Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Eldercare Evanston Park

4.38 26 Reviews | Write a Review

Operator

Operator Average Quality
(111 Reviews)

Room Vacancies:

Residential Accommodation Deposit:

Resident or Service User Review

Tour Review

  • Quality of information provided
  • Helpfulness of staff
  • Quality of ambiance & general environment
  • Overall quality
  • Quality of building
  • Quality of staff & care
  • Quality of food
  • Quality of lifestyle & wellbeing
  • Overall quality
One last thing...
The Power of Knowing
Send this listing to a friend
Get more information
Get more information
Enquiry
Like to book a tour?
Tour Booking
Review Eldercare Evanston Park
26 reviews sorted by Date Rating Type
Brenda3389 Sep 26, 2018

The care and support my mum and sister have received has been fantastic. My only concern is the staff are overworked and underpaid. More staff is urgently needed in these facilities

Was this review helpful?  

Ceasar934 Sep 25, 2018

My mother had to go into a home. Very reluctantly. The facilities are quite good but the food is dreadful. We are assured that there is a qualified chef but no chef would serve up the crap that these oldies have to face. This should be the one thing they could look forward to. Staff levels are low. The resident pays 85%of their pension for appalling food and care. Very distressing. No wonder there is such a high rate of deaths from malnutrition!

Was this review helpful?  

Juwade Sep 25, 2018

All the staff in my dads dementia ward are awesome but the amount of staff to residents is inadequate. They meet the legal requirement so that is what has to change.

Was this review helpful?  

DaveinSA Nov 23, 2016

The care experienced, witnessed by myself, of my close relative was simply excellent, compared to other institutions, previously involved with, it was very Home Like. Staff were attentive to residents, clearly, well educated, understanding their roles, and very respectful of family carers, relatives. Facility was clean and tidy, and adequately staffed. Overall, finally found a caring institution, which inspired confidence, in handing over frail family member, into their care, knowing staff were genuinely caring.

Was this review helpful?  1

Lottie4936 Nov 11, 2016

My mother is looked after well. + likes it at Eldercare BUT I don't get any correspondence about her health care or how she is going. Or when a Dr visits or her medication. I can see she is slowly ageing and slipping down. I assume they would contact me if things get back.

Was this review helpful?  1

Eldercare Inc

Dear Lottie, thank you for taking the time to provide both positive and constructive feedback about Evanston Park. We’re sorry to read about your concerns about communication relating to your mother’s health. As one of South Australia’s largest and most experienced not-for-profit aged care providers, we take all feedback seriously as part of our commitment to continuous improvement and delivering peace of mind with our care. We would like to address your concerns and talk with you further if you are interested. Please contact me at [email protected] Chloe Pickering, Eldercare Online Marketing Coordinator
Nov 28, 2016

Eladio471 Nov 10, 2016

There is a guy here who is the best of the best with showering - hair washing and gets one down for breakfast in the dinning room by 8 o'clock. I also enjoy the games and activities we have. From my bedroom window I watch the swallows make their nest, laid their eggs and hatch their baby. When they flew from their nest, the parent destroyed the nest. I can still see them fly around.

Was this review helpful?  

Kangaroo27 Nov 10, 2016

We have been very happy with the quality of care of our loved one in the secure dementia ward. The rooms are above average and all the staff are lovely. It has become like an extended family to us.

Was this review helpful?  

Molly5 Nov 10, 2016

I am sending this on behalf of my father who has been in care for almost 9 years. He has done the rating which I support. Overall, the facility is good, with staffing satisfactory, although agency staff sometimes is slow. The meals are often hot to my father's liking ie: veges too hard or hot coked enough and meat is not tender enough. Generally taste or lack of is what he mostly complains about to me.

Was this review helpful?  

Eldercare Inc

Dear Molly, thank you for taking the time to provide both positive and constructive feedback about Evanston Park and we’re sorry to read that you’ve had disappointing experiences with staff response times and meal quality. As one of South Australia’s largest and most experienced not-for-profit aged care providers, we take all feedback seriously as part of our commitment to continuous improvement and delivering peace of mind with our care. We would like to address your concerns and talk with you further if you are interested. Please contact me at [email protected] Chloe Pickering, Eldercare Online Marketing Coordinator
Nov 28, 2016

Lacey2539 Nov 10, 2016

I have lost a lot of my clothes even though they have my name in them. Suggestion: Check residents rooms for clothes that are not theirs. I substitute my own food for some of the meals. Overall we are very happy here. Some of the staff are amazing people.

Was this review helpful?  

Eldercare Inc

Dear Lacey, thank you for taking the time to provide positive and constructive feedback about Evanston Park and we’re sorry to read that your clothes have been lost and that you’ve had a disappointing dining experience. As one of South Australia’s largest and most experienced not-for-profit aged care providers, we take all feedback seriously as part of our commitment to continuous improvement and delivering peace of mind with our care. We would like to address your concerns and talk with you further if you are interested. Please contact me at [email protected] Chloe Pickering, Eldercare Online Marketing Coordinator
Nov 28, 2016

Paul Nov 10, 2016

Dad is very happy with his accommodation and care. He joins in many activities and seems to have a new lease on life. Recently he was ill and needed hospital treatment the quick response from care givers nipped the problem in the bud.

Was this review helpful?  

Thomas Nov 09, 2016

My mother is a resident at this facility. She seems quite happy there. The staff seem quite friendly and helpful to mum. She is still mentally 100% - she knits and crochets items for the staff and their babies and grand children. She also enjoys the cooking sessions and nail painting and the services of the hairdresser. She is confined to a wheel chair - so she can't get out much, I would recommend this facility to anyone who requires. It is a real nightmare - taking on the responsibility of an aged parent. It is a comforting relief to know that mum is clean, dry, tidy and comfortable and happy in her surrounding.

Was this review helpful?  

Jake16 Nov 09, 2016

The facility is always clean, fresh and well presented. Staff are very caring and seem to genuinely enjoy their job and the residents. Staff keep me updated on my mums progress etc regularly. Staff are accepting of feedback and are always looking to improve the care given + lifestyle options given to residents. Overall we are all very impressed and pleased with the level of care given and the facility.

Was this review helpful?  

Adrien449 Nov 09, 2016

I am quite happy here. Have plenty of freedom. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Plenty of activities (optional) very homely.

Was this review helpful?  

Buzz Nov 09, 2016

My dad is happy - I am happy.

Was this review helpful?  

Cheyenne8862 Nov 09, 2016

It appears that staff turnover is non existent and therefore gives continuity of aged care to residents something very special.

Was this review helpful?  

Rhonda132 Nov 09, 2016

I am very happy living here at Eldercare Evanston Park. As I lived in another nursing home before I moved into Eldercare Evanston Park, I have found Eldercare 100/100 percent better than that nursing home. I suffer from bouts of depression at times and I find living here at Eldercare helps me so much, as they are so cheerful friendly and caring (the workers) I love the way the workers here at Eldercere share their families with us residents.

Was this review helpful?  

Dexter9657 Nov 08, 2016

I quickly became aware that I had embarked on a new learning curve in so many different areas. My fellow residents with whom I shared so much, the staff who put up with me and my nonsense with admirable fortitude. The lifestyle team that pursued me into those places where in I was possibly regarded as a positive reward for what must have been very hard work. Everyone who took the chance of befriending me when avoidance may have seemed the wiser option. All of them teachers in whom I am well pleased and to whom I shall be forever indebted.

Was this review helpful?  

Suki7 Nov 08, 2016

Concerned about huge cost about to be expanded on what, to me, is unnecessary. E.g. replacing perfectly good curtains with "corporate lodged" ones Removing hand-rails for aesthetic purposes. Providing all room with "Smart TV's" and yet they don't even have DVD playing facilities. $ would be better spend on more staff. Often 10-20 minute wait-after activating emergency call button.

Was this review helpful?  

Eldercare Inc

Dear Suki, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about Evanston Park and we’re sorry to read that you have some concerns about facility improvements and staff response times. As one of South Australia’s largest and most experienced not-for-profit aged care providers, we take all feedback seriously as part of our commitment to continuous improvement and delivering peace of mind with our care. We would like to address your concerns and talk with you further if you are interested. Please contact me at [email protected] Chloe Pickering, Eldercare Online Marketing Coordinator
Nov 28, 2016

Cyote Nov 08, 2016

The facility doesn't allow for continuous activity if the resident is unable to move about independently. My wife was able to walk short distances supervised but because of OH+S policy she has been confined to the wheelchair because there is no regular Physio attention to residents.

Was this review helpful?  

Eldercare Inc

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about Evanston Park and for bringing your concerns to our attention. As one of South Australia’s largest and most experienced not-for-profit aged care providers, we take all feedback seriously as part of our commitment to continuous improvement and delivering peace of mind with our care. We would like to address your concerns and talk with you further if you are interested. Please contact me at [email protected] Chloe Pickering, Eldercare Online Marketing Coordinator
Nov 28, 2016

Althea2569 Nov 04, 2016

Very clean, caring, lots of activities.

Was this review helpful?  

Jonescrazy20 Nov 04, 2016

Staff are always very friendly. helpful and more importantly caring. They try very hard to give all residents the best quality of life and show love and compassion to them individually. I feel blessed my mother is in such a environment where she is happy and with such wonderful carers. I do however feel their needs to be more staff in the dementia ward as the amount is to little for the many residents.

Was this review helpful?  

Eldercare Inc

Thank you for taking the time to provide both positive and constructive feedback about Evanston Park. As one of South Australia’s largest and most experienced not-for-profit aged care providers, we take all feedback seriously as part of our commitment to continuous improvement and delivering peace of mind with our care. We would like to address your concerns and talk with you further if you are interested. Please contact me at [email protected] Chloe Pickering, Eldercare Online Marketing Coordinator
Nov 28, 2016

Joy5578 Nov 03, 2016

My husband is very happy there. He get's on very well with all the staff. I just wish somebody could get him to take more exercise.

Was this review helpful?  

Debbie767 Nov 03, 2016

Having used another aged care facility we are so glad we came across Eldercare Evanston Park. The staff are extremely caring helpful. You are keep informed about your loved ones and nothing is to much trouble. At the previous facility we had used this was for from the case finding Eldercare was a huge relief. I just wish we had found it sooner.

Was this review helpful?  

Margret Nov 03, 2016

Food is always served mushy and watery with very little taste. When someone has always prided themselves on cooking top class meals with taste, presented beautifully - the sloppy, hurriedly served food is difficult to enjoy.

Was this review helpful?  

Eldercare Inc

Dear Margret, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about Evanston Park and we’re sorry to read that you’ve had disappointing dining experiences. As one of South Australia’s largest and most experienced not-for-profit aged care providers, we take all feedback seriously as part of our commitment to continuous improvement and delivering peace of mind with our care. We would like to address your concerns and talk with you further if you are interested. Please contact me at [email protected] Chloe Pickering, Eldercare Online Marketing Coordinator
Nov 28, 2016

Mathias9703 Jul 25, 2015

My father was a resident of Eldercare Evanston Park for only 3 months but his care was first class. He could be a difficult person at times and hard to please but he enjoyed his time there and could not praise the facility enough. The staff were very attentive to hi needs and I cannot fault his care.

Was this review helpful?  2

Ross6418 Jul 02, 2015

We were so fortunate that our Mum had excellent care whilst in care for 13 months, She has passed now,just recently.

Was this review helpful?  

Facility information, including facility name, operator and location provided courtesy of the Department of Social Service's My Aged Care. All reviews are the personal opinion of the reviewer, and do not necessarily reflect the views of Aged Care Reviews Pty Ltd, and are monitored according to the site's Content Guidelines.

About Eldercare Evanston Park

Evanston Park was built in 2008. It incorporates dementia-friendly architecture and interior design and offers a warm, welcoming environment.Evanston Park is one of our larger facilities providing 100 individually air-conditioned single rooms in modern, spacious surroundings.Evanston Park has landscaped gardens, a gazebo area for BBQs and family functions and an abundance of outdoor seating.Meals are cooked on-site daily by a chef. Home baked items are provided daily.In addition to our comprehensive clinical care program, our lifestyle program is well regarded and residents can choose from many popular outings and activities. An internet kiosk is available for residents to utilise with assistance from volunteers.Our on-site chaplain provides emotional support to families and residents.Evanston Park is in close proximity to local shops and is only a short distance from the local hospital, medical centre and ambulance service.

Available Rooms

Room Name

Single room with ensuite

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

100

Room size (sqm)

22

Room Description

The rooms were built in 2007 and have their own private ensuite.

The rooms have views of surrounding areas or internal courtyards.

Common Areas Description

The facility has three dining areas which are of varying sizes. Each tastefully decorated dining room has a kitchenette.

There are four common lounge areas as well five sitting areas throughout the facility.

Each lounge area has entertainment units and sound systems as well as modern furniture designed to accommodate people with some mobility difficulties.

The facility has a main common area that is utilised for lifestyle events as well as for group activities and functions.

There is an area of this room that has bi-fold doors that when closed becomes the Chapel and is utilised for quiet reflection time or private functions.

Evanston Park has landscaped gardens some of which have raised gardens beds for resident use through our gardening program.

There is also a gazebo area for BBQs and family functions as well as outdoor seating from which to admire the gardens.

Aged Care Directory
My Account