Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Calvary Mt Carmel Retirement Community

4.55 11 Reviews | Write a Review

Operator Average Quality
(35 Reviews)

Room Vacancies:

Residential Accommodation Deposit:

Resident or Service User Review

Tour Review

  • Quality of information provided
  • Helpfulness of staff
  • Quality of ambiance & general environment
  • Overall quality
  • Quality of building
  • Quality of staff & care
  • Quality of food
  • Quality of lifestyle & wellbeing
  • Overall quality
One last thing...
The Power of Knowing
Send this listing to a friend
Get more information
Get more information
Enquiry
Like to book a tour?
Tour Booking
Review Calvary Mt Carmel Retirement Community
11 reviews sorted by Date Rating Type
Jose5401 Aug 01, 2017

My mother has been a resident for over 6 years and the staff have been very caring and coped very well with Mum's changing needs over the years. They communicate well with her and our family and involve us in any decision making. We are extremely happy with our choice of residential aged care for her.

Was this review helpful?  

Anna2929 Jul 31, 2017

it is such a wonderful place every resident is treated with respect and dignity

Was this review helpful?  

SIL Mar 15, 2016

My mother-in-law has lived at Mt Carmel for the passed five years. We have been extremely happy with the care she is being given. When we need care we will be looking forward to being at Mt Carmel.

Was this review helpful?  1

Patch Mar 03, 2016

Very happy with all aspects of care and wellbeing from management and staff.

Was this review helpful?  

Jaydon6862 Feb 24, 2016

My mother-in-law has only been in this facility for over 2 years and the staff have been so helpful and she have beautiful views of the country when she is out on her little balcony.

Was this review helpful?  

Calvary Retirement Communities

Thank you for your great feedback. As part of our household model of care we strive to provide quality service for our residents and their families in a home-like environment. We are glad to hear your mother-in-law enjoys our beautiful farmland views. Kind regards, Maree Gibbs Manager
Feb 29, 2016

Eila Feb 18, 2016

The staff are very caring, they go to lots of effort on special occasion with decoration and includes all hostel members as it is their special day. Most of the staff have sense of humour and get dressed up for fun. They also dance with people they care about and respect. I have no problem in saying Mt Carmel is one of the best facilities in our area.

Was this review helpful?  

Calvary Retirement Communities

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. We are very pleased to read your feedback, as one of our main goals is to organise interesting and diverse activities tailored to the needs of each of our residents. Our staff dedicate their entire time to bring care, happiness and comfort for our residents, hence they will be very pleased to read that their efforts are noticed and valued. Once again, thank you for choosing Calvary Mt Carmel. Kind regards, Maree Gibbs Manager
Feb 29, 2016

Harriet Feb 17, 2016

Mum has been at Mt Carmel for 5 and a half years. Her care needs have increased with her dementia. My sister and I are both overwhelmingly pleased with the care of mum and the sensitivity, respect and compassion staff consistently have shown to her.

Was this review helpful?  1

Calvary Retirement Communities

Thank you for your review. The staff at Calvary Mt Carmel endeavour to provide high quality aged care services for our valued residents. At Calvary Mt Carmel Retirement Community we create comprehensive personal care plans for each resident. This plan takes into account the residents history, changing medical issues, lifestyle, likes and dislikes. We are so pleased to hear that our efforts are noticed and praised. Thank you again for your compliments. Kind regards, Maree Gibbs Manager
Feb 29, 2016

Vallie536 Feb 11, 2016

Building is both attractive and well maintained. Residents have independent and private facilities. Staff are friendly are cheerful. Activities are provided. One aversion: some staff may not be aware of particular needs of residents eg. check whether air conditioning is on in resident's room on hot days.

Was this review helpful?  

Calvary Retirement Communities

Thank you for providing us with your valuable feedback. One of our main priorities is to create a warm, friendly and familiar atmosphere, so our residents will feel at home every day. The Manager at Mt Carmel has started building a resident directed, household model of care with residents and staff since mid-2015.We encourage resident choice and decision making. Some of our residents chose to have their air conditioning off on hot days, which we are respectful of. Please feel free to contact me directly by e-mail at [email protected] to discuss how we can better meet the needs of your family member. Kind regards, Maree Gibbs Manager
Feb 29, 2016

Patch46 Feb 02, 2016

The staff are always very welcoming and happy to assist in any way. If I have any concerns/suggestions about my mother-in-laws care I am always listened to and treated respectfully. I can't thank this facility enough for the care of my mum.

Was this review helpful?  

Calvary Retirement Communities

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback. We are delighted to hear that you are satisfied with the services we provide to our residents. We cater to both the physical and emotional needs of our residents and their families and our management team is always there for you to discuss any concerns or suggestions you may have. Every day our staff strive to offer great care and attention for each of our residents therefore, we are pleased to read your positive feedback. Kind regards, Maree Gibbs Manager
Feb 29, 2016

brenda Jun 07, 2015

the only thing I didn't like is the residents being woken up at 6.30 am for their medication . I thought it un necessary. leave it till 7 or 7.30 or 8 what is the rush. besides everything had to run to a schedule. set by the num

Was this review helpful?  3

Calvary Retirement Communities

Thank you taking the time to write a review for us. Here at Calvary Mt Carmel Retirement Community we value all forms of feedback. Calvary Mt Carmel Retirement Community the Manager at Mt Carmel has started building a resident directed, household model of care with residents and staff since mid-2015. This model of care creates a more home-like feeling, our residents are empowered to choose activities day to day whether it be gardening, singing in the Mt Carmel choir, joining community visits, or simply reading and enjoying the scenic rural outlook. This means that our residents are able to choose how they will be cared for, they make choices about what support and care they require and they live as part of one of our four unique household groups. For example our residents may choose to get up early and eat breakfast, and they may have breakfast with other residents. There are residents who enjoy preparing breakfast and others who prefer to have a quiet breakfast at home in their room. Our residents live in a choice driven environment, which fits in with each residents preferences and also provides comfort, support and companionship. Once again thank you for taking the time to review our facility.
Jan 06, 2016

merivale May 29, 2015

Ever since my Mum entered Residential Aged Care she is a different person. Her confidence has returned and she loves the staff and company. She feels safe and secure. I haven't seen her this happy for years!

Was this review helpful?  7

Calvary Retirement Communities

Thank you for your feedback. One of our main priorities is to create a warm, familiar and home-like atmosphere, so our residents will feel comfortable and supported. We are pleased to hear that your mother is feeling cared for and safe here at Calvary Mt Carmel Retirement Community. Thank you for publicly recognising our dedication and efforts. Our staff at Calvary Mt Carmel Retirement Community are exceptional. We have a dedicated team of long serving staff who are caring and supportive of all residents, led by Manager Maree Gibbs who has been at this facility for 13 years. Once again thank you for taking the time to review our facility.
Jan 06, 2016

Facility information, including facility name, operator and location provided courtesy of the Department of Social Service's My Aged Care. All reviews are the personal opinion of the reviewer, and do not necessarily reflect the views of Aged Care Reviews Pty Ltd, and are monitored according to the site's Content Guidelines.

About Calvary Mt Carmel Retirement Community

Calvary Mt Carmel provides quality care for 41 residents and also offers overnight respite accommodation. All rooms are single, air-conditioned and have their own private ensuite and balcony overlooking the rural back-drop of Maitland.• All meals prepared and cooked onsite • Cleaning and personal laundry services provided • Air-conditioned building with temperature control in each room • Staff are available 24 hours a day • Onsite chapel • Kiosk run by residents 3 days a week • Hairdressing salon • Large lounge, dining and entertainment areas • Sitting rooms with tea and coffee facilities • Covered courtyard, BBQ area & outdoor facilities for residents and guests • Leisure and lifestyle activities • Regular bus trips and social outings • Regular entertainment provided by community groups onsite and regular events hosted • Internet access and library services available • Respite accommodation available • Palliative care program

Available Rooms

Room Name

Single Room with Ensuite

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

41

Room size (sqm)

19

Room Description

Well maintained room in good condition. For further details please visit www.calvarycare.org.au

Common Areas Description

Well maintained. For further details please visit www.calvarycare.org.au

Aged Care Directory
My Account