Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Brightwater Onslow Gardens

4.11 9 Reviews | Write a Review

Operator Average Quality
(117 Reviews)

Room Vacancies:

Residential Accommodation Deposit:

Resident or Service User Review

Tour Review

  • Quality of information provided
  • Helpfulness of staff
  • Quality of ambiance & general environment
  • Overall quality
  • Quality of building
  • Quality of staff & care
  • Quality of food
  • Quality of lifestyle & wellbeing
  • Overall quality
One last thing...
The Power of Knowing
Send this listing to a friend
Get more information
Get more information
Enquiry
Like to book a tour?
Tour Booking
Review Brightwater Onslow Gardens
9 reviews sorted by Date Rating Type
Arely9039 Sep 25, 2018

Qualified staff like registered nurses on the floor have been more busy with dealing with staff issues at all time rather to concentrate and improve the quality of life of the residents at this facility. To them it felt like Kindergarten receiving multiple last minute sick calls on a daily basis and dealing with replacement after hour until, all of a sudden replacement stopt to be authorized from the management mean working totally understaffed. Clinical staff who showed signs of health issues like osteo arthritis in there gait being kicked out due to " a likeliness of workers compensation claim", there was no heart, not towards staff and/ or residents. Those organisations call themselves" non profit"; those are the worst of all!

Was this review helpful?  

Fannie3649 Nov 11, 2016

Disappointed with some staff attention to staff not following procedure for hygiene i.e. face washed, napkin not changed, bell not in place resident felt untended and fell from sling and toilet. Vegetables are overcooked, garden salad an improvement. Some clothing misplaced and laundry blacked, clothing is marked. Very clean and pleasant to visit. Suggest more staff would improve some of the above.

Was this review helpful?  2

Brightwater Care Group

Thank you for your feedback Fannie3649. We would very much like to address these concerns in a prompt manner. If you are comfortable with us contacting you to work together on them, please provide your name and a phone number or email address (this can be emailed to [email protected]) and a member of staff will contact you directly.
Nov 11, 2016

Royal7184 Nov 03, 2016

My mother has been at the Onslow Gardens for about 5 years. During this time I have been impressed by the ongoing maintenance work which ensures that the facilities are always of good standard. Staff are caring and considerate, always treating the patients couteously, despite the very trying behaviours we have observed in some residents. O.T. Staff work hard to provide suitable activities, although many high care residents find it difficult to participate in much. We are very happy with the facility overall.

Was this review helpful?  2

John Keamy Nov 03, 2016

A great place to stay. Staff and carers excellent.

Was this review helpful?  2

22 Oct 17, 2016

Most of the staff are excellent. Some are a lot careless about shaving well and I'm the care of his clothes.

Was this review helpful?  1

Peter479 Oct 17, 2016

I feel I need to go everyday to give my husband his lunch because examples I have come across. 1. Not sufficient staff to feed residents who in this house all need assistance. 2. When finally they are able to assist I find the meal is COLD and that's why most of us come in to feed our partners. There is no trust and that is not a good thing. 3. I wonder and are afraid to think what happens when I am not there like breakfast and tea time. 4. There is also the problem at lunch time not knowing what happens the other times? 3 of I resident spitting on us and the other residents.

Was this review helpful?  

Brightwater Care Group

Thank you for your feedback Peter479, we appreciate that you took the time to tell us your concerns. We would really like to improve your husband’s mealtime experience - it is important to us that you feel comfortable leaving him in our care. Would you be happy for us to contact you directly to discuss possible improvements? If so, please email your name and phone number or email address to [email protected] and a member of our staff will contact you directly to address your concerns.
Oct 18, 2016

Rose-Lowe Oct 04, 2016

I am quite pleased with the care that my sister has received over the past three years at Onslow Gardens.

Was this review helpful?  

Leonel11 Sep 25, 2016

All good, with thanks.

Was this review helpful?  2

Coleen Mar 15, 2016

A great facility. Residents are cared for with dignity, respect and friendly staff.

Was this review helpful?  7

Facility information, including facility name, operator and location provided courtesy of the Department of Social Service's My Aged Care. All reviews are the personal opinion of the reviewer, and do not necessarily reflect the views of Aged Care Reviews Pty Ltd, and are monitored according to the site's Content Guidelines.

About Brightwater Onslow Gardens

Conveniently located in the northern suburbs of Perth, Brightwater Onslow Gardens brings together all the comforts of home with high quality care and a variety of opportunities for social interaction with other residents and loved ones.At Brightwater Onslow Gardens a series houses, containing private and shared rooms, and open, homely, living spaces are surrounded by beautiful gardens with inviting outdoor sitting areas. The facility has been designed in a manner reflective of the homes our residents may have moved from and we go to great efforts to make Onslow Gardens feel like home and not like an institution.We take great pride in our homes and we hope that they are a place residents also feel proud of, where they can enjoy life’s possibilities with other residents and their loved ones.

Available Rooms

Room Name

Onslow Gardens Shared

Type

Shared room + ensuite

Occupancy

2

No of rooms

0

Room size (sqm)

31.77m2

Room Description

Brightwater aims to make the facilities feel as close to a normal home as possible. We have paid attention to the design and fitout of each site so that they are places all of our residents feel proud and comfortable to be in and where families feel welcome to visit.

Shared Rooms
Onslow Gardens also has two shared rooms available. These rooms are larger than the single rooms 31.77m2 and are designed to accommodate 2 residents.

The shared room includes an ensuite bathroom which is shared between the two residents in the room. There is adequate space within the bathroom for both residents to store toiletries and there is space around the basin for each resident to have their own place for containers to hold toothbrushes and other small items.

Features common to all rooms both private and shared
Beds - All rooms are equipped with electric adjustable beds.
Linen - All linen is hotel standard linen. At Brightwater we have a linen replacement program which ensures that our residents can always enjoy the highest quality linen.
Other Furniture - Each resident is provided with lockable bedside drawers and can be provided with a chair for their bedroom that they can use for themselves or for when visitors are in their room.
Storage - Each resident is provided with a built in wardrobe which is easily accessible.
Heating and Cooling - All of our rooms are equipped with an individually controlled reverse cycle air conditioning system to help ensure the greatest possible comfort all year round.
Windows and Views - Each of our rooms has at least one window which lets in natural light and provides our residents with the opportunity to enjoy a view outside from the comfort of their own room. All windows are dressed with good quality curtains so residents can manage the amount of natural light in their room.

Common Areas Description

Family and friends are always welcome to visit Brightwater Onslow Gardens. We do our best to provide enjoyable opportunities and spaces for families to spend time together. There are a number of spaces around the site for private gatherings in small or large groups. We also on occasion hold events that families can attend.

Apart from their room residents have access to a number of different areas at Brightwater Onslow Gardens. These areas provide an opportunity for residents to spend time in different environments meet with other residents or entertain visiting family and friends
Dining Rooms - Our dining rooms are set out in a homelike environment and provide a great opportunity for residents to enjoy a meal together while enjoying the lovely garden and courtyard views.
Lounge Rooms - Each of our houses has a lovely lounge room residents can enjoy. It is comfortably equipped with chairs of a variety of types and sizes. Each of our lounge rooms has a flat screen TV residents are welcome to watch. Residents can also choose to purchase their own TV for their room.
Club House - Our club house is the hub of our site. It is a lovely open room that provides the opportunity to manage lighting that supports the activity. Its equipped with games puzzles movies and catering and kitchen facilities. A number of activities take place in the club house during the week and it is also available for families to use and host special events.
Gym - We have a physio gym on site with walking bars installed for therapeutic use. There are also a number of classes run in our clubhouse under the guidance of our physiotherapist. Classes are held individually and in groups.
Outdoor areas - At Onslow Gardens there are a number of outdoor areas complete with comfortable outdoor furniture and cover so that residents can enjoy the sunshine and each others company. It also provides a comfortable environment for young children to come and visit.

Room Name

Onslow Gardens Private

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

62

Room size (sqm)

15.94m2 to 16.18m2

Room Description

Brightwater aims to make the facilities feel as close to a normal home as possible. We have paid attention to the design and fitout of each site so that they are places all of our residents feel proud and comfortable to be in and where families feel welcome to visit.

Single Rooms
Single rooms offer residents extra privacy and range from 15.94m2 to 16.18m2 in size. They are equipped with their own private ensuite bathroom which provides storage for toiletries and plenty of space around the basin to hold toothbrushes and provide a work surface. All of our bathrooms are equipped with wall hooks for hanging robes and are designed for easy access for all of our residents even as their care needs increase.

Features common to all rooms both private and shared
Beds - All rooms are equipped with electric adjustable beds.
Linen - All linen is hotel standard linen. At Brightwater we have a linen replacement program which ensures that our residents can always enjoy the highest quality linen.
Other Furniture - Each resident is provided with lockable bedside drawers and can be provided with a chair for their bedroom that they can use for themselves or for when visitors are in their room.
Storage - Each resident is provided with a built in wardrobe which is easily accessible.
Heating and Cooling - All of our rooms are equipped with an individually controlled reverse cycle air conditioning system to help ensure the greatest possible comfort all year round.
Windows and Views - Each of our rooms has at least one window which lets in natural light and provides our residents with the opportunity to enjoy a view outside from the comfort of their own room. All windows are dressed with good quality curtains so residents can manage the amount of natural light in their room.

Common Areas Description

Family and friends are always welcome to visit Brightwater Onslow Gardens. We do our best to provide enjoyable opportunities and spaces for families to spend time together. There are a number of spaces around the site for private gatherings in small or large groups. We also on occasion hold events that families can attend.

Apart from their room residents have access to a number of different areas at Brightwater Onslow Gardens. These areas provide an opportunity for residents to spend time in different environments meet with other residents or entertain visiting family and friends
Dining Rooms - Our dining rooms are set out in a homelike environment and provide a great opportunity for residents to enjoy a meal together while enjoying the lovely garden and courtyard views.
Lounge Rooms - Each of our houses has a lovely lounge room residents can enjoy. It is comfortably equipped with chairs of a variety of types and sizes. Each of our lounge rooms has a flat screen TV residents are welcome to watch. Residents can also choose to purchase their own TV for their room.
Club House - Our club house is the hub of our site. It is a lovely open room that provides the opportunity to manage lighting that supports the activity. Its equipped with games puzzles movies and catering and kitchen facilities. A number of activities take place in the club house during the week and it is also available for families to use and host special events.
Gym - We have a physio gym on site with walking bars installed for therapeutic use. There are also a number of classes run in our clubhouse under the guidance of our physiotherapist. Classes are held individually and in groups.
Outdoor areas - At Onslow Gardens there are a number of outdoor areas complete with comfortable outdoor furniture and cover so that residents can enjoy the sunshine and each others company. It also provides a comfortable environment for young children to come and visit.

Aged Care Directory
My Account