Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Bupa Bateau Bay

2.4 10 Reviews | Write a Review

Operator Average Quality
(266 Reviews)

Room Vacancies:

Residential Accommodation Deposit:

Resident or Service User Review

Tour Review

  • Quality of information provided
  • Helpfulness of staff
  • Quality of ambiance & general environment
  • Overall quality
  • Quality of building
  • Quality of staff & care
  • Quality of food
  • Quality of lifestyle & wellbeing
  • Overall quality
One last thing...
The Power of Knowing
Send this listing to a friend
Get more information
Get more information
Enquiry
Like to book a tour?
Tour Booking
Review Bupa Bateau Bay
10 reviews sorted by Date Rating Type
Christop1208 Apr 13, 2019

Formal complaint to ACCC regarding three serious failures, all failures require evidence based To-date facility accountable 2 failures 3rd failure staff now responding with "know nothing" Revolving door of management, clinical care management and care staff Relocation of family member required as not being resolved, this was not undertaken lightly as aware not best practise to have to start over for family member

Was this review helpful?  1

Lina3097 Apr 11, 2019

The TV room is a thoroughfare, if a resident moves their arms when watching TV, the exit door opens. The food is overcooked and unappetising. There are trip hazards and management find excuses rather than fix. Even though demonstrated that there is a problem. The doctor gave residents immunisation without checking with staff or patients records. This resulted in double immunisation. Bupa responded by saying the doctor was naughty. They did not want to take it further in case it resulted in the loss of the doctor! Wonderful, caring staff. Problems with broken or missing lifting machines result in residents staying in bed until lunch time. Management keeps changing and when concerns are raised, you are treated in a patronising way!

Was this review helpful?  

Pablo5920 Oct 25, 2018

My brother, who also has a disability, has been a resident at BUPA AGED CARE - BATEAU BAY for past 2 years. With all the negative news at present about aged care I think it’s important to give credit where credit is due. I have always found the staff welcoming

Was this review helpful?  1

Korbin9050 Sep 25, 2018

The nursing home looks nice, I know they try very hard to make all the residents very comfortable, but I think more staff would make this home a great place for our loved ones.

Was this review helpful?  

Brycen5900 Jul 10, 2018

A doctor gave my mother a flu needle without consulting Bup, Bateay Bay staff or patient medical notes. The flu needle had already been given. Had this been something that could have been fatal, it might have been taken seriously. Bupa's response was that it wasn't their staff, the doctor was naughty, said he'd never done this before and was sorry. That is not the "N" word comes to mind! The doctor did attend the day after. I wonder how many other residents received needles without the knowledge or information of patients records from Bupa staff and whether a bill was submitted to Medicare for the flu needle or follow-up.

Was this review helpful?  1

NotABupaFan May 22, 2017

I agree with Kim and the other reviewers who have given bad reviews. I have concerns that I am being told my mother is settled when I could see the record in front of staff and what her friend was told was the exact opposite. I was concerned to see my mother eating a sandwich for dinner. She may have chosen it due to dementia, can someone with dementia make a correct choice? During a visit from interstate I noticed my mother was wearing the same clothes for 4 days, and appeared to be neglected. The excuses that were given to me differed, and did not ring true. My mothers bed smelled really bad, it was masked with strong scent after I complained. I have no confidence or trust in Bupa Bateau Bay. I am considering moving my mother for forth time, which is not good for a person with dementia.

Was this review helpful?  1

Neha5845 Nov 10, 2016

The food quality is a big concern for residents. I hear complaints like the meat was too tough to cut or it's bland

Was this review helpful?  1

Dan2224 Oct 11, 2015

This facility is very person centered, very clean, very much on the ball with any issues that need addressing, nothing a bother. Lots of activities to suit all levels of engagement the individual resident wants or needs. Great communication so far . I feel secure in the fact my dad is being cared for.

Was this review helpful?  1

Emmanuel1420 May 17, 2015

aweful!

Was this review helpful?  

Kim Wong May 17, 2015

My mother had a stroke 2 years ago which left her visually impaired, unsteady on her feet and she is also in the early stages of dementia. She entered an aged care facility, after a long an arduous search to find the right one. The one we chose appeared to have all that we could ask for, its glossy brochures and the staff we spoke to answered all our questions with the answers we wanted to hear. Unfortunately, after placing my mother there it appears they are under staffed, and the patients are left pretty much to their own devices. While they make a great pretence of asking the patients to choose their menu, it appears they eat nothing more than sandwiches, party pies and salad. Although, my mother is one of the lucky ones as I take her out three times a week and I know she has a decent meal, I have also purchased a frig for her room, so she has fresh fruit, yoghurt and up and go milk shakes to substitute to her lack of a balanced diet. It is the other patients that don't have family support whom I feel very sorry for. I went began to monitor basic needs that weren't being met, such as changing bed linen and cleaning of her room. It is now something I do myself once a week as I am tired of complaining, but once again, my mum is one of the lucky ones, as for the other patients, I am not so sure. There appears to be minimum interaction between the patients, and I blame the staff for this, they feel that by herding them all up and placing them in front of a tv their job is done. I know there are many patients who can't converse, but for the ones that can, I am sure if they were all in a group and a member of staff initiated a conversation about their past they would share stories and laugh together. Over all while I know these facilities are probably doing the best they can do, and they are obviously a necessary need, as we are all living longer, I personally hope I die, before I have to live in one, as I don't want my children to have to do for me, what I am doing for my mum.

Was this review helpful?  8

Facility information, including facility name, operator and location provided courtesy of the Department of Social Service's My Aged Care. All reviews are the personal opinion of the reviewer, and do not necessarily reflect the views of Aged Care Reviews Pty Ltd, and are monitored according to the site's Content Guidelines.

About Bupa Bateau Bay

Welcome to Bupa Bateau Bay. Our home is set in a coastal suburb on the Central Coast of NSW, with accessible public transport links. Our home has onsite parking making it easy and convenient for family and friends to visit.As you walk inside our home, you will find communal areas and activity rooms complete with tasteful decorations, mural walls and indoor plants to create warm and welcoming spaces. Outdoors, our home is surrounded by landscaped gardens, rose bushes and native Australian plants. There is a wooden deck with outdoor furniture and a courtyard with shade sails. For those with a green thumb, we have raised flower beds and veggie patches for your enjoyment. For more information, please visit our website www.bupa.com.au/aged-care/bupa-bateau-bay

Available Rooms

Room Name

Companion

Type

Shared room + shared bathroom

Occupancy

2

No of rooms

1

Room size (sqm)

23.15

Room Description

If you find comfort in the company of others this spacious 23 sqm room with ensuite shared with one other person is ideal. Quality furnishings include an adjustable bed table and chairs a wardrobe and drawers for storage and soft furnishings including curtains blinds and bedding. Residential amenities include an easy-to-use 24 hour nurse call system.

Common Areas Description

As you walk inside our home you will find communal areas and activity rooms complete with tasteful decorations mural walls and indoor plants to create warm and welcoming spaces. Our dining room has large windows to bring in plenty of natural light and has views of the tranquil gardens. We have a cosy living room that is ideal for a quiet space to relax in or catch up with family and friends. We even have a room dedicated to our war veterans with memorabilia framed photos and books its a wonderful space for remembrance. This room also has a computer available for personal use.

Outdoors our home is surrounded by landscaped gardens rose bushes and native Australian plants. There is a wooden deck with outdoor furniture and a courtyard with shade sails. For those with a green thumb we have raised flower beds and veggie patches for your enjoyment.

Room Name

Superior

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

6

Room size (sqm)

11.2

Room Description

This well-appointed 11 sqm room is a comfortable place to call home. Recently refurbished it features a large ensuite bathroom with toilet wash basin shower vanity cabinet and mirror. This room has quality furnishings including an adjustable bed table and chairs a wardrobe and drawers for storage and soft furnishings including curtains blinds and bedding. Residential amenities include an easy-to-use 24 hour nurse call system.

Common Areas Description

As you walk inside our home you will find communal areas and activity rooms complete with tasteful decorations mural walls and indoor plants to create warm and welcoming spaces. Our dining room has large windows to bring in plenty of natural light and has views of the tranquil gardens. We have a cosy living room that is ideal for a quiet space to relax in or catch up with family and friends. We even have a room dedicated to our war veterans with memorabilia framed photos and books its a wonderful space for remembrance. This room also has a computer available for personal use.

Outdoors our home is surrounded by landscaped gardens rose bushes and native Australian plants. There is a wooden deck with outdoor furniture and a courtyard with shade sails. For those with a green thumb we have raised flower beds and veggie patches for your enjoyment.

Room Name

Classic ensuite

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

23

Room size (sqm)

14.79

Room Description

Large bright and sunny this 15 sqm room with private ensuite has high quality furnishings including an adjustable bed table and chairs a wardrobe and drawers for storage and soft furnishings including curtains blinds and bedding. The bathroom consists of a toilet wash basin shower vanity cabinet and mirror. Residential amenities include an easy-to-use 24 hour nurse call system.

Common Areas Description

As you walk inside our home you will find communal areas and activity rooms complete with tasteful decorations mural walls and indoor plants to create warm and welcoming spaces. Our dining room has large windows to bring in plenty of natural light and has views of the tranquil gardens. We have a cosy living room that is ideal for a quiet space to relax in or catch up with family and friends. We even have a room dedicated to our war veterans with memorabilia framed photos and books its a wonderful space for remembrance. This room also has a computer available for personal use.

Outdoors our home is surrounded by landscaped gardens rose bushes and native Australian plants. There is a wooden deck with outdoor furniture and a courtyard with shade sails. For those with a green thumb we have raised flower beds and veggie patches for your enjoyment.

Room Name

Premium

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

27

Room size (sqm)

16.11

Room Description

If you enjoy being outdoors you are bound to enjoy this spacious 16 sqm private ensuite room with doors that open onto an attractive patio area where you can relax and unwind or entertain guests. This room features quality furnishings including an adjustable bed table and chairs a wardrobe and drawers for storage and soft furnishings including curtains blinds and bedding. The bathroom consists of a toilet wash basin shower vanity cabinet and mirror. Residential amenities include an easy-to-use 24 hour nurse call system.

Common Areas Description

As you walk inside our home you will find communal areas and activity rooms complete with tasteful decorations mural walls and indoor plants to create warm and welcoming spaces. Our dining room has large windows to bring in plenty of natural light and has views of the tranquil gardens. We have a cosy living room that is ideal for a quiet space to relax in or catch up with family and friends. We even have a room dedicated to our war veterans with memorabilia framed photos and books its a wonderful space for remembrance. This room also has a computer available for personal use.

Outdoors our home is surrounded by landscaped gardens rose bushes and native Australian plants. There is a wooden deck with outdoor furniture and a courtyard with shade sails. For those with a green thumb we have raised flower beds and veggie patches for your enjoyment.

Aged Care Directory
My Account