Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Doutta Galla Avondale Heights

2.44 18 Reviews | Write a Review

Operator Average Quality
(29 Reviews)

Room Vacancies:

Residential Accommodation Deposit:

Resident or Service User Review

Tour Review

  • Quality of information provided
  • Helpfulness of staff
  • Quality of ambiance & general environment
  • Overall quality
  • Quality of building
  • Quality of staff & care
  • Quality of food
  • Quality of lifestyle & wellbeing
  • Overall quality
One last thing...
The Power of Knowing
Send this listing to a friend
Get more information
Get more information
Enquiry
Like to book a tour?
Tour Booking
Review Doutta Galla Avondale Heights
18 reviews sorted by Date Rating Type
Geraldine6573 Apr 15, 2019

Staff often have poor english with very strong accents, and some hearing impaired residents cannot understand them. Communication is of utmost importance in Aged Care, especially with Dementia sufferers. This lack of understanding causes numerous problems. Management do not follow up with care staff. When you complain, Management apologizes and passes issue onto to Carer concerned, but if there is no complaint made, then poor service continues and there is no checking process from Management to police this. For eg Management don't do spot checks to ensure all duties pertaining to a resident, is carried out correctly. They rely on receiving complaints, which they then claim to action. The same issues reoccur time and time again. For eg. No glass left near resident so they can have a drink. Cordial is not always fresh and once again is not always left near resident, for access. Not always tissues and toilet paper provided. Often I have to collect these items myself. I also have to collect towels as they are not always available in my mother's room. Not enough evening staff. Many residents are fed cold food and sometimes miss out completely. This is why I visit most days and feed my mother the evening meal, to ensure she is fed and drinks. She is always very thirsty and clearly does not have enough fluids. I have to monitor how many showers my mother has. She often will go several days without being showered. When I complain they say she is sponged as an alternative. A "sponge" from what I have seen, is being wiped with a towel in the crutch area. Not an alternative to a full shower, in my opinion. Staff are poorly trained and have little knowledge of hearing aides or basic common sense knowledge pertaining to the elderly. There is also a significant shortage of staff in the afternoons and evenings. This causes staff to take short cuts and overlook residents requiring care.

Was this review helpful?  

Laverna9798 Sep 27, 2018

1/Constantly complaining about the same issues over and over which never get rectified. 2/Carers often have strong accents and are hard to understand. Cannot communicate at all to kitchen or cleaning staff, who often cannot speak english at all. Extemely hard for elderly residents with hearing issues to understand many of the Carers. 3/Despite mentioning issues to RN it is always the same outcome. No change. Lots of apologies and excuses but ultimately, no change to the issues.They do not like a change in their routine. Prior to admission, all sorts of promises were made, not many have come to fruition. 4/ Carers blame morning staff and morning staff blame evening staff. All staff blame staff shortages for anything that takes place. Not everything that happens is due to staff shortages. 5/Always have to get a clean glass and orange cordial for my mother's room. Have asked for this repeatedly but never happens. I go in nearly every day and do it myself. 6/Staff at mealtimes are not well managed. Many don't seem to be doing much. Others are flat out. 7/Staff have minimal understanding of hearing aides and often put them in the wrong ears ( which don't fit and ultimately don't work). Often the compartments are not shut properly, which prevents them from working and is actually worse than not wearing them at all. Once again, I check my mother's hearing aides daily and clean them and change batteries weekly. I have no faith that staff are willing or able to do this. 8/ Some items have been stolen from my mothers room such as jewellery and perfume. Staff know there is no cameras in rooms and potentially take advantage. Despite the loss of privacy, I would be willing to have cameras in my mothers room, to avoid potential abuse and theft. 9/ My mother often has an odour and when I ask how often she is showered, I am always told that she is showered regularly. I don't believe this to be the case. They also say often she is sponged, and when I ask what that entails, they advise a full body sponge all over. I suspect this is not the case, but can't prove it. 10/ Overall food is good. Too much pasta. Advised Facility 4 years ago that my mum did not eat pasta. She still repeatedly gets given pasta despite being told this time and time again. For many of the old aussie residents, pasta is not part of their typical diet. 11/Staff have limited knowledge of Dementia, despite the chronic presence of Dementia in the Facility. 13/Cannot contemplate justification for $2500 approx per month that my mother pays to this Facility. There is either huge profits, high management salaries or mass mismanagement.

Was this review helpful?  

Lexus5834 Sep 26, 2018

My husband first experience in living in an aged care facility was very overwhelming with increased anxiety that skyrocketed to such a level that it was cruel of me if I ignored his feelings. His stay lasted short of 3 months. Despite of me helping in his care every single day and most of the time I stayed till 10pm until I put him to bed, John's needs were not met especially in the night time. John also is on apomorphine infusion which I had to educate them and show them how to administer the infusion and how to operate the pump for his Parkinson's disease. I did this basically every day. The pump consultant educated them as well but only the ones who were rostered on the day.Further the permanent workers absence from work was filled with new staff from the agency and who were not familiar with the pump. There were several phone calls from John in the middle of the night, to tell me that he is wet, cold and scared of falling as the staff do not attend to him. He had a few falls during his stay. Then I call to let the duty worker that John needs help. John also attempted to call the ambulance for help. The very first time that he called 000 he gave them my home address, he was confused where he was. Lucky that I saw the flashing light through the window and went to the front door. The paremdics by this time already called the police to break in as they thoughtJohn was on his own and that he might be at risk. Also at the time he is in this state of high anxiety his speech is affected and is not clear. I explained to the paremadics the situation and said to them that I am very exhausted both physically and mentally and financially worse off. Instead of having respite I was more worse than where he was at home. This nursing home that he was in compared to others that I looked into passed my concerns. It was clean and spacious and nice however, the appealing transparency of the building, it certainly did not weigh up with the care of the fragile, helpless and who have no voice. The balance is flat ZERO. Amongst the odd ones there are dedicated staff but they cannot meet up with the needs of every resident, and I do believe that such staff feel bad when other residents were left out under their care due to the shift is over. It is of utter importance that the scale of staff and resident ratio be uplifted by far more than what it is now. These people are like babies they need a lot of attention and care. These are human beings, it's cruel and very very inhumane. The second concern is the food it is absolutely terrible. I conclude my concerns by saying that this needs fixing big time and treated as urgent. Once this is fixed it is done for everyone including you the receiving end and me. After all we do not know what's around the corner for us and we might end up in one of these shocking and frightening places if nothing is done. I for one certainly do not want to fall a victim of this daunting and crippled system. In addition to the above, I strenuously say that the non pensioners who are charged higher than the pensioners in the daily fee is absolutely roberry. For what service I may add? It's the same service as the pensioners except for the FILTHY RICH. Not that there should be at all any preference, we all fall under the same umbrella. Who is capitalising from this, is the owner of the organisation in addition to the poor running the facility with short of staff and tight budget of the running costs of the facility.

Was this review helpful?  

Oma4329 Sep 25, 2018

my mother was treated like a child and was a very placid easy going lovely lady. I wanted to take her out of the nursing home because of the treatment but wasn't well myself so couldn't look after her. she got quite sick 8n the 3nd and I had to fight them to get her out of there and 8 to palliative care.

Was this review helpful?  

Nicklaus5633 Sep 20, 2018

Carers have poor english skills and often cannot be understood by the elderly who are often hearing impaired. More training on the function and installation of hearing aides and more exposure to dementia and associated behaviours. Cameras should be installed in bedrooms, provided permission granted, to minimize abuse and also theft.

Was this review helpful?  

Elissa7707 Sep 18, 2018

My father is in a facility in Avondale Heights, Victoria. He has been there just over 12 months. Family members visit once or twice a week at different times. We have been happy with the services there and the quality of care. The food is gvaried and good, activities are held everyday and staff is friendly and caring.

Was this review helpful?  

Cloyd3351 Aug 03, 2017

The same issues happen repeatedly. After complaining, the situation improves temporarily, but then reoccurs over and over again. My mum not being changed often enough and getting saturated with urine. Not being showered often enough. Daily showering not considered necessary. Once my mum's bed had been made with dried urine stained sheets. I was told the staff member concerned had not been trained properly. I don't think you need training to know not to make a bed with dirty smelly urine stained sheets. How sorry I feel for my mum. I feel I have let her down. I go to the nursing home every day, to make sure she is ok. Nothing like all the cheesy smiling ads on TV.

Was this review helpful?  2

Mathew2792 Dec 09, 2015

Disgusting

Was this review helpful?  5

sad1955 Oct 07, 2015

Not the best information provided but was the only one acailable...The Australian staff were uncarrying and no help at all but the other staff were so much kinder and understanding..the enivonment was not pleasant at all and the hygenine of the place let a lot to be desired...Overall quality poor..

Was this review helpful?  

Mallie7581 Jun 11, 2015

Can't believe how quick the decline in my mother was once she entered this facility. I really feel for anyone in this facility who doesn't have family checking on them regularly. We needed to have quite a few "meetings" to bring their attention to so many things! and even then things weren't addressed properly.

Was this review helpful?  2

Oran8731 May 28, 2015

These residential facility , during summer time the facility is like an oven, and during winter its like an ice as well. the ventilation is not good and the quality of food is not good variety and most of the resident don't want to eat . Not enough staff most of the the work load are to heavy for the staff and quality of care is below average.

Was this review helpful?  

Haskell2594 May 03, 2015

Well set out facility but felt it was a little too large for those with advanced health problems such as dementia as I felt they could easily be forgotten.

Was this review helpful?  

Deshell Apr 28, 2015

Initially when my nana had to be placed due to worstening dementia, we thought we had found the best facility to suit her needs. How wrong we were! Over a year later, each week seems to bring new issues as well as old issues which are never addressed! Basic needs are not met. There is no flexibility or initiative from staff. Concerns are not passed on to other staff members, the same conversations frustratingly occur over and over again. The supervision is next to non existent. I often visit after work ( approx 4pm) to find my nana still in bed, wearing a dirty nighty and wearing a wet pad. I wonder if she has eaten all day, if anyone has bothered to convince her to get up, help her shower or eat. It's too easy for the carers to say she refused and move on. Those with dementia need encouragement and persuasion, not to be left to there own devises. The staff quite obviously have a poor understanding of dementia and the behavioural issues associated with it. Complaining sometimes results in mild improvements, with my nana up and in the dining area at the next visit. However sitting with those who do not speak English, eating European food she had never chosen to eat in 80 years and sitting without her hearing aids, as they have been lost yet again, causes frustration and anxiety. The hard choice to place a loved one in a facility is made easier knowing they will be cared for. Since being at Doutta Gala, my nana has fallen over numerous times and had more injuries then she ever had at home. Family now visit more, worried about who is actually caring for my nana. My mothers life is impacted more than ever as she is constantly concerned and worried that my nana is being cared for to an adequate standard. The issues are ongoing, and overal this facility is poor!

Was this review helpful?  1

shanef Apr 24, 2015

Facility is managed poorly with no focus on handover or follow up with staff. The same issues occur over and over again and are not resolved. There is little point in complaining as the management become very defensive and often do not respond to phone calls or emails sent. The staff are not trained to deal with dementia patients and appear to have little or no knowledge of typical alzheimers behaviours. I have to shower my mother at least twice a week to ensure she is clean. Whilst she is scheduled to be showered 3 times per week only, she often refuses and there is little effort made to encourage her to shower. When I mention this, I am constantly told that if she refuses that is it. I think it is quite a convenient way to avoid work to say " she said no". I am disgusted by this lack of cleanliness and so would my mother be, if she was able to think rationally. The evening meal is of poor quality compared to the lunch time food and menu options are geared towards European tastes. There is huge quantities of pasta and little variety. There is little effort made to ensure that my mother eats and drinks. She often forgets to eat or drink, and without my constant intervention, she would barely touch her evening meal. Her food is left on the tray for her to eat if she wants. My mother has little interaction with other residents because if I do leave her in community areas to interact, she is left there till 9pm as she cannot remember where her room is. When I have mentioned to staff to have her interact for just a few hours and then take her back to her room, they blame her for not being able to find her own room. One staff member complained to me that they have told her numerous times her room number but she does not remember. The reason she does not remember is because she has alzheimers, which is why she is in a nursing home in the first place!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful?  

Anthony3179 Apr 17, 2015

Can't believe how quickly my mother deteriorated once she moved into this facility. The lack of communication and understanding from the staff has really disappointed us. We go to visit and walk away in tears. Certainly not the way she would of wanted to be remembered.

Was this review helpful?  

Hertha5176 Apr 09, 2015

Evening meal food is of lesser quality than lunchtime food. A large focus on pasta dishes with little other options. Handover of staff information relating to residents is poor. Minimal encouragement to residents regarding showering/washing. If a resident denies showering, little or no enticement follows from staff, to encourage resident to change their mind. The typical response is that the resident has said no. Showering is scheduled 3 times per week only, which is not sufficient to encourage self worth, hygiene and self confidence. Minimal understanding from staff of dementia and typical associated behaviours.

Was this review helpful?  

Willy10 Aug 05, 2014

On initial impression the facility seemed ok but spending more time there I see some lack of attentiveness and drop in standard of care and food quality. Food is more catered for the Europeans rather than traditional Australian dishes my grandmother is used to.

Was this review helpful?  

Deshell May 06, 2014

After looking through various homes in the area, Doutta Gala was one of the best.The building was modern and clean, with plans to renovate and alter to meet residents needs( i.e.new garden to be built for dementia patients, existing work shop for men interested in wood work). The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Compared to the other homes, Doutta Gala seemed very flexible with their rules and regulations; a necessity when accommodating to individuals needs.The common areas were clean and all the residents appeared happy and well looked after.

Was this review helpful?  

Facility information, including facility name, operator and location provided courtesy of the Department of Social Service's My Aged Care. All reviews are the personal opinion of the reviewer, and do not necessarily reflect the views of Aged Care Reviews Pty Ltd, and are monitored according to the site's Content Guidelines.

About Doutta Galla Avondale Heights

A modern facility, with sweeping views of Maribyrnong River parklands, Avondale Heights has a light, spacious feel. Doutta Galla Avondale Heights accommodates single residents and couples, providing 108 beds all with private ensuites. The facility offers a mix of low and high care options, including permanent, respite care and a secure memory unit.Offering a wealth of on-site facilities such as communal courtyards, sensory garden, purpose built men’s shed and barbeques, making this a home for people who enjoy independence and quality of life with the assurance of comprehensive care.Many residents and staff were born overseas, and are bi-lingual. We are pleased to cater for all cultures, nationalities and religions with special menus, events and festivities. Our Lifestyle program offers daily activities in our sunny social areas, giving everyone a chance to grow friendships, nurture their skills, and try something new.

Available Rooms

Room Name

Private Room Type II

Type

Single room + shared bathroom

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

0

Room size (sqm)

14.63 m2

Room Description

Well maintained room with shared ensuite built-in-robe and window providing natural sunlight. Room furnished with electric adjustable bed hospital grade sitting chair over-bed table bed side drawer with lockable draw. The room contains quality soft furnishings. The ensuite consists of shower wash basin and toilet with hand rails throughout. A number of emergency and nurse call buzzers are located throughout the bedroom and ensuite.

Common Areas Description

Facility has a number of common area spaces that can be used including 3 dining areas 6 loungeTV areas a billiard room BBQ area tea and coffee making facilities hair dressing salon landscaped gardens 6 courtyards and resident garden. The facility is equipped with a 24 hour nurse call system.

Room Name

Luxury Room Type I

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

1

Room size (sqm)

15.16 m2

Room Description

Well maintained room with single ensuite built-in-robe and window providing natural sunlight. Room furnished with electric adjustable bed hospital grade sitting chair over-bed table bed side drawer with lockable draw and Air Conditioning. The room contains quality soft furnishings. The ensuite consists of shower wash basin and toilet with hand rails throughout. A number of emergency and nurse call buzzers are located throughout the bedroom and ensuite.

Common Areas Description

Facility has a number of common area spaces that can be used including 3 dining areas 6 loungeTV areas a billiard room BBQ area tea and coffee making facilities hair dressing salon landscaped gardens 6 courtyards and resident garden. The facility is equipped with a 24 hour nurse call system.

Room Name

Superior Room Type I

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

0

Room size (sqm)

14.1 m2

Room Description

Well maintained room with single ensuite built-in-robe and window providing natural sunlight. Room furnished with electric adjustable bed hospital grade sitting chair over-bed table bed side drawer with lockable draw. The room contains quality soft furnishings. The ensuite consists of shower wash basin and toilet with hand rails throughout. A number of emergency and nurse call buzzers are located throughout the bedroom and ensuite.

Common Areas Description

Facility has a number of common area spaces that can be used including 3 dining areas 6 loungeTV areas a billiard room BBQ area tea and coffee making facilities hair dressing salon landscaped gardens 6 courtyards and resident garden. The facility is equipped with a 24 hour nurse call system.

Room Name

Luxury Room Type II

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

0

Room size (sqm)

15.16 m2

Room Description

Well maintained room with single ensuite built-in-robe and window providing natural sunlight. Room furnished with electric adjustable bed hospital grade sitting chair over-bed table bed side drawer with lockable draw TV and Air Conditioning. The room contains quality soft furnishings. The ensuite consists of shower wash basin and toilet with hand rails throughout. A number of emergency and nurse call buzzers are located throughout the bedroom and ensuite.

Common Areas Description

Facility has a number of common area spaces that can be used including 3 dining areas 6 loungeTV areas a billiard room BBQ area tea and coffee making facilities hair dressing salon landscaped gardens 6 courtyards and resident garden. The facility is equipped with a 24 hour nurse call system.

Room Name

Private Room

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

0

Room size (sqm)

14.1 m2

Room Description

Well maintained room with single ensuite built-in-robe and window providing natural sunlight. Room furnished with electric adjustable bed hospital grade sitting chair over-bed table bed side drawer with lockable draw. The room contains quality soft furnishings. The ensuite consists of shower wash basin and toilet with hand rails throughout. A number of emergency and nurse call buzzers are located throughout the bedroom and ensuite.

Common Areas Description

Facility has a number of common area spaces that can be used including 3 dining areas 6 loungeTV areas a billiard room BBQ area tea and coffee making facilities hair dressing salon landscaped gardens 6 courtyards and resident garden. The facility is equipped with a 24 hour nurse call system.

Room Name

Premium Room

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

0

Room size (sqm)

14.1 m2

Room Description

Well maintained room with single ensuite built-in-robe and window providing natural sunlight. Room furnished with electric adjustable bed hospital grade sitting chair over-bed table bed side drawer with lockable draw TV and Air Conditioning. The room contains quality soft furnishings. The ensuite consists of shower wash basin and toilet with hand rails throughout. A number of emergency and nurse call buzzers are located throughout the bedroom and ensuite.

Common Areas Description

Facility has a number of common area spaces that can be used including 3 dining areas 6 loungeTV areas a billiard room BBQ area tea and coffee making facilities hair dressing salon landscaped gardens 6 courtyards and resident garden. The facility is equipped with a 24 hour nurse call system.

Room Name

Superior Room Type II

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

0

Room size (sqm)

14.1 m2

Room Description

Well maintained room with single ensuite built-in-robe and window providing natural sunlight. Room furnished with electric adjustable bed hospital grade sitting chair over-bed table bed side drawer with lockable draw and TV. The room contains quality soft furnishings. The ensuite consists of shower wash basin and toilet with hand rails throughout. A number of emergency and nurse call buzzers are located throughout the bedroom and ensuite.

Common Areas Description

Facility has a number of common area spaces that can be used including 3 dining areas 6 loungeTV areas a billiard room BBQ area tea and coffee making facilities hair dressing salon landscaped gardens 6 courtyards and resident garden. The facility is equipped with a 24 hour nurse call system.

Aged Care Directory
My Account