Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Bupa Caulfield

3.17 13 Reviews | Write a Review

Operator Average Quality
(257 Reviews)

Room Vacancies:

Residential Accommodation Deposit:

Resident or Service User Review

Tour Review

  • Quality of information provided
  • Helpfulness of staff
  • Quality of ambiance & general environment
  • Overall quality
  • Quality of building
  • Quality of staff & care
  • Quality of food
  • Quality of lifestyle & wellbeing
  • Overall quality
One last thing...
The Power of Knowing
Send this listing to a friend
Get more information
Get more information
Enquiry
Like to book a tour?
Tour Booking
Review Bupa Caulfield
13 reviews sorted by Date Rating Type
Flossie6469 Dec 18, 2018

While my mother was a resident on Ascot ward level 2, she was deemed to have dementia and segragated away from the main dining room into the adjoining TV room with 16 other frail residents. Priority was given to serve hot meals to the main dining room residents first.The meals for the 16 frail residents were left on a trolley for up to 1/2 an hour and were served every day cold from the freed up main dining room staff. This was a common problem in the evenings and when I would visit and complain I was told they're short of staff and "use the nearby microwave oven to reheat your mother's meal". Cold meals were also served to the bedridden residents who came third in the pecking order. The textured meals looked like glug and unappealing.BUPA Caulfield refused to hire agency staff if a carer worker rang in sick, and pressure was put by management on present carers to work double shifts - often afternoons into evenings and evenings into overnight i.e. 16 hour combined shifts. Only one registered nurse employed overnight to service the 120 roomed residents 3 storey complex To handle resident's falls delerium etc

Was this review helpful?  

Nakia8666 Oct 03, 2018

The quality of care provided was excellent. All staff provided a very high level of care and attention to the resident. The building facility was average but clean and comfortable. My mother was a resident until her death a few days ago. She quickly felt at home at Bupa Caulfield which was in large part due to the attention and care of the staff and the manner in which they introduced her to other residents. The care provided in her final few days as kind, considerate and very respectful.

Was this review helpful?  

Aric8357 Sep 25, 2018

Over all very good but bathroom could be cleaned more often and price of medications/ vitamins too high

Was this review helpful?  

Jaiden5330 Sep 25, 2018

I felt my mother was very well cared for in her aged care facility. A few minor things we weren’t completely happy but was addressed when discussed

Was this review helpful?  

Walker2834 Mar 13, 2018

During My Uncle’s 3 years at Bupa Caulfield he had numerous problems with gum infections because his teeth were often not cleaned properly. He also had numerous infections occur on a supra pubic catheter; it required bi-daily swabbing with betadene. My Aunt had looked after him during the early years of dementia and never had either of these problems. There were also problems with monitoring an aggressive resident where this particular resident invaded my Uncles room. In another incident a staff member had her dog in the facility. I observed the dog dragging it’s anus on the carpet, a sign of worms or other infection. When I suggested the dog be dealt with and removed I was blamed for causing problems. Management attitude was always to try to find fault with the complainant. We had lots of sit down meetings with management; they would say their platitudes and nothing would change. Problem seems to be due lack of staff time, training and level of english. He was in an extra services facility During his last couple of weeks staff organised medical treatment, and attempted to feed him, contrary to the orders and advance directives. It was extremely bad as it extended his end days and his difficulties. Very bad experience for his wife.

Was this review helpful?  

Amira6378 Apr 19, 2017

My great Aunt Dorothy chose this facility to live the end of her life in the quality of care was so low that my mother flew down from NSW and my aunt from far north Queensland ( a registered nurse ) to be with her until she passed away because we distrusted the staff so little. She was left laying prone in agony on bedpans for over an hour Handled roughly and without care while being turned, writhing in agony the staff would handle her like a sack of potatoes Her morphine was so badly mismanaged that she would suffer instead of being at peace, The care was abysmal and i hope anyone who reads this rethinks admitting their loved ones into this place. SHAME ON YOU.

Was this review helpful?  3

Bryon9437 Apr 19, 2016

My mother was well looked after and they have great activities.

Was this review helpful?  

Melba1738 Dec 29, 2015

Aged care can be better not enougj staff.over all my mum is being well looked after she has dementia so iit makes me sad when I go to visit her.

Was this review helpful?  1

Morton6639 Sep 28, 2015

in 2008, my mother was admitted for 2 weeks respite, I visited her every day, the food was served cold, there was no one to help ,at the dinning table, when I complained, that the food is being served cold, and there was no help aid, the manager approached me, and told me to go home, the staff was complaining, i could hear them in the next room, and unfortunately my mother had a stroke three days later, and they rang me,straight away, but don;t you thin, they should have rang an ambulance first?????, the home looks lovely inside and out, which makes it very deceiving,

Was this review helpful?  1

mckinnon1 Jun 03, 2015

Great friendly staff, good activities, informative

Was this review helpful?  

Alex Eastgate May 16, 2015

My review is for Bupa, South Caulfield. My Mother was here for two years. She passed away 2013. I found Bupa to be very professional, easy to contact and have a lot of feed back. Outings were arranged by their own Bus. The rooms and the interior was always very clean and smelt very fresh. They would contact me straight away if something was not right. The out door ares were well maintained and plenty of choose where to sit. Under cover parking.

Was this review helpful?  3

Sydnee1607 Apr 01, 2015

My nieces father-in-law suffering dementia and grief after the loss of his wife was admitted into an Aged Care Facility to be cared for in a Dementia Secure Unit. He was well looked after by thoroughly professional and caring staff at all levels. The environment allowed him to "be himself" within a controlled yet "homelike" atmosphere. The family could not fault any experiences of his stay and I, as a retired Executive Professional who had worked the last 15 years within the Aged Care Sector myself, can also offer praise to the Organization that he was part of for over 15 months. When ever I visited him the whole atmosphere of the facility was always welcoming, well maintained with obvious caring staff who afforded their residents with expertise clinically but more importantly dignity at all times.

Was this review helpful?  

Eugene3300 May 03, 2014

Hambel court is a very pleasant place for my Dad to spend probably the rest of his life . Mum died 3 years ago , dad was very reliant on her and we all worried about him( 3 other sisters) looking after himself. The staff are amazing!! Very friendly and kind, dad couldn't be happier. only downside is the FOOD they need to remember older people do still have Tastebuds and meal times should be a healthy and tasty as well as social time!! Sometimes this would be the highlight of someone's day!! That's my only criticism!!

Was this review helpful?  

Facility information, including facility name, operator and location provided courtesy of the Department of Social Service's My Aged Care. All reviews are the personal opinion of the reviewer, and do not necessarily reflect the views of Aged Care Reviews Pty Ltd, and are monitored according to the site's Content Guidelines.

About Bupa Caulfield

Set in a leafy bayside suburb in Victoria, our lively home is close to the bay and local cultural community links. Bupa Caulfield has public transport nearby, making our home easily accessible with train and bus services close by.When you enter our home, you will find a range of communal areas that are complete with tasteful decorations to create warm and welcoming spaces. Our dining rooms have large windows to bring in plenty of natural light, while our cosy living room is ideal for a quiet space to relax in or catch up with family and friends.Outdoors, our home is surrounded by landscaped gardens that are brimming with flowers. We have a covered courtyard with table and chairs, a BBQ area and for those with a green thumb, we have raised flower beds and veggie patches for your enjoyment.For more information, visit www.bupa.com.au/aged-care

Available Rooms

Room Name

Premium

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

5

Room size (sqm)

14.51

Room Description

Make yourself at home in this spacious 15 sqm private ensuite room. The focal point of this room is the large windows that bring in plenty of natural light and frame the attractive garden views. It features high quality furnishings that are modern and include an adjustable bed arm chair a wardrobe and drawers for storage dressing table and soft furnishings like curtains blinds and bedding. The bathroom consists of a toilet wash basin shower vanity cabinet and mirror. Residential amenities include an easy-to-use 24 hour nurse call system.

Common Areas Description

Set in a leafy bayside suburb in Victoria our lively home is close to the bay and local cultural community links. Bupa Caulfield has public transport nearby making our home easily accessible with train and bus services close by.

When you enter our home you will find a range of communal areas that are complete with tasteful decorations to create warm and welcoming spaces. Our dining rooms have large windows to bring in plenty of natural light while our cosy living room is ideal for a quiet space to relax in or catch up with family and friends.

Outdoors our home is surrounded by landscaped gardens that are brimming with flowers. We have a covered courtyard with table and chairs a BBQ area and for those with a green thumb we have raised flower beds and veggie patches for your enjoyment.

Room Name

Companion

Type

Shared room + shared bathroom

Occupancy

2

No of rooms

1

Room size (sqm)

20

Room Description

If you find comfort in the company of others this 20 sqm room shared with one other person is ideal. This spacious room has high quality furnishings including an adjustable bed arm chair a wardrobe and drawers for storage dressing table and soft furnishings like curtains blinds and bedding. The shared ensuite bathroom consists of a toilet wash basin shower vanity cabinet and mirror. Residential amenities include an easy-to-use 24 hour nurse call system.

Common Areas Description

Set in a leafy bayside suburb in Victoria our lively home is close to the bay and local cultural community links. Bupa Caulfield has public transport nearby making our home easily accessible with train and bus services close by. When you enter our home you will find a range of communal areas that are complete with tasteful decorations to create warm and welcoming spaces. Our dining rooms have large windows to bring in plenty of natural light while our cosy living room is ideal for a quiet space to relax in or catch up with family and friends. Outdoors our home is surrounded by landscaped gardens that are brimming with flowers. We have a covered courtyard with table and chairs a BBQ area and for those with a green thumb we have raised flower beds and veggie patches for your enjoyment.

Room Name

Superior

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

108

Room size (sqm)

13.2

Room Description

Warm and welcoming this well-appointed 13 sqm private room has a modern ensuite bathroom. The room has high quality furnishings including an adjustable bed arm chair a wardrobe and drawers for storage dressing table and soft furnishings like curtains blinds and bedding. The bathroom consists of a toilet wash basin shower vanity cabinet and mirror. Residential amenities include an easy-to-use 24 hour nurse call system.

Common Areas Description

When you enter our home you will find a range of communal areas that are complete with tasteful decorations to create warm and welcoming spaces. Our dining rooms have large windows to bring in plenty of natural light while our cosy living room is ideal for a quiet space to relax in or catch up with family and friends.Outdoors our home is surrounded by landscaped gardens that are brimming with flowers. We have a covered courtyard with table and chairs a BBQ area and for those with a green thumb we have raised flower beds and veggie patches for your enjoyment.

Room Name

Classic

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

12

Room size (sqm)

11.28

Room Description

Youll be comfortable in this 11 sqm private ensuite room. This delightful room has high quality furnishings including an adjustable bed arm chair a wardrobe and drawers for storage dressing table and soft furnishings like curtains blinds and bedding. The bathroom consists of a toilet wash basin shower vanity cabinet and mirror. Residential amenities include an easy-to-use 24 hour nurse call system.

Common Areas Description

Set in a leafy bayside suburb in Victoria our lively home is close to the bay and local cultural community links. Bupa Caulfield has public transport nearby making our home easily accessible with train and bus services close by. When you enter our home you will find a range of communal areas that are complete with tasteful decorations to create warm and welcoming spaces. Our dining rooms have large windows to bring in plenty of natural light while our cosy living room is ideal for a quiet space to relax in or catch up with family and friends. Outdoors our home is surrounded by landscaped gardens that are brimming with flowers. We have a covered courtyard with table and chairs a BBQ area and for those with a green thumb we have raised flower beds and veggie patches for your enjoyment.

Aged Care Directory
My Account