Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Eldercare Allambi

3.76 29 Reviews | Write a Review

Operator

Operator Average Quality
(111 Reviews)

Room Vacancies:

Residential Accommodation Deposit:

Resident or Service User Review

Tour Review

  • Quality of information provided
  • Helpfulness of staff
  • Quality of ambiance & general environment
  • Overall quality
  • Quality of building
  • Quality of staff & care
  • Quality of food
  • Quality of lifestyle & wellbeing
  • Overall quality
One last thing...
The Power of Knowing
Send this listing to a friend
Get more information
Get more information
Enquiry
Like to book a tour?
Tour Booking
Review Eldercare Allambi
29 reviews sorted by Date Rating Type
Fidel4098 Oct 04, 2018

Not enough staff

Was this review helpful?  

Gracie8382 Sep 27, 2018

I feel the staff are under enormous pressure. There is never enough staff, considering the needs of some of the residents.

Was this review helpful?  

Guillermo5135 Sep 27, 2018

I feel the staff are under so much pressure. There needs to be more staff, to assist the residents. To give them the proper care

Was this review helpful?  

America1490 Sep 26, 2018

It helps if your relative does not have dementia although sometimes staff forget resident does not have dementia and forget to explain in simple language. Otherwise overall care is very good. Staff are friendly and helpful. Medications are administered professionally.

Was this review helpful?  

Jadon2002 Sep 25, 2018

The food is not very nutritious but quite basic. Giving it fancy names does not improve the quality. The facility doubled in size and the kitchen appears to struggle to cope with meals often being very late and residents left sitting for half an hour or more. A big problem we've experienced is with the laundry. New clothes have gone missing way too often. Clothes that should see the resident out for the rest of their lives have had to be replaced fairly regularly. As well as that, the laundry has torn clothes to shreds so they are no longer mendable. This really puts relatives off supplying their loved ones with nice clothes but instead get the cheapest possible which in turn is not uplifting for the resident. This can be a real drain on a resident's finances when they constantly have to replenish their clothing. The rooms are lovely and big and airy with most having a nice view. The grounds are also beautiful and there are lovely "nooks" to go and sit in to get residents out of their rooms. The Lifestyle department does an excellent job, creating lots of new and varied experiences for residents.

Was this review helpful?  1

Jordi9540 Sep 25, 2018

My husband is unable to share in the lifestyle activities Despite this he is no forgotten and cared for gently.

Was this review helpful?  

Nicofromsa Sep 25, 2018

Manager not interested in feedback, complaints or suggestions for improvement.

Was this review helpful?  

Burnice1619 Sep 25, 2018

More staff is needed. They don’t have time to care as much as they should.

Was this review helpful?  

Rubye8190 Sep 25, 2018

Understaffing a huge issue. Carers under pressure to perform tasks. Residents left alone for inordinately long periods. Food was boring and cold. Residents often missed out on mid morning and afternoon meals. Carers and nurses that we could not understand. Meetings held but never any resolution

Was this review helpful?  

Kristoffer3857 Jul 31, 2017

To me, caring for the fail aged is not the easiest and I think the facility that looks after my Mum does an exceptionally good job most of the time and the staff are always pleasant and caring. I am grateful Mum is in such good hands.

Was this review helpful?  

Jazmin3679 Dec 08, 2016

Good location on the whole in comparison to many other residencies. Some carers not trained well(!) - Everything faces into the hand basin! Resident left in wet sanitary napkin far too long. Nice ground, nice staff.

Was this review helpful?  

Eldercare Inc

Dear Jazmin, thank you for taking the time to provide both positive and constructive feedback about Allambi and for bringing your concerns to our attention. As one of South Australia’s largest and most experienced not-for-profit aged care providers, we take all feedback seriously as part of our commitment to continuous improvement and delivering peace of mind with our care. We would like to address your concerns and talk with you further if you are interested. Please contact me at [email protected] Chloe Pickering, Eldercare Online Marketing Coordinator
Dec 08, 2016

Greg231 Nov 27, 2016

Very happy with the care provided for my mother. She seems very happy. I suppose the only criticism is that the nurses seem to be behind the glass screen most of the time not conversing with dementia patients. Overall very happy though.

Was this review helpful?  

Eldercare Inc

Dear Greg, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about Allambi – we’re pleased to hear that you’re happy with the quality of care. However, we would like to address your concerns about staff interaction with dementia patients and talk with you further if you are interested. Please contact me at [email protected] Chloe Pickering, Eldercare Online Marketing Coordinator
Nov 28, 2016

Brook14 Nov 11, 2016

The overall running of Allambi has mostly improved in the last 6 months, especially the lifestyle program. Quality of staff and care is good.

Was this review helpful?  

Eldercare Inc

Dear Brook, thank you for providing feedback – we’re pleased to hear that you’re happy with the lifestyle program and quality of care. Your comments are very much appreciated and will be shared with the team at Allambi. Chloe Pickering, Eldercare Online Marketing Coordinator
Nov 28, 2016

Alphonso8237 Nov 11, 2016

We experience constant feedback about how upset nanna is with the food quality. Also weekends appear to be very short staffed.

Was this review helpful?  

Eldercare Inc

Dear Alphonso, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about Allambi and we’re sorry to read your Nanna has found the quality of her dining experiences disappointing. As one of South Australia’s largest and most experienced not-for-profit aged care providers, we take all feedback seriously as part of our commitment to continuous improvement and delivering peace of mind with our care. We would like to address your concerns and talk with you further if you are interested. Please contact me at [email protected] Chloe Pickering, Eldercare Online Marketing Coordinator
Nov 28, 2016

Soolan Nov 10, 2016

My mother says the food is not very interesting. She does have difficulty chewing so that could be a problem. The staff are very caring and her room light and tidy.

Was this review helpful?  

Eldercare Inc

Dear Soolan, thank you for taking the time to provide both positive and constructive feedback about Allambi and we’re sorry to read that your mother hasn’t been happy with the range of food served. As one of South Australia’s largest and most experienced not-for-profit aged care providers, we take all feedback seriously as part of our commitment to continuous improvement and delivering peace of mind with our care. We would like to address your concerns and talk with you further if you are interested. Please contact me at [email protected] Chloe Pickering, Eldercare Online Marketing Coordinator
Nov 28, 2016

Laverne9212 Nov 10, 2016

Allambi is exceptionally good - as it should be. New residents need more help and guidance during the initial stages as they settle into a very different environment. There should be a self-help manual for those who can use it and also regular one-on-one assistance with orientation systems (i.e. how the facility operates) and activities also, and on-going, there should be more effort made to help residents mix and meet others.

Was this review helpful?  

Eldercare Inc

Dear Laverne, thank you for taking the time to provide both positive and constructive feedback about Allambi and we’re sorry to read that you experienced difficulties during the orientation stage and beyond. As one of South Australia’s largest and most experienced not-for-profit aged care providers, we take all feedback seriously as part of our commitment to continuous improvement and delivering peace of mind with our care. We would like to address your concerns and talk with you further if you are interested. Please contact me at [email protected] Chloe Pickering, Eldercare Online Marketing Coordinator
Nov 28, 2016

brupat100 Nov 10, 2016

What I love Big rooms All have ensuites Lovely big window Plenty of room to bring treasures and make it close to a "studio apartment" style as possible Staff are friendly and courteous Staff were very helpful when setting up and booking common room facilities for significant age and wedding anniversary celebrations Grounds are well kept Pleasant environment

Was this review helpful?  

Peppi 72 Nov 10, 2016

I have been very happy with the quality of care given to my dad that staff have been very supportive at such an emotional transition from Cottage Grove Nursing Home to Allambi as sadly dad needed a secured locked section as he was found at 5am in the middle of the road at the last nursing home being Cottage Grove. The activities offered to dad have him a new interest in life he is interacting well now with staff and residents. Delighted dad is enjoying quality of life again surrounded with amazing staff well done Eldercare Allambi so appreciate your help.

Was this review helpful?  

Ebony Nov 10, 2016

Very happy with the care my brother is given by all staff.

Was this review helpful?  

Jessie6 Nov 10, 2016

Quality of food is crap. Food is often cold and not cooked properly. Staff is very slow in dining room. Cups of tea and coffee are luke warm. Slow response times to room bells. Staff is often hard to find in early evenings. Staff numbers seem to be have cut for more agency staff on, and they are hard to find. Residents are often heard calling our for staff when their bell is not answered.

Was this review helpful?  1

Eldercare Inc

Dear Jessie, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about Allambi and we’re sorry to read that our food quality and staffing levels have not met your expectations. As one of South Australia’s largest and most experienced not-for-profit aged care providers, we take all feedback seriously as part of our commitment to continuous improvement and delivering peace of mind with our care. We would like to address your concerns and talk with you further if you are interested. Please contact me at [email protected] Chloe Pickering, Eldercare Online Marketing Coordinator
Nov 28, 2016

damon01 Nov 09, 2016

Most of the problems seems to lie in what appears to be not enough staff. Staff do best they can under such circumstance.

Was this review helpful?  

Eldercare Inc

Dear Damon, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about Allambi and we’re sorry to read that you’ve had a disappointing experience with staffing. As one of South Australia’s largest and most experienced not-for-profit aged care providers, we take all feedback seriously as part of our commitment to continuous improvement and delivering peace of mind with our care. We would like to address your concerns and talk with you further if you are interested. Please contact me at [email protected] Chloe Pickering, Eldercare Online Marketing Coordinator
Nov 28, 2016

Margarete2380 Nov 08, 2016

The facility of Allambi is excellent. The rooms are large, light and mostly look out into gardens. Maybe due to staff strategies the care could however, improve. My family member who is a resident in a dementia ward, does not have the help that I believe should be given to dress himself or supervise showering. His room is often unclean, especially his toilet. I am disappointed not with the immediate regular staff who interact with him, but mostly with the interest and care given by the clinical nurse. Despite that, I would not move him elsewhere.

Was this review helpful?  

Eldercare Inc

Dear Margarete, thank you for taking the time to provide both positive and constructive feedback about Allambi and we’re sorry to read that you’ve had disappointing experiences with staffing and the level of cleanliness. As one of South Australia’s largest and most experienced not-for-profit aged care providers, we take all feedback seriously as part of our commitment to continuous improvement and delivering peace of mind with our care. We would like to address your concerns and talk with you further if you are interested. Please contact me at [email protected] Chloe Pickering, Eldercare Online Marketing Coordinator
Nov 28, 2016

Piper19 Nov 04, 2016

Allambi is a bright and clean place to live. Staff are kind, caring and friendly. Due to staff shortage at times it is frustrating that things aren't as promised but overall if you need to be in care Allambi is a nice facility.

Was this review helpful?  

Eldercare Inc

Dear Piper, Thank you for taking the time to provide both positive and constructive feedback about Allambi. As one of South Australia’s largest and most experienced not-for-profit aged care providers, we take all feedback seriously as part of our commitment to continuous improvement and delivering peace of mind with our care. We would like to address your concerns and talk with you further if you are interested. Please contact me at [email protected] Chloe Pickering, Eldercare Online Marketing Coordinator
Nov 28, 2016

Tigers Nov 04, 2016

The clinical staff are good but the contract staff used at night are not as good.

Was this review helpful?  

Eldercare Inc

Thank you for taking the time to provide positive and constructive feedback about Allambi. As one of South Australia’s largest and most experienced not-for-profit aged care providers, we take all feedback seriously as part of our commitment to continuous improvement and delivering peace of mind with our care. We would like to address your concerns and talk with you further if you are interested. Please contact me at [email protected] Chloe Pickering, Eldercare Online Marketing Coordinator
Nov 28, 2016

sushi0459 Nov 03, 2016

The age of the rooms where my dad is located are very tired. Chairs look worn and dirty. Often there seems to not be enough staff, even though the staff on try their best. Weekends are tough to actually get in the front door because reception is not manned. The lack of an area to have coffee/food has been disappointing.

Was this review helpful?  

Eldercare Inc

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about Allambi and we’re sorry to read of your concern regarding facility standards and staffing levels. As one of South Australia’s largest and most experienced not-for-profit aged care providers, we take all feedback seriously as part of our commitment to continuous improvement and delivering peace of mind with our care. We would like to address your concerns and talk with you further if you are interested. Please contact me at [email protected] Chloe Pickering Eldercare Online Marketing Coordinator
Nov 28, 2016

Arianna434 Mar 17, 2016

Excellent care. Staff wonderful. All came to say good-bye.

Was this review helpful?  

Helen Fletcher Feb 05, 2016

I admitted my father who had recently descended into that dreadful place - dementia. It as cruel and hurtful and he would ask me why I had imprisoned him. For several months I cried each time I visited him. Then something happened. I realised he may not die for some time and tears were not helpful and so I got to know the residents and the staff. I took my golden retriever in to meet them all and watched otherwise isolated elderly people unable to communicate effectively enjoy my dog's presence and shower her with love. The staff were extraordinary, always going the extra mile for dad, welcoming me and my dog, chatting about dad's day and the moments he enjoyed. They shared DVDs with him, talked on those topics that interested him and even represented the nursing home at his funeral 14 months later. After he had fallen on New Year's Eve, and the end was nigh, they wanted me to take him back to Allambi so that they too could have closure. His room was immaculate, fresh flowers adorned the shelves and tables and I was permitted to stay with him on a folding bed. I was offered food, comfort, coffee, time out and everything I needed in those four days and knew, absolutely, that I had done the right thing in admitting him to this wonderful home. It was such a pleasure as few months later to visit with gifts, cards and many thanks for the special treatment my poor old dad received in that last, difficult phase of life. I shall always be grateful.

Was this review helpful?  3

Enola9916 Nov 17, 2015

I found the permanent staff good but some of the casual or relieving staff not so good. I was disappointed when I spoke to a senior person and asked for it to be in confidence. This was not treated as I wanted. I was very disappointed. There were a few other issues but I believe the facility was far better than a lot of others that I had seen.

Was this review helpful?  

Gianni4980 Nov 12, 2015

Mum had dementia and I could not have found a more caring, lovely place for her to be in. When it was time for her to go they provided music and scent to ease her passing. All the staff came in to say goodbye and she slipped away peacefully. Can not say enough about the quality of care during her time at Allambi.

Was this review helpful?  

Facility information, including facility name, operator and location provided courtesy of the Department of Social Service's My Aged Care. All reviews are the personal opinion of the reviewer, and do not necessarily reflect the views of Aged Care Reviews Pty Ltd, and are monitored according to the site's Content Guidelines.

About Eldercare Allambi

Allambi has been providing aged care services to the community since 1959 and has undergone two major redevelopments in the past five years including a $24.5 million upgrade which was completed at the end of 2016.Allambi is Eldercare’s largest facility with 225 single rooms which feature private ensuites and individually-controlled air conditioning units.There are numerous courtyards and outdoor entertaining areas as well as extensive, well-maintained garden areas. There are also several sitting rooms and open dining areas throughout the facility.All food is cooked on-site daily by a chef with two-course meals served for every lunch and evening meal. A cooked breakfast is offered one day per week with a continental breakfast served on the remaining days.Lifestyle staff facilitate various groups and activities for residents including art therapy, monthly musical performances, regular bus trips and a monthly high tea to celebrate those who have recently had a birthday.

Available Rooms

Room Name

Single room with ensuite

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

119

Room size (sqm)

20

Room Description

The modern private room and ensuite were built in 2011.

Common Areas Description

Allambi is a modern and spacious purpose-built facility.

It has four tastefully decorated dining areas each with a kitchenette.

There are five common lounge areas accommodating modern furniture and elegant fittings as well as eight sitting areas throughout the facility. Each lounge area has entertainment units and sound systems with furniture designed to accommodate people with mobility difficulties.

Our Lowrie Lifestyle Centre is an ideal location for the various concerts and other activities offered through our extensive lifestyle program and is utilised for group activities and functions. The flexibility of this area means it can be adapted serving as a chapel for church services or a space for private functions.

There are numerous courtyard gardens drawing on current best practice in interactive garden design as well as outdoor entertaining areas and extensive well-maintained garden areas for the enjoyment of residents and their families.

Additionally there are landscaped gardens some of which have raised garden beds for resident use through our gardening program.

There is also a covered area for BBQs and family functions as well as outdoor seating to admire the gardens.

Aged Care Directory
My Account