Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Brightwater The Cove

4.25 16 Reviews | Write a Review

Operator Average Quality
(118 Reviews)

Room Vacancies:

Residential Accommodation Deposit:

Resident or Service User Review

Tour Review

  • Quality of information provided
  • Helpfulness of staff
  • Quality of ambiance & general environment
  • Overall quality
  • Quality of building
  • Quality of staff & care
  • Quality of food
  • Quality of lifestyle & wellbeing
  • Overall quality
One last thing...
The Power of Knowing
Send this listing to a friend
Get more information
Get more information
Enquiry
Like to book a tour?
Tour Booking
Review Brightwater The Cove
16 reviews sorted by Date Rating Type
Raina850 May 04, 2019

My husband has Alzheimer's and sadly placed in aged care. The staff have been wonderful but the shortages a real concern. Most of the residents are high care and only 2 staff to shower and get them ready for the day; the same in the evenings; consequently residents can be left to their own devices for considerable length of time. My biggest concern is the total lack of activities; the residents just sit or lay all day with virtually no stimulation or interaction.

Was this review helpful?  2

Brycen2470 Sep 25, 2018

Brightwater Mandurah - Can't say enough for the excellent care my mother receives. Staff and surrounding are also of a high standard. They cater for her every need and do it so nicely. Would definitely recommend it to anyone thinking of putting a loved one into care.

Was this review helpful?  

Ardella569 Jul 12, 2017

We really felt that the staff at The Cove really place the residents and their families first. The care and consideration were exemplary. In addition the facilities are new and comprehensive, and a range of activities are provided. The place has a very homely feel, and the meals were of a high quality and well prepared.

Was this review helpful?  

Sam1951 Nov 11, 2016

My mother seems very comfortable and happy. Thank You.

Was this review helpful?  

liamnryannan Nov 03, 2016

My dad moved to this facility after mum died and he drunk a lot and participated sometimes but this has all changed, though if something is on that he's given a paper slip he forgets about it. He is also euphemistically called a collector - I m most embarrassed but they don't make anything of it and are just glad I return the items he has collected! There is no malice he just like to give people things (he does it with residents too!) and has no way of doing this any other way! Overall I'm really happy he's there. PS You could do with giving the Redcliffe a major makeover if it hasn't already been done (both parents were in together here).

Was this review helpful?  1

Skipper Nov 03, 2016

I find the staff (carers) are not well trained and not of a caring nature its just a job and residents are a job and not a person needing special care. Carers need to be passionate about their job and need to be matched to the industry. Less staff on weekends puts strain n residents and staff. We get newsletters telling us how things will get better with new procedures inc place, id doesn't happen. Wait times to the toilet are very excessive and residents left of the toilet for very long periods after pressing the call button. On many occasions residents are addressed in a disrespective manner which is demeaning and not necessary.

Was this review helpful?  

Brightwater Care Group

Thank you for your feedback Skipper, we appreciate you taking the time to tell us your concerns. We would very much like to address them as it important you feel comfortable leaving your family member in our care. Would you be happy for us to contact you directly about your concerns? If so, please provide us with your name and a phone number or email address (this can be emailed to [email protected]) and a member of staff will be in contact directly.
Nov 03, 2016

BillyBoy Oct 20, 2016

Communication between staff members

Was this review helpful?  2

alyce.davies Oct 17, 2016

The staff at Brightwater are amazing, you always can see the staff that enjoy there jobs and some that don't we have had 2 staff members that go above and beyond there daily chores and give that bit extra to make mum feel special. Thank you to those people. Overall we can talk to any member of the admin, or carer staff and get feedback on mums health or wellbeing. Brightwater have always listened to our thoughts and concerns at all times of stress and come thru on more than a couple of occasions. We have only praise for The Cove and our experiences and mum loves everyone and the routine also.

Was this review helpful?  

SallyThorn Oct 11, 2016

The best I have seen in WA.

Was this review helpful?  

Sheba13 Oct 11, 2016

Parts of the building interior are getting rather tired and some of the rooms need to be less basic i.e. more homely. My wife has bee in Brightwater for 3 years and the staff, carers, and volunteers do marvellous job of looking after her.

Was this review helpful?  2

Ray312 Oct 04, 2016

The care and love the staff give to my husband. The House is always clean and his room. Have no complaints about food.

Was this review helpful?  

Ralphene2292 Oct 04, 2016

Only complaint - not enough trained staff on weekends.

Was this review helpful?  

Lucky25 Oct 04, 2016

The staff are very good with their caring. I do feel they could do a bit more physio with some of the patients. The food is very good.

Was this review helpful?  

Pamela6038 Oct 04, 2016

My husbands father was cared for by Brightwater in Inglewood and he passed away there after about 7 years. My mother is in care now aged 93 years at Brightwater in Mandurah W.A and is being very well taken care off at all times. I have recommended this facility to friends when needed and they have also been happy.

Was this review helpful?  

Ian Cunningham Sep 27, 2016

Excellent facility well organized with friendly helpful, dedicated professional staff. As a family member I'm extremely comfortable that my mother is well taken care off. Many thanks to the staff at The Cove and the Brightwater Group

Was this review helpful?  

Paige7978 Jul 12, 2015

My father was fortunate enough to spend is last few weeks in this wonderful facility. He was treated with great respect which must have been difficult at times due to his advanced dementia (Alzheimers). My daughter and I will always be grateful for the level of care he received in his final days. Such a wonderfully caring and peaceful environment.

Was this review helpful?  5

Facility information, including facility name, operator and location provided courtesy of the Department of Social Service's My Aged Care. All reviews are the personal opinion of the reviewer, and do not necessarily reflect the views of Aged Care Reviews Pty Ltd, and are monitored according to the site's Content Guidelines.

About Brightwater The Cove

Conveniently located near Mandurah, Brightwater The Cove brings together all the comforts of home with high quality care and a variety of opportunities for social interaction with other residents and loved ones.At Brightwater The Cove a series of houses, all containing private rooms, and open, homely, living spaces are surrounded by beautiful gardens with inviting outdoor sitting areas. The facility has been designed in a manner reflective of the homes our residents may have moved from and we go to great efforts to make The Cove feel like home and not like an institution.We take great pride in our homes and we hope that they are a place residents also feel proud of, where they can enjoy life’s possibilities with other residents and their loved ones.

Available Rooms

Room Name

The Cove Private

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

131

Room size (sqm)

14.80m2 to 22.54m2

Room Description

Brightwater aims to make the facilities feel as close to a normal home as possible. We have paid attention to the design and fitout of each site so that they are places all of our residents feel proud and comfortable to be in and where families feel welcome to visit.

Single Rooms
Single rooms offer residents extra privacy and range from 14.80m2 to 22.54m2 in size. They are equipped with their own private ensuite bathroom which provides storage for toiletries and plenty of space around the basin to hold toothbrushes and provide a work surface. All of our bathrooms are equipped with wall hooks for hanging robes and are designed for easy access for all of our residents even as their care needs increase.

Features common to all rooms both private and shared
Beds - All rooms are equipped with electric adjustable beds.
Linen - All linen is hotel standard linen. At Brightwater we have a linen replacement program which ensures that our residents can always enjoy the highest quality linen.
Other Furniture - Each resident is provided with lockable bedside drawers and can be provided with a chair for their bedroom that they can use for themselves or for when visitors are in their room.
Storage - Each resident is provided with a built in wardrobe which is easily accessible.
Heating and Cooling - All of our rooms are equipped with an individually controlled reverse cycle air conditioning system to help ensure the greatest possible comfort all year round.
Windows and Views - Each of our rooms has at least one window which lets in natural light and provides our residents with the opportunity to enjoy a view outside from the comfort of their own room. All windows are dressed with good quality curtains so residents can manage the amount of natural light in their room.

Common Areas Description

Family and friends are always welcome to visit Brightwater The Cove. We do our best to provide enjoyable opportunities and spaces for families to spend time together. There are a number of spaces around the site for private gatherings in small or large groups. We also on occasion hold events that families can attend with residents.

Apart from their room residents have access to a number of different areas at Brightwater The Cove. These areas provide an opportunity for residents to spend time in different environments meet with other residents or entertain visiting family and friends
Dining Rooms - Our dining rooms are set out in a homelike environment and provide a great opportunity for residents to enjoy a meal together while enjoying the lovely garden and courtyard views.
Lounge Rooms - Each of our houses has a lovely lounge room residents can enjoy. It is comfortably equipped with chairs of a variety of types and sizes. Each of our lounge rooms has a flat screen TV residents are welcome to watch. Residents can also choose to purchase their own TV for their room.
Club House - Our club house is the hub of our site. It is a lovely open room that provides the opportunity to manage lighting that supports the activity. It is equipped with games puzzles movies and catering and kitchen facilities. A number of activities take place in the club house during the week and it is also available for families to use and host special events.
Gym - We have a physio gym on site with walking bars installed for therapeutic use. There are also a number of classes run in our clubhouse under the guidance of our physiotherapist. Classes are held individually and in groups.
Outdoor Areas - At The Cove there are a number of outdoor areas complete with comfortable outdoor furniture and gazebos so that residents can enjoy the sunshine and each others company. It also provides a comfortable environment for young children to come and visit.

Aged Care Directory
My Account