Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Bupa Pottsville Beach

2.44 9 Reviews | Write a Review

Operator Average Quality
(266 Reviews)

Room Vacancies:

Residential Accommodation Deposit:

Resident or Service User Review

Tour Review

  • Quality of information provided
  • Helpfulness of staff
  • Quality of ambiance & general environment
  • Overall quality
  • Quality of building
  • Quality of staff & care
  • Quality of food
  • Quality of lifestyle & wellbeing
  • Overall quality
One last thing...
The Power of Knowing
Send this listing to a friend
Get more information
Get more information
Enquiry
Like to book a tour?
Tour Booking
Review Bupa Pottsville Beach
9 reviews sorted by Date Rating Type
Nick514 Jul 06, 2019

We were made a lot of promises by the person doing admissions when my mother was in for respite which sounded great. It was what we were looking for. None of them were carried out. At one stage they didn’t even have food for her, they ‘forgot’. They agreed that all prescriptions and medical needs would be supplied by me and yet we’ve received a bill from a pharmacy we refuse to deal with. They can pay it to make up for the missed meal and unfulfilled promises.

Was this review helpful?  

Selina5262 Apr 11, 2019

My mother and I thought the facility was lovely, but after a few weeks there she was forced to eat at a table with a woman who stole her food, put it in her mouth, then put it back on her plate. There was nobody to converse with over meals. She asked to be moved to another table and they said 'someone has to sit here'. She took her cup of tea back to her room and they abused her and told her she had to eat at the table. When she soiled herself accidentally, they left her for over an hour before attending to her. When I complained, they told me the staff was 'very busy' and 'there are other patients with needs'. There was a request on file (for very good reason) that a certain relative not be permitted to be alone with her. We feared emotional abuse. Well, they ignored the request and there was emotional abuse. And when complained they said they were 'too busy' to supervise every visitor. The biggest upset for me was when she was dying. They lied about her condition and would not allow me to be with her. Her biggest fear was dying alone but they said it was 'policy' not to allow anyone in the room with dying patients. On admission, they lied about the costs. After she was admitted and settled in a room, they demanded more payment and when I objected they moved her to another room right above the laundry. The noise drove her mad. She repeatedly asked to be moved but they refused. Overall, despite a very attractive building, excellent quality food, and some excellent staff, the standard of care was very poor indeed.

Was this review helpful?  3

Enola9955 Sep 25, 2018

My mother has been in the nursing home for 4 months. During that time she has had 6 falls. Has split her head open requiring stitches and has broken her hip. She is now in a wheelchair. She get slapped by another resident and gets her hair pulled.

Was this review helpful?  

SteepSix Jan 10, 2018

Incomprehensibly disjointed and slap-dash service. I would not recommend this service to an enemy. They have no idea how to provide a consistent service. Took two weeks of pleading to provide a special diet. Urine and feces on floor and blanket was only cleaned when pointed out by visiting family. They use adult diapers to save toilet need vigilance. They got our old address despite sitting for an hour to fill out intake forms, neglected pharmaceutical benefits which left us with an unnecessary bill. No, I would not recommend this place if you love your aging family member even a little. Shocking neglectfulness of obvious needs and impossible to satisfactorily deal with once admission is complete. Will NEVER use this service again!

Was this review helpful?  1

Desiree6809 Aug 11, 2017

Recently we put Mum in for Respite, she was very reluctant to go as she had never been into any Aged Care Facility before. For the months leading up we visited the Facility at least three times, checking on Mum's placement and where she would be located. The day we arrived they put mum into a totally different location which was behind a key pad door, I could not believe Bupa Pottsville would do that. They initially advised me she would be moved to the correct location the next day, but then I received another call from another person said she would not be moved for another two days. Mum hadn't received a shower and I was told she didn't want one, I have known my mother for 54 years and I can tell you she loves her morning showers. Mum is very frail with poor mobility and they had her in a room where there would be no way she could open the door even if she wanted to. She was also so far away from activities and other like minded people. My main reason for mum going into the facility was that my sister and I were travelling overseas and wanted her to have more company. Mum only spent one night in Bupa Pottsville, I cannot believe the stress that Mum and we went through..............never again!

Was this review helpful?  

disappointedrelative Jul 31, 2017

Looked great on early inspection and for the first few weeks, but care deteriorated dramatically over time and was very poor in the last month. Some staff were very dedicated, but it seemed staffing was inadequate and some staff were not very caring at all.

Was this review helpful?  

Desmond5364 Mar 14, 2016

My dear father in law was cared for extremely well by Bupa. He was always so happy when we visited and got on very well with the caring staff.

Was this review helpful?  

Katrina Aitken Mar 10, 2016

My mum received the kindest and most respectful care ever at Bupa Pottsville Beach. She had been in another one n Canberra for 12 months which was a lot more expensive, however the level of care was poor. She was so unhappy there, and I was able to get her into Pottsville in September. Although she only lived 100 days there before she passed away on 2/1/2016 she was so happy there. The carers were so kind to her and every staff member I dealt with were helpful. We felt so blessed that she was in a place that put their residents first. Thank you Everyone at Bupa Pottsville for caring for my mummy.

Was this review helpful?  

Worrieddaughter May 11, 2015

My mother, 89, moved in three months ago. It looked good and promised much. I blamed government policy for the high costs, but later discovered that wasn't quite fair. I feel seriously misled over costs and wronged over accommodation allocation that has placed my mother in a most unsatisfactory room. I'm furious that requests to move her have been ignored despite availability, while others who made later requests have been indulged. Meals are great. Activities are poor and she is bored stiff and lonely. Overall care is quite good, but she has been denied sleeping pills despite them being prescribed and purchased for her and her health is failing fast as a result of lack of sleep. Herbal comforts have been confiscated without consultation. Disturbing signs of injury or skin sores are untreated, with staff claiming ''she was asleep when the doctor visited''. Security is poor and she's had valuables stolen and been physically attacked by another patient. I see a lot of room for improvement in the system generally, and I'm pleased to see innovation resulting in facilities like Fairways, Tweed Heads, where people can retain more independence and control over their lives. Old people are not necessarily incompetent, and shouldn't be treated as such. If they can self-medicate and the doctor agrees they are capable, they should be allowed to. And aged care facilities should provide locked rooms and keys for residents, and ensure that service pipes, machinery, etc. do not create excessive noise or vibration that upsets residents who pay hefty fees for what can prove to be grossly inferior accommodation.

Was this review helpful?  

Facility information, including facility name, operator and location provided courtesy of the Department of Social Service's My Aged Care. All reviews are the personal opinion of the reviewer, and do not necessarily reflect the views of Aged Care Reviews Pty Ltd, and are monitored according to the site's Content Guidelines.

About Bupa Pottsville Beach

Welcome to Bupa Pottsville Beach. The award winning and architecturally designed care home was completed in 2009 and finished with all the finest fittings and fixtures. Set in the traditional holiday village on the North Coast of New South Wales, we're only a short walk to a creek and beach. Outdoors you will find lush tropical gardens and non-slip concrete walking paths, perfect for taking a morning or afternoon stroll. We also have a pleasant, sheltered area for alfresco dining for your enjoyment.Indoors our cosy lounges and dining areas are filled with tasteful decorations that provide a welcoming and comfortable place to call home. We also have a delightful range of activity areas, including an art and craft room, a café and library. You can even get pampered with our very own hair salon, or relax with a massage from our therapist.For more information, please visit our website www.bupa.com.au/aged-care/bupa-pottsville-beach

Available Rooms

Room Name

Premium Plus

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

3

Room size (sqm)

27

Room Description

This extremely spacious 27 sqm private room with ensuite bathroom gives you plenty of space to decorate and bring your personality to life in your own comfortable surrounds. You can admire the tranquil views from the convenience of your room and experience the outdoors as you please with doors that open onto a bright balcony. High quality furnishings include an adjustable bed chair an over-the-bed table storage of a wardrobe drawers and soft furnishings including curtains and bedding. The bathroom consists of a toilet wash basin shower and mirror. Residential amenities include an easy-to-use 24 hour nurse call system.

Common Areas Description

The award winning and architecturally designed care home was completed in 2009 and finished with all the finest fittings and fixtures. Set in the traditional holiday village on the North Coast of New South Wales were only a short walk to a creek and beach.

Outdoors you will find lush tropical gardens and non-slip concrete walking paths perfect for taking a morning or afternoon stroll. We also have a pleasant sheltered area for alfresco dining for your enjoyment.

Meanwhile indoors our cosy lounges and dining areas are filled with tasteful decorations that provide a welcoming and comfortable place to call home. We also have a delightful range of activity areas including an art and crafts room a caf and library. You can even get pampered with our very own hair salon or relax with a massage from our therapist.

Room Name

Companion

Type

Shared room + ensuite

Occupancy

2

No of rooms

1

Room size (sqm)

27

Room Description

This 27 sqm room has all the touches to feel right at home with a modern ensuite bathroom and patio area. This room is shared with one other person. High quality furnishings include an adjustable bed chair an over-the-bed table storage of a wardrobe drawers and soft furnishings like curtains and bedding. The bathroom consists of a toilet wash basin shower and mirror. Residential amenities include an easy-to-use 24 hours a day nurse call system.

Common Areas Description

The award winning and architecturally designed care home was completed in 2009 and finished with all the finest fittings and fixtures. Set in the traditional holiday village on the North Coast of New South Wales were only a short walk to a creek and beach.

Outdoors you will find lush tropical gardens and non-slip concrete walking paths perfect for taking a morning or afternoon stroll. We also have a pleasant sheltered area for alfresco dining for your enjoyment.

Meanwhile indoors our cosy lounges and dining areas are filled with tasteful decorations that provide a welcoming and comfortable place to call home. We also have a delightful range of activity areas including an art and crafts room a caf and library. You can even get pampered with our very own hair salon or relax with a massage from our therapist.

Room Name

Premium

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

11

Room size (sqm)

13.74

Room Description

If you enjoy the outdoors then youll enjoy this spacious 14 sqm private room with ensuite bathroom. This modern welcoming room opens onto a patio area where you can relax and admire the tranquil views. High quality furnishings include an adjustable bed chair an over-the-bed table storage of a wardrobe drawers and soft furnishings like curtains and bedding. The bathroom consists of a toilet wash basin shower and mirror. Residential amenities include an easy-to-use 24 hours a day nurse call system.

Common Areas Description

The award winning and architecturally designed care home was completed in 2009 and finished with all the finest fittings and fixtures. Set in the traditional holiday village on the North Coast of New South Wales were only a short walk to a creek and beach.

Outdoors you will find lush tropical gardens and non-slip concrete walking paths perfect for taking a morning or afternoon stroll. We also have a pleasant sheltered area for alfresco dining for your enjoyment.

Meanwhile indoors our cosy lounges and dining areas are filled with tasteful decorations that provide a welcoming and comfortable place to call home. We also have a delightful range of activity areas including an art and crafts room a caf and library. You can even get pampered with our very own hair salon or relax with a massage from our therapist.

Room Name

Superior

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

106

Room size (sqm)

13.41

Room Description

Comfort awaits you as you step into this 13 sqm private room complete with a well-appointed ensuite bathroom and patio area. This modern room has high quality furnishings including an adjustable bed chair an over-the-bed table storage of a wardrobe drawers and soft furnishings like curtains and bedding. The bathroom consists of a toilet wash basin shower and mirror. Residential amenities include an easy-to-use 24 hours a day nurse call system.

Common Areas Description

The award winning and architecturally designed care home was completed in 2009 and finished with all the finest fittings and fixtures. Set in the traditional holiday village on the North Coast of New South Wales were only a short walk to a creek and beach.

Outdoors you will find lush tropical gardens and non-slip concrete walking paths perfect for taking a morning or afternoon stroll. We also have a pleasant sheltered area for alfresco dining for your enjoyment.

Meanwhile indoors our cosy lounges and dining areas are filled with tasteful decorations that provide a welcoming and comfortable place to call home. We also have a delightful range of activity areas including an art and crafts room a caf and library. You can even get pampered with our very own hair salon or relax with a massage from our therapist.

Room Name

Classic

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

29

Room size (sqm)

13.44

Room Description

Welcoming and comfortable this 13 sqm private room is complete with ensuite bathroom. High quality furnishings include an adjustable bed chair an over-the-bed table storage of a wardrobe drawers and soft furnishings like curtains and bedding. The bathroom consists of a toilet wash basin shower and mirror. Residential amenities include an easy-to-use 24 hours a day nurse call system.

Common Areas Description

The award winning and architecturally designed care home was completed in 2009 and finished with all the finest fittings and fixtures. Set in the traditional holiday village on the North Coast of New South Wales were only a short walk to a creek and beach.

Outdoors you will find lush tropical gardens and non-slip concrete walking paths perfect for taking a morning or afternoon stroll. We also have a pleasant sheltered area for alfresco dining for your enjoyment.

Meanwhile indoors our cosy lounges and dining areas are filled with tasteful decorations that provide a welcoming and comfortable place to call home. We also have a delightful range of activity areas including an art and crafts room a caf and library. You can even get pampered with our very own hair salon or relax with a massage from our therapist.

Aged Care Directory
My Account