: A change in ownership / management of this facility has occured since this review was submitted. Accordingly, this review has been archived, and does not necessarily reflect current feedback for, or experience of, this facility.

Archived

beautiful new reception area installed just in time for accreditation but that's where it ends. Food is appalling and shortage of nursing staff especially on weekends is a real concern.

Was this review helpful?  6

Aurrum Pty Ltd

Aurrum has only recently joined the Aged Care Review Community and wish to acknowledge your Review. We apologise for the significant delay. Aurrum acquired and began managing the Erina Aged Care Facility in December 2014. Since your review in July 2015, we have invested significantly into raising our standard of clinical care, dietary programs and lifestyle offerings. Furthermore, our Weekend staff ratios are identical to our Weekday ratio’s. We invite you to return to Aurrum Erina and review the exceptional quality of Aged Care provided today. Please contact the facility on 02 4365 6411 to make a suitable arrangement.
Nov 01, 2017

nanny115 May 16, 2015

NOTICE: A change in ownership / management of this facility has occured since this review was submitted. Accordingly, this review has been archived, and does not necessarily reflect current feedback for, or experience of, this facility.

Archived

My husband had only been in care for 4 months, I am still coming to terms with what to expect. And what if any feedback is given to the next of kin.

Was this review helpful?  3

Aurrum Pty Ltd

Aurrum has only recently joined the Aged Care Review Community and wish to acknowledge your Review. We apologise for the significant delay. If appropriate, I invite you to contact the facility directly on 02 4365 6411 to speak to myself and I can assist in regards to your understanding of Aged Care Services and the feedback available to family and next of kin. Michelle Bottle – Facility Manager
Nov 01, 2017

Stronno Jul 08, 2014

My 91 year old father wth dementia spent approx one month here before he passed away. He was suffering from advanced dementia and recovering from a hip replacement. In the time he spent there he was not given sufficient fluids to the point his body was just comprised of salts when he was moved to Gosford Hospital a few days prior to his death. This was commented on by the ambulance officers we requested move him to the hospital. He was given a very low standard of care mostly by young women. We his family were appalled at the treatment he received in this establishment. There was a ratio of 1 registered nurse to 40 patients. The woman who removed my fathers stitches said she was skilled at doing this because she had done a similar thing to her pet dogs. My elderly mother was extremely stressed and traumatised by the treatment or lack of it provided to her husband of 64 years.

Was this review helpful?  5

Facility information, including facility name, operator and location provided courtesy of the Department of Social Service's My Aged Care. All reviews are the personal opinion of the reviewer, and do not necessarily reflect the views of Aged Care Reviews Pty Ltd, and are monitored according to the site's Content Guidelines.

About Aurrum Erina

A relaxing lifestyle and care excellence set in tranquil gardens and coastal sunshine* A high quality facility providing the best care for residents (respite available)* Highly experienced care staff, with in-house physio aides, massage therapists and access to a comprehensive allied health program* Large light filled rooms - deluxe single rooms with private ensuite* Generous private spaces designed to encourage residents to feel at home* Peaceful courtyards, gardens and pavilion for personal relaxation and to host al-fresco family catch ups, BBQs and celebratory events which can be catered for upon request* In-house gourmet kitchen with chef and dietitian designed menus that can be enjoyed in dining areas with high ceilings, large windows and open plan seating* Comprehensive activities program to engage with community, culture, personal interests and social networks

Available Rooms

Room Name

Deluxe Companion Room

Type

Shared room + shared bathroom

Occupancy

2

No of rooms

0

Room size (sqm)

21.25

Room Description

Room is spacious light filled with private ensuite.
Room includes private aircon and Built In Wardrobe.
All rooms surrounded by gardens trees and rolling lawns with varying perspectives.
Condition of room is freshly painted.

Common Areas Description

Residents enjoy access to large airy recreational areas including to gardens courtyards and shaded pergolas.

Room Name

Superior Single room Ensuite

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

Room size (sqm)

Approx. 16.35 sqm

Room Description

All single rooms are flooded with natural light spacious and elegantly furnished and have their own private en suite.

Common Areas Description

The charming resort-style Aurrum Erina is an elegant residence renowned for its service excellence and warm hospitality.

Architecturally designed with resident comfort in mind this stylish home boasts comfortable sitting and dining rooms lush lawns and gardens and contemporary furnishings and finishes.

Room Name

Single Room

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

0

Room size (sqm)

Approx. 16.35 sqm

Room Description

Room is spacious light filled with private ensuite.
Room includes private aircon and Built In Wardrobe.
All rooms surrounded by gardens trees and rolling lawns with varying perspectives.
Condition of room is freshly painted.

Common Areas Description

Residents enjoy access to large airy recreational areas including to gardens courtyards and shaded pergolas.

Aged Care Directory
My Account