Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Clarendon Grange

4.55 20 Reviews | Write a Review

Operator Average Quality
(177 Reviews)

Room Vacancies:

Residential Accommodation Deposit:

Resident or Service User Review

Tour Review

  • Quality of information provided
  • Helpfulness of staff
  • Quality of ambiance & general environment
  • Overall quality
  • Quality of building
  • Quality of staff & care
  • Quality of food
  • Quality of lifestyle & wellbeing
  • Overall quality
One last thing...
The Power of Knowing
Send this listing to a friend
Get more information
Get more information
Enquiry
Like to book a tour?
Tour Booking
Review Clarendon Grange

Clarendon Grange is a warm and inviting home with excellent care and accommodation for 47 residents, located in a peaceful position just off Stud Road.  

All rooms are single with an ensuite and have ample space for personal furnishings and keepsakes.  A choice of several room types enables residents to have the accommodation that meets their needs and budget. 

Clarendon Grange is part of the Homestyle Aged Care group which has been providing residential care homes and services in the greater Melbourne metropolitan and Geelong areas for over 30 years.

The Homestyle team work to ensure that the residents we care for receive the best lifestyle and services available.  Our professional and dedicated nursing team works 24 hours a day providing clinical care that supports independence and freedom of choice. Our lifestyle team is innovative and works 7 days a week to provide a range of stimulating and engaging activities to maintain social independence. 

Homestyle Aged Care, the way it should be!

To tour one of our locations, please call your chosen home direct and talk with our reception team to book a time.

20 reviews sorted by Date Rating Type
Jed37 May 08, 2019

The actual facility is ideal for people like my mother who have limited vision. They need a place which is smaller and more like a home. The staff are caring and always smile, however the newer ones have less skills. Some don’t appear to listen, and I saw first hand on 3rd January where a resident had an accident in a chair which was left. Three just stood around while a more experienced staff member cleaned it up. She actually asked them how they thought it was going to be cleaned with no response. This even happens in rooms at various times and unless relatives complain the area is not cleaned. Residents need to be woken if they are asleep for morning and afternoon tea as most do enjoy these times. The budget shouldn’t affect the incontinent pads which are used on high care residents. Cost of Christmas dinners is excessive for what is provided especially when it was free 2 years ago. $30 is too much for what is provided. Other facilities have free meals.

Was this review helpful?  1

Homestyle Aged Care Services

Hello Jed37 and thank you for sharing your experience with the Aged Care Reviews community. We greatly appreciate feedback especially from families as it helps improve the services we offer to our residents and the community. In relation to your comments about newer staff, all our newer staff have been employed with appropriate skills as required for their roles. Experienced staff then guide our newer staff as to the routine and resident care needs to make the new staff are supported at the same time residents care routines are maintained as per their choice. We also note your feedback on continence aides and advise that all the residents have appropriate/adequate continence aides allocated as per their care assessment. We also offer education to our staff on continence management. Lastly, Christmas lunch we have around 150 residents and families joining us each year for Christmas lunch, where we serve a full three course meal with beverage for only $30. This is the cost of food and additional staffing for the day. Again, we thank you for your feedback and encourage you to approach our Director of Nursing at any time who operates an open-door policy. Wishing you and family all the best for the future. Mark Saunderson, Homestyle Aged Care Head Office.
May 13, 2019

rod from kilsyth Jan 03, 2019

Very caring and well run. Mother quickly settled there after not being happy changing residence initially. She's 92 and suffers from dementia. Highly recommend due to caring staff and homely environment.

Was this review helpful?  1

Isom9894 Oct 02, 2018

I moved my mother to Clarendon Grange 6 months ago and cannot speak highly enough of the wonderful, professional, warm and inclusive care and attention she receives on a daily basis. The lifestyle staff have literally changed Mum’s life with their strong focus on reducing social isolation and their consistent encouragement and enthusiasm. The nursing staff and PCA’s treat Mum like a family member and I experience the most wonderfully warm and inclusive welcome every time I visit her. The most heartwarming experience is hearing her say how much she loves it.... I have had family members in 4 Melbourne based care facilities in the past and none of them come close to replicating that of this beautiful home. It is a very special place and I will be forever grateful that I found it - my mothers final years will be amongst her best thanks to Clarendon.

Was this review helpful?  1

Homestyle Aged Care Services

Hi Isom9894, thank you for sharing your experience with the Aged Care Reviews community. I am thrilled to hear your feedback and it really highlights that what our people do, makes a difference in the lives of others. Wishing you and family all the best for the future. Mark Saunderson, Homestyle Aged Care Services Head Office.
Oct 02, 2018

Jimpy Mar 17, 2017

My mother has recently had six weeks of respite here. The care provided was excellent. This is a small facility which contributes strongly to the warmth, homey feeling and friendliness experienced here. Staff picked up a long standing low-grade infection for which my mother was successfully treated. She was warmly welcomed when she arrived and made some lovely new friends. We were anxious about how this respite period would go, but it was an entirely positive time thanks to the staff and residents here. This is not a salubrious building. It is more like a home than a hotel which we love.

Was this review helpful?  1

SamtamK Aug 15, 2016

From my first visit, on behalf of my mother, I was very impressed firstly by the staff who are genuinely friendly with other staff and residents and the place itself well maintained and clean. My wife and my sister who both work in aged care were equally impressed by Clarendon Grange for the same reasons. I am not 70 years old and in a retirement village in Ringwood and we instructed our family and central management that we want to enter Clarendon Grange when necessary.

Was this review helpful?  

Homestyle Aged Care Services

Hi SamtamK, thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Clarendon Grange with others. I'm thrilled to see that our passionate staff are being recognised for the hard work and genuine care that goes into their roles whether it be caring, preparing food and maintaining our property. I wish you and family all the very best for the future. Mark Saunderson - Homestyle Aged Care Services Head Office.
Aug 29, 2016

Max Jan 29, 2016

Putting my mum into this facility was one of the hardest things I have ever done, the staff and the facility made it so much easier. Thank you.

Was this review helpful?  3

Annie62 Jan 25, 2016

Wonderful facility with dedicated staff that care for our mum as if she were their own mother. Only down fall a few months ago mum had participated in a fundraiser to raise money for a new public television and has since been told the company have decided not to put in the rest of the money for the purchase which left mum disappointed. That is my only fault and besides that the food, facility, rooms and garden are great and as others have said a home away from home.

Was this review helpful?  3

Homestyle Aged Care Services

Thank you for your review Annie, I can assure you that we appreciate the efforts residents and families have gone to, to raise funds for a large new TV. I have assured the manager Dona that Homestyle will at least match the funds raised. Thank you again for your positive feedback in regard to the care at Clarendon.
Jan 27, 2016

Len Jan 11, 2016

Staff set out to make it like home. When you first arrive they make you feel most welcome. They do a hard job well. I think it is good that this facility is limited to 50 residents. Others I have seen are cold and institution like. The public should be told what is available so that when they have to decide what is available, they have facts to consider.

Was this review helpful?  4

Kiarra1699 Jan 11, 2016

My mum has been here for over 3 years. During this time there have been many staff changes which is a shame - I know this happens in many facilities of this kind. When staff change there is a period of learning for all the staff to get to know the residents. During this learning period the quality of service to the residents drops. It is inevitable. Keeping staff consistent would help a lot, but realise this can't be helped - I just wanted to let you know it is noticeable for everyone. We love the fact that this is a smaller, compact facility all in one level. The quirky garden is also beautiful.

Was this review helpful?  2

Homestyle Aged Care Services

Thank you for your feedback Kiarra, we appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your thoughts. The team we have at Clarendon is very dedicated and we do our utmost to maintain consistency. Staff turn over at Clarendon is well below industry averages at 15%, however in a small home a couple of team members leaving is noticeable. We will continue to work on keeping good team members they are the most critical element in relation to providing good care. Thank you again for your feedback Tim Humphries CEO
Jan 27, 2016

Snowy Jan 08, 2016

My friend went to live in care at Clarendon Grange and over 2 years I participated in special meals or times in support of my friend. I visited Clarendon on an average of twice a week during the past 2 years. I watched all the staff as they cared for my friend. The care the nursing staff showed her was professional and caring. The domestic staff polite and efficient. The meals not only smelt good, but tasty, varied and nutritious. The home was very well cared for, clean and fresh smelling. The receptionist was always polite to residents and visitors alike. My friend died on 24/12/2015 at home in her own bed at Clarendon. Over the months of her declining health, I watched the nursing stuff give even more of themselves in the professional care of her. Her last days were made comfortable by the added attention this wonderful staff gave her. They nursed her to the end with care and dignity. I have only praise for the staff at Clarendon Grange.

Was this review helpful?  

Hester1 Jan 07, 2016

This is a small facility (47 residents) which means family members know the staff and vice versa - this is a very good thing. The activities coordinator is wonderful - better than best. Creative, imaginative outings, knows every resident well and plans according to their needs and likes. The place is friendly and homey. It is not new or grand looking facility; residents' rooms look like normal homey bedrooms rather than hotel or hospital rooms. There is a central garden courtyard, visible from all the corridors and it looks like a garden - shady trees, bright flowers, bbq, seats - lovely. Problems: someone (bureaucrat) decreed that residents must take their entire Webster packs of medication with them when they go out, rather than a discrete small pack of the day's pills. This is wrong on so many levels...Biggest frustration for my relative - staff say they will do something she asks for, but they don't. Also evening meals are lacklustre. Despite these concerns, this is still the best of the many aged care places I have encountered.

Was this review helpful?  1

Chandler45 Jan 05, 2016

I feel the overall care has gone downhill in the recent past. They appear to be understaffed, which reflects residents needs are not always met. I also think air conditioners should be installed, not just heating. When my mother went into care two and a half year ago, I could not fault anything. For example, a free weeks ago, I washed mum's water glass and when I tipped out the water to wash it, the inside of the glass was slimy. Using a tissue I noticed that the bottom of the glass was yellow. Disgusting! I don't know if her water jug is ever changed with a clean jug or fresh water daily. The glass is certainly not.

Was this review helpful?  1

Shell13 Dec 23, 2015

Beautiful facility. Staff are lovely and are all encouraging. Family members are always welcome to come and visit. They celebrate everything and encourage residents to go out and participate in in house activities. Nan recently moved in and the transition was smooth.

Was this review helpful?  

Osvaldo2524 Dec 15, 2015

I am the daughter of a resident who moved into Clarendon Grange, Bayswater last year. I just wanted to let potential residents and their families know what an outstanding job the team does there. My mother was adamant for many years she was not leaving her home. However due to increasing frailty this was becoming a problem. We were fortunate enough to finally convince her to go into respite at Clarendon Grange. When the respite period ended she went home for only a few days before missing everyone and the care she received and wanting to go back. Within a few days she was comfortably set up in her own room and has been the happiest she has been in a long time. I have to say it was a very emotional time trying to encourage mum to consider leaving the home she had built with her own hands and which was filled with loving memories of her husband and children. When we were first advised a respite position was available at Clarendon Grange it was with trepidation I visited the facility. I was met by a staff member who kindly showed me around the facility. I experienced outstanding customer service, understanding and compassion. This has continued to be consistently displayed since day one not only to family members and friends but more importantly to my mother. The Director at the time was instrumental in enabling my mother’s transition into the facility and went above and beyond the call of duty to make my mother feel like she had a ‘new home’. The previous Director worked tirelessly, yet was always so positive and approachable. Nothing was ever too much. The new Director is also wonderful. Director of Finance has been a wealth of information, kind and patient in helping navigate the financial requirements and implications of moving into Aged Care which is quite complex. It would be remiss of us to exclude passing on how wonderful the broader team at Clarendon Grange is as well. They all contribute every day to making our mother’s days more enjoyable, happy and safe. We are eternally grateful and cannot recommend Clarendon Grange highly enough.

Was this review helpful?  1

LeanneJ Apr 22, 2015

My mother moved to Clarendon Grange at Bayswater almost 12 months ago and absolutely loves it. When I first visited the facility to enquire I thought it was a little bit dated but the overall feel of homeliness hit me the minute I walked in the door. Even on the phone, I didn't need to make an appointment. The clue here was come in any time. The Director of Nursing introduced me to everyone from Kitchen Staff to Nurses on Duty. I was even asked what her favourite foods were. Since she moved in over a year ago she has improved in her overall health and the stress that it has removed from me getting the phonecalls in the middle of the night and trips to the hospital has made everyone's life better. Nothing is a bother and special occasions are always celebrated. When she first moved in the staff said to her that if she woke up at night and couldn't sleep, just push her buzzer and someone would come and make her a cup of tea. Mum went into respite for a week before she moved to Clarendon and the facility was absolutely beautiful but we both still talk about the difference in the two and she said that even though the other one looked more glamourous, where she is now is better than she could possibly have imagined.

Was this review helpful?  

macforme Oct 13, 2014

Very, very happy with the way the staff at Clarendon have welcomed Mum in to her new home. Mum is very happy there. Thanks from all her family

Was this review helpful?  1

Art2844 Sep 21, 2014

Very happy with care provided to my mother. Very welcoming and caring staff Lots of activities and outings

Was this review helpful?  1

Carleton1802 Sep 17, 2014

My mother has been in Clarendon Grange for over a year now , neither my mum or i can fault this wonderful "Home away from Home' ... i see the staffs loving care

Was this review helpful?  1

Homestyle Aged Care Services

Hi Eduardo, thanks for your review. At Homestyle we go out of our way to create an environment that is as comfortable and inviting as possible. We take great pride in the work of our staff, and its great that your family has seen the benefit of that. Regards, Tim Humphries, CEO
Sep 29, 2014

Jourdiana Sep 15, 2014

Clarendon Grange provide an outstanding quality of care for my mother. The entire staff create an atmosphere of care and friendliness and have made it a 'home' rather than an aged care facility. Trying to find your way through the complex aged care system to the right facility for your relative is very challenging, we were so lucky to find Clarendon Grange.

Was this review helpful?  

Homestyle Aged Care Services

Hi Jourdiana, thanks for your review. You are right to point out that the aged care system can be complex and daunting. For most families, their first experience with aged care occurs at a time of high stress and emotion. We try our best to make the process of entering one of our homes as easy and uncomplicated as possible. Our Facility Managers do a great job leading teams of dedicated and passionate staff, and we’re so glad that your mother has been able to see the benefit of that. Regards, Tim Humphries, CEO
Sep 29, 2014

Alison Sep 07, 2014

Making the decision to place my mother in care was a hard decision to make. Clarendon grange was a respite place but we liked it so much, my mother stayed. An excellent facility. Staff are like family and genuinely care about the residents from the manager, nursing staff, kitchen staff, reception, support staff. They all smile and treat residents with care, compassion and dignity.

Was this review helpful?  

Homestyle Aged Care Services

Hi Alison, thanks for taking the time to place a review on Clarendon Grange. For many of our residents their first experience with a facility is as a respite resident. It’s a good way to get a feel for a home, for the staff, and how a home operates. I’m glad that you made the choice to select Clarendon Grange as a permanent residential aged care home for your mother. We try very hard to select and retain the best staff, and our Facility Managers put a lot of time and effort into training, teamwork and setting a culture that makes a resident feel as ‘at home’ as possible. We’re always looking for feedback, and we will definitely share your comments with our staff across the home. Regards, Tim Humphries, CEO
Sep 29, 2014

Facility information, including facility name, operator and location provided courtesy of the Department of Social Service's My Aged Care. All reviews are the personal opinion of the reviewer, and do not necessarily reflect the views of Aged Care Reviews Pty Ltd, and are monitored according to the site's Content Guidelines.

About Clarendon Grange

Available Rooms

Room Name

Standard

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

0

Room size (sqm)

14

Room Description

Should you wish to provide some of your own belongings we can in most instances meet your expectations. We offer the following within each room Ensuite Bathroom External window with garden views Individual heating Robe and drawers lockable storage drawer Sitting chair Bed Bedside table Over bed lights Curtains Lockable door TV shelf Ceiling Fan and Quality Floor coverings.

Common Areas Description

Large Activities carpeted Common areas Library quiet areas Outdoor courtyards BBQ areas

Room Name

Superior

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

0

Room size (sqm)

21

Room Description

Should you wish to provide some of your own belongings we can in most instances meet your expectations. We offer the following within each room Ensuite Bathroom External window with garden views Individual heating Robe and drawers lockable storage drawer Sitting chair Bed Bedside table Over bed lights Curtains Lockable door TV shelf Ceiling Fan and Quality Floor Coverings.

Common Areas Description

Large Activities carpeted Common areas Library quiet areas Outdoor courtyards BBQ areas

Room Name

Standard Plus

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

0

Room size (sqm)

18

Room Description

Should you wish to provide some of your own belongings we can in most instances meet your expectations. We offer the following within each room Ensuite Bathroom External window with garden views Robe and drawers lockable storage drawer Sitting chair Bed Bedside table Over bed lights Curtains Lockable door TV shelf Ceiling Fan and Quality Floor Coverings.

Common Areas Description

Large Activities carpeted Common areas Library quiet areas Outdoor courtyards BBQ areas

Aged Care Directory
My Account