Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Bupa Baulkham Hills

3 15 Reviews | Write a Review

Operator Average Quality
(259 Reviews)

Room Vacancies:

Residential Accommodation Deposit:

Resident or Service User Review

Tour Review

  • Quality of information provided
  • Helpfulness of staff
  • Quality of ambiance & general environment
  • Overall quality
  • Quality of building
  • Quality of staff & care
  • Quality of food
  • Quality of lifestyle & wellbeing
  • Overall quality
One last thing...
The Power of Knowing
Send this listing to a friend
Get more information
Get more information
Enquiry
Like to book a tour?
Tour Booking
Review Bupa Baulkham Hills
15 reviews sorted by Date Rating Type
Jarod654 Oct 04, 2018

The dementia area reeked of urine and the stair access was very dirty

Was this review helpful?  1

Sophia6275 Sep 25, 2018

The care started out good when it was new but deteriorated quickly. At the end when my Dad was dying and we were told by hospital to comfort feed Dad, Bupa wouldn’t do it. They kept trying to feed him thick gluggy food which he wouldn’t eat. The staff were very young and inexperienced in many areas. They did not know how to suction food out of my Dad’s mouth when necessary. They didn’t sit him up for feeding times. They gave him huge mouthful after huge mouthful and didn’t give him time to eat it. They wouldn’t give my Dad supplements we found helped him but lied and told us they did. Dad was left sitting in soiled and/or wet disposable undergarments for hours from the very early days at the aged care facility. We overheard them showering my Dad one day and they weren’t aware we had arrived and they were speaking horribly to him. Before he got very sick they didn’t take the time to feed my Dad. They would give up after 2 mouthfuls. Dad lost much weight. They dressed him haphazardly and didn’t care how he looked. He hardly ever went on the outings. They said it was because he was in a wheelchair! We had to have meeting after meeting to get them to do anything hospital had recommended and then most of the time they refused. The matron was a very unapproachable, stubborn and unfeeling woman. It made the end of my Dad’s life very difficult for him and we his family too. Not a very good first experience with aged care at all. I would rather die than go into aged care myself after seeing how my Dad was treated. Sadly I’m sure he would have preferred it too!

Was this review helpful?  1

Clara6255 Sep 25, 2018

The building is fine,the care staff depends on who is on, the food is average often not fresh, activities are abysmal,often cancelled often inappropriate for residents and not enough

Was this review helpful?  2

Duncan6090 Aug 05, 2017

The care provided to my mother for a number of years was always compassionate - she was treated as you would treat your own mother/father. Mum was shown the highest degree of love and care.

Was this review helpful?  1

Krista7313 Oct 13, 2015

I feel my father aged 95 years is being cared for far better than he has been in years, since he moved into aged care 4mths ago.He has nothing but good comments to make about his carers , this from a man who has not been easy to live with.The facility he is in is always clean and very pleasant to visit.The only thing I would like is to see some changes in his diet but am hoping to work on that. Thanks Bupa for caring for my Dad.

Was this review helpful?  3

Lorna1542 Jul 19, 2015

Do not be fooled by the way this place looks. The care is terrible and if you must put a relative in here, make sure you have your own doctor as the medical care is non existent. I lost count of the times that I walked into the lounge to see the residents watching a blank tv screen or the Foxtel installation instructions. This place is purely about revenue.

Was this review helpful?  6

Queenie3949 Jul 12, 2015

My mum entered the facility early this year. We are all so happy with the decision we made to place mum here. The staff are amazing!! The RN's keep us well informed, AIN's are very caring and friendly. All the management are friendly and approachable. Having an on site Dr is a benefit and he too is approachable. Mum is always entertained, wide range of activities, and the RAO's are great. The food is of very high quality. The building is amazing and very clean. I would highly recommend this facility.

Was this review helpful?  

CraigW Jul 01, 2015

I put my pop into the facility at the beginning of the year. He loves it there. He has made heaps of friends with other residents. The staff are amazing and go above and beyond to make sure that he is comfortable and not lonely. The food is great, so much better that other facilities that I've seen, and he has put on heaps of weight, which is great. The environment is very clean and smells fresh. I must say that it is a joy to visit my pop at such a great place and to know that he is getting the best care. Would definitely recommend the facility.

Was this review helpful?  

Graham Jun 18, 2015

Despite repeated requests made to the facility over more than a year to do a number of essential things, such as: 1. change my mother-in-law after she's soiled herself 2. clean food from her trolley table and faeces from her bathroom handle 3. assist her to eat 4. open the window blinds opposite her favourite chair in the lounge 5. allow her access to the garden 6. ensure there is interesting entertainment on the TV none of these things is done except very rarely.

Was this review helpful?  1

ONE OF THE FAMILY May 31, 2015

OVERALL QUALITY OF FOOD AND CARE IS FANTASTIC. THERE ARE PEOPLE WHO COMPLAIN ABOUT ANYTHING AND EVERYTHING BUT I'M HAPPY FOR MY MOTHER AND SHE ENJOY THE ENVIRONMENT OF THIS FACILITY . THANKS YOU EVERYONE

Was this review helpful?  

Baterentacrowd May 22, 2015

We have been blessed to have gotten our father into the Bupa aged care at baulk ham hills.. the staff are amazing and we know they actually care about their residents.

Was this review helpful?  

Sarai8705 May 21, 2015

Twelve months ago I was faced with the decision no wife wants to make !...My husband of sixty years required full time nursing care.My husband now resides at Bupa Baulkham Hills,our home away from home. I would like to take this opportunity to thank the staff at Bupa for helping to make this transition in our lives easier than myself and extended family expected.The care and compassion shown to our family is greatly appreciated The staff are always professional with a loving and caring manner. As I am on my own now I take the opportunity to eat lunch with my husband every day "the food and the variety of food is great !" This keeps our children happy as they know I too are eating well. The activities are always there for those interested in participating we have shared some great times with our new found friends Looking forward to the next twelve months!!! Thankyou Bupa Baulkham Hills.

Was this review helpful?  

MyMothersSon Feb 27, 2015

This place is truly dreadful. Yes it is pretty, but that is the only positive. The staff are extremely disinterested and do have trouble communicating with the residents. Care and attention is variable, but mostly very, very poor. The food is awful and servings minimal. The residents have to compete for food like bananas and yoghourt. Meanwhile, the fruit bowl is overflowing with hard inedible apples. The staff do not seem to understand what elderly people are able to eat. Trips away are not announced, cancelled at the last moment and are very limited as the bus holds 8 people. Recently the trips have been no more than a drive around for an hour or two, no stops, no destination. We did try talking to management, but were simply handed a whole lot of corporate babble. It has become clear to us that this establishment is actively and cleverly marketed to relatives while operating primarily for corporate revenue generatiion. Care is the minimum required to ensure the income stream for BUPA continues. Do not even consider this place for any of your relatives. We are actively searching for an alternative for my mother.

Was this review helpful?  1

Distressed Daughter Nov 19, 2014

Although a lovely looking facility with all mod cons, the care of residents is sub-standard. Staff who do not understand their residents needs. Inexperienced nursing staff lacking knowledge of basic medical requirements of the elderly. Management that say they are listening and will make changes but never do. Repeatedly have to complain with no outcome. Problems with staff answering call button/help button and don't answer them for long periods of time. Activities calandar that is not adhered to which seems to be generated only to satisfy family who then think all these activities are going on for their loved ones. Needs much improvements and more stringent protocols, policies and procedures. Very disappointing.

Was this review helpful?  

Wellington8549 Oct 26, 2014

Residents hate the place. Staff disinterested and bored. Food dreadful.

Was this review helpful?  

Facility information, including facility name, operator and location provided courtesy of the Department of Social Service's My Aged Care. All reviews are the personal opinion of the reviewer, and do not necessarily reflect the views of Aged Care Reviews Pty Ltd, and are monitored according to the site's Content Guidelines.

About Bupa Baulkham Hills

Welcome to Bupa Baulkham Hills. Our beautiful new home is set in the heart of the Hills district of Sydney. You'll be close to the local community with a neighbouring school, church and parks nearby.If you love the great outdoors then we think you'll feel right at home at Bupa Baulkham Hills. Our outdoor areas include landscaped gardens with shade sails that are ideal for taking a stroll or relaxing and catching up with family and friends. There are also several courtyards for you to take advantage of. Indoors, we have a delightful range of communal areas and activity rooms. These are designed with you in mind, complete with tasteful decorations and large windows to bring in plenty of natural light.For more information, please visit our website www.bupa.com.au/aged-care/bupa-baulkham-hills

Available Rooms

Room Name

Superior

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

122

Room size (sqm)

17.78

Room Description

This delightful 18 sqm private room with ensuite bathroom overlooks our beautiful gardens or charming courtyard. Modern and welcoming the room features high quality furnishings including an adjustable bed arm chair an over-the-bed table storage of a wardrobe and drawers. Bathroom consists of a toilet wash basin shower and mirror. Residential amenities include access to a registered nurse 24 hours a day and an easy-to-use nurse call system.

Common Areas Description

Our beautiful new home is set in the heart of the Hills district of Sydney. Youll be close to the local community with a neighbouring school church and parks nearby.

If you love the great outdoors then we think youll feel right at home at Bupa Baulkham Hills. Our outdoor areas include landscaped gardens with shade sails that are ideal for taking a stroll or relaxing and catching up with family and friends. There are also several courtyards for you to take advantage of.

Indoors we have a delightful range of communal areas and activity rooms. These are designed with you in mind complete with tasteful decorations and large windows to bring in plenty of natural light.

Room Name

Classic

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

14

Room size (sqm)

17.78

Room Description

Warmth and comfort greet you as you step into this 18 sqm private room with ensuite bathroom. This room features high quality furnishings including an adjustable bed arm chair an over-the-bed table storage of a wardrobe and drawers. Bathroom consists of a toilet wash basin shower and mirror. Residential amenities include access to a registered nurse 24 hours a day and an easy-to-use nurse call system.

Common Areas Description

Our beautiful new home is set in the heart of the Hills district of Sydney. Youll be close to the local community with a neighbouring school church and parks nearby.

If you love the great outdoors then we think youll feel right at home at Bupa Baulkham Hills. Our outdoor areas include landscaped gardens with shade sails that are ideal for taking a stroll or relaxing and catching up with family and friends. There are also several courtyards for you to take advantage of.

Indoors we have a delightful range of communal areas and activity rooms. These are designed with you in mind complete with tasteful decorations and large windows to bring in plenty of natural light.

Room Name

Premium

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

8

Room size (sqm)

17.78

Room Description

If you enjoy being outdoors then you will love this 18 sqm private ensuite room. This modern welcoming room opens onto a patio area where you can relax and admire the beautiful courtyard views. High quality furnishings include an adjustable bed arm chair an over-the-bed table storage of a wardrobe and drawers. Bathroom consists of a toilet wash basin shower and mirror. Residential amenities include an easy-to-use 24 hour nurse call system.

Common Areas Description

Our beautiful new home is set in the heart of the Hills district of Sydney. Youll be close to the local community with a neighbouring school church and parks nearby.

If you love the great outdoors then we think youll feel right at home at Bupa Baulkham Hills. Our outdoor areas include landscaped gardens with shade sails that are ideal for taking a stroll or relaxing and catching up with family and friends. There are also several courtyards for you to take advantage of.

Indoors we have a delightful range of communal areas and activity rooms. These are designed with you in mind complete with tasteful decorations and large windows to bring in plenty of natural light.

Aged Care Directory
My Account