Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Brightwater Birralee

4.61 18 Reviews | Write a Review

Operator Average Quality
(118 Reviews)

Room Vacancies:

Residential Accommodation Deposit:

Resident or Service User Review

Tour Review

  • Quality of information provided
  • Helpfulness of staff
  • Quality of ambiance & general environment
  • Overall quality
  • Quality of building
  • Quality of staff & care
  • Quality of food
  • Quality of lifestyle & wellbeing
  • Overall quality
One last thing...
The Power of Knowing
Send this listing to a friend
Get more information
Get more information
Enquiry
Like to book a tour?
Tour Booking
Review Brightwater Birralee
18 reviews sorted by Date Rating Type
Marieke Apr 12, 2019

My mother lived for one month in Birrallee bright water nursing home in Innaloo Western Australia, before she passed away in January 2018. The room she was living in was bright and cheerful, surrounded by her personal furniture, photos and paintings. We were able to see her at all hours of the day by having a swipe card to enter the premises. She liked all staff by one, which is pretty good. As my mother wasn’t demented she was able to tell us how she was treated. The food unfortunately was not up to standard. It was all puréed and had no taste at all. The manager of the nursing home has been trying her best to get a kitchen on the premises where they can cook. The only sad thing was that my mother passed away alone during the night on the floor in the bathroom. I do believe that the ratio of staff at night in ALL nursing homes is far too low. Had there been more staff she probably didn’t have to go to the toilet by herself. But overall, my mother was happy and cared for in the last month of her life. We recommend Birrallee and their staff highly.

Was this review helpful?  

Kaylin243 Apr 11, 2019

After fracturing her femur in a fall my mother was unable to remain living independently. I was thrilled when we found a placement for her at Birralee in Innaloo. The facilities and staff were fantastic. My mother had her own room with her own en-suite. Every day there were activities like cooking, games, exercise classes and visiting entertainers. They took her out on group outings in their bus. The meals were excellent and she could order something different if she did not want what was on the menu. The family was encouraged to participate in special events. After several years her heart deteriorated and she was allowed to return to Birralee for her final days. She was surrounded by loving staff and all her friends, it was like an extended family. I will always be grateful for the devotion and care given to my mother by everyone at Birralee. Thankyou

Was this review helpful?  1

Lexi6083 Oct 01, 2018

Mum thrived in care with healthy food and plenty of drinks. She loved the companionship of residents and staff. She didn't get a urinary tract infection while in care as she had frequent fluids offered. At home she would be in hospital 2/year with UTIs.

Was this review helpful?  

Amy1979 Sep 28, 2018

Mum thrived due to good nutrition, regular fluids and companionship from residents and staff. She was offered regular drinks and did not have a urinary tract infection while she was in care.

Was this review helpful?  

Trace7007 Sep 27, 2018

My elderly mother entered residential care after a major injury resulting from a fall

Was this review helpful?  

Sophia4960 Sep 25, 2018

Average facilities, a number of deficiencies noted to facility management. Staff meet most basic performance objectives but are not fully attentive to needs of the patient. Food of average quality, repetitive, sandwiches not considered reasonable catering item. Little evidence of facilitated physio or promotion of social interaction. Not meeting my expectations and thus overall poor rating.

Was this review helpful?  

Bette5332 Sep 25, 2018

The quality of the building was excellent. Most of the staff were terrific and thoughtful, but very busy. They needed a lot more staff at nighttime. 2carers and 1RN was not enough to toilet all residents. The food was terrible, but it came from outside. I was told they are trying to get approval to prepare food on the premises. The quality of lifestyle

Was this review helpful?  

Diamond2081 Aug 05, 2017

Careworkers offer personalised care to the residents. They know their personalities, likes and dislikes. They are "in tune" with the resident's day to day condition and pick up any subtle changes that are then referred to the Registered Nurses. Mum feels safe and secure always. She has developed a good rapport with all staff. She enjoys simple companionship with other residents who have a similar condition. She is always kept warm and well groomed. Being offered frequent drinks during the day has stopped recurring urinary tract infections, which would put her in hospital when she was living at home with her husband.

Was this review helpful?  

Gillian8758 Apr 14, 2017

My father is in care (transition) at present and getting the high care he needs, the staff are pleasant and very helpful.

Was this review helpful?  

Cleo2 Dec 08, 2016

My cousins is being cared for at Birralee and is extremely happy.

Was this review helpful?  1

Jocelyn1253 Nov 11, 2016

Looked after my mother- in- law. Their care was wonderful.

Was this review helpful?  1

kara8736 Nov 03, 2016

1. Meals are difficult for my aunt, sandwiches everyday and she has never been one for sandwiches. A variety of food would be good. 2. Also, there is no choice for evening meal, everyone gets the same thing. 3. Nurses appear to be unobservant of some issues I had to point out twice that he legs/feet were quite swollen and asked them to be treated, they seemed surprised and it took 2 weeks before she was provided with a foot stool. 4. My aunt has been at Brightwater for 6 weeks and has not seen a podiatrist. We passed he 'Care Plan' to them 2 days after her admission. Her toes and nails look awful colour and peeling.

Was this review helpful?  1

Brightwater Care Group

Thank you for your feedback kara8736. We would very much like to address your concerns at this early stage as it important you feel comfortable leaving your aunt in our care. Would you be happy for us to contact you directly? If so, please provide us with your name and a phone number or email address (this can be emailed to [email protected]) and a member of staff will work with you to address your concerns.
Nov 03, 2016

Random4744 Oct 17, 2016

Sometimes the facility can run short on specific medication/drops required for our family member. Shortage of staff - especially for high care resident. Because of lack of staff resources there is lack of timely response to "bell" being answered when rung. Upgrades to room furniture such as cupboards - same ones for past 10 years.

Was this review helpful?  1

Shane9146 Oct 17, 2016

Brightwater did a great job and have been very helpful during what was a difficult time. My father has been doing very well and all of the staff are lovely and do the best they can to provide a homely environment and to help improve his quality of life via activities/outings etc.

Was this review helpful?  

Candy Oct 06, 2016

A wonderful place - the premises are spotless - excellent

Was this review helpful?  

Jillian Intini Sep 27, 2016

The care given to my Mother has been exceptional. She is happy and feels completely at home. I could not want for anything more, thankyou.

Was this review helpful?  1

Krystina9681 Sep 20, 2016

We were very happy with the care our mother got while she was in your care,we wish to thank you very much and would recomend your facility.

Was this review helpful?  2

Reanna8930 Sep 19, 2016

i would recommend your facilities as we found it pleasant, the staff were great, and thank you all for he care you all gave to our mother.

Was this review helpful?  

Facility information, including facility name, operator and location provided courtesy of the Department of Social Service's My Aged Care. All reviews are the personal opinion of the reviewer, and do not necessarily reflect the views of Aged Care Reviews Pty Ltd, and are monitored according to the site's Content Guidelines.

About Brightwater Birralee

Conveniently located in the northern suburbs of Perth, Brightwater Birralee brings together all the comforts of home with high quality care and a variety of opportunities for social interaction with other residents and loved ones.At Brightwater Birralee a series of houses, all containing private rooms, and open, homely, living spaces are surrounded by beautiful gardens with inviting outdoor sitting areas. The facility has been designed in a manner reflective of the homes our residents may have moved from and we go to great efforts to make Birralee feel like home and not like an institution.We take great pride in our homes and we hope that they are a place residents also feel proud of, where they can enjoy life’s possibilities with other residents and their loved ones.

Available Rooms

Room Name

Birralee Private

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

0

Room size (sqm)

15.70m2 to 19.71m2

Room Description

Brightwater aims to make the facilities feel as close to a normal home as possible. We have paid attention to the design and fitout of each site so that they are places all of our residents feel proud and comfortable to be in and where families feel welcome to visit.

All rooms at Brightwater Birralee are single rooms. They offer residents extra privacy and range from 15.70m2 to 19.71m2 in size. They are equipped with their own private ensuite bathroom which provides storage for toiletries and plenty of space around the basin to hold toothbrushes and provide a work surface. All of our bathrooms are equipped with wall hooks for hanging robes and are designed for easy access for all of our residents even as their care needs increase.

Room Features
Beds - All rooms are equipped with electric adjustable beds.
Linen - All linen is hotel standard linen. At Brightwater we have a linen replacement program which ensures that our residents can always enjoy the highest quality linen.
Other Furniture - Each resident is provided with a lockable bedside cabinet and can be provided with a chair for their bedroom that they can use for themselves or for when visitors are in their room.
Storage - Each resident is provided with a built in wardrobe which is easily accessible.
Heating and Cooling - All of our rooms are equipped with an individually controlled reverse cycle air conditioning system to help ensure the greatest possible comfort all year round.
Windows and Views - Each of our rooms has at least one window which lets in natural light and provides our residents with the opportunity to enjoy a view outside from the comfort of their own room. All windows are dressed with good quality curtains so residents can manage the amount of natural light in their room.

Common Areas Description

Family and friends are always welcome to visit Brightwater Birralee. We do our best to provide enjoyable opportunities and spaces for families to spend time together. There are a number of spaces around the site for private gatherings in small or large groups including our outdoor areas activity room and patio and lounge rooms. We also on occasion hold events that families can attend such as our Birthday celebrations and Christmas dinner.

Apart from their room residents have access to a number of different areas at Brightwater Birralee. These areas provide an opportunity for residents to spend time in different environments meet with other residents or entertain visiting family and friends
Dining Rooms - Our dining rooms are set out in a homelike environment and provide a great opportunity for residents to enjoy a meal together.
Lounge Rooms - Each of our houses has a lovely lounge room residents can enjoy. They comfortably equipped with chairs of a variety of types and sizes. Each of our houses has a communal flat screen TV and residents can also choose to purchase a TV for their bedroom.
Club House - The club house is the hub of our site. This room provides ample space around a large table where residents can participate in crafts and games or other activities. Residents can participate in a wide variety of facilitated activities each week in the activity room and it is also available for families to use and host special events.
Outdoor areas - At Brightwater Birralee there are a number of outdoor areas complete with comfortable outdoor furniture and coverage so that residents can enjoy the sunshine and each others company. It also provides a comfortable and safe environment for young children to come and visit.

Room Name

Single plus ensuite

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

60

Room size (sqm)

16 - 19 m2

Room Description

To be provided

Common Areas Description

To be provided

Room Name

Single plus ensuite

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

60

Room size (sqm)

16 - 19 m2

Room Description

Furniture provided by Brightwater Birralee
Electric Adjustable Bed
Lockable Bedside Drawers
Built--in wardrobe
Over--bed height adjustable table
One visitor chair residents may also bring one of their own chairs for their room Care Manager should be consulted around size and type of chair suitable for the room

Bedding Provided by Brightwater Birralee
Colour coordinated linen
Pressure relieving mattress
Hypo allergenic pillows

Room Fittings provided by Brightwater Birralee
Nurse call points
Landline telephone connection capability
Colour coded bathroom tap ware
Window dressings of fabric lined curtains
Bathroom grab rails of contrasting colour
Easy grip door and draw handles
Bathroom cabinet behind mirror

Rooms at Brightwater Birralee are of a high quality featuring
oPainted walls in good condition that are colour coordinated with the dcor
oA window fitted with flyscreens and security screens
oWide doors for ease of mobility
oStain--resistant flooring of carpet or vinyl in resident rooms and vinyl in bathrooms
oWell--maintained ceilings

Amenity
All rooms at Brightwater Birralee are in close proximity to
Lounge Room
Dining Room
The Club House
Gardens and courtyards
Facility entrance
Hairdressing salon
Nurses station

Privacy is provided via our rooms having
Easily self--adjusted window coverings
Private ensuites
Option for no night care disturbance unless needed

Rooms at Brightwater Birralee have natural light and vistas provided by
Windows with views to
oLandscaped grounds
oGardens
Large windows

Lighting is also provided by
Recessed down lights
Reading light
Dimmable night light

Rooms at Brightwater Birralee have direct access to
Lounge room
Dining room


Heating and Cooling is provided via
Individually controlled reverse cycle air conditioning

Common Areas Description

The common areas accessible to residents at Brightwater Birralee include
Dining room
Lounge room
Sitting room
Club House
Outdoor areas
Hairdressing salon
Physio gym
Library small library of books available on site


Quality furniture and fittings in the common areas include
Armchairs and lounges of high quality fabric and style
Attractive dining room settings
Varied colour schemes
Wall art paintings prints photographs etc
Adjustable lighting levels
Occasional tables
Hall tables
Display cabinets
Bookcases
Entertainment units
Outdoor settees
Outdoor settings that can be configured for large or small groups

The common areas at Brightwater Birralee are in very good condition

Brightwater Birralee undertakes ongoing refurbishment and replacement of furniture and building maintenance is conducted weekly.

The gardens and external common areas are maintained on a regular basis.
All common areas are located within easy access from residents rooms including
Centrally--located main lounge and dining areas
Direct access to landscaped groundscourtyardsgarden areas

An abundance of natural light is provided in common areas via
Floor--to--ceiling windows
Glass doors for external access

Non--natural lighting includes
Attractive ceiling lighting



Views are provided to
Landscaped grounds
Gardens
External courtyard
Gazebo areas

Entertainment options located in the common areas include
Large screen TV with DVDvideo with no cablesatellite TV
Sound system
Library of books
Piano

Aged Care Directory
My Account