Sign In
Validation
Confirmation
Confirmation
Join Now
Refer a friend or relative
Prefer to talk to a real person? 1300 775 870

Eldercare Sash Ferguson

4.09 11 Reviews | Write a Review

Operator

Operator Average Quality
(111 Reviews)

Room Vacancies:

Residential Accommodation Deposit:

Resident or Service User Review

Tour Review

  • Quality of information provided
  • Helpfulness of staff
  • Quality of ambiance & general environment
  • Overall quality
  • Quality of building
  • Quality of staff & care
  • Quality of food
  • Quality of lifestyle & wellbeing
  • Overall quality
One last thing...
The Power of Knowing
Send this listing to a friend
Get more information
Get more information
Enquiry
Like to book a tour?
Tour Booking
Review Eldercare Sash Ferguson
11 reviews sorted by Date Rating Type
Cecil6318 Sep 25, 2018

My husband was in residential care for almost 5 years. I spent up to 12 hours daily with him because I did not trust some carers and nurses to care properly. I have some photographic evidence of incidents of poor care

Was this review helpful?  

Sasha Nov 10, 2016

The facility has a very friendly, homely feel which you notice straight away and is not in any way 'hospital like'

Was this review helpful?  

Charlie10 Nov 10, 2016

My mother has been in 4 different Aged Care facilities since first breaking her hips and then knee, so I feel very qualified to be able to accurately assess and review. Families should be aware that big, flashy and new does not necessarily mean better. Also if a facility always had rooms available that is a for a reason. Not always a good one. Sash was my mothers 4th facility where we were lucky enough to be able to get a bed/room on a permanent basis. Her room is lovely, the staff are lovely and I know she is well cared for. Food there is excellent and that is so important. We have experienced a wide array of varying levels of care, food and facilities and I am very happy to thoroughly recommend Sash Ferguson. A caring and encouraging facility that has my mums best interests at heart.

Was this review helpful?  

Maddie Nov 10, 2016

My husband is in the secure memory support area. I like the 'homely' nature of the home. Staff are mostly open and accommodating. The gardens and environment are very pleasant and my husband has direct access to an outside garden area. Sometimes things take a bit too long to get done - but that is a minor criticism.

Was this review helpful?  

Hank8229 Nov 09, 2016

My sister in law spent the last few weeks in the nursing home and we as a family could not speak highly enough of the care she was given and also the care shown to the family.

Was this review helpful?  

Ela007 Nov 08, 2016

My father has only been at Sash Ferguson for under 3 months. He made the decision to move there himself where he was no longer able to look after himself at his home with no support. He was happy to move there as quickly as possible. I have found the staff are very caring, patient, and very helpful, especially now because my father has been recently diagnosed with dementia, making it a very stressful time for me. I live in WA and they have kept in touch with me and offered a lot of support and guidance with the situation. The centre is a very homely accommodation with lovely peaceful gardens and surroundings.

Was this review helpful?  

Annamarie1383 Nov 08, 2016

My husband has been a resident for 6 years and in that time due to his change of personality I have found it hard to accept at times. I live in a unit close by and visit him 4 days a week and have 4 meals with him. Once a week he visits me in unit and is driven up by access taxi for the afternoon.

Was this review helpful?  

Trever197 Nov 04, 2016

Well being of residents is primary concern. Mum is happy well cared for, clean, generally good health and is included in all activities whether she can actively participate or just joins in and listens. Staff level of care abilities excellent. Up to date training is obvious. Always notified if any issues with mum - good and bad. Am happy with this choice for her and would highly recommend to anyone. It's not sparkling and new but it has all the skills and comforts where it counts.

Was this review helpful?  

Joy9182 Nov 03, 2016

It is all very good.

Was this review helpful?  

Ahmad9247 Feb 25, 2016

My mother was cared for affectionately and felt safe and cared for.

Was this review helpful?  

Kiley379 Feb 22, 2016

The care at this facility was such that for almost 5 years I felt the need to be with my husband for a minimum of 8 hours every day. He was totally dependent and could not communicate. Aged care facilities do not have enough carer hours to look after their residents needs or dignity properly. The carers themselves were mostly extremely caring and did the best job that they could within their limited time. In the last 18 months care hours were cut twice and several key staff as well as carers left because they found it difficult to see the residents get even worse care. My husband died in October 2015.

Was this review helpful?  

Facility information, including facility name, operator and location provided courtesy of the Department of Social Service's My Aged Care. All reviews are the personal opinion of the reviewer, and do not necessarily reflect the views of Aged Care Reviews Pty Ltd, and are monitored according to the site's Content Guidelines.

About Eldercare Sash Ferguson

Sash Ferguson has large, park-like grounds and a secure area is available for residents of our specialist memory unit. The grounds are carefully landscaped consisting of rose gardens and garden beds filled with bulbs and seasonal flowers.The facility is strongly aligned with the Adelaide Hills Community Health Service at Mount Barker Hospital. We are grounded in the local community and have strong links with community organisations, churches and business. A comprehensive range of lifestyle activities are regularly offered. These range from concerts and entertainment to gardening activities and pet therapy. Meals are cooked on-site daily by a chef.Sash also has a large and enthusiastic volunteer network.Sash Ferguson is located close to the main street of Mount Barker. Eldercare has three retirement living locations within Mount Barker with one co-located with Sash Ferguson. This enables some residents to have their spouses living in close proximity.

Available Rooms

Room Name

Single room with ensuite

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

4

Room size (sqm)

36

Room Description

The rooms all have their own ensuites and have views of landscaped gardens and internal courtyards. Some have vistas of the Adelaide Hills.

Common Areas Description

The facility has two dining areas with modern furniture. There is a small dining area specifically for the memory support unit and a larger central room.

There are a total of three common lounge areas and six rest spaces throughout the facility. Each lounge area has entertainment units sound systems and modern furniture designed to accommodate people with some mobility difficulties.

The facility has two common areas that can be booked for private use such as birthday parties or family meetings. These spaces are also used for group activities and functions.

The grounds of the facility are well cared for and landscaped consisting of rose gardens and garden beds filled with bulbs seasonal flowers and a range of plants to maximise residents enjoyment.

Room Name

Double room with ensuite

Type

Shared room + ensuite

Occupancy

2

No of rooms

1

Room size (sqm)

28

Room Description

The room has views of landscaped gardens and courtyards. Some have vistas of the Adelaide Hills.

Common Areas Description

The facility has two dining areas with modern furniture. There is a small dining area specifically for the memory support unit and a larger central one.

There are a total of three common lounge areas and six rest spaces throughout the facility. Each lounge area has entertainment units sound systems and modern furniture designed to accommodate people with some mobility difficulties.

The facility has two common areas that can be booked for private use such as birthday parties or family meetings. These spaces are also used for group activities and functions.

The grounds of the facility are well cared for and landscaped consisting of rose gardens and garden beds filled with bulbs seasonal flowers and a range of plants to maximise residents enjoyment.

Room Name

Single room with ensuite

Type

Single room + ensuite

Occupancy

1

No of rooms

47

Room size (sqm)

20

Room Description

The rooms all have their own ensuites and have views of landscaped gardens and internal courtyards. Some have vistas of the Adelaide Hills.

Common Areas Description

The facility has two dining areas with modern furniture. There is a small dining area specifically for the memory support unit and a larger central room.

There are a total of three common lounge areas and six rest spaces throughout the facility. Each lounge area has entertainment units sound systems and modern furniture designed to accommodate people with some mobility difficulties.

The facility has two common areas that can be booked for private use such as birthday parties or family meetings. These spaces are also used for group activities and functions.

The grounds of the facility are well cared for and landscaped consisting of rose gardens and garden beds filled with bulbs seasonal flowers and a range of plants to maximise residents enjoyment.

Aged Care Directory
My Account