Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Brightwater The Oaks

4.14 7 Reviews | Write a Review

Operator Average Quality
(118 Reviews)

Room Vacancies:

Residential Accommodation Deposit:

Resident or Service User Review

Tour Review

  • Quality of information provided
  • Helpfulness of staff
  • Quality of ambiance & general environment
  • Overall quality
  • Quality of building
  • Quality of staff & care
  • Quality of food
  • Quality of lifestyle & wellbeing
  • Overall quality
One last thing...
The Power of Knowing
Send this listing to a friend
Get more information
Get more information
Enquiry
Like to book a tour?
Tour Booking
Review Brightwater The Oaks
7 reviews sorted by Date Rating Type
Aniyah668 Apr 11, 2019

Overall care is good. Staff shortages prevent better care and cuts to budget (ex limited incontinence pads is not acceptable) for those needing them more than the home’s budget allows. Also sixes of pads. Smaller are used, when larger is required, thevexcuse is always the cost, whatever the complaint.

Was this review helpful?  

Taryn993 Sep 28, 2018

This is one of the better facilities, but resident’s care has been compromised after the latest budget cuts. Less staff, cut backs on food and basic essential needs.

Was this review helpful?  1

Laurine7487 Oct 19, 2016

It seems that not only this facility, but most are understaffed. This means that if someone needs to call for a carer, the wait time can be quite long. This is a concern as a resident may be in dire need and end up in great distress, or pass away. The doctor at this facility seems to prescribe medication without a discussion with the resident, and when asking who suggested medication for depression it is unclear who did. My partner is possibly not always the easiest to deal with (has MND), but I wonder if the carer role in this country became a "profession", perhaps the car would be better.

Was this review helpful?  

Brightwater Care Group

Thank you for your feedback Laurine7487, we appreciate you taking the time to tell us your concerns; we would very much like to address them to your satisfaction. I’d encourage you to speak to the Care Manager at The Oaks about use of the call bell and your husband’s doctor about medication prescribed so that they can address these concerns. If you would prefer us to contact you, please provide your name and phone number/email address to [email protected]
Oct 20, 2016

Audrey7928 Oct 11, 2016

So pleased with the care that my husband receives. I can't thank you enough.

Was this review helpful?  2

KHAKI99 Oct 06, 2016

A great aged care home with friendly and helpful carers. Rooms are of a high standard. Other facilities - i.e. club room, tea room etc of high standard. Only criticism is loss of some personal belongings even though clearly marked.

Was this review helpful?  1

Arturo5128 Sep 19, 2016

My husband has been at The Oaks for some 6 years. The care he has received has been excellent. The staff are always very friendly and caring towards the residents and family. I have never had any complaints. The staff are always very obliging if I have had any queries. I cannot speak highly enough about this care facility.

Was this review helpful?  3

Larry G. Sep 19, 2016

My Father is 95 yo. I could not be happier with the care and affection the people at THE OAKS show towards my Father. Dad has had a couple of falls and as soon as the staff have taken care of him they will ring me and advise me what has happened. The staff are open and honest. Every time l go and see Dad l am amazed at the attention they give to each person. And, each person has different needs. I have nothing but the highest respect and admiration for the staff. It is comforting, for me, knowing that Dad is in the latter stage of his life and being cared for by these people. They are wonderful people and some times "THANK YOU" just doesn't seem enough.

Was this review helpful?  2

Facility information, including facility name, operator and location provided courtesy of the Department of Social Service's My Aged Care. All reviews are the personal opinion of the reviewer, and do not necessarily reflect the views of Aged Care Reviews Pty Ltd, and are monitored according to the site's Content Guidelines.

About Brightwater The Oaks

Conveniently located in the southern suburb of Waikiki, Brightwater The Oaks brings together all the comforts of home with high quality care and a variety of opportunities for social interaction with other residents and loved ones.At Brightwater The Oaks a series of houses, containing private and shared rooms, and joined together by open, homely, living spaces are surrounded by beautiful gardens with inviting outdoor sitting areas. The facility has been designed in a manner reflective of the homes our residents may have moved from and we go to great efforts to make The Oaks feel like home and not like an institution.We take great pride in our homes and we hope that they are a place residents also feel proud of, where they can enjoy life’s possibilities with other residents and their loved ones.

Available Rooms

Room Name

The Oaks Shared

Type

Shared room + ensuite

Occupancy

2

No of rooms

0

Room size (sqm)

35.67m2

Room Description

Brightwater aims to make our facilities feel as close to a normal home as possible. We have paid attention to the design and fitout of each site so that they are places all of our residents feel proud and comfortable to be in and where families feel welcome to visit.

Shared Rooms
The Oaks also has two shared rooms available. These rooms are larger than the single rooms 35.67m2 and are designed to accommodate 2 residents.

The shared room includes an ensuite bathroom which is shared between the two residents in the room. There is adequate space within the bathroom for both residents to store toiletries and there is space around the basin for each resident to have their own place for containers to hold toothbrushes and other small items.

Features common to all rooms both private and shared
Beds - All rooms are equipped with electric adjustable beds.
Linen - all linen is hotel standard linen. At Brightwater we have a linen replacement program which ensures that our residents can always enjoy the highest quality linen.
Other Furniture - Each resident is provided with lockable bedside drawers and can be provided with a chair for their bedroom that they can use for themselves or for when visitors are in their room.
Storage - Each resident is provided with a built in wardrobe which is easily accessible.
Heating and Cooling - all of our rooms are equipped with an individually controlled reverse cycle air conditioning system to help ensure the greatest possible comfort all year round.
Windows and Views - Each of our rooms has at least one window which lets in natural light and provides our residents with the opportunity to enjoy a view outside from the comfort of their own room. All windows are dressed with good quality curtains so residents can manage the amount of natural light in their room.

Common Areas Description

Family and friends are always welcome to visit Brightwater The Oaks. We do our best to provide enjoyable opportunities and spaces for families to spend time together. There are a number of spaces around the site for private gatherings in small or large groups. We also on occasion hold events that families can attend.

Apart from their room residents have access to a number of different areas at Brightwater The Oaks. These areas provide an opportunity for residents to spend time in different environments meet with other residents or entertain visiting family and friends
Dining Rooms - Our dining rooms are set out in a homelike environment and provide a great opportunity for residents to enjoy a meal together while enjoying the lovely garden and courtyard views.
Lounge Rooms - Each of our houses has a lovely lounge room residents can enjoy. It is comfortably equipped with chairs of a variety of types and sizes. Each of our lounge rooms has a flat screen TV residents are welcome to watch. Residents can also choose to purchase their own TV for their room.
Club House - Our club house is the hub of our site. It is a lovely open room that provides the opportunity to manage lighting that supports the activity. Its equipped with games puzzles movies and catering and kitchen facilities. A number of activities take place in the club house during the week and it is also available for families to use and host special events.
Gym - We have a physio gym on site with walking bars installed for therapeutic use. There are also a number of classes run in our clubhouse under the guidance of our physiotherapist. Classes are held individually and in groups.
Outdoor Areas At The Oaks there are a number of outdoor areas complete with comfortable outdoor furniture and cover so that residents can enjoy the sunshine and each others company. It also provides a comfortable environment for young children to come and visit.

Room Name

The Oaks Private

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

0

Room size (sqm)

15.90m2 to 18.43m2

Room Description

Brightwater aims to make our facilities feel as close to a normal home as possible. We have paid attention to the design and fitout of each site so that they are places all of our residents feel proud and comfortable to be in and where families feel welcome to visit.

Single Rooms
Single rooms offer residents extra privacy and range from 15.90m2 to 18.43m2 in size. They are equipped with their own private ensuite bathroom which provides storage for toiletries and plenty of space around the basin to hold toothbrushes and provide a work surface. All of our bathrooms are equipped with wall hooks for hanging robes and are designed for easy access for all of our residents even as their care needs increase.

Features common to all rooms both private and shared
Beds - All rooms are equipped with electric adjustable beds.
Linen - all linen is hotel standard linen. At Brightwater we have a linen replacement program which ensures that our residents can always enjoy the highest quality linen.
Other Furniture - Each resident is provided with lockable bedside drawers and can be provided with a chair for their bedroom that they can use for themselves or for when visitors are in their room.
Storage - Each resident is provided with a built in wardrobe which is easily accessible.
Heating and Cooling - all of our rooms are equipped with an individually controlled reverse cycle air conditioning system to help ensure the greatest possible comfort all year round.
Windows and Views - Each of our rooms has at least one window which lets in natural light and provides our residents with the opportunity to enjoy a view outside from the comfort of their own room. All windows are dressed with good quality curtains so residents can manage the amount of natural light in their room.

Common Areas Description

Family and friends are always welcome to visit Brightwater The Oaks. We do our best to provide enjoyable opportunities and spaces for families to spend time together. There are a number of spaces around the site for private gatherings in small or large groups. We also on occasion hold events that families can attend.

Apart from their room residents have access to a number of different areas at Brightwater The Oaks. These areas provide an opportunity for residents to spend time in different environments meet with other residents or entertain visiting family and friends
Dining Rooms - Our dining rooms are set out in a homelike environment and provide a great opportunity for residents to enjoy a meal together while enjoying the lovely garden and courtyard views.
Lounge Rooms - Each of our houses has a lovely lounge room residents can enjoy. It is comfortably equipped with chairs of a variety of types and sizes. Each of our lounge rooms has a flat screen TV residents are welcome to watch. Residents can also choose to purchase their own TV for their room.
Club House - Our club house is the hub of our site. It is a lovely open room that provides the opportunity to manage lighting that supports the activity. Its equipped with games puzzles movies and catering and kitchen facilities. A number of activities take place in the club house during the week and it is also available for families to use and host special events.
Gym - We have a physio gym on site with walking bars installed for therapeutic use. There are also a number of classes run in our clubhouse under the guidance of our physiotherapist. Classes are held individually and in groups.
Outdoor Areas At The Oaks there are a number of outdoor areas complete with comfortable outdoor furniture and cover so that residents can enjoy the sunshine and each others company. It also provides a comfortable environment for young children to come and visit.

Aged Care Directory
My Account